D700 first pics... Great travel camera

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 01:01
ThreadID: 60185 Views:3184 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
couldn't help myself. Just got home after finally using the new camera. Only took 2 days :(
But here are a couple of pics

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 01:07

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 01:07
I don't know anything worthwhile about cameras but I know what i like and i like those pics. Nice movement in the reflection of the Luna Park Gate
AnswerID: 317420

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:51

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:51
Thanks Waynepd,
That pic of Luna Park was really the second pic taken with the camera. (Shot number 58 according to the counter but did loads of loungeroom shots checking the settings).
FollowupID: 583892

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 06:58

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 06:58
The one of Luna Park is exceptional, but the one of the Harbour Bridge is one of the best I have ever seen!
Well done!
Alex B
AnswerID: 317424

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:24

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 08:24
Yes
Thats Ditto for me, exceptional work,

Park that Excavator you operate, and do Photography full time,

Daza
FollowupID: 583781

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:54

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:54
Thanks Alex.
Daza, I so wish I could park the bloody things up but unfortuanetly the bank won't allow me to do that until the end of next year if my plan comes together. Then sell them all and become a photo bum :)
FollowupID: 583895

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:13

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:13
Amazing shots. I'm sure the operator is as good as the camera.
AnswerID: 317436

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:55

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:55
Thanjs jdwynn, seriously it is the camera. I just push the button when required :)
FollowupID: 583896

Reply By: cackles - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:45

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 09:45
Great timing Peter, I currently have a bad case of camera lust and your not helping!
I like the D300 but can't get it cause I had a bad case of lens lurgy earlier this year and the treatment was expensive.
Your pics are great though, make me jealous but great!

cackles
AnswerID: 317438

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:02

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:02
thanks cackles, I get a lurgy every now and then....... but most of the time I fix it myself
FollowupID: 583901

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:17

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:17
Nice pics there, Peter

AnswerID: 317445

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:03

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:03
thanks willem,
This camera is so much better than that last one..........
FollowupID: 583903

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:29

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:29
Sweeeeet, I am looking for a new camera to replace a little sony, thought that'll do until I saw the $$$.

so peter, you might be a man in the know, do you have any suggestions on a good quality compact (not SLR) camera in the $500-700 bracket
A panasonic "Lumix" 8mp one has been suggested (by a salesman)

Thoughts?
thanks,
Mad Cowz
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 317458

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:08

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:08
Hi Mad Cowz,
Unfortuanetly I do not know alot about pocket point and shoot cameras but 8mp is good for printing pics.
main thing you have to look out for is optical zoom. don't let them talk you into digital zoom.........
FollowupID: 583905

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:16

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:16
no worries, thanks, been doing a bit of a search and there looks to be some cameras trying to be in the middle of the really simple ones and a SLR, some now boasting 20x optical and 10 or 11mp, something like that might be a goer, still like my film camera but it is hard to not look at the capabilities of digitals these days.

MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 583916

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 02:04

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 02:04
yep panasonic are the leaders in that segment.
either the 8meg fz18 soon to be superseded by the fz28
or the larger sensore better built (and larger camera) fz 50
BEWARE many places charge ripoff prices for cameras an FZ 50 should be got for $600-$650 (shop prices ) and FZ 18 for considerably less
BEWARE places still ask $900 for the 50 and $700 for the 18
YOU CAN GET ALOT BETTER and thats in Perth.
some manafactures offer betterspecs but fail in image quality compared to the Pannys
FollowupID: 583964

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:54

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 11:54
Wow - even better than the desert shots , must have been the qualified critics with you . Oh if only it had rained .

Let me know if you get any covers .

Cheers John
AnswerID: 317462

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:15

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:15
Hey john, don't know about the rain....... we would have been there for a few days longer........ would have been out of beer :(
(note to self, take extra beer in case of rain) And am still trying to get through all the paperwork from that trip. But it was all worth it.
FollowupID: 583913

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:42

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:42
Excellent Peter,

Have set Sydney Bridge as background and it looks v good.

Michael
AnswerID: 317512

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:16

Nice Micheal, although would have thought it got a little pixelated. but it is all good
FollowupID: 583915

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:44

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 17:44
Hiya

The problem with these type of blokes is they'd get the same pic from a boxed brownie ! lol

Its called bloody TALENT !

AnswerID: 317513

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:16

I still maintain it is the camera :)
FollowupID: 583917

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 08:24

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 08:24
talent...can i buy some

one day i might be able to take just 1 great pic like those
FollowupID: 583974

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:17

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:17
It's about time I saw some nice photos on here...well done.

Have a look at some of my shots taken with a Canon

Some of My photos
AnswerID: 317520

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 04:17

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 04:17
Geez Gary,
Some seriously professional quality pics, mate.
Very nice.
FollowupID: 583965

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:38

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:38
Hey Gary,
what's the deal with the cop with the gun??????
FollowupID: 584036

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:48

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:48
That was at the Vatican....Italian COPS think they are super cool and love getting their guns out...must've been chasing someone as they blocked off streets and stuff... Gun in hand and talking on phone. I laughed at him and he got the bleep s :)

FollowupID: 584038

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:39

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:39
G'day Pete
As usual with you ....bloody awesome pics...

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 317595

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 22:08

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 22:08
Thanks Borgy,
They really only quick test shots as I was on my way to the Bledisloe cup........ Bloody good game too. Best union game i have seen
FollowupID: 583943

Reply By: roblin - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 16:34

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 16:34
Peter, I have just gone throught he move to DSLR and bought a Canon 40D and a couple of lenses so, when I get back home, I hope to get into some decent photo shooting. May I ask what type and size of lenses you used for the shots and whether you also use filters on your lenses?

Nice photos I have to agree.
Rob
AnswerID: 317688

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:35

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 17:35
G'day Rob,
The pic of Luna Park was taken with a 14mm lens and the bridge was a 20mm lens. The only zoom I use is the 70 to 200mm f2.8.
All my lenses are 2.8 and very fast lenses. I tend to use prime lenses only. 14mm, 20mm, 28mm, 50mm and the 70 to 200mm. I am looking at getting a 300mm f2.8 shortly and I also find the only other lense that I am missing is a 35mm. All lenses are Nikon and they have all carried on from film days. So some of the lenses I have now are over 10 years old. That is the best thing with Nikon. Unlike Canon every lense will fit todays SLRs even the manual lenses.
I never use filters not even the protective filters. I find the light just needs to go through another piece of glass and a polarisor 2 extra pieces of glass.
FollowupID: 584034