New member needing trip adive please..

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 18:53
ThreadID: 60215 Views:3415 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Hello all, im Ryan from Ireland. Currently living in Vic and planning a trip to Darwin in my ute. I'm planning to take 10 days for this trip and just camp along the way. I have planned as far as alice springs but in the way of camp sites and stops but after alice i am lost.

Can anyone advise me on any good camping grounds between alice and Darwin? I'm travelling with my girlfriend so pulling up road side is the question (her safety). I have prepared my ute well, jerry cans, spare wheels, belts, tools etc, so my only concerns are the camp-sites and the availability of petrol from alice to Darwin?

Any advice, tips or known routes you can throw at me would be fantastic. Thanks for your help!!

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:07

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:07
I'd really recommend the camping area at Mataranka (south of Katherine), with the hot springs nearby. Ended up staying a few days longer it was so good.
And the campground at Edith Falls NP, just north of Katherine, is really tops.
South of Mataranka, north of Alice, I've just searched out a campsite in the bush off the main road for overnighters.
In Darwin (hope to be there in about 3 weeks, woo hoo!), I pick the Lee Point CP, as it's well away from noisy main roads. Some complain of midgies, but they've never worried me.
Lots of places between Katherine and Darwin off the main track.
have a great trip, and welcome to Oz
Gerry
AnswerID: 317536

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:16

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:16
devils marbles is good for a night
AnswerID: 317541

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:20

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 19:20
Gidday mate

There are plenty of tracks off the side of the Sturt Highway after Alice Springs. Go in a mile or so then head off into the bush. You'll be quite safe.

If you come across a site full of bottles and empty wine casks give it a miss. More than likely it'll be an Abo drinking squat.

The only place I have much interest in is the Daly Waters Pub a bit before katherine. The pub is a good laugh and you can camp around the side.

Kim

AnswerID: 317543

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:31

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:31
Kim, Kim, Kim,..........

I think its about time we had one of those little chats.....

"A mile"??????
I realise this is going to be a shock, .....BUT!
Recently Australia has excepted a new thing called the "METRIC SYSTEM".....To be cool and fit in these days you need to talk in the new hip jargon.....now we sy K I L O M E TE R.....

And " ABO"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Mate!!!!!!!!

Ill send you an MM.....we need to have this chat off air!!!

FollowupID: 583933

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 22:13

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 22:13
Gidday Hairy

Cripes I'm in trouble again. Did'nt mean to tell it the way it is.

Kim
FollowupID: 583945

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:18

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:18
I'm not saying you should stay there but I reckon everyone has to stop at Barrow Creek at least once. As for a must stop don't go past Daley Waters Pub. Fantastic.
M.
AnswerID: 317562

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:25

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:25
Mal

Pick your day well.

Kim
FollowupID: 583920

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:14
Mal,
First of all ....dont listen to Kim! Im not there that often!
Secondly...Barrow creek isnt a bad Pub, but dont expect fuel...or anything??

FollowupID: 583930

Reply By: Member - Ros C (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:26

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:26
Hello Ryan,

I just got out my trip notes from 1997 when I spent five months touring around.

There's no doubt that some places are better than others and it's important to trust your feelings about whether any camp site will suit you. Don't hesitate to look the place over - if the loos are grubby, and the place doesn't feel right, look elsewhere.

We stopped at the Devil's Marbles. I think we were the only people with a tent - everyone else lined up in their boxes on wheels, and missed the outdoor experiences. We had a giggle at the silliness of it. The sunset and sunrise were both spectacular - photos, photos, photos. Just ignore the vans, and enjoy the space.

Renner Springs was pretty good further up the highway. We were low on water, and the water there was good. There was a freezing wind that night and we were pleased to have dinner at the Pub. A travelling salesman bought us a bottle of red that night. Very pleasant.

Camped at Elsey Park further north. This is near the place made famous by Mrs Aeneas Gunn in her book "We of the Never-Never". The camp ground was very pretty, lots of trees, wood available for cooking (which it is not very often). The Roper River is lovely, with lots of bird life. Hired a canoe here.

Mataranka is a great spot to stay too. We didn't because we were bent on getting to Katherine but we did have a dip in the springs which are amazing, and a relic of World War 2. The Diggers created a channel and pool for the wonderful fresh and clear waters. Call in.

Katherine was excellent. Camped in Katherine to have the car serviced and get provisions. Low-level Camp Ground is the best unless there has been a deluge. Then you must go out to Katherine Gorge(s). There are actually thirteen of them and they are fabulous. Take a day trip to see at least six of them by a series of boats with a walk between, and take your swimming togs. The bats are around the camp ground, and the wallabies, and a bower bird pinched some fruit. The tent washed up well when we got back to Katherine. ;-)

From Katherine you can go straight up to Darwin fairly quickly, however we diverted into the south end of Kakadu and spent ten days in there. After a week in Darwin, we spent another week in Litchfield NP which was glorious too. The Parks are a whole additional topic.

Hope this helps your camping decisions, and also indicates that if you've got more time, it's worth staying around to see more.

A fantastic book to get is "Camping in Australia" 2nd Edition by Cathy Savage and Craig Lewis. We've met them both and their travel material is pretty good. If you don't already have it, we found the Lonely Planet Outback guide very good too. Our philosophy is that 2 or 3 maps or guides are way better than one and will get you where you want to go.

Have a great time in that well-equipped ute and give my love to Ireland.

Ros.

"Happiness is not a station you arrive at, but a manner of travelling" Ogden Nash

AnswerID: 317566

Follow Up By: mrrbyrne - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:20

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:20
Thank you very much for taking the time to write all that, i have noted the places and will get planning with the map tonight. The Ute has been serviced the spares have been bought and i even bought a Uhf Cb so im now ready for action.

Thanks again, Ryan.
FollowupID: 584047

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:39

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 20:39
It's safe.

Every so often around the world horrible things happen, but statistically it quite safe camping anywhere in Australia.

I have travelles around Oz several times. Three months with my young kids... camped out where ever it looked nice,... and never a problem. Could happen... but so can a bus hitting you.

I never pick up hitch-hikers mind you! [Unless I know them]

Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 317569

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 23:22

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 23:22
"I never pick up hitch-hikers mind you! [Unless I know them]" or if Scandinavian, want to know them?
FollowupID: 583954

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 11:26

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 11:26
Hmmmm, not sure what you mean.. must be a reference to some movie? Feels a bit creepy. Terrible when you don't quite 'get' a joke. :-]]
FollowupID: 583993

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 12:07

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 12:07
Sorry Royce, assertions of your character. Thought there may be an attractive Scandinavian fair headed mattress thumber you may liked to know. Obvioulsy you couldn't be tempted by one ;-)
FollowupID: 583996

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 12:18

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 12:18
Ah... well... maybe that's why I don't pick them up!!!!
FollowupID: 583998

Reply By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:20

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:20
I spent a couple of years at Katherine and Edith Falls is one of my favourite places. It has a really good and excellent swimming. A place not to be missed.

North of Tennant Creek there's camping at various roadhouses and a place called Banka Banka (100km north of Tennant Creek) that looks pretty good.

At Mataranka, there's camping at the thermal springs or, on the northern end of town, there's the Territory Manor. It's quieter than the thermal springs and is close to Bitter Springs. Bitter Springs are thermal like Mataranka, but less people go there.

The obvious places like Kakadu and Litchfield also have good camping. Some of the places in Kakadu are not as accessible as Litchfield if you don't have a 4wd.

Something to remember is that Tennant Creek was always at least 20 cents per litre cheaper than the roadhouse at Threeways, even though it's only 30km south.

Graeme

Lake Eyre 2011

AnswerID: 317587

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:26

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:26
The line about Edith Falls should have read: It has a really good camp ground and excellent swimming. I'm blaming the spell checker for that!!
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 583931

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:24

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:24
Does the 10 days include a return trip? ( Im just curious ...theres enough of you Irish grog monsters in Darwin!)

If its a return trip......10 days is a bit quick.

AnswerID: 317589

Follow Up By: mrrbyrne - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:11

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:11
No sir no return trip for me this year.pantofollowthe east coast right round to melbourne in 9mths. Im bricklayer and im planning on picking up work in various places. just imagine how boring OZ would be without the Irish, 2nd home to me anyway as i have a very large family connection here!!

Thank you too everyone who posted, its a great help.

Ryan.
FollowupID: 584043

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:38

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:38
Have a good trip

FollowupID: 584050

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:50

Sunday, Jul 27, 2008 at 21:50
No one has mentioned Davenport Range National Park which is a nice new place to go to East of Barrow Creek/Tennant Crk area... perhaps 100 ks off Stuart Hwy as I recall.
AnswerID: 317596

Reply By: mrrbyrne - Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:12

Monday, Jul 28, 2008 at 18:12
No sir no return trip for me this year.pantofollowthe east coast right round to melbourne in 9mths. Im bricklayer and im planning on picking up work in various places. just imagine how boring OZ would be without the Irish, 2nd home to me anyway as i have a very large family connection here!!

Thank you too everyone who posted, its a great help to me!!!

Ryan.
AnswerID: 317702