Over $5000 worth of diesel in 7 weeks . Fuel figures for trip .

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 17:47
ThreadID: 60286 Views:3660 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Landcruiser 100 TD auto with spare wheel on roof rack , towing a 26 ' Bushtracker caravan .

Cost per kilometre was $0.43 cents .

Average fuel usage was 4.64 km per litre / 21.55 litres per 100 km.

Total kilometres was 12,406

Total diesel used was 2,673.5 Litres

Total cost of diesel $5,371.84

Highest price paid was Rabbit Flat at $2.68 a litre .

Sydney , Broken Hill , Norseman , Leinster , Cue , Newman , Christie Crossing , Newman , Halls Creek , Rabbit Flat , Alice Springs , Pt Augusta , Broken Hill , Sydney .

It is no longer a cheap holiday .

Willie

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:00
but over 7 weeks not that bad.

our group of 11 vehicles heading for the madigan line ''topped' up at mt dare 2 weeks ago at $2.35 lt. just over $3000 in 30 minutes the operator said if the boss had been there he most probably would have given us a carton of beer.

regards peter
AnswerID: 317919

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:00
Yes we know..(see thread 60268)...BUT that is not going to stop us I hope......
AnswerID: 317920

Reply By: Member - Glen O (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:19

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:19
You have got to do it while it is still cheap. It is only going to keep getting worse!

Glen.
AnswerID: 317928

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:52

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 18:52
We recently did 13000+km across Aust by dirt towing a caravan and I was tabulating the diesel cost but gave up when it became obvious I was getting too angry about it. We spent over $6000 on fuel and ended up coming home early as after paying for the fuel we didn't have enough money to do anything else. Max we paid is $2.35 on the Tanimi but we carried 220litres so didn't get caught out too often. We paid $2.16 at Uluru but only $2.00 at Docker River Community and $1.92 at Oodnadatta all within a couple of days. One day I spent on a fill up and top up $422. I hate being taken for a fool.
AnswerID: 317935

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:18

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:18
I just arrived in Perth and although Diesel is cheaper it was still 39c per litre dearer than ULP.

ULP = $1.46
Diesel= $1.85

AnswerID: 317946

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 03:41

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 03:41
wait till ya drive out of town a bit!!!
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

FollowupID: 584444

Reply By: time waster - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:54

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:54
Do you think the spare wheel cost you more than what it was worth?

AnswerID: 317958

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:27

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:27
No .
FollowupID: 584484

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:00

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:00
G'day Willie. Add to that the cost of rego, insurance , maintainance, food etc to get a more realistic cost :((
A friend just booked a 3 week o/s holiday on the cheap. It's costing her around $9k for just over 3 weeks.
O/S is nice, but I know where I'd rather be :))
AnswerID: 317963

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:19
When people say fuel is not an issue and should not stop you travelling, sorry I disagree to a point. I like many would have just hoped in the vehicle and gone on a trip with food and beer the major cost in the calulations, just a couple of years ago.

Now the first thing I look at is fuel and if the budget will allow it. As it stands I will be doing shorter trips with maybe one bigger trip. My income has not increased at the rate of fuel and many other living expenses, if it did things maybe different.

I'm sure you had a great trip willie :):)

AnswerID: 318070

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:31

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:31
G’day Willie

Thought I would add another perspective. $5371.83 of fuel in 7 weeks = $109.63/day. If you were to have doubled your stay at each stop you would have halved your fuel cost and if those stays also included free camping then you would have halved your holiday cost!

I was having this discussion with the bride as she had some silly (oops) good idea about going back and forth to WA instead of spending say 6 or 12 months there – it would be easier/cheaper to take a periodic flight back. Worked out I need about 1,000 litres of petrol each way and reckon there is some serious saving in reducing the times I undertake that journey.

Theo
AnswerID: 318072

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:29

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:29
Theo ,
My wifes works , so I have to make reasonably short trips to avoid divorce . Divorce would mean I could afford no diesel !
Willie .
FollowupID: 584486

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:07

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:07
No sympathy here.

Before we both retired we made no thought of doing trips like that - and that was when fuel was less than half the current price. We travelled closer to home so we could spend more time at each stop. You do not see much apart from a white line when travelling at your speed. By the time we had both retired we has covered the eastern half of SA through to QLD - this allowed to spend 7 months and not 7 weeks and spend most of it in the west.

PeteD

FollowupID: 584606

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:19
PeteD ,

No sympathy - what a tosser .

I did not go over there to go sightseeing , I went to go gold detecting at Cue , Nullagine and Halls Creek .
FollowupID: 584611

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:36

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:36
PS

It is a 16 ' Bushtracker van , not a 26 ' . OOPS . People on the Bushtracker site were unfamiliar with the 26 ' version !
AnswerID: 318092

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:20
Hahaha, Willie, that is for people with A T T I T U D E. LOL
FollowupID: 584500

Reply By: Innkeepers - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:49

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:49
Hi Ya Willie,
Hey that must have been a rough track you did as you seem to have stretched your Bushtracker by 10 foot......thought you had a 16 footer.......anyway, our Bushtracker is an 18 footer and our roof rack is always loaded with stuff we MUST have.....

We just did a 6 week run from Armidale to Cameron Corner, Birdsville, Mt Isa, Camooweal, Lawn Hill, Burketown,Normanton, Karumba, Chaters Towers, Rockhampton and now back in Armidale.

We averaged 27L/100k towing all the time, but our 100 sreies is a V8 Petrol Auto.......now it wasn't that long ago that we thought we should have bought a TD Cruiser....not so sure now.

Given your usage at 21.55L/100k and even at only 25 cents per litre difference in the fuel price...that means it costs me $2.79 more every 100K we travel.

Anyway, enough about fuel....we're going to buy that Sea Jay Tinne and 15hp Yamaha and Rhino Loader we told you about....will pick it up in September when we're in Rockhampton next.
We're also booked into Sunset Van Park at Karumba for 5 weeks next May-June.
Keep well
Rick
AnswerID: 318093

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:59

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:59
Rick ,

Working on your figure of $2.79 saving , it would only have cost you about $ 350 more than me on the trip I just did . Considering the huge difference in the retail , I think you might have made the right decision . Taking it further , at 200,000 on the clock , the diesel would only be ahead $5580 .

I am surprised at those figures . I wonder if I have made a mistake somewhere . Perhaps some maths genius can correct me on this .

I am off to Tibooburra in a couple of weeks for some more gold detecting . Next year the plan is to drive up the Hay R , then continue north up to Laura to look at the cave paintings in that area , then off up the Cape . That's the plan , anyway .

Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 584495

Follow Up By: Innkeepers - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 14:29

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 14:29
Yes Willie,
At a retail price difference of $13,500 between the V8 Petrol and the 6 Cyl TD at the time....it would a break even point at around 500,000k...given that we have just clocked up our first 100,000K in 4 years....it would take 20 years to reach the break even point.....GASP.

We had a great time of it in the Tibooburra region on our last trip and spent a week at Mt Browne Station.....If quartz was gold you would need a month of sundays to pick it all up with a front end loader.

We didn't get lucky with the gold and found only horse shoe nails and old lead bullets. However, others there did find small nuggets while we were there and also the owners.....Ray & Deb are very friendly folks. Ray has a bit of a go occasionally and found a nugget at the rear of the old homestead...again while we were there. He also has 2 big dry blowers set up near the dam in the paddock before the old homested paddock. That dam has HEAPS of MONSTER YABBIES....

You can camp at the old homestead and there is a camp kitchen and showers and flush toilets and good bore water there too.

Camping is free, but it's $10.00 per day per detector...... You can call into the Milparinka Pub and pay there and get a mud map on the place......they'll even show you a pic of a recent nugget find....they also have a pet goat at the pub....worth a look in the pub lounge at the big fish pond...all those bush pubs are interesting....

I first saw the Split Rock Galleries of Kwinkan Art (Spelling) near Laura in 1989 when I did my second run up to the Cape...they're just beautiful... the Split Rock itself is an amazing sight from the road....looks like it should keep splitting and fall apart.

Keep well Willie...and Pop in if you spot our Bushtracker in Armidale again..
Cheer
Rick
FollowupID: 584524

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:40

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:40
Rick ,

Thanks for the info . It all helps .

Two questions :

Are you allowed to put a yabbie trap in the dam ? If so , I will take one .

Is the goat good looking ?

Thanks ,

Willie
FollowupID: 584552

Follow Up By: Innkeepers - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:57

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:57
Yeah Willie....I always have 4 Opera House traps and 4 Crab Pots wherever I go....so I used all 4 Opera House traps and as Ray & Deb were socialising when I had finished cooking the Yabbies they hung around for a feed.......I used an old Beef Sausage and left over T-Bones and Lamb Chop Bones......Caught heaps...so wear shoes and cover open wounds near the waters edge for your own safety.

The Goat at the Milparinka Pub was only a couple of weeks old when we were there and so, like ladies when they're young....just adorable and innocent.....however, with the dubious clientele that sometimes frequent those establishments.......it's virtue may well have been compromised by now.......so Practise Safe Goat at Milparinka.

Oh...and don't sweet talk the goat by mentioning my name...Julie was with me so I was well behaved.....on that occasion...

Rick
FollowupID: 584565