Best car polish?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:24
ThreadID: 60297 Views:24349 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
Hi folks, I'm chasing some recommendations for a good car polish to give my trusty 100 Series a bit of a birthday while she's parked up in the shed.

Paint is metallic silver in good nick (bar the usual bush scratches).

I don't want to use a cutting compound, just give it a good protective coat and hopefully gently buff out a few old war wounds.

Toorak Tractor club - here I come! Might have to start queuing up in Claremont outside MLC and Scotch College around 3.00pm to pick up young Portia and Tarquin on my way for a chi latte with the girls in Napoleon St Cottesloe. "Ohh how very daaaarling".

Any recommendations greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:33

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:33
Mcguires! (spelling) The best long lasting polish i have used.

AnswerID: 317951

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:38
Yep i agree with Axle ...brilliant stuff

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 584331

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:54

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:54
Meguiar's here too!

FollowupID: 584342

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:04

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:04
Me too.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 584346

Follow Up By: rowdy31 - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:11

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:11
Yep.
My vote for Meguiar's.

rod
FollowupID: 584351

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:13

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:13
Id have to disagree...!! Its good but very over-rated!
FollowupID: 584353

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:22

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:22
My vote is for Meguirs, outstanding product. Go the cleaner then the polish and lastly the wax and it will look a million dollars.
Been using it for 13 years now and have had 3 red cars in that time.
FollowupID: 584359

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:33

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:33
You would disagree Laura... It's a woman's duty to disagree with anything a male says. LMAO

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 584364

Reply By: TD100 - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:41

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:41
Yep agree on that,i use the fine cleaner first then the wet look on my 100 series after a bit of bush work and it looks like new-better actually! Paul
AnswerID: 317955

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:56

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:56
Meguiar's NXT Generation Tech Wax 2.0 Paste is the go for the cars. I've also used it on my boat with good results.

Check out their website. They have very good products.

Meguiar's
AnswerID: 317960

Reply By: ozwasp - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:58

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 19:58
Never used McGuires, but Polyglaze Diamond Finish is good
AnswerID: 317961

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:03

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:03
Hi there ozwasp, the same one I use, easy to put on easy to get off but leaves a great shine and takes out those minor marks you get up the side. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 584382

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:14

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:14
If you ever get your hands on an orange bottle of "nu finish" - get it...they dont make it anymore ....but I found a bottle in coles a few months ago.....must have been very old stock....
AnswerID: 317967

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:29

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:29
Meguires - overpriced and overated- just kidding its the next best thing to what I use.

just to be different I use Car Lack. cheaper, better, been around longer. hard to find though and even harder to get at the right price. Been using it for 25 yars and never had a paint issue.

AnswerID: 317974

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:32

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:32
Polish!!!!!!HUH!!!
AnswerID: 317978

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:50

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 20:50
too much cleaning time & not enough 4wd'ing i reckon!!
FollowupID: 584375

Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:01

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:01
whats car polish? something the poles use?
FollowupID: 584381

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:22

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 21:22
V8Diesel
The best way to make your pride and joy look like new is as follows:

1. To safely remove those fine bush scratches that show the true mark of a real four wheel drive, use Meguiar's "Scratch X" This is the best ever scratch remover that I have ever used. It is not a cutting compound and is safe for all types of paint finishes.

2. Follow up with Meguiar's Gold Class Liquid Wax.

You will not believe the results and your vehicle will have the most brilliant shine. After using other types of polishes, there is no way that I will ever go away from Meguiar's Gold Class Liquid Wax for that deep and brilliant shine.

All the best and you will not be disappointed.

AnswerID: 317996

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:33

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:33
V8 Diesel

For 5 years I would have recommended McGuires System, but alas I have found another,,, MOTHER'S, for the local Autobarn.

Wow, that's good polish, discovered by accident, as Mcguire's was not available.
I felt like giving the old girl ( Navara, not Mrs ) a good spit & polish.
Works a treat.

Only been over Patrol once, will get another coat next week, as I do not want to et the bar too high..
AnswerID: 318040

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:19
So when do we get to see some pics of the new Patrol , Bucky??

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 584482

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 04:32

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 04:32
Borgy

Am busy toying it up, but just a little.....$$$$$$$ bloody hell

Put a 3"exhaust, and a bigger dump pipe on the beast, on Monday avo. And just for good measure put in a K & N high flow air filter.

The difference it has made is impressive, and it can finally breath. Next week was hoping to get it over to Warragul Diesel Injector Service, and have it tweaked, bu ta few things have happened, so it may be in the next 3 - 4 weeks..

Ordered an Icom 400 Pro, UHF radio, but not too sure what aerial yet !.Image Could Not Be Found

Luckily the 3" lift, ( I think ) just got under the panel lift door out the front, by about 18mm, so I am not relegated to the shed. It would be interesting wriggling it into the shed, from the back lane, after night shift. .. MMMmmm.... the mind boggles !
FollowupID: 584680

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:48

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:48
Nice looking rig Bucky, sometimes i wish i had kept mine, slowly starting to get things done to the ute now....Nissan Snorkel , winch, flared gaurds, and the plans for the box are finally drawn up, now its just getting Littleborgy off his backside to make it for me.....will have to change my rig pic...

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 584863

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 03:37

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 03:37
Have not had a chance to get out and take some pics, yet.

Got the right knee done, 6 weeks ago, I recon I would have to wait 8 weeks before I could put full pressure on it.. Even though I am back at work, full time 3 weeks, I will wait the 8 weeks, and besides I am toying it up little.
Then its back onto the foxes, and any other vermin that happens my way..

I work with an ex spray painter/panel beater, and he is keeping an eye out for an Intercooler ( genuine, of course ) I noticed the mounts are there, and another bonnet..the list goes on !

I think next is on the Dyno, and see if I can get the turbo to kick in a little earlier, as unlike the Navara, I cannot hear, or feel it, unless I stomp it, and that is really not my scene,,
At 95-100 km, I like to hear them really whistle up, especially on hills. I hold my foot in the one spot..and lets face it, that is the best way to get the economy out of them.

Will get there, just takes a little time and $$$$

FollowupID: 584884

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:54

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:54
MMcGuires or mothers are both very good...much the same

BUT...use detailing clay if the paint is a bit rough to the feel....do a google...heaps of info about how this stuff works and when to use prior to polishing ....

wash your car and run your finger across paint and probably feels clean...then do this... using plastic glove....(glad wrap) run your finger across the paint ...if it feels like sand paper use the clay....
(the palstic glove enhances your feel)

posted some time back on what i had to do with swmbo's 100...black paint of all things .....

car was parked in industrial area next to Polyaire whose exhaust stacks emitted fine particles of uncured polyurethane...this stuff deposited on the car and was clearly visible using strong magnifier which was found to be sticking to paint...........the clay cleaned the top clear coat of all these deposits, and after a polish using mcguirers made it like new...didnt know black could reflect so brightly
AnswerID: 318065

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:03

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:03
Use Maguiars , fantastic stuff, inc their Scratch X stuff, unbelievable results on all finishes, I have three to take care of and also invested in a Rotary Buffer from Supercheap, a couple of years ago and this takes the cake, do the Landcruiser in a morning and then the other two in the arvo !! ..maybe twice a year...
Use the tyre conditioner..lasts for ages, and use their Yellow wax for final shine, then a quick hand finish with a fresh towel..Don't forget to use their Soft Wash , whenever ...its really great product..(may cost a bit, but well worth every cent)..

ENJOY !!
AnswerID: 318079

Reply By: age - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:07

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:07
V8

Look for a product called SOLVEX, distributed by a small operator at Tweed Heads SOLVEX - for details.

He plys his trade at boat shows etc - I was sceptical, so he gave me a demo bottle and it is the best stuff for truck/boat/eskys - no stains etc. I owned a white 80 series that went on the beach most of its life and when I sold it after 16 years, the paint work was still excellent after using SOLVEX about twice a year.

A
AnswerID: 318081

Follow Up By: age - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:10

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:10
All

Link above seems to have issues - Sorry

His other details

Postal
PO Box 6414
Tweed Heads South NSW 2486
Australia
Phone(07) 5524 9149Fax(07) 5524 9149
FollowupID: 584474

Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:48

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 09:48
Hi V8Diesel, over the years I have tried just about every reasonably priced polish and wax, including McQuires and Klass and they all seem OK but the best stuff I have come across and use is Poor Boys polish and their wax as well.

This stuff is easy to put on and heaps easier than most of the others to wipe off and the finish is better that the others.

It’s about the same price as the above but you usually need to get it through specialist suppliers.

The link below will take you to one of these suppliers and while there, have a look at just how much you can spend of car waxes and polish, if you can afford #3,000+ a tub.

http://www.waxit.com.au/
AnswerID: 318480