Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 29, 2008 at 22:47
Pyro 1
Evening all,
we (the family 2+2) are planning a 4 month trip next year, My parents who drive a 2007 Rav 4 have expressed some interest in doing the Simpson with us, we have done it before but I am sceptical about the rav's ability (power not a problem) articulation more than any thing. So my question is has anybody done it in a rav 4 (cross the Simpson that is) and would they recommend doing it again? My parents although the have seen much of the country they have little 4x4 experience.
Graeme
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 04:57
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 04:57
Graeme
A standard Subaru Forrester accompanied us successfully up a very dry Big Red, in 2006, but not the Simpson..
That was relatively easy. I presume the Rav 4 would be of similar height and capability..
The question you would have to ask yourself is, are people prepared to buddy up, and help this vehicle to cross the Simpson ??????????????
Have seen most makes of 4x4's out there.(there is no height rule, but a little will help)
Put on some quality off road tyres on it.
To make sure that you are not gunna rip it in half, when and if you hook up a snatch strap, ( if you have to use it) and be prepared to carry most of it's crap, and maybe drag it over some of the dunes..
Make sure that there are at least 1 other vehicle with you, if you are gunna try it, because you will need the exrta room to carry all the stuff, that the Rav 4 is not capable of carrying..
It would be a challenge.
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:23
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:23
Graeme, my concern is that you ask if the vehicle is ok for the BIG trip. I feel strongly that you should know all about the capabilities of a vehicle from smaller / safer trips, before you attempt such trips. With those experiences you'll also know about how the vehicle compares to others as
well, and learn lots of other very useful stuff about the vehicle / your parents driving capabilities. I know early RAV's did it easily but they had so much clearance compared to newer one's. Good luck with it. JD
Follow Up By: stevesub - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:42
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:42
I agree, especially as the driver has had little 4x4 experience. A course from a recognised trainer in the conditions expected in the Simpson would be
well worth the $$ for the driver. That would give them some idea as to what to expect - or put them off so no problem for you.
Make sure that the RAV4 has adequate recovery hooks front and rear on a solid part of the body/chassis for snatching before you start
Stevesub
Reply By: psproule - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:52
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 05:52
A Rav 4 would do it at the moment on the right tyre pressures. The sand isn't that soft this year. We were able to literally idle up big red. We passed a Forrester going east to west on the french line (along with a bunch of other Subi's). They claimed they had no troubles.
But I would like to echo the sentiments of the others above. This is a big trip to undertake as the first serious outing. Fuel range would be an added problem.
Reply By: PradoTrev - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 07:09
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 07:09
Hi pyro 1
I met a guy who takes his HT holden across every couple of years. and he has not lifted it or nor does he have off road tyres.
what he does have is a bucket full of experience and caution is his best friend.
If you can carry most of the kit for the rav and exercise a zhit load of caution you will get across in around 4 days.
Push it and I would suggest that is exactly what you will be doing to the rav.
what the hell if you got the money to recover it if it breaks i say go for it.
Have fun and enjoy the adventure.
trev
Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:00
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:00
Just get them to rent a full size 4WD... much more comfortable in all respects including fuel.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:02
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:02
Not knowing a RAV 4, does it have good(rated) recovery points front and rear.That would be a must for snatching over sand hills.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:05
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:05
No they do not, been their done that.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:30
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:30
Hi There Pete, how would you know ???? LOL. mmmm spent a weekend pulling one out if I remeber correctly. How did it end up anyway ?? Much damage etc ?? Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:46
Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 17:46
Like your since of humour Steve. Put in a detailed report not sure of the thread no. We where very lucky only damage was new sump for tranny, and a few scratches. Has been hired out several times since then and no problems. Their not a bad little jigger for forest roads etc. If I can get my son arround for a while I will download some photos my wife took on the day and put up a post. Very nice scenery. I would not take one into the simpson though.
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:19
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:19
G'day Graeme,
At the risk of repeating what others have already said, let me make the following observations.......
If your parents have little 4x4 experience, get them to either join a club or do an accredited course. I would think the club thing is probably better 'cos when they've done the clubs DAP, they can go on a few trips with the club and practice what they've been taught. There's a lot more to it than just locking the hubs in. This will give them the confidence to have a crack at the Simpson.
Your profile says you drive a turbo'd 100 series, so with planning and knowledge, you will be able to "help" them get over the dunes that the RAV won't IF the need arises. Again, a club DAP or an accredited course will teach all of you correct use of tow straps and snatch straps. And never take short cuts with recovery, always do it the correct way to ensure no-one loses a limb.
Make sure the RAV has recovery points fore & aft..... and NOT just the tie down points that most people THINK are recovery points!
Tyre patterns probably aren't too important in sand, but tyre pressures are!!!! Although, you will have to make sure that the tyres are capable of driving over 100's of kilometres of gibber strewn roads to get there! So the standard road tyres that came from the factory may (or may not) be adequate on these roads. Once in the sand, lower the pressure in the tyres..... we run 18psi in the Patrol, not only gives good traction but also more comfort, not so bouncy!
I would think that if they want to go, and the RAV is the vehicle they want to go in, then if you're prepared to give them a tow here and there, and they drive sensibly, I wouldn't think it a problem.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:57
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:57
Following up Brians Tyre comments - We quickly damaged our tyres and replaced the HT's on our RAV4 with Grantrek AT's which are one of few AT in a compatiable size , and they were quite effective for that car.
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:32
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:32
Hi Robin,
Just curious, did you damage the tyres on the gibbers? I blew a BFG muddy on the gibbers out there...... and did you take the RAV4 to
the desert?
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:21
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:21
Damaged the tyres on the 10km of rough dirt road on way to our place an hour north of
melbourne.
The HT tyres it came with are so weak that they make grandtreks look good.
Our RAV4 2006 model is not suitable for dessert or 4wding in general , its the 3rd new one now and the 1st had a lockable centre diff and had some capability but later models went to viscous coupling and lost 4wd ability.
The newest model claims good traction control , but I have yet to try it.
I tried the equivalent new Suzuki though and it wasn't much good.
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:36
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:36
"I tried the equivalent new Suzuki though and it wasn't much good"
(sighs) They're all getting softer aren't they Robin.......
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:43
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 08:43
As others have said; Get those recovery points sorted ! After that if people can tow trailers through the Simpson I don't see why you can't tow the Rav :-))
As for experience you need to have them try some soft sand hills and have a good play with tyre pressures. Also, what about the fuel range of the Rav ? Who is going to carry the extra fuel ? Not much room in a Rav.
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:06
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 09:06
I have seen on the French Line, numerous Subaru's, Mercedes C70, Nissan Xtrail, Corolla and Datsun 1400 ute. Many others have crossed in a variety of 2wd vehicles.
Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:07
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 10:07
Consider putting mechanical LSD's, true trac's for eg, front and rear. Won't make any difference to the road, except lack of wheelspin when the bitumen is wet, and INMO best option for slippery surfaces such as sand, and if one wheel is stuck in the air, then just some handbrake action gets the stopped wheel going.
Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:08
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:08
I drove a friends Rav4 all over
stockton beach and it handled it fine.
The only comments I would add to the already educated list the other posters have provided is this...
The low ground clearance and relatively soft
suspension, mixed with a large front overhang caused the Rav to dive into the sand everytime the speed was increased to tackle a large dune. The occillations of the bumps (whoop-d-doops) before a dune slows the rav down when momentum and controlled speed is required to crest a due.
Apart from that I would also question is the centre difflock (I believe viscous) would cope
well with the sustained wheelspin you find when driving for long periods in sandy conditions.
They are one of the more capable of the soft roaders and might cope
well, but is it worth the stress? If so and your planning is adequate then so be it.... good luck I hope its enjoyable.
Reply By: Pyro 1 - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:58
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:58
Thankyou all,
I think that I will ask the to come as far as
Birdsville, Should be fun anyway, we will get there via
Bore track and
Walkers crossing. Its the lack of experience that worries me and I know my father would not do a 4x4 course. It was a nice idea.
Thanks again
Graeme
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:42
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:42
"Its the lack of experience that worries me and I know my father would not do a 4x4 course"
Sorry, and I don't intend to offend, but for me that's a bad idea. He should do a course!
Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:04
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:04
RAV will make it but it make take years off its life.
Whatever you do DO NOT TAKE A TRAILER
It is scientifically proven that these completely destroy
the desert until eternity. Even if a procession of a hundred vehicles have gone past (speeding, overloaded, 2WD, pumped up tyres etc) the damage caused by just one trailer stands out like the proverbial canine genitalia.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:51
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:51
BS!
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:36
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:36
This is the sort of comment asking for something. What you after Bob cos the bait sure is good?????
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:17
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:17
Last year, A friend joined us with a stock standard Kia Sportage - same clearance, same tyres etc as a RAV.
He made it over all but 3 of the dunes, and we simply towed him over the soft bit at the top. He had lots of power and very low tyre pressures - all he lacked was clearance. The big 4wds leave ruts that would slow him down.
Recovery points: Snatching is not necessary. Most softroaders have good TOW points. We use an equaliser strap so the load is shared between two tow points and gentle tug and a tow pulls them over. No point in fitting 10,000lb hooks on a small vehicle.
Fuel is an issue. RAV will need to carry an extra 60 litres of ULP - where do you store that? Add 60 litres of
water, and thats a lot of extra weight for a RAV.
If they are running a fridge, you can simply upsize the cranking battery. We fitted an N70 to a RAV once before, which meant the owner could runa fridge for 2 nights, and still start the vehicle the following day.
Tyres: its very hard to damage a tyre on the common tracks in the
Simpson desert, so any tyres will do. But they are an uncommon size, so he'll need a second spare.
phil
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:40
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:40
Good point about the recovery Phil..... snatching is NOT always necessary!
I question the tyres though, the HT's might be ok for the sand, but what of the gibbers on the roads on the way there?
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:06
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:06
Brian,
You're right about the tyres - lots get trashed on the
Oodnadatta and
Birdsville tracks - but if they don't overload, keep their speed and tyre pressures down a bit and have heaps of tread, they are usually OK. Theres not many LT tyres around for softroaders.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:14
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:14
On the Simpson dunes, you'd never need a snatch - lightweight vehicle stuck in dry sand; heavier towing vehicle will be heading down the other side. Doesn't get much easier than that.
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:17
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:17
The problem I see with soft roaders in general is that they let people go far enough to get themselves into real trouble.
Two problems with rav, no low range, no centre diff lock and if you lose traction on one wheel all drive will go to that wheel. OPPS thats three. lol
Foresters are more capable with low range etc.
Pyro if you do a search on this site you will be able to find my little adventure recovering a rav off a mountain.
Cheers pete