new boy
Monday PM left
Carnarvon to drive to
Geraldton 482 Klm first 200 is pretty flat country with very good visabilty. Monday was overcast with moderate to heavy rain during the first 200klm I was appalled at the number of drivers plenty in dark cars towing vans driving without their headlights on so simple and much safer.
Park lights were not effective in the conditions.
Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:58
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:58
Hope you're not heading to
Perth.....In the last few months with the rain...most drivers here speed up and at least 50% dont turn the lights on in those shocking visibility conditions. Then you should hear the insults and chatter on the UHF when there is an accident and the traffic is banked up for hours!
Common sense isn't all that common anymore is it!
Good luck and stay safe on your drive.
Mat.
Reply By: Camoco - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:05
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:05
I just don't understand why people don't. I used to always drive cars that were a bit dodgy, batteries on the way out, alternator barely able to charge the battery with no load etc.
But these days, I see most of the new cars, silver and white especially, not using headlights in poor conditions. These cars almost always have beepers or auto shut offs for headlight protection, but yet they are kings of the road as far as attitude goes.
They fail to realize that whilst they can see, others such as myself can easily miss them. I don't have A/C to clear the screen or other such niceties but I always use lights whenever the conditions are not clear just so some poor bugger doesn't clean me up.
I am sure it is a respect thing, as most people seem to be losing respect for other road users.
For me it is almost always silver and white that fail to use headlights. As for parkers, they are only useful if you are following and then you have more chance to see them and brake, but on coming, they are useless.
Glad to have that whinge.
Cheers Cam
Reply By: Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:19
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:19
I find when it starts raining or in fog people seem to drive faster.
The old rule is drive to the conditions.
all the best
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:34
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:34
Eric they have to get home before they have an accident.lol
Cheers pete
Reply By: new boy - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:25
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:25
Hi Matt
Only went to Gero for the day Quick trip I'm back in
Carnarvon left at 0530 easy today clear weather. Lots of vans on the road magority were Easternstaters must of had enough of the North dont know why to cold down your way.
The rain on a brighter note has helped the crops North of
Northampton which has been in drought for 2 years have some magnificent looking crops and most of the creeks are running.
The
wildflowers will also be fantastic up this way.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:33
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:33
Hi new boy - I'll be coming into
Carnarvon G from the south this weekend with me poptop - what's the weather been like? also the condition of the dirt road please?..
T.R.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:39
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:39
Hi new boy - I'll be coming into
Carnarvon G from the south this weekend with me poptop - what's the weather been like? also the condition of the dirt road please?..
T.R.
Follow Up By: new boy - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:31
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:31
TR
Weather in
Geraldton has been very wet and predicted to last tomorrow with an easying over the weekend
Carnarvon Monday as stated very wet but only odd shower today, rest of the week increaseing sunshine so should be glorious.
There is no dirt road from the south into
Carnarvon or
Geraldton so unshore what route you are using but the dirt roads in the back block out to
Gascoyne Junction ,Bush Bay Ect are closed at this moment 1630 Wednesday but they dry out very quickly so should be open by the weekend but in saying that check with Main Rd or Shire.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:09
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:09
Sorry about the double posting - probs with the server. coming up the seal from
Injune to the turnoff and thence to Takarakka Resort CP.
I think there is still about 17kms of unsealed into Takarakka. Hope it is dry otherwise will have to commute from
Rolleston. thanks for info.
T.R.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:13
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:13
oooooops !. should have twigged that we are talking about two different Carnarvons. The one I'm going into is
the gorge one in Queensland.
It's that damn toad juice I brewed up last weekend - it's done a frontal lobotomy on me. Sorry. nice to read your interesting post anyway
T.R.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:58
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 13:58
Putting headlights on during
bright daylight is good too - see oncoming vehicles a lot further away.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 14:12
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 14:12
new boy
Yep....always the dark car usually has no lights on,
Parking lights are for
parking, I guess that's why we call them as such, light greys are same color as a dry road, the dark
grey is same as a wet road, 2 colors that should be banned and yet if you take notice there everywhere,
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:17
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:17
G'day Doug good to see you back.
We were only discussing this today here at work. There's a lot of moronic drivers on the roads.
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:08
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:08
I was watching my wife come down the driveway from work yesterday..with her lights on. I smiled.
When we were first going out (in the days before one simply shacked up with a stranger :) we were driving along when she noticed that I had my lights on. "Don't do that," she said. "People will look at us!"
She wasn't impressed when I explained that was the idea !
How times have changed.
Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:22
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:22
What I hate is those daytime drivers who have their headlights on BUT on high beam....Can't get them to dip their lights....they don't know...or probably don't care.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:10
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:10
Agreed, Redbakk
What's even worse is a vehicle with high beam and those f###ing wanker fog lights on as
well.
Bad enough in the dry but a real blinder in wet conditions.
Saw one today to beat the lot.
OK, pouring rain, but does anyone need the following:- Head lights, Fog lights down low, 2
Driving lights on the bull bar and to make sure that they could be seen 4 lights on the roll bar above the cab. All bloody ON at the one time, and it was daylight!!.
Not too sure about the legality of that lot but it sure made his alternator work.
Not a 4wd but a lowered Holden Ute with extra low profile mags and all the lair equipment.
Wot a Wanker.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:41
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:41
I agree, but have been guilty of this as I have gotten into a strange vehicle, put the lights on and because I always wear sunglasses have not noticed the high beam indicator, till someone lets me know.
Cheers pete
Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:48
Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:48
If you have a dark vehicle PLEASE put your lights on as soon as you turn the key regardless of weather conditions.
Nearly had a head on once, the sun had set 15 mins earlier, I pulled out to pass a truck only to discover this idiot in a dark
sedan coming towards me with no lights on. I wonder did he learn a lesson .
Cheers pete