GQ Rear Storage completed

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:03
ThreadID: 60322 Views:3892 Replies:13 FollowUps:33
Still one or two finishing touches as I am waiting for some material to arrive.

I can still crawl into my bed a fit quite comfortably despite dire predictions by some of you....lol

Capacity for 200lt diesel and 80 lt water when not towing trailer

Reply By: pepper2 - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:11

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:11
Might be an idea to strengthen rear spring mounts to accomodate the extra weight if you havent already..there are so many failures of these that there is a 3 week wait to have repairs done at a engineering works in melbourne,otherwise looks a good job.
AnswerID: 318133

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:16

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:16
Melbourne....Hahahaah. I think you might find Willems favouite engineering works are two batteries and a bit fencing wire parked on a hill overlookin Kintore.

FollowupID: 584536

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:24

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:24
The capacity to carry all the extra fuel will only be needed on one or two occasions. Without the fuel capacity the GQ weighs in at 150kg under GVM. So in the end the weight may only be 50 -100kg over GVM. I do run Poyairs but keep the pressures low. So far have not had an issue with as turret cracking despite a mate trying to wind me up when lying under my vehicle :-) Will be checking for cracks this week as part of thorough ckeck -up of chassis.

FollowupID: 584539

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:45

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:45
I lub dat Kintore place cuz. Bin dere tree times now....lol
FollowupID: 584668

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:11

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:11
Gday Willem,

"Capacity for 200lt diesel and 80 lt water when not towing trailer"
Surely not in the car Willem!!!!

Looks good mate.

AnswerID: 318134

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:37

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:37
Yerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
FollowupID: 584548

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:14

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:14
I would like a video of you getting into and out of bed please!!!!

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 318135

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:27

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:27
Cheeky bugger!!!!

I tried all entries and the easiest is from the front passgenger seat. I can actually roll over in bed not touching the hood lining...So there. Might not suit someone like you cos you aren't flexible enough. Fat people are flexible....LOL

Cheer
FollowupID: 584541

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:51

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:51
A video of you trying all the different ways to get in would have been bloody funny, Mr Flexible

FollowupID: 584556

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:21

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:21
It looks a good job though Wilem, well thought out.

Davei

FollowupID: 584560

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:41

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:41
hahaha, Dave pre-empted my question!!!, no room for hankypanky mr Willem!!!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 584594

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:15

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:15
Looks like you'll be getting high every night :))
Nicely done. Solved the trailer and sleeping spots at the same time. I'll be interested in how comfortable you find it.
AnswerID: 318136

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:29

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:29
Footy

Have been sleeping in truck for two years now(whilst travelling ofcourse). Its comfortable enough for a camp bed.

FollowupID: 584542

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:39

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:39
Apparently I move around a bit when asleep, so it might not suit me, although I've slept anywhere and everywhere when younger. A bit of age and things starting to fall apart makes it all different, as you know.
FollowupID: 584550

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:06

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:06
Hi Willem
Mate maybe you should see a doctor about that bad snoring and then just maybe Judith would let you back in the house.
2 years is a long time to sleep in a car.....hahahahahaha

Getting out isn't the problem it is getting in after a night around the camp fire drinking your moon shine...LOL
Well done.

Regards Ross
FollowupID: 584557

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:00

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:00
That reminds me...I still have some of Sir Kev's Moonshine.

Actually its quite easy. Just sliiiiiidddeeee in...lol

FollowupID: 584575

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:58

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:58
I could arrange another delivery for the Pyrenees, just need to get Sam to pick some up in Sydney in Sept LOL

FollowupID: 584585

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:17

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:17
William,
Plenty of room for sleeping! I lived on a ship for 7 1/2 years. You get used to no space after a while. The first few nights you will probably bang your head a few times!!! Good work.
Matt

AnswerID: 318138

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:30

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:30
William?

This isnt new. Just a bit higher than before

FollowupID: 584543

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:26

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:26
I'd be interested to find out how much structural strength you get from MDF and screws.

Feedback on how your second row seat setup for your fuel jerries hold up after a bit of cornering and rough road would be good.
AnswerID: 318142

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:37

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:37
Fuel storage still has to get steel harness made which should keep jerries in place and stop forward movement as well. Jerries will also be tied down with rachet strap.

Have been using this set-up with MDF since the early '90's and it works well. Can't give you mathematical equation on it, but suffice to say, I don't expect any problems

Hard cornering is out of the question. Rough roads and cross country remains to be seen but I have had similar set-ups in the past and they have worked well
FollowupID: 584547

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:31

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:31
Blimey, you have been busy. Like I said, when you coming over to do mine?
AnswerID: 318144

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:38

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 15:38
Wotcher paying?
FollowupID: 584549

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:10

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:10
Universal currency - beer & hookers! lol. Seriously, you have inspired me to get mine finished. I have all the materials and the bottom half is done. Just need to finish the cage section and the shelf over the fridge.

Then I'll have to go somewhere.
FollowupID: 584559

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:51

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 16:51
Gotta admit...looking good !!

Also, good to see you've 'concealed' the fuel jerrys. I was imagining you parking in front of an Embassy- with the diesel drums & a bag of fertiliser !!!!

AnswerID: 318153

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:08

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:08
Or maybe in front of your house?...lol
FollowupID: 584577

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:48

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:48
Verrrrrrrrry nice ole chap, and some mighty fine saw work if you don't mind me saying so..

If you are thinking of going full time 'so to speak' and in direct competition with our local forum drawer making guru, how much to knock up a set of drawers/sleeping quarters for the Troopy???????

Michael

AnswerID: 318162

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:03

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:03
Just drop the old bomb off here one day and I will rearrange it for you, young fella.

Payment can be half the fuel to DTS and back

FollowupID: 584576

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:21

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:21
Best step is when you glue carpet all over it - makes it look really professional, helps hold the wood together, and all the nosey people can't see how its made - this is what works for me :-))

Any plans for preserving your modesty? The old Sandman panelvans had the really dark tint; the Kombis had a nice set of curtains, and others had the venetian blinds. What will it be??
AnswerID: 318169

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:26

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:26
Modesty? hahahahahahahaha.

Apart from National Gatherings where cluster camping is allowed, I normally camp away from the madding crowd. Go to bed after dark and rise before sparrowfart so your are unlikely to see much except maybe a pair of old legs......................................:-)

I have some hardened plastic floor covering over the top of the lids. That'll do.

FollowupID: 584589

Reply By: nickb - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:38

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:38
Nice setup. I did a similar system in my GU (although not as extravagant) and I slept on the top(6'6", 100kg). It was fantastic, strong enough and kept everything easily accessible.

My only advice would be to put in a cargo barrier. I was recently in a head-on collision and my cargo barrier had serious deformation where some stuff had dislodged and hit it very hard. The mdf shelving basically disintegrated, even snapping where the 4 bolts where holding it to the floor.
AnswerID: 318176

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:33

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:33
nickb

Not going to install a cargo barrier as it is impractical, but have a steel restraint welded up for me which utilises floor bolts to stop movement of jerrycans forwards and sideways. Jerrycan also tied down with ratched strap. Apart from the MDF there isn't much weight in the back of the vehicle. Just the fridge, some tools, recovery gear and prospecting gear.

The remake is to carry extra fuel for extremely remote off track driving so weight will not be carried constantly. I normally tow a bush trailer with all the camping gear
FollowupID: 584590

Follow Up By: nickb - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:33
Yeah, the barrier was a bit of a pain in the bum for everyday use for me. I was carrying about the same as you, my fridge slide ripped itself out of the mdf and hit the barrier(the engel still works but has a big dent in it), as did my cast cooking pot!

Mine didn't have any welded supports so yours is probably stronger than mine.

This is a pic before I moved the cargo barrier to behind the front seats and extended the shelf.

FollowupID: 584616

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:13

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:13
Willem, have you reached that stage where you need to get up a couple of times during the night to empty the bladder?

Have you installed a piss-a-phone?

Plastic funnel and hosepipe does the trick.

AnswerID: 318196

Follow Up By: oz doc - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:28
I think that may be more information than any of us need to know about Willems 'storage' modifications!doc.
FollowupID: 584614

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:44

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:44
Steven

Should I ever get to that stage...what do you suggest? I need to know what your real life experience in such matter is. Have you slept in you vehicle? Was it similar to what I have constructed?

These days you travel in your caravan. Does it have a toilet or have you drilled a hole in the wall to do your business out on the caravan park parking bay?

Your wisdom will be appreciated

FollowupID: 584621

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:46

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:46
Maybe so, but you wouldn't want to be getting in and out of that crawl space too often each night.

FollowupID: 584622

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:55

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:55
I sense some scoffing, but it's a serious matter to those affected.

When I used to camp in a tent I used to go outside.

When sleeping in my old 80 series I used to crawl out through a passenger door. This was really a pain. That's why I asked what I thought was a reasonable question.

When we had a camper trailer I used a 5 litre plastic bottle.

Now, the caravan does have a toilet but we only use it when absolutely necessary because of the difficulty of finding a dump point to dispose of the contents in an environmentally acceptable manner. So I still use the 5 litr bottle. The van toilet is almost exclusively my wife's domain and I'm happy to have it that way, although strangely it is still my job to empty the canister.

Geez, this Forum seems to be able to cope with all sorts of subjects except those discussing ways to make essential functions more comfortable.

Oh well........

FollowupID: 584624

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:01

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:01
What is it to you what I may or may not do in my sleeping time in the back of my vehicle?

Oz doc above, summed it up
FollowupID: 584626

Follow Up By: oz doc - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:05

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:05
mmmate - 5 litres!- maybe you need to cut back on the drinking a little! doc.
FollowupID: 584627

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:08

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:08
OK.

FollowupID: 584629

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:38

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:38
OK, so maybe I was being a little terse. Maybe to the crassness of the question. The subject has been documented here before some while ago.

The best thing to do do is not to drink a whole lot of liquid at night before you go to bed.. Yeah, I know...sit around the camp-fire sinking tinnie after tinnie. That was in the 70's and 80's. Eventually you come to the stage when that is unsustainable.

So since about 2000 I have had older bloke's problems. I decided to utilise a V8 Juice 1 litre bottle and as my habits have changed I have not filled it during the night for quite a while. Once a week I use a bit of bleach and water to 'purify' the container.

I am interested to learn that you have abrogated your right, Steven, to the use of the inside toilet. Remember, sitting down on the receptacle isn't a crime(as long as you don't admit to doing it). If you have a toilet then use it. You can normally dispose of that waste at town rubbish tips or in a neatly dug hole in the middle of nowhere.

Sleep well tonite, eh!
FollowupID: 584641

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:36

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:36
Willem, Thats a great spot for a bed and just thinking that the sliding window could be a handy item in the middle of the night..!!! Michael
FollowupID: 584662

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:42

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:42
Next time you come past Michael, maybe you would care to give a demonstration!!!!
FollowupID: 584666

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:52

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:52
Thats one thing thats crook on the GU, no rear window opening at all.. Even the 100 series has a little rear opening on the side windows.. Oh well!!
FollowupID: 584673

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:10

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:10
Gday Willem
I have some .8 rubber if you need a mattress,,,or if you want to go all out for comfort, try some 3mm neoprene closed cell sponge .
Murray

AnswerID: 318282