80 series OME suspension with gas conversion...

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 17:49
ThreadID: 60327 Views:6899 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
I have my 80 series booked in for full Old Man Emu suspension next week and am not 100% positive i have chosen the best rear springs. I am on dual fuel, so the rear 55L sub tank was replaced by a 90L gas tank. So there may be an extra 50kg incl tank there. Plus i now have a Kaymar spare wheel carrier which is probably another 50kgs and that weight is held out back so may be more weight on the rear suspension there. So i am assuming i am carrying around an extra 100kgs when the gas tank is full.
Now OME springs come in medium duty or medium plus an extra 200kgs constant weight. Their catalogue states the normal medium springs for dual fuel conversions but every 4WD shop i've spoken to says that they think the 200kg extra rear springs are the go.
I don't mind having heavier than needed springs in the back, but none could tell me if the 50mm lift will actually be 50mm with only 100kgs extra weight at the back.... I couldnt clarify whether the springs are the same height and have a firmer rate, or they sit higher with a firmer weight too...
Last thing i want is a firmer set of springs in the back which sit higher than the front and dont handle like they are designed to!

Does anyone have any experience with this problem or any opinions? I'm just undecided since OME state medium duty with gas conv, but all who sell and fit them say plus200kgs may be ok...
Thanks!

Reply By: Ray - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:03

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 18:03
Hi. I have an 80ser on LPG. I don't have a spare wheel carrier on the back but I do have a false floor under which I keep my spare wheel, compressor and general tools.
I would not mess around with the worry of what springs to use. Do as I did and install a pair of air suspension bags. They are just as cheep as buying new springs that might not do the job that you want.
AnswerID: 318165

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:21
Tippa, I am about to put gas on my 4.5 80s,I have got poly-airs on the back ,I think I will just put an extra shot of air in them to take the extra weight of the gas tank,remember ,it is a diminishing weight ,which you cant control with stiff springs.Air bags are the go.
regards Keith C
AnswerID: 318185

Reply By: Tippa - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:31

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:31
Ok thanks gents. The only thing is that i want to upgrade my suspension, so i just need to choose std or plus 200kg rear springs... if i wasn't upgrading then polyairs definitely would be the best option.
Maybe i get std OME springs and see how they go, and if i need extra lift then look at airbags...
AnswerID: 318186

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:45

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:45
Hi Tippa
I had OME suspension fitted long before i had the lpg fitted
But i had a rear tyer carrier fitted.
The spring part no's i have fitted now are
front springs p/n 851
rear springs p/n 864 400kg constant.
I originally had 860 rear springs medium and found they were to light for towing a camper and loaded with gear and 2 spares on the rear.
Changed out the rear springs after 5000klm.
864 springs are the heaviest they make and i have now problem with them at all, i like them.
It does sit about 25mm higher in the back with no load
and even when over loaded with gear it sits very even not even sagged out.
unloaded the ride is ok and steering and handling good.
But its been a long time since i have driven a stocky.
if you are in Sydney you could test mine.
Also Try searching this site or google OME 864 springs you will find a lot more info.

Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 318190

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:58

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 19:58
If you look at my profile there is a picture of my 80
sitting in the drive loaded up for a Simpson desert
crossing enough gear and spares, food for 3 people for 2 weeks
2 spares ,60 liters of water, the fuel drums on the roof and rear carrier were empty untill Mt Dare and the springs hardly sagged.
Comparied to my mates stock gxl 105 series which was on the bump stops.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 584601

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:06

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:06
Our 80 was pretty heavy (dual tire carrier, long range tank, _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, fridge, tools, bullbar, winch etc etc). The OME shockies lasted maybe 6 months if we were lucky, and that was with no real off road work - maybe a couple of gravel roads. Can't remember the exact amount of k's but I'm sure Hubby could tell me if you really wanted to know.
So after the 2nd set dissapointed us we went with the Tuff Dog (big bore shocks) and a set of Poly Airs, The ride was great, we could pump the poly's up a bit when towing a camper and best of all the things lasted! The vehicle was pretty level too - no saggy bum or one sticking up in the air.
Had the car checked out recently (rego inspection) before we sold it, and it got the nod from the old guy who really knew his cars, said it had the right amount of travel, (wheel drop?) etc etc.

So I would recommend looking at Tuff Dog, particularly if you have a heavy rig, and I'd stay away from OME - they just didn't last with that sort of weight.
AnswerID: 318241

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:09

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:09
Just to clarify I was talking about the OME shock absorbers, not the springs - I don't think we had any problems with the springs.
FollowupID: 584676

Reply By: Tippa - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:28

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:28
Ok thanks everyone for your very helpful advice. Much appreciated!
Rob S so you are still happy with your ride quality of your 80 series with Plus400kg OMEs with it unladen... great to know! The 200kgs should be fine then.
As for tough dogs, they were originally my first choice as i was impressed with the size of their bores/pistons etc and... really their marketing. After speaking with quite a few 4x4 specialists, they cautioned me to stay clear of them as they are made in Malaysia and are of average build quality. When i had my cruiser in for some work, a patrol with tough dogs was beside me. I asked how they were and he cowered when he told me he "upgraded" from OME to toughdogs and since then has ripped the guts out of 3 of them. He is now saving up for new OMEs again.
Having said that, i think different people have different experiences and even more opinions... I'm happy to hear you and your hubby are enjoyi9ng your rig with its toughdogs!
AnswerID: 318369

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:49

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 23:49
Likewise then, thanks for the heads up. I'll tell the other half that he should do some research again when he eventually looks at upgrading the suspension on his 79 series ute (which I think has stock toyo gear on it at the moment as it's a '05 model). Well actually I'll probably do research - he works and I'm still at home with one of the kids.

We don't have the 80 series any more, traded it in for a Subaru Forester a couple of months ago. With the diesel prices like they currently are we didn't really need two 4x4's any more, besides the kids have started going to school and we've settled down for a bit (building house etc etc etc), so I don't think there will be any "across Australia" type trips for a while now, besides it's much cheaper to fly my Mother over from Qld to come see us in WA.
FollowupID: 584880

Reply By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:18

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:18
No Worries Outa Bounds, i'm no expert on suspension thats for sure... i have just taken alot of opinions, mixed them up and come up with my own... and hopefully i'm right ha ha. I'm sure most after market shocks are great, and at least better than stock shocks!
One good thing i know about OME is that they set up and valve their shocks to suit each vehicle type, unlike alot of others who have the same part number for a variety and then you have to play around with settings to get it right.
Anyway i hope Old Man Emus do the job for me and i'll post back with results!
Rob, i had a look at your cruiser, looks awesome! In fact its the same as mine but you have done a few more good good mods to yours.

Mine:

My father in law owned it since new, has been around the country 3 times towing his camper trailer, and came with a few goodies like:
Dual batteries,
Twine shower hot water system,
Hayman reece HD towbar and trailer brakes,
Spare seats for the back,
Basket for the roof,
Roof racks,
And a set of cargo drawers, Waeco 50L fridge and camper trailer which we share (fit his new prado).
Now i have Injected gas system, Phillips Plus80 headlights, Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ 285/75/16s, Spare wheel carrier, OME suspension (fitting next week).
I cant wait for my first adventure in it!
AnswerID: 318433

Reply By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:18

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:18
No Worries Outa Bounds, i'm no expert on suspension thats for sure... i have just taken alot of opinions, mixed them up and come up with my own... and hopefully i'm right ha ha. I'm sure most after market shocks are great, and at least better than stock shocks!
One good thing i know about OME is that they set up and valve their shocks to suit each vehicle type, unlike alot of others who have the same part number for a variety and then you have to play around with settings to get it right.
Anyway i hope Old Man Emus do the job for me and i'll post back with results!
Rob, i had a look at your cruiser, looks awesome! In fact its the same as mine but you have done a few more good good mods to yours.

Mine:

My father in law owned it since new, has been around the country 3 times towing his camper trailer, and came with a few goodies like:
Dual batteries,
Twine shower hot water system,
Hayman reece HD towbar and trailer brakes,
Spare seats for the back,
Basket for the roof,
Roof racks,
And a set of cargo drawers, Waeco 50L fridge and camper trailer which we share (fit his new prado).
Now i have Injected gas system, Phillips Plus80 headlights, Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ 285/75/16s, Spare wheel carrier, OME suspension (fitting next week).
I cant wait for my first adventure in it!
AnswerID: 318434

Follow Up By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:20

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:20
Woops... double post!
FollowupID: 584886

Reply By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:25

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 07:25
Hey Outa Bounds, i was just thinking, if your previous rig's OME shocks lasted 6 months before packing it in, do you remember if they came with a warranty? I thought the fella mentioned to me they did and so i'll clarify that. If you have been thru 2 sets in a short period of time then thats shocking (boom tish). Thanks for the heads up and i'll definitely check up on what their warranty covers. Thanks again!
AnswerID: 318436

Follow Up By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:33

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:33
Ok i just checked up Old Man Emu warranty and it's a 2yr, 40,000kms warranty.
FollowupID: 585016

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 11:15

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 11:15
I have OME springs and shocks at all 4 corners in my LC80. When I have approached ARB first time after much discussion they suggest “200KG constant load”. They proven to be so weak, not a joke! I have managed to bottomed my LC during X-mas trip to VicAlps and it cost me repair and rerouting my beloved 3” exhaust. I have come from Simpson last week. Been traveling VERY light, yet bottomed it again! And again have to fix my beloved exhaust!!! Enough is enough – today they changing to 600KG constant load – as stiff as I can get from OME. This is my advice.

Serg
AnswerID: 318487

Reply By: Tippa - Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:24

Friday, Aug 01, 2008 at 19:24
Wow is that right? Can i ask what you are carrying and towing to compare what i will be? As said, my father in law has had mine on some pretty long tours... Canning stock route, Tanamai, Simpson, Cape york, all towing a camper trailer with 4 jerry cans full of petrol, roof basket with 2 spare wheels and other gear, rear cargo drawers, waeco etc etc and he was on 250,000km old factory original springs and shocks and no air bags or any suspension upgrades! And got no damage at all! Maybe he sticks to the smooth roads and takes it easy...
I guess there is 4wding and then there is 4WDING!
Since it will be a while to my first treck, i guess ill see how these 200kg constant rears go (already waiting at the shop for fitment) and if i'm not convinced in their load carrying capability then i'll get some airbags like a lot of other experienced members have advised.
Thanks!
AnswerID: 318560