Country Liiving??

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 20:58
ThreadID: 60336 Views:2804 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
We have a relative ( Born and Bred Melbourne Boy who was educated at Brighton Grammar) who now lives on Shepparton.

He now claims to be a "country boy".

The likes of Shepparton, Rockhampton, Ballarat are IMHO just rural busines centres. TRhey don't offer the joys of country life.

I'd give my left gonackular to live in Gippsland (Vic), so don't get me wrong, I'm not a fan of the city life.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:14

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:14
Jim
You gotta be kidding.... Gippsland land of Frost and bloody great Earth Worms,and Victorians... your not a Worm are ya ,

AnswerID: 318215

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:50
Hey Doug, Victorians are really Tasmanians on there way to Qld!
Why is Tassie so close to the mainland? Because Victoria sucks!
FollowupID: 584647

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:47

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:47
If you wanna live in Gippsland, move there! There are heaps of houses for sale!
People can live in "the country" but still have a "city attitude" and vice versa. Perhaps your relo has now realised there is more things in life than "going to the G" or down to dicklands or southbank and therefore has had a tree change.
The joys of country life are to be had everywhere as it comes to those who are prepared to give, listen, slow down and reflect on what is fair and important in life whether you live in Fitzroy or Fitzroy Crossing.
AnswerID: 318223

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:04

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:04
Not to many fairdinkum replys like yours are expressed like yours, AJ B! good onya mate!!.

cheers axle.
FollowupID: 584652

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:10
AJB

By cripes fella, your've got me a bit confused! Which way is it?

Kim
FollowupID: 584656

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:49

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:49
Kim
Its not that difficult to get you confused is it!!!!!!!! So I wont take that as a complement.
Which way is it? Ones "long way" and others "on way".
Didn't get up that way this year after all. Perhaps next.
FollowupID: 584672

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:06
Jim, your just the person I need to talk to then.......lol

It just so happens I have a house for sale down Gippsland way right on the beach. Well....perhaps about 80 yards off the beach then.You would love it.
Great village atmosphere, 90 miles of pristine beach. Terrific little golf course and................some fantastic fishing both sea and on the lakes about 10 minutes away.

If you really want to live down there just send me a MM and I'll give you the details ;-))

Why am I selling? I'm wanting a tree change to the bush out near Woodend.

AnswerID: 318232

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:22

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:22
I was watching something on TV tonite...all about living in the Inner City. The young lass said it was so quiet there. Now that appealed to me.

Country living...Bah!!! Here in the Borough there are 2000 humans, 4000 dogs and god knows how many cats. And every second house has a frigging Rooster. Its not funny. The cacphonics hit the high decibels at times. Plans are in motion to leave but I have a feeling SWMBO isn't keen on it....sigh!
AnswerID: 318236

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:30

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:30
LOL!, Man is just a natural wanderer!!

Try tell her that!!

I know!!.

FollowupID: 584658

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:39
Yeah, I wander(sic) if she will let me go????.....lol

FollowupID: 584663

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 07:46

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 07:46
Willem
Roosters.... now that's one pest that axes come in handy for.

FollowupID: 584686

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:16

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:16
Gday Willem,
Sure your not talking about Alice?
I reckon we have about 2000 people but closer to 4000 dogs at the moment.

FollowupID: 584697

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:16

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:16
kalgoorlie was the same, i would go for a run and every 2nd house would have some rabid dog foaming at the mouth hanging over the fence and barking as if its life depended on it.
Was the first thing i noticed in perth .............. Barely heard a dog. Then the house accross the road got rented out and people moved in with one of those darned yipping things
FollowupID: 584710

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:44

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:44
Yep Dave, Norseman was similar to Kal.
And the big women brawling in the main bar - that was something else!
I still drop in on the way thru to/from the east, still hasn't changed much after 35 yrs.

FollowupID: 584716

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:44

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:44
Last week they found a partly eaten tourist (eaten alive they are saying)near hidden valley camp and they reakon its the same dogs that ate a ladys ear a month back.
FollowupID: 584717

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:19
Jim, we moved from Balnarring on the Mornington Peninsula around 17 years ago & we are living on the edge of the High Country not far from Walhalla.
To be quite honest, we absolutely love it here.
AnswerID: 318244

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:06

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:06
Gippsland is wonderful Jim , used to live in the now
erased town of Yallourn , but there are many
wonderful little known areas in Australia.

Our current paradise is an unknown plateau 1 hr north of melbourne bounded by Yea Seymour and Euroa.

Only problem is we drive thru Toolangi or Mt Dissapointment SF's on the way, putting up with the snow,mud,fallen trees and bogholes along the way.
Life wasn't meant to be easy.
AnswerID: 318293

Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:13

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 13:13
Until recently we lived on 20 acres north of Queanbeyan. It felt like we were 100s of k's from anywhere but we were only 20 km out of Canberra.

We have moved back into the 'burbs for teenage social reasons, but I still yearn to live in the bush.

On the upside we save about $300 a week in fuel.

If the idiots in charge of what happens in Australia have their way the population of Australia will soon be 30 million, and then 50 million. If you think Shepparton isn't in the country any more, just wait for the hoards of baby bonus sprogs and migrants to turn most of the country we treasure into either a feed lot or a parking lot.
AnswerID: 318296