Re: Snatch Recoveries

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:37
ThreadID: 60337 Views:4144 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
was just reading another thread on this subject so thought i'd post up this link which might help some people out alittle when next they attempt one of these recoveries. would have added to the other thread but thought some people might not revisit the same thread and miss this link.

http://www.youtube.com/user/p7offroad

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:55

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:55
Thanks Mate

Hav 2 ARB Snatch straps and havnt used them yet,but the vid puts things into perspective...

AnswerID: 318226

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 07:35

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 07:35
Warfer,

Not rtying to be a smart#@se here, but have you been shown how to correctly use them? And how to correctly join the two straps together? There is a method for joining them to A) make it safe and B) so you'll be able to separate the 2 straps after the recovery.

FollowupID: 584685

Follow Up By: Lex M - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:56

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 09:56
Like this is good
joining strap
FollowupID: 584708

Follow Up By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:45

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:45
Actually, if i may, don't join two snatch straps, you will store twice the energy, and if something fails it will fail much more dramaticly.

I always carry lots of winch extension straps and join these to a single snatch strap if I need a longer reach, but still only use the 2 meter "S".

FollowupID: 584776

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:57

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 19:57
P7,

I agree totally, but sometimes 2 straps are all you have. So it's important to know what to do with them.
BTW, watched that video that someone posted either here or the other snatch thread that you guys did showing recovery on the beach....... well done, a very informative video!

Lex M

Yep, that's the way I was taught to join them, but what the article doesn't mention is Dampeners!

For the benefit of anyone reading this who doesn't know what a dampener is, it's something attached to the strap to weight it down in the event of a breakage. ARB make a product specifically for this, but in my experience, they tend to "fly" off when the strap is stretched. We have a bag, like a beach bag that holds all our recovery gear in the truck and we tie that around the strap. We've also used blankets, jumpers, towels etc.. all with good results. They need to be tied strong, and then they won't come off.

The thing to remember when joining two straps, or even 1 snatch strap and 1 winch extension strap, is to use a dampener on each and every strap. Did a recovery at Canungra once on a club trip, used 6 straps, we had a bunch of new members who had completed our clubs DAP the week before, so I got them to each make 1 join in the chain while I made sure they had it right. Plus we used a dampener on each strap. Ideally, as P7 has said, the winch straps should have been used, but we didn't have any, as the minimum requirement in our club rules is 2 rated bow shackles and a snatch strap, we had plenty of snatch straps.

FollowupID: 584810

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:32

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 22:32
Not rtying to be a smart#@se here,

Hiya Brian

No offence taken at all mate,No i never thought to use the two,One was for mud and the other sand lol...Hav the ARB recovery bag with the bits in it for when i get a winch etc etc...

I will read the below replies later

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 584859

Reply By: GerryP - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:58

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 21:58
Not a bad little video Rumpig. I certainly agree with making the recovery as gentle as possible by good preparation with the shovel. Our Association's Driver Training Unit in SA certainly advocates this with all snatch recoveries as they can be very lethal if something goes wrong and you end up with a shackle or even a part of the car flying through the air at you. We have done quite a lot of actual testing and a shackle will go straight through 15mm ply and corrugated iron as though it isn't there!

One comment I will make about the video though, is that the damper or "air brake" is in reality not very effective as the strap tends to pull straight through and out. By experiment, we have found that a dead weight (we tend to use drag chains) firmly tied at 1/3 and 2/3 along the strap is very effective in stopping the strap, irrespective of which end lets go.

They are great recovery devices when used sensibly. Just use common sense and don't use any more grunt than you need to and she'll be right.

Gerry
AnswerID: 318228

Follow Up By: Lex M - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:33

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:33
Anyone had any experience with these?

Just Straps Recovery Safety Strap

Looks like a good idea to me.

FollowupID: 584660

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:05

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 22:05
Great learning clip rumpig. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 318230

Reply By: a convict - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2008 at 23:19
Great little video, thanks for posting it.
AnswerID: 318245

Reply By: Splits - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 00:23

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 00:23
This one, presented by Idiots Inc., demonstrates another way to do it. No wonder there has been so many accidents with snatch straps.

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=Iv6ilUhPnsk
These other links make interesting reading. Note the failure point of the 4.5 ton rated recovery hook in the third one. The 5.09 ton limit sounds right when you consider it is an open hook, not a closed ring like a shackle. It is the weakest link in the chain yet everyone seems to put a lot of thought into strap and shackle ratings and just assume the aftermarket hooks or the usually unrated factory fitted ones will stand up to anything.

I don't know what loads are reached during properly conducted snatches. They must be below 5.09 tons but some of the more 'spirited" ones you see must get close to that level.

You often hear about the damage caused by a flying shackle but the reason it was flying in the first place is because the attachment point on the vehicle has let go.

http://www.beaver.com.au/news3.htm

http://www.beaver.com.au/news/Snatch%20Strap.pdf

http://www.tgatrading.com.au/PDF/UniversalShackle.pdf
AnswerID: 318248

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 07:15

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 07:15
Thanks for that rumpig. Great vid.
I'm pretty sure that P7 Offroad is a member of ExplorOz, if that's the case then a big pat on the back for him (them?) for an informative, straight to the point insight into correct recovery technique!

AnswerID: 318249

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 08:59

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 08:59
Thanks rumpig- interesting find!!
One thing but...here in NSW there is a OH&S/WorkCover/VETAB issue about NOT backing the shackles off half a turn, which has been common practice.
I do realize that this practice aids in not seizing up the thread- but for some strange reason our 'know it all beaurocrats' reckon they should be tightened up, and even tie-wired ???

AnswerID: 318261

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:04

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 20:04
That's interesting isn't it Signman?? Correct me if I'm wrong, but if the shackle is tie-wired, wouldn't the 1/2 turn back off thing be null and void? I.E. it can't go anywhere 'cos it's tied........
Yep.... 'know it all beaurocrats' at work again!

Make sense?
FollowupID: 584813

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:01

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 10:01
I am wondering why in the past open hooks were common on offroad trucks, and now most have closed eyes which require shackles. With a hook you just place the loop of the strap in there (no shackle), and if the hook is designed cleverly it gives way and releases the strap if abused. That way you only have the strap flying, without a big metal chunk at the end. Much safer, I would have thought. There is a photo here to explain, the thread is interesting too:

"straightened" hook
AnswerID: 318268

Reply By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:42

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 14:42
Thanks Mal!

(try not to bog your cruiser quite so far next time ;-) )

That was filmed as part of our Sponsorship deal with the Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo this year.

The filming and editing was done by WIN TV (channel 9) and shown to the competitors on the big screen for a couple of nights.

I had a couple of subscriptions to my youtube a/c so went looking around the forums for a thread ;-)

AnswerID: 318307

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:44

Thursday, Jul 31, 2008 at 21:44
no worries Dave,
after reading the other thread with so many people asking many questions, it seemed like a video might make answering it all abit easier. pity about your vehicle not being able to be shown in the video, would have been good for people to see just how slowly you were going to snatch me out.

cheers Mal
FollowupID: 584849