First Aid and camping burns

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 00:27
ThreadID: 60407 Views:5698 Replies:11 FollowUps:19
Just returned from 2 weeks in Central Australia. I'll start by saying I'm a pharmacist so tend to have a first aid kit the size of a small esky but would like to relate a little story.

Three familes, three motorhomes, seven kids under 10. My two have camped heaps but the other 5 were newbies. Camped in the bush at the Hugh River crossing on the Hermannsburg Road west of Alice.

Kids are cooking marshmallows in the fire with adults in close attendance. One of the kids, a 5 yr old boy, has marshmallow on a stick. Marshie catches fire. Harry pulls stick out of fire but burning marshie keeps flying. Off the stick straight onto his nose and cheek (thankfully not his eye...)

His Mum is an Emergency Nurse at Coffs Harbour and she was wonderful in a crisis. Poured litres of water onto his face. Screams and tears but no panic. This is when the First Aid kit came in. We had painkillers, antibiotic ointment and burn dressings.

Three days later in Alice, he was well on the way to healing.

The moral of the story?

Camping with kids is an adventure and please make sure you have an adequate first aid kit packed and you know how to use it. I have been bagged over the years for the size of my first aid kit but there's now a happy little man in Coffs Harbour because of it... And think of the dramas I had trying to get it on the plane in a box with a camp oven and a jaffle iron!

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:41

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:41
Agree and it's good to see you haven't got the attitude of some like-:
"It will never happen to me" or "some one else who has everything will come along and help" or "never needed it before so why do I need it now" or "you don't need all that stuff, a few band aids and some antiseptic cream will get you out of any situation".

With kids around you have to carry everything because you don't know what is just around the corner.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 318611

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:54

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:54
Member - Michael O (NSW)

100% right there matey, one of my favourite sayings when we are out bush is "remember, we're a LONG way from medical help!" Accidents happen, that's for sure, but I say it o remind them of the silly things that kids can do. Glad to hear the little guy is ok.

Sorry though, couldn't resist this.......

"And think of the dramas I had trying to get it on the plane in a box with a camp oven and a jaffle iron!"
This must be how the rich set camp..... the rest of us use fourby's.... LOL.......

AnswerID: 318614

Follow Up By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:11

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 17:11
Don't know about the "rich set" Brian.
You're the one on the Gold Coast :)

Only had time for a short break as I have my own business.

See post 51885.

FollowupID: 585162

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:50

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:50
Hi Michael,

Rich Set????? Us???? LOL...... Well, we ARE on the Gold Coast, out at suburban Nerang, resplendent in our 3 bedroom brick-and-tile 160 m2 "Château"...... LOL.........

I read your post with interest and may I bore you with the following, this is just an opinion........ I don't make the rules!!!

:-))

What type of business do you run? How long have you been established? I ask only because I too am self employed, and I understand the time constraint that can come with that. I am in commercial refrigeration & air conditioning, est. 8 years now. I have a fellow fridgie who takes my phone for emergency call outs when I go away and I do the same for him. The hardest part is trusting your business with someone else, lucky for me I have known this guy for 22 years and trust him. No "regular" work gets done, like quoteds or maintenance, just emergency's. In the first 3 years, I went away for long weekends every 3 months, but back then I had 24 call status and lots of subbie work that kept me running! The long weekends were just to unwind, and then we got the 4by, stopped the 24hr callout thing, and over the last 3 years have been thinking of the BIG TRIP, but we can't do that just yet. So we have to console ourselves with 3 week jaunts here and there.

(And sometimes even that doesn't work, have a readhere. That was our last trip last month)

We did 3 weeks around the New England Tableland in 2006, last year just over 2 weeks Mackay, Arlie Bch, Winton, Longreach, home.. and this years trip was meant to be nearly 3 weeks doing the "3 Corners". The thing I find is, as others have said, the journey is the most important part. We loved our brief sojourn into the Simpson Desert and Birdsville, but wouldn't have missed 1 metre of the 3 day trip to get there for anything. There is some beautiful countryside out there just waiting to be looked at. And I want to see as much of it as I can.

I have learnt that life and money share a common thing..... you can't take either of 'em with you!

FollowupID: 585186

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:58

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 08:58
There is one 'rule' lots of people don't adhere to when camping - KIDS & FIRES DO NOT GO TOGETHER unless there's LOTS of adult supervision. Hopefully those involved have learned somthing valuable from the experience.
AnswerID: 318615

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:32

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:32
iDIOt strikes again......
What is it with you ya tosser.
It sounds to me like a simple accident that could have happened to anyone.
But you have to try and make it someones fault.
It sounds like they where very prepared and capable to deal the situation.
My kids have been around fires for years and have never had an accident (just lucky I guess).
No amount of supervision could have stopped what happened you fool!
I think these people should be comended for their actions and preperation not blamed.....
This is just another example of you making insulting brain dead comments and then climbing back under your rock.
What type of twat are you? Have you been brought up wraped in cotton wool? Surely you cant be a stupid as you continualy portray yourself?

Go away and get a life
FollowupID: 585119

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:33

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:33
gday Hairy

the answer to that last Q.

yep!
FollowupID: 585147

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:03

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:03
It's beginning to sound to me as if there is more than one bully on here - time to lay off DIO for some of you people.

FollowupID: 585191

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:22

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:22
Ok Im sorry......
I promise I wont reply to iDIOt's insulting posts anymore........
One one condition.......He stops making them
Fair?

FollowupID: 585196

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:39

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 19:39
lol
FollowupID: 585201

Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 09:04

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 09:04
you mention you had pain killers ---- prescription or just over the counter stuff ????

i have left over panadien Forte and Tremal from my sports injuries - never considered keeping them in the first aid kit till i read this post ...

Boc

AnswerID: 318616

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 09:56

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 09:56
We carry both types of pain killers, the prescription ones are for myself and Lyn (No we do not suffer from pain, it's just in case) and the over the counter ones are for us or other people who may need them.

You can get into heaps and heaps of trouble for suppling prescription drugs to others.

Plus you don't know what side effects they will cause, over the counter drugs are a bit safer.

Not everyone carries the 1000 page Martindale drug reference book with them.

Under law you are not even allowed to administer prescription drugs to the person who's name is on the prescription.

Never use out of date Aspirin based drugs as they become toxic and as we all know this goes for every other drug too....RIGHT

When we did our First Aid training I mentioned this and the instructor ignored what I said about Aspirin but went on giving a lecture about using out of date products, most products degrade efficiency when going out of date but Aspirin is one product that can kill if used out of date.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 585103

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:07

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:07
Hi Olcoolone,
Can you point me to something in writting about out of date asprin being dangerous. I would like to look into this a bit more.

FollowupID: 585106

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:55

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:55
I have heard that when aspirin goes off it smells like vinegar.

But as for toxicity, you would think that it would be mentioned on the bayer site:

Bayer Aspirin

but it is just the usual gumph about "not as effective"...

To me that says that it is not as effective.
FollowupID: 585107

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 11:45

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 11:45
I suppose they don't tell you because you should not us out of date products, a bit like food they don't tell you what will happen if it's out of date.

Duty of care finishes when a product goes out of date.

Salicylic acid is what Aspirin is made of, Salicylic acid can be dangerous to the humane body if ingested.

The manufactures alter Salicylic acid and form a compound called acetylsalicylic acid that is safer to ingest.

Over time the safer compound called acetylsalicylic acid can undergo decomposition and break down and returns to Salicylic acid that could be dangerous.

Salicylic acid is a fantastic pain reliever but if taken it can often damaged the mucous membranes of the mouth and esophagus and caused hemorrhaging of the stomach lining.

Yes Salicylic acid does smell like vinegar as aspirin is produced by taking salicylic acid acetylating it with acetic anhydride. This chemical process yields the aspirin itself along with a byproduct of acetic acid.

The key component of vinegar is acetic acid.

Salycylic acid is also used to treat acne.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 585111

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:51

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 12:51
Hi there cool one,

Nup... acetic acid smells like vinegar... as it is the major component of vinegar. (which is not toxic in case you were wondering)

The Salicylic acidis toxic to humans - over 400mg approx... and this is what Aspirin is once metabolised in the liver, which is absorbed into the body via different pathways, some faster than others.

I think your thinking makes a lot of sense, but in the case of aspirin, for instance, fails to take into account a lot of other stuff.

For instance you might want to think about what goes into the labelling:

* regulatory regimes
* requirements on testing
* consideration of "worst case" storage conditions
* arze protection
* commercial considerations

Have a read of this article from a reliable web source:Medscape Article

The issues above are well considered. I think once you've read this you might behave differently, but then again, that is entirely your choice... I'm a physical chemist by training and a sceptic.

Andrew who still has no aircon but still has no time to get to Research Road ;-)

FollowupID: 585122

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:45

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:45
But unfortunately people will take 2 to 3 aspros at a time 5 times a day thinking it's safe.

Everyone thinks Aspirin is safe because we all have grown up with it....aspririn will fix anything, it's always in the media about the benefits of taking it.

Someone takes 3 aspros 5 times a day (3 tablets every 5 hours), that is 4500mg a day so what would be the outcome if the tablets did turn back to Salicylic acid due to being out of date.

To much vinegar can make you very sick or kill you as it will increase the body's PH levels.

People forget the whole human body is a big chemistry set and anything you take in high doses can unbalance this big chemistry set as known to most as the human body.
FollowupID: 585126

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 20:15

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 20:15
Yeah well too much of most things... speaking of salicylic acid, you will find it in:

curry powder, paprika, licorice

and watch out for all those herbal preparations:

cat's claw, dong quai, evening primrose, feverfew, garlic, ginger, ginkgo, red clover, horse chestnut, green tea, ginseng.

The ordinary american diet can contain as much as 200mg a day!

Andrew who thinks we'll need to put Richard in cotton wool ;-)
FollowupID: 585208

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:12

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:12
Gday Michael,
Agree with the point of your post, but according to my reckoning, you were less than an hours drive from a major hospital :-)))

Dangerous things those flying marshmellows......

phil
AnswerID: 318623

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:22

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 10:22
Good to hear the little fella is fine, I also carry a fair size first aid kit and hopefully I will never get to use it in any serious incident, but its there just in case.

Accidents do happen and not only to the little kids, bigger KIDS can do some strange things to themselves or they simple get complacent. I've been complacent and had my awareness rekindled.

Must remember to check the dates on my stuff.

AnswerID: 318624

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:16

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 13:16
Hi There Michael, sounds like the whole group were in good hands, and in the end it payed off for you to have the esky size first aid kit. I have two smaller ones in the prado, BUT would have no where the gear you obviously have. I think I might go and upgrade the two of them to one decent one. What are your thoughts on the St john's one's ??? I'm really not sure what is the best stuff in them. Yeah the usual band aids, bandages, detol or similar, but what should I really be looking at in the kit, and what size would you say should be adequate, eg esky size or like a tool box size and is there any difference between adults and kids as far as creams etc go. I know with panadol and the like but more in regards to creams antibiotics etc. Sorry for the long post but you obviously are the one to ask. Also glad to hear the little fella's ok. The thought of kids getting burnt gives me goose bumps, cant thnk of any thing worse. All ok in the end is the main thing. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 318636

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 14:21

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 14:21
Thanks for all your replies. I never used to have much of a First Aid kit either until surviving a head-on collision on Cape York in 1986 made me more wary.

Happy to run with the St John's one but I've found it better to buy a tackle/tool box and fill it up with the things I want.

Mine has heaps and I have a typed list of what's in it on the inside so I can replenish it all when I get home.

Some ideas
Ventolin Inhaler (for asthma)
small torch
eye bath and eye pads
sunscreen
tweezers
scissors
thermometer
Nurofen liquid and tablets
Imodium (diarrhoea)
Maxolon (vomiting)
Phenergan (allergies)
Amoxil and Keflex (antibiotics)
Chlorsig Drops (eye infections)
Chlorsig Ointment (eyes and burns)
small Dettol
plastic amps of saline
Sofradex Eardrops (ear infections)
Melolin dressings (many sizes)
Fixomull (burns and grazes)
Leukostrips (like a butterfly closure for cuts)
Triangular bandages (for slings)
1% Cortisone cream
Splinter probe and Emla cream (anaesthetic)
Spare whistle and compass
razor blades
Alcohol swabs (for cleaning disinfection)
Cotton buds
Soov cream (bites and stings and cuts)
Shock blanket
First Aid instruction book (for someone else...)
Safety Pins
CPR/resus mask (put over a face so you can do mouth-to-mouth)
Betadine antiseptic
small cable ties
Asstd tapes (Micropor and strapping)
Heaps of BandAids
disposable gloves
Ear plugs (some for noise and some for swimming)
Opsite dressings
assted crepe bandages (for holding on dressings)
compression bandages (snakebites and sprains)

I also have a small bum bag with a basic kit that we take on bushwalks, daytrips away from the car.

And remember, any First Aid kit is only as good as the person who opens the lid.........
AnswerID: 318643

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:15

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:15
We have a Tackle Box full of First Aid gear, and have recently included
a Blood Pressure Monitor, just in case the Patient can't be moved
and you have to relay any Vital Signs, by Radio ect, they only cost
$125-00 .
FollowupID: 585143

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:23

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:23
Thanks Michael appreciated. Have made a copy of it to go shopping. Thanks again. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 585181

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 15:11

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 15:11
Hi all.

Any adivce on first aid is worthwhile. I thought I might take this opportunity to mention two items not normally found in the generic first aid kits, but most handy.

1. Burns. I carry a tube of manuka or ti tree honey for burns. I first heard of this on a tv doco showing amazing results achieved in the Brisbane Hospital Burns unit using this stuff. About 2 years ago I (stupidly) burned my hand removing a rotisserie from a barbecue. I got the honey onto the burns and within 3 days all was well. But ... a day later I did it again to the other hand!!!! They honey was not available so I just did the cold water thing. It scarred and was still sore and scabby 6 weeks later. There were no marks or scarring on my first burn whatsoever. I still have a scar from the second one.

2. Sam Splint. Invented by a doctor who noticed how rigid paper was when you folded it a few times, he devised this from aluminium. It can be used to brace fractures and breaks, and is flexible to the point that it could also be used for a neck brace in an emergency. I notice they are for sale throgh this site.

Both these items are always in my car first aid kit. I hope this may prove valuable to someone else.

Safe travels.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 318651

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:32

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 16:32
The mistake most people make when cooling burns is that they don't do it for long enough.

I am a Firey, I attended a fire a number of years ago where the chip pan had caught fire on the stove top. Dad picked it up and carried it outside, in the process he suffered serious burns to the front of his chest, arms, neck and face.

We arrived before the Ambo's put the fire out and started to cool Dad's burns. It was a late Autumn day and he started to shiver about the time the Ambos arrived so we stopped the cooling. The Paramedics immediately applied more cold water, explaining that the shivering was of minor consequence. It was more important to minimise the affect of the burns.

A few years later I had an accident abseiling, it's a funny story for the camp fire, but it hurt at the time, serious burns to my hand. My hand was blistered on every finger before I could get any treatment to it. I put my hand in an ice cream container with water and ice. I carried this container around for about 6 hours keeping my hand cold to the point of pain. The next day I was using the hand, the blisters cleared up quickly and I had no ongoing problems or scarring.

When you apply water to cool a burn, use cold water, use lots of it and use it for a long time.

FollowupID: 585146

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:03

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 18:03
DUNCS

i agree, as far as water on burns go, "as much as for as long as."
FollowupID: 585175

Follow Up By: Pyro 1 - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 20:39

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 20:39
Its all good having a large first aid kit but making sure you know what to do with it is the main thing ( I have no doubt that Michael O does). Some years ago we did a Remote Area first aid course run by St Johns over a few weekends, fantastic and heaps of fun. Good to hear the little fella was alright.
FollowupID: 585217

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 21:54

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 21:54
Campfire safety is very topical. Its getting good publicity in Adelaide lately.

Heres the link:
Learn or burn - campfire safety
AnswerID: 318701

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:40

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 22:40
Great post Micheal O.
I am a former ambo in the mining industry and we were forbidden in the end from giving any drugs due to duty of care issues. Therefore the casualty suffered sometimes great pain until they were dealt with by a hospital. My queestion is why is a drug in date one day and out of date and not able to be used the next?
AnswerID: 318710