A question on LT tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:19
ThreadID: 60430 Views:5308 Replies:13 FollowUps:22
Sorry a silly question but it is bugging me.

Do people find that using LT tyres effects fuel economy compared to a H/T or AT tyre.

I know there are lost of other variables but these days it is an issue - for me at least.

I currently have H/T and considering going AT or LT.

LTs are additional problem cause not made in my vehicles recommended size but still legal but do require some extra work getting speedo recalibrated.

Rich

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:26

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:26
If you want to go off road....then LT is the way to go..

As per the speedo......who says your speedo is correct now ??

As per fuel economy......a tyre is black and round....and any difference between a LT and a HT would be so miniscual it wouldn't be able to be measured ( assuming the size was the same !! )
AnswerID: 318716

Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:32

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:32
Gronk,
My speedo is not correct now and based on other people with the same vehicle going up to an LT will only make it more accurate.

But try telling that to a leasing or insurance company without proof and dollars spent to prove it :)

Just thinking the harder LT may not get same economy (on the black stuff than H/T or ATs)

Thanks for the reply,
FollowupID: 585244

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:31

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:31
Isn't LT referring to the construction rather than the type of tyre.
ie: LT = Light Truck. Supposedly a heavier duty construction. (Unless, of course, if you are referring to Cooper tyres, then it makes no difference).

HT, AT & MT refer to the style of tyre, so you can have an All Terrain (AT) tyre, of Light Truck (LT) construction.
AnswerID: 318717

Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:36

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:36
Shaker,
My knowledge is being shown up.

What I am getting at is you can some tyres in AT passenger construction or LT construction - I guess I really mean is there any difference in fuel economy between these two

Thanks for helping me make it clearer - or at least I hope it has).

FollowupID: 585246

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:46

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:46
Richard the down side to LTs are the heavier consruction which results in a heavier tyre, which could effect fuel economy, braking and acceration. My wifes paj has LT 10rs ats on which are slighty higher by one inch. I have ats normal consruction on my Jack. If we are going into rocky terrain we tend to take the Paj. I am sure it uses more fuel now. The speedo is now dead accurate checked on a gps.
FollowupID: 585332

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:58

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:58
Pete,
Thanks for that. I have a Paj as well (NS).
I use it for my town car and we do a lot of long trips at times on bitumen so fuel economy is an issue - given todays prices.

Just trying to see if this is worth it or not.

FollowupID: 585336

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:45

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:45
Is it a petrol or diesel Richard,? I have a hunch the diesel may be less effected then the petrol. I guess the million dollar quetion for you is the type of off road terrain you are likely to encounter .
FollowupID: 585353

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:09

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:09
It is a diesel.

Planning on going up to Cameron Corner and down Strz to the Flinders will go other places another time like Innanmicka

Will do a lot of bitumen or easy dirt over the life of the tyre as well as the weekend 4wd trips around the local area in Canberra.

So not wanting a full offroad tyre just the one that does every thing :)

FollowupID: 585356

Reply By: PATROL_ST_2004 - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:48

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:48
Hi Rich
LT means Light Truck construction (Heavy Duty), you need to run your tyres at a higher pressure ie: my 04 Patrol runs min 40psi now compared to 32 to 36 for passenger construction tyres.
Rob
AnswerID: 318719

Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:56

Saturday, Aug 02, 2008 at 23:56
Rob,
I run my H/T at 40psi as well and they go OK also recommended.

I am considering an upgrade for obvious reasons but was wandering if I went a LT tyre or an all terrain tyre (not LT) I would see any signficant difference in fuel economy.

Sorry if I am messing up my terms here,

FollowupID: 585247

Reply By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:14

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:14
Richard, as others have alluded to..

LT means light truck, it is the way that the tyre is constructed - usually heavier sidewalls for a start.

Using the Bridgestone AT Duellers as an example.

you can purchase a 694 (model of tyre) in an AT (all terrain tread pattern) in either a passenger OR light truck construction.

The size and tread pattern is exactly the same, the way that the rubber and plies are constructed is different. Therefore there 'should' be no change to your speedo assuming that you purchased the same tyre size.

AnswerID: 318724

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:49

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:49
If you do a lot of driving on rocky roads with sharp schist type rocks the LTs will give a longer life and much better puncture resistance.
They have stiffer side walls as well and are less susceptible to side wall staking

An example, I drove the Gibb River road, Arkaroola road with bridgstone Dueller ATs LT. Mate drove the same tracks with me with Straight Dueller ATs. He had 5 Punctures and one blow out on brand new tyres. I had nothing at all on tyres that had already done well over 50,000 kilometres.

AnswerID: 318729

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:50

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:50
Fuel economy won't change.

The only difference you may notice is the AT or LT tyres may not be as quiet on the bitumen.

AnswerID: 318742

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:55

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:55
As for which of the two types may be best for you, the type of "off roading" and purchase cost may help you decide.

I have never had (or required) the extra puncture protection the LT construction will give, as apposed to the extra cost.

The chances are, I will wear the AT's out before they get a puncture:-((.

Bill.

FollowupID: 585259

Reply By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 11:39

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 11:39
Sandman,
Many thanks for the reply, you have answered my question re fuel economy.

To others many thanks for info, unfortunately my knowledge and terminology were a bit off (ok a long way off).

May be some background on my question will help
I am planning a trip up to Cameron Corner and down the Strz and am towing a camper.

For awhile until I hit the road, a part from this and a few other outings, I will be doing bitumen so was concerned over economy (false as it may be)

I did not have a realistic option to swap out my H/T tyres when I got the vehicle (12 months ago) and am looking now for a AT passenger consruction or a LT construction tyre (hopefully I have it right now - wanted to sort it out before talking to dealers)

As I want to take a second spare with me it would be beneficial to match my current tyre profile (265/65 R17) as it would mean I only need to buy 5 new ones and keep the old ones as spares. Unfortunately you can not get an LT tyre in this size. To go LT I need to go to a 265/70 profile.

Going to this profile will take me over the 15mm rolling circumference size. This is legal for a 4wd where I am from as you can go up to 50mm (4wd only). However if you do (ie go over the 15mm) then you have to get your speedo recalibrated - I got this from the car leasing/insurance company. As said in another post, going to the larger size will actually make the speedo more accurate - based on other peoples experience.

So I have to make a decision - do I stay with the HT or go to a AT (passenger construction with same profile) or go to an LT where I will have to buy 6 tyres and get a speedo recalibration.

As part of my decision making I am trying to get info on the impacts of using LT tyres (which I agree is probably the best option but not the only - I think:)).

Hopefully the above gives you an idea where I am coming from and why I have asked a strange question.

Once again to all many thanks for your comments,
AnswerID: 318755

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 14:17

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 14:17
Don't take speedo reading and what other people say about bigger tyres as gospel.

Most new vehicles under read by 5 to 7%, so at 100Kph you may only be doing 95Kph.

With our Hilux we used standard size tyre for about 12 months and then went to tyres that are 40mm higher.

With the higher tyres are speedo reads about 1% difference, at 99Kph our speedo reads 100Kph....this could also be how we are looking at the speedo (view angle).

If you went to a lot bigger then standard like 2 or more inches yea it may be a concern.

Just because your speedo says 100Kph and the section of road is sign posted 100Kph doesn't mean you have to sit on 100Kph on your speedo.

If you went really big wit tyres and the were 10% out instead of sitting on 100Kph speedo reading sit on 90 and at 60Kph sit on 55Kph.....SIMPLE.

Most people can adjust very easily.

If you use someone else's or another vehicle you don't ask or get a speedo check do you!

Stop worrying about nothing.

I would go to A/T light truck tyres if you needed new ones.

Difference between H/T and A/T is H/T are better on the road for noise,comfort, economy and grip and A/T are a compromise between H/T and full off road tyres.

An A/T is not necessary stronger then a H/T in passenger tyre construction unless you got to light truck spec.

There is not one tyre that is good at everything..it's a give and take situation.

We have two sets of tyres depending on what we are doing and where we are going.

Regards Richard

FollowupID: 585281

Reply By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 15:36

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 15:36
Richard,
Thanks for the reply.

I agree with what you say about the speedo.

The issue I have is that the leasing/insurance company will not approve the new tyres unless a recalibration is done officially - I have asked them.

It is just another cost unfortunately after which it is forgotten.

AnswerID: 318788

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:10

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:10
Buy a speedo correction kit from JAYCAR for $59 and fix it easily
FollowupID: 585317

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:09

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:09
Graham,
I doubt they will accept my word. I will need a certificate or something.

FollowupID: 585343

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:09

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:09
What nobody has mentioned and is the most important thing of the lot is that LT tyres generally have a higher load rating per tyre than car tyres or NON LT.
No one really should consider the non LT if putting capacity loads in a 4 WD.
They will restrict your loads and towing ability as well if its getting up there and as they say have a much stronger construction.
Look on the sidewall as all tyres have the load rating at a certain pressure moulded into the tyre
AnswerID: 318820

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:03

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:03
Graham
A good point and it is one of the reasons I am looking at going LT instead of AT = passenger construction. - got to put that in :)

I will be towing a camper - it is not a heavy one but does mean extra weight on the back.

FollowupID: 585337

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:06

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:06
Forgot to add and this will answer the next post.

The current tyres are

Bridgestone Duellers 840 265/65/17 112H

There are no LT type tyres around with that profile.

The closest LT tyre are 265/70 (eg BFGs)

FollowupID: 585339

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:49

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:49
The diff in height would be less then 20mm, shame you told them, nobody would have noticed otherwise.
FollowupID: 585354

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:24

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:24
Pete,
To be exact a wopping 802.64 - 776.22 =26.44 difference.

They picked it up when I sent them details of what I wanted to do. My current tyres have done only 30,000 so wanted to see if they would agree to an early exchange.

They first quoted the 15mm rule to me as well as staing the load and speed ratings had to change. Only after pointing them to the NCOP they chased it down. It is then they found out about the requirement (proof) of the speedo.

I have a few mixed responses ( due to me not providing all the info). Some say there will be impact (fuel) with the larger tyre some say none.

Just hunting around for tyres on the net you get really mixed reports on every tyre you look at.

BFG seems popular but have read a number of bad reports
Coopers - well no one likes them - well may not everyone
Bridgestones also mixed but not sure if referring to LT or non LTs
Maxxis - get some OK reports - value for money

I think it would be easier to just sell the bloody car and go on a trip overseas an not worry about tyres :).

FollowupID: 585358

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:39

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:39
If I was going to those places you mentioned....and I was putting new tyres on the 4x4 then I would defineately put on an A/T of L/T construction..

As for the lease company? Tyres will be legal but they want the speedo recalibrated ? They ARE a strange lot ??

What size do you have on now?? Would be unusual if they don't make an A/T of the same size ??
AnswerID: 318827

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:07

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:07
Gronk,
See above for tyre sizes.

There are A/T around that match but no LT construction ones - or at least I can find.

Thanks again
FollowupID: 585341

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:39
Use this to compare sizes and diameters and anything else

http://www.rims-n-tires.com/rt_specs.jsp
AnswerID: 318861

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:30

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:30
Hi Richard,

I am assuming here that this is a 120 prado with those size tyres.

I have a 120 Turbo-Diesel and on day one I fitted 265/70R17 Cooper AT's. My leasing company (Toyota Financial) paid up for them with no drama. It was the Tyre dealer that made the phone call to get them authorised and they did not ask details, just the price.

I have since worn those out and had them replaced with Cooper ATR's in the same size. These are the LT version and I am extremely happy with their wear rate and the performance on bitumen and moderate gravel. I have a second set of Goodyear MTR's (in the same size) for serious 4WDing but the ATR's would be great for anything the Corner Country could produce.

On your original question, yes the LT's use slightly more fuel than passenger tyres due to being stiffer and having a higher rolling resistance. The original Cooper AT's wre P construction and when I went to the LT ATR's the fuel consumption went up slightly.

When I put the MTR's on the car they chew an extra 1 to 2 litres per 100/km due to being stiffer again than the ATR LT's. I would not think the difference between P and LT ATR's would be quite this much but would be close to 1 litre per 100km.

I am surprised your leasing company is so stringent on the regs when my experience has been that even the tyre dealers rarely mention such matters! Certainly my leasing company have been willing to just accept the professional opinion of the Tyre Dealer in specifying tyres for my vehicle.

That's my thoughts and experiences. Best of luck with it. My approach with this stuff is to be informed (via sites such as this one and some of the govt sites) but play it a bit dumb at times. Sounds like you asked too many questions at the leasing company and now you are stuck with the 65's!

Also be aware that Federally the rules have changes to allow a 50mm diameter increase in wheel/tyre combos but not all states have adopted this yet.

Google is your friend here!

Muddy
AnswerID: 318870

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:34

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:34
And on the Speedo issue - I have checked mine with 3 GPS units and found the speedo is now dead on. Other 120 Prado owners have noted that with OEM tyres the speddo generally reads under (at 95-96 actual speed the speedo indicates 100).

Particularly if it is a Novated lease then tell them to get stuffed and pay up as it really is YOUR money anyway (just pre-tax!)

Muddy
FollowupID: 585372

Follow Up By: richard - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 22:39

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 22:39
Muddy,
I have the Pajero NS SWB diesel. 265/65/r17 112H so similar to Prado (I am not sure who will shoot me with a statement like that - but before you do I like both)

You are a right about the leasing company.

I was aware of the NCOP rules where you could go over 15mm to 50mm for a 4wd as well as the issues with speed and load ratings so me, being a bit of a smarty, thought I would get confirmation from them first as well as confirming they would pay out for replacement tyres so early.

They initially did know know themselves and reckoned what I proposed was illegal until I mentioned the NCOP rules. As a result they pursued it themselves to confirm and came back with the speedo calibration bit - which I had also heard about but did not think it would come up.

Basically I am in the position that if I want to go to a 265/70 LT tyre and get the leasing company who are also the insurance policy owner to approve I have to provide some formal certification that it has be recalibrated. So you are right I pushed it a bit to far.

So pursuing that line I am trying to see if the LT is the right way to go. Fuel economy is one issue but the LT does seem to way if towing.

If I go this way I will be keeping my old tyres as still have a quite a few Ks left. May be when cheap rims come around for this size I could set up two set of tyres. Just have to win powerball!

FollowupID: 585383

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 23:02

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 23:02
OK.

Paj and Prado could really be twins! I know of a couple of very happy Paj owners.

Getting that second set of rims and tyres can be very helpful. I managed to pick up some steel Prado rims for $130 each for a set of 5.

Best of luck deciding which way to go.
Muddy
FollowupID: 585384

Follow Up By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:05

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 16:05
Ditto to Muddy,

I fitted oversize Cooper LT 265/70 R17 's to my Prado from new. Likewise, was financed then by Toyota without problems. I reckon a 50mm lift to suspension is much more significant and that's no worries for them or for insurers either.

The difference in circumference and hence speedo reading between 265/65 and 265/70 is about 3%, ie if speedo is accurate and says 100km/h, then actual is 103km/h.

Despite popular sentiment on this site, the Coopers have been good for me.

Cheers, Phil
FollowupID: 585480

Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:01

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:01
Yokohama ATS..265/65/17.....doesn't state whether they are LT or not but there are plenty of them getting around the outback on Cruisers and traytops !!
AnswerID: 318943

Follow Up By: richard - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:34

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 18:34
Gronk,
Do you mean the G012 - I don't think they are LT.

FollowupID: 585497

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 01:25

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 01:25
It doesn't say whether they are LT or not, but they have got some good reports
FollowupID: 585591