Savannah Cats Banned from Australia

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:10
ThreadID: 60432 Views:3149 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
After a few posts previously on this forum, I see in the news that Peter Garett has banned the import of these monster cats.

Here is the article

I think most of us here added to the online petition to ban them, looks like it worked for a change.

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:54

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 08:54
That's a good start,

Next he should declare open season on any cat that's running around free in the towns.

Ban anyone from owning a cat that's not desexed, unless they are a registered breeder.

Then find something like the Rabbit Calici Virus for cats and let it loose in the feral population.
AnswerID: 318730

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:08

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:08
I dunno about banning them Willem, what would this guy use as a hat then?
I reckon thos savanna cats would have made nice coats to match
FollowupID: 585255

Follow Up By: Mobi Condo - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:08

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:08
Yes sir!
Stray cats/moggies etc are the bane of our suburban life! Neighbours never got them desexed cos they said that the cats "should at least have a chance to do whats normal" Grr! Then the neighbours moved!
Pity about the lizards, geckos, birds, butterflies, etc which DID NOT get the same chance to "do whats normal".
PS - I am a cat lover, but I could not eat a whole one at once! :-)
Now I feel better and can go back to gardening etc out the back!
Cheers - Mobi
FollowupID: 585256

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:20

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 20:20
Davoe

>I dunno about banning them Willem, what would this guy use as a hat then?<

How did I get into this thread or is there another Willem?
FollowupID: 585357

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:32

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:32
just seem to remember you getting around ingognito as notso or something simular a while back
FollowupID: 585371

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 07:37

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 07:37
Hmmm Davoe

Methinks you have been riding a time machine. The last time I had a dummy spit on EO was in about 2003. Have been posting under my name since then and have not changed avatars'.

I have no idea who 'Notso' is
FollowupID: 585398

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:11

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:11
Excellent decision.

Those of us who took the time to sign the petition and send emails to Garret can feel satisfied that we, in some small part, helped him decide to ban these worthless creatures.

A politician who listens to the people. Very refreshing.

AnswerID: 318732

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:08

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:08
Jim,

I don't think any Politician listens to what the general public wants or actually needs but in this case I think P.G has been advised by some very influential advisors about the recourse of allowing these killing machines into Aust. I don't think he wants to be remembered like another Politician who allowed the mighty Cane Toad :)

FollowupID: 585304

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:13

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:13
AAhh So!! Young Kev is awake!! The "mighty" cane toad hey? State named after them. Football fever created by them. They even have their own colours, drab & ugly maroon.
I was hoping we could get a few of these new breed cats, mate them with the Devil & create some real fire in their heart, put a blue gurnsey on a few of them & then let them loose & to rid our fair country of Cane Toads!!
Bloody good plan of mine, but stuffed up by a politician. LOL
FollowupID: 585344

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:11

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:11
Well done Kev, I knew you could do it, geez you must have some persuasive powers. LOL

We are leaving for the Simpson in about an Hour,I will get in touch when we return.

Cheers ,
Scrubby.
AnswerID: 318733

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:03

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:03
I hope you have a good and safe trip Scrubby

FollowupID: 585302

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:20

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:20
And Garrett was allowed to make that decision ..on his own ?
Luckily there was plenty of public backlash against the proposal so nobody had to burn the midnight oil :))
AnswerID: 318735

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:01

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:01
Careful Footy you actually made a sarcastic remark directed at one of Australia's finest political leaders. Jim will be having kittens at the audacity of such a statement :-)

FollowupID: 585271

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:35

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:35
Did I detact just a hint of politics there John ? LOL
As you know, it doesn't really matter to me if they're Liberal, Labour or Calethumpian. Once you get yourself elected, you're fair game for the electorate as well as other pollies. Same bucket, different bottom feeders.
As for the "gentleman" mentioned...we may share the same name but ...
FollowupID: 585273

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:44

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:44
Well said Jim.

As for the person in question, he obviously directs a political and personal bias towards selective posters on this forum who are forthcoming enough to express a negative comment about any of our political leadership.

A bit like another guy we know who enjoys belittling others on here ;-)

FollowupID: 585274

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:52

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:52
Crikey mate, I'm surprised that he hasn't had a field day with me...yet. I have a shot at all of our political mobs...without fear or favour. :))))))
I'm afraid that when it comes to politics, they have to earn my respect and admiration, rather than have it ascribed due to their lofty perches.
That particular one was a good rock muzo, but....
FollowupID: 585276

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 15:43

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 15:43
The difference chaps is that Footy has a crack where he sees fit and for a reason. I don't have any problem with people crticising poltical decisions, after all we live in a democracy.

John, you simply make unfounded statements based on bias. You said a couple of weeks ago that Garret was the worst Environment Minister in the history of Australia. That was a plainly silly thing to say as he hasn't been in the job long enough to be judged.

Now Garret has made a very good decision, that you can't dispute, but neither can you say it. Your bias won't let you.

For the record, I don't think Garret is up to the job. He was put in the role, IMO, for popular vote. Time will tell.

And I reckon Swann will come unstuck. Seems like a decent enough bloke but he hasn't got the sharp mind of a Costello, Keating, Dawkins or Howard. The Treasurer has to be the best performer the Govt has got.

FollowupID: 585289

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:23

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:23
Thats very profound Jim, and I thought you would take the bait.
GREAT decision for once, maybe we have finaly learned something after rabbits, blackberries, cane toads, european carp, redfin, wild pigs and crack willows and thats just in NSW.
FollowupID: 585323

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:35

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:35
I don't dispute it, you make the assumption that I do.
Footy's comments were spot on,
"And Garrett was allowed to make that decision ..on his own ?"

Yeah right!!!

So tell me what has Garrett done on the environmental front in the 9 odd months he has held the job?

And in your opinion how long do they need to be in power before they assume the responsibility for the circumstances and decisions of today??

FollowupID: 585329

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 23:29

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 23:29
Peter Garrett
FollowupID: 585387

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:44

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 09:44
Sanity prevails at last.....
I signed the petition and sent Mr Garrett a message at his site. Let's hope this will come about, the lobby group has invested a great deal of money in this and they won't lie down willingly, I am sure there will be appeals etc.

BUT this is a great bit of news I might even get out of bed now hehehehehehhe

AnswerID: 318740

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 10:01

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 10:01
Pussy Breeders fight back?
FollowupID: 585261

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:04

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 13:04
Jeez Wayne your a gutsy bloke posting a link to a tabloid paper site such as that.
Jim will be along shortly to chastise you for posting such political, right wing rubbish. :-)

FollowupID: 585272

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:16

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:16
Yeh my apologies i misread the link i thought it was the Sydney Morning Herald LOL
FollowupID: 585347

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:15

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:15
I can only cheer the ban and would be happy to see all cats banned in Ausralia. Much as I love dogs however, they can (and do) create as many problems for native animals.
AnswerID: 318822

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:15

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:15
Yeh but dogs are only human...
FollowupID: 585345

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:36

Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:36
It has been reported that there are a number of the cats in question in quarantine un the USA awaiting shipment to Australia. I wonder how long it will before someone performs an embryo transplant into a surrogate cat and mannages to get around the import restrictions. No dooubt some idiot will be tempted to have a go.
AnswerID: 318873

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 00:55

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 00:55
Here is a picture of a feral pussy cat hanging from a sign west of ST George

Ross
AnswerID: 318902

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 07:30

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 07:30
Looks more like a dog to me;)

FollowupID: 585397

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:41

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 11:41
When you stop and look at it it has a real small head like a cat and has feet like a cat. From a distance we thought it was a dog too so we stopped to check it out and really looks like a feral moggy.
It is hanging on a post to a sheep station.
Thought Willem may have been in the area.hahahaha

Regards Ross
FollowupID: 585416

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 08:35

Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 08:35
bugga......one of them would look good mounted on the wall....
guess i'll just have to make do with existing ferals ....:))))

it is a good decision!

AnswerID: 318917