How can you get better 4WD service than this ?
Submitted: Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:13
Member - Willie , Sydney.
June . 2 km out of Mt
Newman .
Engine dies suddenly. I ring Richard at ARB Northside / Traction 4 in
Sydney and he gives me a list of things to check .
1 ) Fuel - pump , filters etc
2 ) Check around the accelerator cable - it can cut through one of the electric cables and was the subject of a Toyota notice to dealers .
3 ) Check the wiring loom /
junction just before the fuel pump . They often fall apart .
4 ) If you have an aftermarket chip, pull it off and plug the Toyota one back in to check that .
Being a mechanical cretin , I take the easy way out and we tow it back in to a mechanic in
Newman .
He thinks it's the fuel pump , but tests it and it's OK . He scratches his head at this stage . Time to start going through what Richard has suggested . It turns out that it was the performance chip , so we are off on our way again .
...........................................................................................
July . Halfway down Tanami Track .
I stop for a leak and as always , I check the caravan bearings for heat . One is hot , so I put the car on fast idle and let it amble off down the road while I walk next to the hot bearing - it's making bad noises . Oh dear . I have one bar on the Next G , so I ring Richard .
He thinks it will be the brakes , as we have just replaced the bearings . "You will have to pull the wheel off , take the bearings out , remove the wheel hub and check the brakes ". Great ! I have never done a job like that , so he gives me step by step instructions . I get down to the brakes - there are lots of bits lying inside in a pile . Richard gives me more instructions on how to remove all the parts and cut the power ( and lets me know it might make the car pull to one side if I do not disconnect the same wheel on the other side ) . I complete the job and feel very pleased with myself .
What would my trip have been like without Richard's help ? Thank you Richard and thank you ARB . Richard receives one case of Crownies tomorrow morning .
If you are a mechanical cretin like me , it's nice to have a "Richard" to help get you out of trouble .
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:28
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:28
Well mate...that's beats all...: )
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:55
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 17:55
Good on yer Willie. It's always good to hear when someone like you acknowledges some much needed help, rather than just take it for granted. Let's hope the rest of your trip is trouble free. Cheers.
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:06
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:06
Ahhh Sir Willie.....The next timne Adult Learners Week comes around you should enrol for a bush mechanics course :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:15
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 18:15
I usually travel in the company off one less ignorant in these matters . I do need to to a course as you suggest , but I am getting a bit long in the tooth for such things .
Willie
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:01
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:01
My Richard only ever gets me into trouble but good to hear "it's nice to have a "Richard" to help get you out of trouble"
Reckon you must have had a great trip from the stories.
Best regards,
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:43
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:43
Hey Trevor ,
I saw that cane toad video while I was away and it was pretty bloody funny .
Willie.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:27
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:27
As much as I am a critic of Telstra (and I am) we should acknowledge the role their Next G network played in your story Willie.
If only they weren't so greedy in their costs.
Next time you're in WA, and it could be a while, I read your post on costs, I would like to catch up.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:50
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 19:50
Mr Bush ,
What part of WA are you from ? We seem to have similar set-ups with the vans . Costs ? It's only money and I could be dead tomorrow .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Reply By: TD100 - Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:16
Sunday, Aug 03, 2008 at 21:16
Hi Willie,
what sort of chip are you running? if i remember correctly you have a 100s T/D? i have a safari D-tronic that i might get tested as it also could be a overfuelling culprit partly to blame for my old engines demise! and yes it is good to have a 'Richard' available for just such emergencies. cheers Paul
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:16
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:16
Paul ,
Yes , I have a 2001 TD 100 auto . It was a Safari and I think it will be covered by warranty . The chip is great to have when towing a lard arse caravan like
mine .
Willie
Reply By: chocolate teapot - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 06:36
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 06:36
Hi Willie
Know it is not what usually in discussion here as far as telstra is concerned but what abt some crownies for Sol and his band of amigos - wouldnt have liked your chances of one bar half way down the Tanami with optus, vodafone, 3 or the rest.
Well that should bring out a few trolls
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:24
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:24
Mr Teapot - or may I call you Chocolate ?
Sol hardly needs any beer from me - he could buy his own brewery .
The new Next G service we enjoy now , is far superior to the old CDMA . It is quite incredible that there was so much bad press about Next G before the CDMA was turned off .
I would estimate that I would have had coverage for nearly 33-50% more of my 12,000 km journey to WA and back than I would have had in previous years using CDMA .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 09:02
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 09:02
G'day Willie, glad your Richard could get your sorted mate. We all need advisors from time to time and issue to issue and you have found a good one so best keep him happy as you have.
On the brakes, it may be a good reason to have disk brakes mate, having held all the bits in your drum.
On meeting you, I find the
Grey Gnomad is hardly representative. I don't know about hiss problems though. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:27
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 14:27
Hi John
Those disc brakes would be the way to go if they are stronger . I have no idea about these things - as I mentioned earlier , I am a mechanical cretin . How hard is it to change from one system to the other ?
When do you fly back up north ?
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:53
Monday, Aug 04, 2008 at 15:53
Fly into Brissie on Monday arvo, next week. Local friend is picking us up in our car then we get meat and supplies for the next part of the trip. Karavan Owners Group out of
Alice Springs.
I think it would be an option you fit at the time as axles may be fitted that are different. They need powering too I think too. I have an electrcal power pack on
mine.
Hope the bride was waiting for you despite you being late home.