Google Maps Street View

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:25
ThreadID: 60500 Views:3584 Replies:19 FollowUps:22
Today Google Maps Street View was released, for Melbourne at least, Amazing technology, enables you to view 360 degree panning and rotating images of all street sides around the metro area in great detail. easy to access via the Google maps website.

Have Fun..

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:34

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:34
Hero ,
Just checked out my house in Sydney . Amazing .
Thanks ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 319138

Follow Up By: Hero - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:36

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:36
Wow, Sydney too, they have been busy.
FollowupID: 585643

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:43

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:43
How is this stuff going to be useful??

FollowupID: 585646

Follow Up By: Hero - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:47

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:47
Just realised its most of Australia!!

Would be very useful if your buying a new house or planning your next restaurant outing etc.
Does seem a lot of effort to do this, but amazing none the less.
FollowupID: 585647

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:51

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:51
yeah, it can be handy planning where to park when visiting somewhere new. Recently had to take son to footy carnival and the street directory had several "P" (parking) indications onsite, but a quick Google Maps showed that there was only a handful of places in each. We found the best spot to park nearby instead.

Nige.
FollowupID: 585648

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:58

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:58
Signman wrote: How is this stuff going to be useful??

There will be heaps of uses for this free data, the first i see from a Emergency Service perspective is one of being able to visual/see the area before deployment (large deployments to Storm damaged areas from interstate etc) meaning that we are better prepared for the types of buildings encountered (albeit undamaged in the images :-))

Buying an investment home means that i can check out the street/area possibly on line before committing to the drive to see it. (the sewage treatment plant next door would be seen earlier on).

It's strange to question why a FREE service would be useful...no need to use it if you don't have a need. :-)

FollowupID: 585650

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:13

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:13
OK- just found my place, but the house number has been 'blurred' out....anyone else with that ??

FollowupID: 585652

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:28

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:28
Having spent the morning looking at variouis things, I think that is the photo stitching software.

P.S. Have a look at the Bourke St Mall (in Melb) from Elizabeth St. Nice black cruiser about to be t-boned by a tram :)

Also, there's some weird happenings arounf the shrine... it shows a freeway that doesn't run thru the gardens!

And finally, we had a look at the backyard (normal maps view by now close up and more detailed) one of the guys here and there's his wife and the postman.... just kidding!!!!
FollowupID: 585680

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:49

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:49
Signman, there have been some privacy issues and Google has agreed to blur peoples faces, car number plates etc as certain low life's may use the programme to plan burglaries !

FollowupID: 585687

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:49

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 10:49
The coverage is FAR beyond just Melbourne and Sydney....check out the areas covered so far:

For something that is FREE, it will be handy to check out some areas before getting there.

AnswerID: 319139

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:11

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:11
The ba$stards!
Now someone can check if I'm home when I'm pretending not to be!
AnswerID: 319147

Follow Up By: Cap'tn Davo - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 16:11

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 16:11
worse still they can check if I'm not home when I'm pretending to be at home. good thing its not live. cheers davo
FollowupID: 585730

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:39

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:39
Hmmmm...looking at my place I would say the pic was taken after 2001 and before 2005
AnswerID: 319150

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 19:19

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 19:19
Ahh...thats the Satellite view. Streetview hasn't reached the stix yet, methinks
FollowupID: 585776

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 22:36

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 22:36
Willem, just found it had a friends house at Balaklava - impressed me no end

cheers JD
FollowupID: 585839

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:44

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:44
Found what JD? My house? If so please let me have the link.

FollowupID: 585869

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:50

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 08:50
Sorry Willem, only found friend's house out at Balak. I was just impressed details went out that far. Against that, Darwin not even covered, go figure? cheers JD
FollowupID: 585871

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:14

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 09:14
JD

Sorted it.

Only a photo of Peterborough Main Street is available so far. Not sure when it was taken but it almost corresponds with todays weather. Cold, damp and bleak...LOL

I found a pic of my brother's house in the USA easily.

Marvellous technology!

FollowupID: 585875

Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:56

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 11:56
Looking at shots of our previous house, the current one and our factory, all shots were taken between September and December 2007.

AnswerID: 319152

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:07

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:07
must be sometime last summer
FollowupID: 585693

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:55

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:55
I just looked at our first house that we bought in 83. The fence I built out the front in 85 is still in good nick.

Not a bad effort for a 24 year old lad who didn't know a string line from a string bean LOL.

Also checked out a lot of places relatives used to live at. Had a look at my grandparent's house in Clayton that they built by hand in the 50's. It's finally been knocked down and a new house is being constructed. Sad, but that's progress.

FollowupID: 585705

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:58

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:58
i note that the quality of images for our house house has increased
AnswerID: 319162

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:00

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:00
mmm bastartds are gunna spy on me ...can see everything
FollowupID: 585690

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:15

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:15
in google earth quality seems even better for overhead pics
FollowupID: 585696

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:59

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 12:59
Interesting technology.
Wonder how many km's they drove to photograph/film all those streets and roads??

AnswerID: 319163

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:22

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:22
I think my next door neighbour better lock his camper trailer up . Its there for the whole world to see . Other than that i dont see a problem . They say it wont be long before its live but i dont want that .
AnswerID: 319166

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:37

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:37
Sent a pic of a mates place to him in Armidale, Asked if I took the picture last time I was there a couple of weeks ago.

Amazing stuff.
AnswerID: 319168

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:39

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:39
hehe! I can tell you the pic of our street was done on a Tuesday, because it was bin day!
FollowupID: 585702

Follow Up By: Hairs (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:56

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:56
It would be our luck, an overcast day and we can see bugger all.
Dam!
Maybe the sun will come one day. :)
FollowupID: 585706

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:43

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 13:43
Amazing technology this sallelite stuff.
I'm thinking something like side appeture radar?

Brad
AnswerID: 319170

Follow Up By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:58

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:58
...mmm...maybe not satellite
The detail is remarkable.
I actually followed a car down the road...as it moved I was able to follow it.

Brad
FollowupID: 585719

Follow Up By: DIO - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:25

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:25
NOT satellite. Vehicles with specially equiped cameras drove around selected areas and captured images. It will never be live to view - as someone suggested. Not all streets have been done. Blue colouring of streets indicates those captured.
FollowupID: 585723

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:00

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 14:00
My place (just out of Cessnock) is on there, including the new shed, which was finished in December last year. The shed does not show up on Google Earth. But Google Maps is pretty current.

Sadly, parts of the NSW Central Coast are not so well catered for. My old address at Copacabana is not on it, nor is my daughter's place at Bateau Bay.

Amazing stuff though.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 319173

Reply By: Member - Paul C (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:41

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:41
The landlords just seen the car parked on the lawn, the dog that doesn't exist,the grass and gardens overgrown and the neighbour is picking his nose.

Seriously though it is amazing. I sneak in by about 20m. The only street in a 3 block radius.
AnswerID: 319188

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:50

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 15:50
I hope they put this camera on a 4wd and do some well known tracks like the csr etc . For those that cannot afford to go there LOL .
AnswerID: 319189

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 19:33

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2008 at 19:33
Adds a whole new meaning to the expression "I can see my house from here!"

Truly amazing this stuff.

Just visited the house I grew up in on the other side of the country and noticed a for sale sign out front. A quick web search and found the listing for it and there are 13 photos inside and out. Amazing what a couple of reno's does for a place after 30 years!

Very useful to check out streetscapes that you may want to buy in without having to actually go there. You can see at a glance if all the neighbors have couches on the front proch and dead commodores and falcons in the front yard!

Gunna be some heavy increases in bandwith consumption as poeple check out previous dwellings and stuff.

Facsinating stuff!

Muddy
AnswerID: 319230

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:27

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:27
Just looked at my property on the Woods-Point Rd.....When you look back down the road (dirt) i suppose they cannot wait for the dust to settle lol

AnswerID: 319290

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:43

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 00:43
Just had a look at the Servo we filled up at in Tibooburra.

Tell you what, this is going to save me heaps in fuel.

If I want to go somewhere I don't even have to leave my pooter.

Who wants to buy my Cruiser and van?

AnswerID: 319292

Reply By: Dolphin38 - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 02:11

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 02:11
What a bummer......

Every street in my neighbourhood was done except mine!!! Most disappointed.

Amazingly thought, my parents house was done at the time I was visiting them, and guess what, my car is sitting out the front.

Wonder if Google Maps will ever go and fill in the areas that weren't covered the first time.

Guy
AnswerID: 319294

Reply By: Hairs (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 07:19

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 07:19
Just a thought,
I wonder how many unfaithful partners it could catch out?
Picture this.
Wife," look honey there's my sisters place, wtf is your work ute doing there? I thought you said you've been working at a job over the other side of town" You said you haven't seen Marg for months"

Sorry that's my mind thinking things it shouldn't, lol ;-)

AnswerID: 319298

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2008 at 22:16
and of coarse , the one time i don't do my lawn ........ its called irony right ?

Boc

AnswerID: 319480