uhf aerial
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 07, 2008 at 23:58
ROCKY BOY-JUSTGETOUTTHERE&DOIT
Has anyone broken or cracked one of those white graphite uhf aerials .I have been told that sometimes rocks thrown up by other vehicles if your unlucky can hit aerial and crack it and hence you will lose reception.
Not being a radio expert if these aerials crack do they still work and whats in behind that white stuff. I have been thinking of using a bike tube to shroud the aerial but does this covering of aerial reduce its ability to pick up or trasmit. thanks Peter.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 07:48
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 07:48
Those aerials are really nothing more than "wank rods".
I have an 800mm stainless steel antenna that mounts on the gutter line of the roof. This at least matches, if not out performs the big white ones people mount on their bull bar.
Around town, the 800mm is replaced by a "rubber duckie" and even this, sitting up on the roof is adequate for most situations.
Why anybody would choose to spoil their view with a big piece of "white conduit" erected in front of them, confounds me.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:37
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:37
I bet you're glad you got that off your chest. Nice informative response to a legitimate question..
Rocky Boy
sorry I can't answer your question but I hope somebody can.
tessa
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 09:45
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 09:45
Have to agree..I hate those "look at me" antennas on bull bars!
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:31
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:31
I have a Troopy with a 2m wank rod.
Does this mean I like things big, tough and ugly?
Follow Up By: deserter - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 11:51
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 11:51
I bought a wank rod on the advice of my ARB man. We don't particularly like having it. But I didn't buy it for any wank reason. And I can't understand what sort of wanker would make a general statement like thet.
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 12:39
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 12:39
Obviously a case of wank rod envy
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:50
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:50
Deserter,
Call me a wanker if you wish.
I too went along to a specialist communications retailer and installer to "upgrade" my antenna to a "Wank Rod".
Why? they said. There's nothing wrong with your antenna, but we can improve the reception if we relocate it.
I would guess the difference is that ARB are not experts in communications equipment, or best locations for optimum performance.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:53
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:53
By the way,
When I want to wank better than anybody else, I can mount my flag pole on the bull bar.
Now that is a real attention getter:-))
Bill.
Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:03
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:03
My specialist is better than your specialist and I said it last ha ha ha
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:42
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 21:42
So you think you've got a wank rod...................
THIS is a wank rod :-)
Have to admit to being a fan of the gutter mounted rubber stubbie.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 22:34
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 22:34
No that looks like a Dick Pullem (AKA old Electric Bug owner) special!
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:51
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:51
Peter ,
The only graphite in those white aerials , is where they mark bits with a grapite pencil . They are fibreglass .
That aside , they are a bloody good aerial and as tough as nails . If you have cracked it , I would check that there is no
water in it and then seal the crack with Araldite or two part epoxy . I would imagine that the coil inside is not affected ( unless you have noticed some change when using the radio ).
I would not bother with the shrink plastic . I think it would make branches "stick" to it instead of sliding along it . I reckon it would cause you more damage with it , than without it .
.......................................................................................
Sandman ,
I have a white PE on my bull bar , and I am very happy with it . I never notice it's there . Not too stiff and it's very sensitive .They say that size is not important , but ..........
I guess if it ever breaks , it might be said to be suffering from a reptile disfunction .
I had a stainless steel wire shaft type with a coil halfway up it . This broke at the bottom after too many wobbles on the corrugations . I put on my spare one ( same type ) and after a while that broke too .
Willie.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:53
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:53
Sandman ,
I might add that mounted on your gutter it would vibrate a lot less than
mine did on the bull bar and consequently , last a lot longer .
Where I go though , nothing would survive on my gutters , so It is not an option for me .
Willie .
Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 09:24
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 09:24
I have a 2m white wank rod. We rod wankers don’t care about looks –just performance. My antenna man says the extra height will give longer range and improve contact with truckies behind if you are towing a large van. This aerial is rock solid – with a large spring coil base – I have taken it over thousands of ks of rough corrugations particularly around
the tip of
Cape York – I can’t fault it and I have seen lighter aerials fail on these corrugations. Another of the reasons I went for the longer rod was that it is 200mm higher than my caravan’s air conditioner and I use it as a height gauge.
Reply By: ingo57 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:39
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:39
Gday Peter
I also have the fiberglass GME aerial and they work very
well.
However on our most recent trip I started to get a lot of static and the transmit and recieve range dropped to around 3kms.
When I removed the aerial there was a distinct rattle inside it, I took it back to GME and they ended replacing it even though it was around 4 months out of warranty...cant complain with that.
I know others that have used them for years with no probs.
They definately have a much better range than the normal aerials.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 12:24
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 12:24
I have a wank rod also...
Works for me , i guess there are heaps of us wankers out there..
Cheers......Borgy
Reply By: John R (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 13:14
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 13:14
I've broken a black phone one (broomstick), so although the size & frequencies are a bit different, the principle is the same.
I tapped
mine up with electrical tape - it hadn't completely bleep tered, so could get enough strength to keep it together.
A mate got some heatshrink for his - it works
well.
The one or two antennas I've inspected the gizzards of contained a plastci strip with copper (presume it was copper) strips running the length. It seemed evident to me that the fibreglass was simply a structural aid - kept the copper upright, with some protection.
I'm not sure if you've broken one, or just wondering what happens when/if one does break.
However, I would agree with the previous post - ensure moisture can't get in. If you can keep it rainproof and pointing the the right direction, I wouldn't be worried about cracks in the fibreglass.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:38
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:38
I'm no expert but my experience driving all over the country tells me HEIGHT is the key everytime.
Without going into a long spiel....my 6db black Ariel mounted on the front bar, is not as effective as a little steel one mounted on the roof. And there is a BIG difference in range.
Just last week I was on a farm in
Northampton. The owner had a Wank Rod on his front bar. It was very disappointing in performance.
I don't know why.
Reply By: mattie - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:26
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 19:26
Hi Rocky
I have always thought that the higher the db the longer the range of reception and transmission, but it is a more direct line of sight type of signal where as the lower the db the better reception and transmission in hilly type terrain. So if in flat plains you would have a high db aerial if you spent more time around the high country in VIC a lower db aerial would suit better. Obviously the higher the aerial the better as it enhances the line of sight for transmission.
Mattie
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 22:43
Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 22:43
Don't think there would be much difference mounting on 3 foot off the ground on the bull bar or mounting it 5 foot off the ground on the roof.
Every thing is a comparison.
To many people get carried away with different gains for different terrains, anything between 3 db and 6 db will work fine.
You don't change you tyres all the time if you are going away when you drive on bitumen, dirt, mud, sand or rocky stuff do you.
Or change your
driving lights from spread to spot and back again.
Reply By: ROCKY BOY-JUSTGETOUTTHERE&DOIT - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 00:15
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 00:15
Hello everyone sorry I havn't been at computer all day and missed all replies. Thanks for your input. You cleared one thing up re the composition of aerial outer being fibreglass I always thought it was graphite. I haven't broken one yet but over time things happen and inevitable may happen and I may have a broken aerial for what ever reasons. I have in past had all types of uhf aerials the stainless steel type which snapped off at base over some corrugations and the fibreglass whips which were great but when I set my current vehicle up the radio guy said that the white aerial types were more consistent and robust over corrugations but had to be careful of snapping them from overhanging trees. I have two sizes a short aerial 3.5db and a longer 4.5db which suits me for all my needs.
No one has really answered my question re the workings of the aerial after cracking the case. I suppose the case doesn't have anypurpose except protecting the wire inside. As long as the wire hasn't been cracked the radio should work and also protecting wire from water ingression.
I wanted to cover aerial with the bike tube to protect it from flying objects and would like to know if this rubber would alter its signal output and input. I know that longer and higher the aerial the better things get but does covering aerial affect its performance. Also what can you use as an emergency aerial in this scenario and can you lay it on ground or does it have to be vertical. On my
hf radio I can use a piece of long wire and lay it on ground. Does it work for uhf. cheers peter