Currawinya NP...Paroo River.

Submitted: Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 07:54
ThreadID: 60598 Views:3318 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
G/day all, i read some time back somebody doing a trip up through
that area. Planning to go that way in the next couple of
weeks.Would appreciate any feedback on roads/camping/fishing. Will be towing c/van.
Thanks in advance. DOUG.

Reply By: gezza100 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:37

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:37
G'day Doug,

I have a mate that lives in the Eulo area and I frequent the place quite a bit. It is a beautiful part of the world if you like the very remote, very flat and very quiet (which I do).

There are some beautiful camping spots along the Paroo and plenty of yabbies to be caught for an afternoon feast with a few stubbies. I have not done much fishing but if you drop into the general store in Eulo, which has everything you could possibly need, I'm sure you will be able to obtain some info from them.

The roads are good dirt, can be corrugated at times but should be no problems with your van provided all the suspension is up to scratch.

Hope this has been of some help.
AnswerID: 319703

Follow Up By: dougie 41 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:55

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 08:55
Hi gezza100,
Thanks for your reply.We hope to camp somewhere on the
river before you enter the NP.I believe there are some good
spots along there.Hopefully we will be able to get some yabbies.
Some to eat and some for bait.

Regards Doug.
FollowupID: 586320

Follow Up By: gezza100 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:28

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:28
Hey Doug,

Yes, there are many fantastic spots outside the NP, not sure which way you are planning on coming from but I can say the northern side is great.

Gezza
FollowupID: 586392

Follow Up By: dougie 41 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:57

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 15:57
Hi Gezza,

Planning to come in from northern end. Have been to Eulo
Lizard Races one time but didn,t have agood enough look
around. Thought that part of the river would be ok.
Just a bit concerned about getting the c/van down to the
river.

Thanks Again DOUG.
FollowupID: 586400

Reply By: ingo57 - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:11

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 10:11
Gday Doug

Went through there last month on the way home from the centre. Great camping spots on the Paroo, didnt fish but saw heaps jumping late arvo and early morning.
Really nice place & well woth the visit

AnswerID: 319726

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 12:17

Friday, Aug 08, 2008 at 12:17
Douigie
Good camping & fishing around Eulo. There are tracks both sides of the rivber to the North & south when you cross it on the Thargo road. Spent a few night there in July. 36 yabbies in less than 2 hours.
Vince
AnswerID: 319754