OT - Olypmic Games opening ceremony WTF!
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:40
Member - V8Diesel (WA)
Was it just me or did anyone else think the Beijing opening ceremony was a bit.....ahhhh.........dull? I turned it off half way through.
I'm not a fan of this kind of stuff at the best of times anyway, but I tried watching it last night and while impressive in its sheer scale I thought it completely lacked 'personality'. No humour in it at all (although the highlight for me was the little girl at the piano being distracted, looking around and picking her nose at the critical moment!)
I just about choked on my dinner when the token China is 'eco-friendly' BS started. Who came up with that one! Whoever it was, he should get a gold........no, platinum medal for being the most frantic rod walloper and BS artist in the entire universe. 'Clean and Green'..........you can't even see further a couple of city blocks and the factories have been shut down for a month.
The Channel 7 coverage and commentary was jaw droppingly inept as
well. WTF was going on there!???? The commentary (when occasionally audible) was not only unpolished, but blisteringly unprofessional in content at best ("dance of the lost contact lens" - what a tosser). Couple that with randomly interspersed advertisements mixed in with a continual train wreck of technical problems (even the vision switcher's comms were audible a number of times!) and you a have clusterf@ck on a grand scale.
I though the
Sydney ceremony ran rings around it. Maybe I'm just a parochial and narrow minded wet blanket.....I dunno.
Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:50
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:50
umm... I went to bed at 10.30 for all the same reasons.
Must've missed the nosepicking ceremony though, damn it.
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:54
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:54
Didn't even realise it was on.
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:50
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:50
DIO
Trying to believe that is like accepting that China is eco-friendly or a civil rights champion. Ha Ha Ha.
Do you really live under a rock???
Cheers Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:42
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 15:42
dio
are you really that stupid?
unbelievable!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:53
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:53
LOL, If you where would you let everyone know.
Cheers vPete
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:39
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:39
MADFISHER
he just did !
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:55
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:55
Love my news and current affairs but the week leading up to last night was Olympics, Olympics, Olympics, followed by Kiddmans baby, Kiddmans baby, bloody Kiddmans baby.
Where have all the hard nosed journos gone !!!
Its enough to send a guy outside be active and get fit.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:48
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:48
Has she had the baby??
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:18
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:18
Why, that's amazing! - a woman having a baby.
What next?
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:06
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:06
"whats next"
They had a guy having a baby the other week....
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:57
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 09:57
hahaha
I was busy watching the Footy on Channel Nine. That is about as interested in the Olympics as I'll get.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:28
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:28
Yeh the footy was on was something happening eleswhere??....
I saw some people in Maroon get their bums kicked and i slept
well LOL, its just a shame it was pseudo-mexicans doin the kicking
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:04
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:04
I think you'll find the Footy is on Channel 7 LOL.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:00
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:00
nah jim the real footy
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:23
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:23
Not even the Pommies (and they're the mad bastards who invented this neanderthal game) call it footy LOL.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:09
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:09
I think he means "Bum Sniffers"
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:17
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 19:17
There was no Rugby Union last night on 7 just the Rugby League on 9.
Was 2 good games as
well | Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 23:18
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 23:18
Since when was rugby, footy anyway?
Reply By: Member -Steve Top End Explorer - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:09
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:09
Yeah I fell asleep on the lounge soon after it started, But the wife loves the Olympics, so I fear for my life as every time I hear Bruce Macervany's voice I loose the will to live.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - John D (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:35
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:35
Yeah Steve, totally agree with your sentiments about Bwuce!!!
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 00:06
Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 00:06
You have to admire his stamina though, by the end of the games he usually looks like a talking corpse. He must run on about an hour a day sleep but he still keeps plugging away at it..
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:28
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:28
I watched as much as I could. Had to be up at 5 this morn to take delivery of a new machine :(
My
views on it are the same as yours. And the footage supplied by the host country was appalling.....
The first moments when the drummers I think was the highlight...... and as I said I wished the footage was a bit better
Reply By: richard - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:29
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:29
Guys,
I reckon you missed the point,
The Olympics is about testing yourself against others, striving for excellence, suffering the pain and showing your endurance and capacity to over come all obstacles.
Your suffering through those opening ceremonies and watching Bruce and the gang rattle on for the next two weeks is your own personal Olympic competition where you can show your stuff.
Unfortunately you want get a medal at the end but you can go and get your own gold or silver or bronze or an other suitably colored can of beer - which you will need to get through it all.
Enjoy :)
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:39
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:39
Hey Richard,
'testing yourself against others, striving for excellence, suffering the pain and showing your endurance and capacity to overcome all obstacles'
Are we talking Olympics or 4WDing......hehehe.
Cheers mate.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: nickoff - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:43
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:43
Pure Gold there Richard, Pure Gold....
Follow Up By: ozwasp - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:43
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:43
Richard, what drugs are you on?
Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:53
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 10:53
ozwasp
Richard is just high on life, last time I looked.
Cheers, Colin.
Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:05
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:05
Drugs! - are you guys calling me a drug cheat.
Bring on the testers!
Richard :)
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:30
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:30
Bring on the No-doze
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:06
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:06
LOL Waynepd, you dont do you ?? Works
well but eh LOL Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:21
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:21
Wanepd
You are expelled for watching them as a self confessed drug cheat.
If you can't stand watching them clean then you should not be allowed to watch them at all.
PS where do you get them :)
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:03
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:03
OK then I'll take my punishment like a man and miss out my 2 week of Bwucie and Thorpedo and whatever other "celebs" they want to throw at us.
At least during the
Sydney games Fox 8 had 2 weeks of non-stop Simpsons LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:13
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 14:13
Shhhhhhhhh you lot....the womens beach volleyball is on.. 8-)))))
Fred
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:17
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:17
Now that's a sport i can watch but it doesn't go for long enough
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:13
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:13
My whole family has been going on about it for days ......... "what time does it start", "what time does it finish?" ...."Can we sit up and watch the whole thing Dad", "we wont be grumpy in the morning".....
and
They all fell asleeep!!!!
Yep
Pretty boring I thought....
Reply By: MintabiePete (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:14
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:14
Well I watched it and thought it was spectacular , I guess you would find it a bit hard to beat the Chinese at firecrackers , I sat up and watched it to the end and loved the way it unfolded up to the way they lit the cauldron , 56 million they say it cost , maybe there could have been other ways they could have spent that money , but the Chinese were on the stage , and it was their turn to perform :)
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:39
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 17:39
It couldn't have cost that much.
We only charge them 8 cents a liter for the gas for that cauldron!
Hehehehe!
Gazal.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:27
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:27
As you said....you are a wet blanket.....hahahahaha
You lot must lead pretty boring lives.
I thought it was pretty good meself..yeah I fell asleep when all the sporties marched in but overall it was a very good showwith immaculate precision of the masses and especially the lighting of the Olympic Flame
Hope you are all going to be glued to your TV sets over the next few weeks.....hahahahaha
Reply By: Twinkles - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:31
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:31
As a display of technology, costumes and human coordination it was spectacular, but the story was slow and dull. Interestingly there was no display of their history after communism. I suppose no colourful costumes in that. I went to bed before all the countries came out. Couldn't stay awake any longer.
I thought the
Sydney opening spectacular, amusing and entertaining, particularly the horsemen.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:20
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:20
Yeh then there was Seoul, isn't that the one where they cooked the doves...LOL
Reply By: deserter - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:36
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 11:36
Not just boring - but as already said - how pathetic was the 7 commentary. Thats why I turned off after an hour.
Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:52
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 12:52
Started out promising - then kind of died a slow death --- i fell asleep at 11 pm -- misses at about 10.30
My biggest disappointment --- friggen adds during the event....
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:19
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 13:19
LOL....Yeh, how dare channel 7 pay multiple millions to broadcast the Olympics and then place ads in it to make some money back ;-)
Fell asleep before the end as well....didnt find out how they lit the BBQ.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:32
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 16:32
Nah, it was just you. LOL They said this is going to be the most memorable games yet. Yeah, in twenty years time everyone will say "remember the Beijing opening ceremony, wasn't it shyte!"...
Bring on the Mens 100m final - thats a real test of a human pushing himself beyond the limits. Are HG & Roy on this time around???
Reply By: Angler - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:19
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 18:19
Me too, boring, too many adds and all at the wrong
places, same again today.
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:22
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 20:22
Flipped onto 7 today and what do i see Bloody Cyclists and they still wouldn't let the cars get past.....LOL
Follow Up By: richard - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:11
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:11
My kids (oder ones) learnt new words when I kept coming across bikers
on the road holding me up.
My term is Bike F$%%ers. But they are really OK just a pain when in your way.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:14
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:14
ooops
no lets not get that going again HAHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA
Sorry my bad
Reply By: Dolphin38 - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:15
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 21:15
No fear of global warming by the Chinese.... the size of the olympic flame cauldron is huge and when the flame was eventually lit.... no wonder WA still has gas shortages... we're pumping it all to China just to keep the flame alight!!!!
Maybe now that the flame is lit, it will create it's own micro-climate around the olympic stadium and the haze/smog/pollution etc (what the Chinese call mist!!!) will burn off and provide the clear skies they keep talking about.
Don't you just get jack of the swimming coverage when they show endless heats with no Aussies swimming, yet don't show other sports events when Aussies are participating. Even after day 1, anyone would think we're watching just a swimming competion.
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 23:45
Saturday, Aug 09, 2008 at 23:45
Since we're on the subject of China.................
Apparently, one in five people in the world is Chinese...
Well, there are five people in my family, and it ain't me, so it must be one of them..............
I don't think it's Mum or Dad, so it must be either my older brother Colin, or my younger brother Ho-Cha-Chu.........
But I think it's Colin............
;-)))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 13:59
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 13:59
I thought the opening ceremony was great! It was their cultural background and proudly showed it off.. I guess some people didnt like it because its not part of them.. It was a heap better than blow up plastic kangaroos on wheels like we had, or has everyone forgotton!! Michael
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 16:20
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 16:20
Good to see Im not the only one who couldnt give a rats ass about the olympics
perfect time of yr to cross the simpson I say.. shame I couldnt get the time off work.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 20:20
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 20:20
ROFLMAO Truckster... That deserves a Gold medal!!
Cheers, Brad