Rear Window Protectors...A new idea

Submitted: Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:01
ThreadID: 60781 Views:4449 Replies:14 FollowUps:29
Always on the lookout for economical ways to do things I have tried a variety of rear window protector attachments. Tape, velcro, glue or silicon based products do not work

My last idea was to clip the plastic sheeting to the rear doors with small bulldog clips. After numerous trips one sheet blew off into the middle distance never to be seen again.

I was looking for a new idea yesterday as this job has come around and thought of elastic straps. So down to my local upholsterer this morning and he stitched them up in no time. Easy to fit and easy to remove.

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:22

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:22
G'day Willem
One day you'll get it right :-)
BTW - I notice that the elastic compresses the door rubber - have you taken into account possible dust ingress?
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 320780

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:42

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:42
G'day Moose

I have figured that the elastic will lose some of its stretch when the sun gets to it so I am not all that worried. Anyway, there is dust evrywhere in my truck. Its part of me...and you. Earth to earth, dust to dust....hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 587549

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:35

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:35
Brilliant Willie.

A real "Corn Flakes" solution.

AnswerID: 320782

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 14:32

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 14:32
Hahahaha...haven't heard that one for a while...:-)

PS Hope the insurance co come good with your mishap.

FollowupID: 587552

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:47

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 13:47
what was wrong with duct tape (gafferTape)
AnswerID: 320784

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 14:30

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 14:30
Heat from sun melts glue. The adhesion fails. Then tape comes loose. Then protector falls off. Then I have to make a new one. Compré? LOL
FollowupID: 587551

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 17:56

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 17:56
Use race tape. It holds really well, even in the sun.

FollowupID: 587578

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:10

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 15:10
Willem,

Whilst probably not quite as cheap as your solution, I used this stuff called "3M Dual Lock" strips, which I cut into smaller pieces to 'spread' around the protectors edges. 2 x 4 week trips and no movement so far. Got the stuff from Bunnings. (is there one in Peterborough?) You could probably order it online?

This stuff is sort of like velcro but about a thousand times stronger. It's actually very hard to peel the protectors off. You have to do it very carefully so as to not break the polycarbonate.

AnswerID: 320787

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:03

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:03

Bunnings. (is there one in Peterborough?) ....hahahahaha Peterborough is about the size of a suburban Bunnings. Closest one is 250km from here.

FollowupID: 587587

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:19

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:19
Mark, I am with you. Bought it this week in Toowoomba Bunnings, even though the attendent didn't even know it existed. Moggs suggested it to me a couple of weeks ago. Heaps better than tape, though I have some tape around the edges. An inch holds nearly a kg and it will take quite a bit to get it off. Very happy John :-)))
FollowupID: 587608

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 16:30

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 16:30
G day Willem

Since I have got the Patrol, I have toyed with several Ideas...

My latest brain wave is to get a triple layer of shade cloth, and set it up like a stone deflector setup that's on our camper trailer.

AnswerID: 320795

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:10

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:10

That might work, if you use elastic like I have.

FollowupID: 587590

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 17:27

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 17:27
Hi there Willem,

We got a tip from our mechanic.... we used an old 3" foam mattress and cut it into shapes that fit the windows and used race tape from Supercheap Auto. Now, I would have bet money that the tape would have either flapped off, or the sun would have softened the glue...... but it stayed in place for our trip to Birdsville & back! Downside is you can't see out the windows, but with the amount of stuff in the back of our truck, that certainly isn't an issue! It's visible in my pic below.

We pulled into Birdsville c/p and saw 5 rear windows busted! And numerous other people wished they had done what we had done!

AnswerID: 320802

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:08

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:08

I wonder if that race tape will stay out in the tropics. Had 100mph tape on last year and in Darwin it peeled off in mid winter!

This new invention is removable and reuseable.

FollowupID: 587589

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:22

Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:22
Willem,
You may well have a point there about the tropics. I was surprised at how well the race tape stood up, and also how little effort it took to remove it. You're right when you said (on someone else's follow-up) that it leaves a mark on the duco, luckily (?) the truck needs a polish anyway! LOL... so far that's the only drawback I have seen with my system.

Mine are re-useable as well, they're stored in the shed waiting patiently for next years trip back out outback!

Don't get me wrong, I think yours is brilliant, was just showing what I had done for the same problem!

Another idea I had seen in a mag somewhere was some guy had lined the edges of his protective screens with velcro, and the "other-half" of the velcro was super glued to the vehicle..... so it just velcroed into place. Not the way I'd do it, but not everyone thinks the same, do they?

FollowupID: 587671

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 18:36

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 18:36
Why do the protectors have to be clear? Vision from the rear windscreen in any 4WD is always severely compromised anyway. The cheapest solution (very effective) is corrugated cardboard though if it rains it might be a problem. The one major plus is that its stiffness makes it easier to fix to the screen with initial use of the wiper blade and other security points added with tape. Also, you don't need to cover the back screen completely. You can leave a very small gap around the perimeter where you can stick tape to the glass and save damage to your paint work.
AnswerID: 320815

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 18:58

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 18:58
Nobody said protectors had to be clear. I am using material available in my shed. Been down the road with tape. It does not stick and its messy. Have nmot used race tape but it is the same principle.... when you remove it then you have to clean the duco or the glass
FollowupID: 587585

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:19

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:19
There is aproduct called corflute, just like corrugated cardboard but it is waterproof, heatproof up to I think 150 deg, don't know where you buy it but we get it at work sometimes. Might have to try it myself.
FollowupID: 587615

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 08:24

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 08:24
I think you can get corflute from Bunnings (why didn't I think of that). Willem, what I was proposing would only leave marks around the rim of the rear screen glass but for some people I guess that would not be acceptable
FollowupID: 587752

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 18:41

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 18:41
Why not make a good rock deflector (simple) out of shade cloth .

Then you will not have to stick stuff on your windows , the rear of your car will not be peppered by stones and you will be able to see through the rear window .

I towed my Trak Shak for thousands of miles on dirt roads with no damage to the back of the car .

Willie .
AnswerID: 320816

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:01

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:01
Good on ya, Sir Willie

I simply do not like the rock deflectors on trailers.

I don't particularly care about the back of the vehicle as long as the glass stays intact
FollowupID: 587586

Reply By: motor_head - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:13

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 19:13
Ummm.......what Willie said, for me the most simplest, logical, permanent and effective way is a stone deflector on the trailer or van, mine is a home made job useing shade cloth and not one stone chip on the rear of my prado....although the shade cloth did get shredded on the last trip.....it does perish from exposure so best to keep an eye on it.
AnswerID: 320819

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:13

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:13
My view for my application is that

a. the stone deflector is a hinderance with its proximity to the back of the vehicle

b. it will be destroyed in no time doing offtrack driving. So it will have to be removable.

Alternatively, a deflector strung horizontally between the vehicle and trailer works very well but also hinders access to the back of the vehicle.

FollowupID: 587604

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:56

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 20:56
goodday willem
i have 1/2' thick felt cut to window shape and elastic to hold it in place works well

AnswerID: 320828

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:15

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:15
There ya go Steve... see, great minds......................

Hows that beard coming along...lol

FollowupID: 587612

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 17:14

Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 17:14
no beard mate deep shi$$ if i have another 1 at this time but it will happen again

FollowupID: 587720

Reply By: Member - Doug T NT - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:04

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:04
Willem
How long have you been bashing about Australia....??? and it's taken you all that time to come up with a good idea,
You better put a Patent on it , ...lol

AnswerID: 320832

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:17
G'day Young fella

I've had more good ideas than you have had breakfasts....lol
FollowupID: 587614

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:06

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:06
G'Day Willem,

There is only one solution mate...when this GQ dies go and buy a GQ ute with steel tray and canvas canopy. You've already said the wagon gets full of dust. Also a lot easier to set up shelves / beds / jerry can holders etc....plus increased payload.

Mind you you'll probably have to wait 10 years to kill your GQ wagon.... ;))

AnswerID: 320833

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:20

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:20
G'day Hughesy

Nah! This is my last 4by. In 5 years time I will give this 4x4 thingy away and go do something else. Still got 3 big trips to do and then scale the whole thing down :-)

FollowupID: 587616

Reply By: richard - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:36

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 21:36
I am trying to build one - going to use suction cups.

They give you a bit of gap between window and polycarbonate and hopefully will be able to be taken off completely afterwards unlike the velcros.

The issue I had with the velcro option is the window ends up against the window and if a rock hit it would not the window still run the risk of damage. (a possible solution to this is to put some smaller cups on the window to push the poly out a bit )

My first option was the 3M stuff but could not find it any where. Also had trouble finding suction cups but found a place in Sydney - I ahve a life time supply now :) as you had to buy a bag of them.

I bought two types one has a double suction cup and seems fairly strong.

The problem is attaching then to the poly. I found a good whey by drilling two holes and connecting the holes using a jig saw. One hole bigger than the other - smaller one being the size of the neck of the suction cup. I found if I dropped the cups in hot water for a few seconds to soften them up it is fairly easy to push them through the larger hole, this is still in progress and not sure if will stay on.

One concern I do have is once I stick the thing on how to get the bloody things off.

If doesn't work an the 3M stuff is available i can always go that way.

AnswerID: 320837

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:19

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:19
40mm suction cups work well! MichaelImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 587632

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:24

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:24
Richard, I drilled the holes the same size as the shaft size and bought some 7mm stainless steel circlips and pushed them under the head.. if you like, i can take a closeup pic tomorrow, let me know..Michael.. Best place to buy cups from is a glass place.. Michael
FollowupID: 587633

Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:31

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:31
Michael, I would like to see that.

I have not drilled the holes (i originally spelled this as hoes :) yet and that sound better idea.

FollowupID: 587634

Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:36

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:36
Michael forgot,

I have the cups (as said I bough a bag - have 200 of the buggers!) :)

I got sick of looking around - glass shops here did not have them - no one of a good size until i found the people in Sydney and they were extremely helpful.

I have spent more on this than if I bought one I reckon but not as much fun - NOT

I plan to run some rubber strips around the edge. I could not get a piece of poly that would completely cover window unless paid lots more dollars

The hole technique I mentioned will work but am interested in any other options

FollowupID: 587636

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:37

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:37
Richard , I used 2 mm Polycarbonate but the drill must be of a negative rake or slightly blunt or it will tear a chunk out of it,, drill a few holes in some scrap pieces.. Ok i will tak a pic in the morning, A tip although i have not had the need is you can put the very smallest amount of Vaselene on the cups to make them wring onto the glass if you are worried about losing them, I had mine on last time for 5 weeks no problems.. Michael
FollowupID: 587637

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:39

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:39
Is thet the glass place in the rocks?? Michael
FollowupID: 587638

Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:43

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:43
Michael,
How many cups did you use?

I think your cups may be different from mine or at least one set.

The ones I want to use have a lip on them - looking at the on the side the head is 'T shaped. The other ones I have are cylindrical but have no edge for the clips.

Any way will be keen to see pics.

Many thanks,
FollowupID: 587639

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:48

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:48
I think it was 9 on each of the patrol windows and on the big window i just stuck the centre cup onto the window to hold the poly carb off the window with no hole, this allows me to use the rear wiper. Michael
FollowupID: 587640

Follow Up By: richard - Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:48

Friday, Aug 15, 2008 at 22:48
No Hang & Display Pty Ltd in Campsie

If you go to this site you will see the ones I have (Suc 03 and Suc 06)
www.hanganddisplay.com.au

If you or any one interested I found them very friendly and helpful. They sent me a couple of freebies to test them out beforehand.

Talk to Dot - nice lady.

FollowupID: 587641

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:28

Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:28
Dearest Willem
Little Wes and are a bit worried about you. What the hec are you holding your undies up with now that the back window is protected?

AnswerID: 320878

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:30

Saturday, Aug 16, 2008 at 09:30
Sorry
That should read 'and I' are worried