zd30 going...going...gone

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 09:53
ThreadID: 60823 Views:6682 Replies:6 FollowUps:31
The Captain made me do it! After 6 years of driving around in my ZD30 diesel Nissan Patrol always worrying what is going to happen next, is the motor going to blow up, is anything else going to go wrong, will it tow the caravan over the next hill, well all that is about to go. Every trip I was constantly worried and not enjoying at all. So, I have just ordered a new twin turbo V8 Toyota diesel. The last straw was when I contacted Nissan's Customer Service and asked them what caused the problems with the motors blowing up in the early ZD30s and what is the difference in the motor configuration now in the new common rail patrol as I was thinking of buying one. After 3 emails with 3 different answers, not one answering my questions and in the last one informing me that this subject and conversation is now closed, they won't make any further comment. They tell me if I maintain my engine in the correct manner nothing will happen. I was not allowed to speak to Val Davis and the bloke that I did communicate with was arrogant and rude and did not know his stuff. So good luck to you Andrew, your company has just lost another customer and your whole PR and service to the public is crap. I made contact with a number of other dealerships and although I live in NSW I am slipping across to SA to pick up the new cruiser as soon as it is ready. I got a much better deal in SA than with any of the dealers I could in NSW, don't know why and best of all I found good accommodation in SA at Roachie's place. I am taking over my wife and 6 kids plus the inlaws. I know Roachie won't mind cause they all tell me he is a good bloke. If the Captain is around, drop us a line mate and let us know how the new vehicle is going. I took your advice and bought all the accessories separate so it is not included in the luxury tax total. Cheers everybody
The Major

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 13:02

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 13:02
Can't say I've ever had a problem with Nissan - then again I've never (yep never) had a single problem with my 1998 2.8 tdi GU wagon. Bought it in 1998 and other than routine services haven't had to spend anything on it and have never had to approach Nissan for a warranty claim. So will I change marques next time I buy a vehicle......well probably not but I will more than likely buy a dual cab petrol ute (with factory gas) next time around and that may force me to consider others. Having said that I may even keep the old GU as it is by far one of the most reliable vehicles I've ever had and I had two Toyotas before this - a Tarago and a Corona both of which were pretty good vehicles as well.
I can't figure you 'The Major' - from your post it seems that you were worrying about what might happen in the future...I'm guessing you won't be any better at that with the yota either. Oh and car manufacturers all can be a pain in the butt to deal with at times.
AnswerID: 320977

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:26

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:26
I can't figure you Patrol22
He is not talking about a 2.8tdi!!!!!!!
He is talking about a ZD30!!!!!!

Two TOTALLY different engines

So go ahead and buy your zd30 a with confidence mate and I wish you well.
Colin.
FollowupID: 587824

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:41

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:41
Colin - I read the original post as a bagging of the marque and having read it again I still see it that way. Beside I know a lot more people who have had no problems with their ZD30 then I do those who have. The two who have have also had an excellent response from Nissan with an new engine being provided even though he had 165000km on his. The other point was the soothsayer approach....it seems he didn't have a problem with his but he might in the future.....or perhaps I misread that too.
FollowupID: 587831

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:31

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:31
I know what you are talking about major. We had a zd30 at work and every time I drove it , it was on the back of my mind. When I drove my old 4 runner with 200000ks plus never even thought that it might blow.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 587863

Follow Up By: macka - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:21

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:21
Madfisher.

Maybe. In your mind.
Just had to take a packed lunch with you in the 4 runner. to get anywhere.
Bloody gutless things. That's why they lasted so long. They had nothing under the bonnet. Just carry half a doz, CV joints with you.

2002. ZD30 D'Tronic Chip. 150k on clock. 120k of that towing a 6.5mtr off road caravan. 2.8ton. All over Australia. 3 to 4 months a year.
So far. never missed a beat. Averages 6.5km per ltr. Towing at road speeds. 9.5ish not towing.

Bloke I bought the van from. Tows with a Toyota 100 Ser Auto. Says my Patrol tows the van better than his ever did. Specially in hilly country. and uses less juice doing so. (We travel together)

IF and when I ever upgrade. There's only one in this country I'll be looking at.

All this bull bleep about the ZD30. All from friends of friends. Very few actual.
I've only ever met two people with a problem. Benny. had 5th gear go. Nissan Fixed. and a bloke I met had an early donk let go. Nissan also fixed. So where's the problem. Benny's was 4 1/2 yrs old. 130k on clock.
Look at averages of problems from Toyota, compared to Nissan. (4wd's).
Toyota would have a lot more. Serious problems than Nissan, over the years.
I hired a Toyota to tow my van once. Nissan in for repaint. (Scratches going up the Cape.)
Bloody thing used more juice. and was gutless going up hills. Plus. Horrible seats and real soggy suspension.
After that trip. I wouldn't have one thrown at me.Thank you.

Nissan Rool
Macka17
FollowupID: 587882

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 16:23

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 16:23
macka
Meet one first hand. Read my blog.
Colin

PS I too spent 182000km in denial.

No problem with Nissan, BIG problem with ZD 30. To deny the problem exists is head in the sand stuff.
FollowupID: 587942

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 17:21

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 17:21
Macka busting my sides laughing mate, what planet do you live on.
Never broke a cv jiont on my runner or much else, power? well mine was the 22r which was better then the diesel but still a bit slow.
I work for a car rental Co and theirs not much arround that I have not driven from 21 foot body UD to Yaris.
The only thing the zd 30 is quicker then is a normally aspirated 1hz.
The UD we have is a great truck to drive, I love it BIG GRUNT, but then it has not got a renault motor in it, But it will be the last nissan truck we buy because we have had more trouble with it then the 3 isuzus put together which is a shame.
If you care to do a search on this site re zd30s you will find dozs of blown motors.
A zd30 would not see which way my 158kw Jack went, and its got much better low down power as well.
Now the 4.2 that is one reliable donk as was the sd33 before.
Take your blinkers off mate
FollowupID: 587950

Follow Up By: macka - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 08:50

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 08:50
OK.

Going on what "I" got.

Nissan Terano '89 model. 2.7td. Had for 8 1/2 yrs. Sold last month. 140k on clock.(bought a nesw Honda Civic for missus)

Only part of that vehicle any Small toyota ever saw.( Before the new 3 ltr donk). Was the back of it.
On the flat. or uphill. Specially steep ones. Ran rings round them.

I have a 2002 ZD30. Had from new. Fitted with safari Snorkel, and D;Tronic. with 2 in lift. Progressive rate springs for comfort.
Use it to tow a Roadstar 6.45metre Offroad caravan. 2.2ton empty. 2.7/2.9 ton loaded. With 3.7mtr Tinny on roof.
Spend 3 to 4 months. EVERY year on road. I'm retired.
Towing all over Australia.
Meet lots of other ZD30's doing it too.
Have yet. Personally to meet anybody. Who ACTUALLY owns one. That says anything detrimental about them.
I tow at the posted speed, and more. Have seen 130plus on clock overtaking. Comfortably. Missus goes faster than me.
We AVERAGE Over the 6plus yrs, Towing. 6.5 km per ltr. With this van. 8.1 km per ltr. With prev, 16ft 6 van.
and 9 to 10 km per, without van. Town/country/hills/wind.

Naver missed a beat. Been up the cape four times. (Repainted the sides after last trip),
Bloke I bought this caravan from. Travels with us sometimes.
Guided me through Sydney north. When I bought it from him. Tows with an '03 Toyota. Top model. Says this patrol pulls that van. Specially on the hills. Better than his diesel Tojo.

We travel with vans on Caravanners forum. and others.
I always seem to have less problems on hilly. windy bits than the Tojo's. with exception of the big petrol, and the new V8.
and put in less juice. Consistently. Than any of the Tojo's.

Going by My experiences. and a heck of a lot of others. All with ZD30's. WHo live on the road permanently. All towing 2.5 to 3.2 ton vans 12 months of the year. All over Australia. and Tassie.

Since the 2001 model. (Apart from a very few fifth gear spline strips.) They a GREAT car. Strong. Reliable. Fuel efficient. Comfortable. and tow well.
Cost a LOT less than equiv, Toyota's. and do as good a job.

Difference in costing, when I bought mine. Put a chip and Snorkel. VHF radio. Roof loader. Tinnie.motor, Trailer. and a coupla good fishing rigs in my pocket. Plus a few dollars left in the bank.

These people that knock the 3 ltr Patrol. Since 2001/2002. Are the ones with their heads in the sand.
Look at the Tojo's . and some of the problems they have. B4 talking about Patrols.
I know which one I'd rather go bush with, Specially since they brought out that town shopping trolley 200 series.

Them's my thoughts, in reply to the above two posts.
Macka17
FollowupID: 588223

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 09:55

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 09:55
Hi Macka, you made a very good post about how non-owners of the GU 3.0TD are quick to jump on the bandwagon to knock them, then you call the 200 series a shopping trolley!!! Now who is the one to start knocking a vehicle without owning it?

I had the 2003 GU 3.0TD and loved it - check my multitude of previous posts here supporting it. But also don't knock the 200 until you have driven it off-road - in stock form it will outperform the GU. Remember that, apart form the sheer power it has, the KDSS suspension results in the 200 having MORE wheel travel than a GU. I would never have thought an IFS could outperform the GU, but the proof is in the pudding. Add in the standard traction control and the 200 continues to go forward while the GU has run out of travel. Start modifying either vehicle and they will go even better!

As for a "shopping trolley", that may have more to do with the majority who buy them. My 200 is less than 3 months old and already has scratches down both sides. And as for which to take bush, the reliability of a new vehicle will beat a 6 year old vehicle any day. Thats not to say either is unreliable, but any vehicle with 6 year old hoses, fan belts, electrical sensors etc... is at more risk than a newbie :)

FollowupID: 588229

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:17

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:17
macka:
You did not read my post or blog or you would NOT WRITE what you did.

I AM A FIRST HAND VICTIM OF THE ZD30

To deny the problem IS STICKING YOUR HEAD IN THE SAND.

Yes I spent 5 years in denial too.
Yes MANY owners do not have a problem BUT MANY DO.
Your comments beggar belief, denial doe's not make the problem go away.

Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 588269

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:59

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:59
Colin me thinks ya banging ya head on the wall with this bloke?? :-)

Maybe he once worked for Nissan in a past life and learned the 1st rule from Nissan over the ZD30.....

1. Deny!! Deny!! Deny!!

FollowupID: 588278

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:24

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:24
Gday John,
I agree with you mate!!!!
A bit one eyed, and that one has a blinker on it.
Cheers, Colin.

FollowupID: 588286

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:37

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:37
I wander will we hear about it when it goes BOOM, I doubt it
FollowupID: 588292

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:15

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:15
Strewth, I class myself as a die-hard Patrol owner BUT I have long been known to bemoan the pitfalls of owning a 3 litre GU. They simply do not meet the normal requirements for reliability.

I'm sick of the whole Toyota v Nissan debate (although I still partake in it with my mates, just to keep them happy)...... If I was in the market for a NEW 4x4 at the moment, I honestly have no idea which way I would turn. I HATE electronics with a passion, but I acknowledge they are a fact of life in every new 4x4 on the market today.

I will stick with my 6.5 Chev-Nissan for the time being. Hopefully, once I get it back with a strong chassis, it'll last me for many years.

If not, I reckon the new Landrover 130 would be as good as anything else available; if only for the decent payload it has.

None of the Nissans or Toyotas REALLY cater for the honest, dedictaed long-distance, outback traveller anymore....they're both too soft and have far too little in the way of payload availability.

But to stick ya head in the sand and say that the 3 litre GU is a good car is simply WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!!! Sorry, but it's true.

FollowupID: 588299

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 07:12

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 07:12
Roachie wrote

"I'm sick of the whole Toyota v Nissan debate (although I still partake in it with my mates, just to keep them happy)...... If I was in the market for a NEW 4x4 at the moment, I honestly have no idea which way I would turn. I HATE electronics with a passion, but I acknowledge they are a fact of life in every new 4x4 on the market today."

If we were "as a group" perfectly honest, that statement is so true.

But there are some here on this forum that take the whole thing Tooooooo seriously.

My father, and many others, said "Don't argue Politics or Religion" nowadays we have to add "Brand's"

Keep it light hearted guys, it's meant to be funny banter only!!!

Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 588357

Follow Up By: macka - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 08:10

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 08:10
Captain.

Talk about one eyed. Look above.

I'm talking about ZD30. from a towing perspective. There's over 30.000 caravanners towing around this country at the moment. You can say, at least 30% will be using 4wd's.

Most of us. now. are too old and creaky to do the mud plugging. and rock climbing we used to do, when most of you were still in nappies. I'm 67yrs.

From our perspective. The Zd30 has been proven Reliable ecinomical. comfortable. For what we use it for over hundreds of thousands of km's..
and. At near $30 grand less than a Tojo. Much better value for money.

There's only 300kg's gain in tow weight. and about 35kg in carrying capacity. and then the Tojo only has a 90ltr tank.

Like I said. From MY experiences. over six yrs. Towing a 2.8 ton van.
Patrol IS a great car.
I've yet to see anything I'd swap it for. hence. I'm still running it..

Macka17
FollowupID: 588363

Follow Up By: macka - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 08:11

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 08:11
Sorry.

That should be

"Over 300.000 caravanners. not 30,000

Macka
FollowupID: 588364

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 10:57

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 10:57
Looks like many are getting carried away here with emotions and not facts. But as Colin says, keep it light hearted guys!. But you gotta laugh at some of the comments and phobias.

Roachie, I understand your total distrust of electronics, but you had the Chevissan let you down with a mechanical failure. And your super reliable 4.2 Nissan had the 5th gear failure. Seems electronics have been good to you while mechanicals are your achilles heel ;)

Colin, you had the pin fall out of your grenade, but it was from the series II batch which we all acknowledge as flawed. Is it fair to paint the series III+ with the same brush?

Macka, you have had a great run out of your GU series III, like me, but there are a whole bunch of disgruntled series II owners (and the very rare series III+) who either have had the grenade go off, or are nervously waiting for it - and know for a fact Nissan won't want to know about it. And then you say the 200 has a 90 L tank - only 2 models do, the VX & Sahara TTD. ALL others have 138L tanks, the vast majority of 200's sold.

Me, well I had a great run out of the series III 3.0TD motor, but had the flywheel fail on me. Yep a flywheel!!! Reckon I will chalk another one up to mechanical failure here.

Now, without wanting to flog a horse to death, even just the above anecdotal issues have had more mechanical failures than electronic - bit I gotta admit Colins failure was the most costly :(

Bottom line is, any failure these days is relatively rare but nothing mechanical will ever be 100% reliable - we just want to think it is :) The real difference is how you are looked after in the unlikely event that something does go wrong. And one thing that is pretty undisputed here is that Nissan don't have a clue how to look after their customers. Toyota have a much better reputation, hopefully though I will never have to find this out!

So, I will retreat back into my bunker now and hope I don't get to much flack from the grenades :)

FollowupID: 588382

Follow Up By: macka - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 14:49

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 14:49
True Captain.

You can only go by what You know/have xperienced.

talking about Flywheels.

My clutch started rattling a bit at 140k. Centre plate I thought. 140k Towing a 2.8ton van.
So I replaced with a kit. 1 Solid Flywheel. and Safari Clutch kit.
Just in case.
It ended up being the springs IN the centre plate One side being loose and rattly. Wear was less than half. and Nothing wrong with f/wheel.
just upgrade while it down.

Anybody want a Dual Mas F/Wheel. With a clutch assy comp. (I;d change the centre plate.)
$500 a fair price.. F'wheel alone $1700+.

Macka17
FollowupID: 588402

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 17:12

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 17:12
Sorry to put a dampener on your oil on your troubled waters effort hers Captain, BUT my SrIII jan 2003 ex ZD30 is one of the SO Called modified ones. It did'nt go at 85000km like so many did it let go at 185000km which matches many others here and on other forums re ZD30's POST 2002 popping at 175000-200000km.
Cheers Colin.

PS TONI will be on the road in a week or so and no more grenade worries.
Cheers Colin
PS I have the grearest respect for the Patrol or I would have cheaply fixed it and pi55ed it off and bought something else. JUST the ZD30 is the problem here.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 588413

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:44

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:44
Hi Colin, gee's thats a bit of bad luck. While a few post series III's have gone bang, its nothing like the avalanche of series II's. Did you have your EGR blocked and were you still on the original MAF sensor? From what I have read up on the ZD30, blocking the EGR and changing the MAF every 50K is one of the best preventative measures to keep the pin in.

Look forward to reading about TONI and her wicked adventures! I reckon you will have the best of both worlds, a great engine and a tuff body/drivetrain. IMHO the 80 series 4.2TD was the best 4WD ever, you have the closest thing to it now without it being over 10 years old. Did you get the rear spring towers done during the changeover?

FollowupID: 588468

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 06:58

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 06:58
Hi Captain,
Yes to EGR Block, yes to MAF (I even carried a spare in the glovebox)

TONI will sooooon be ready, we have road tested it and am waiting on the trimmer to do his bit with the consul regarding the selector levers etc. The engineer is booked for early next week to issue a blue slip, and Jimmy only has a few wires left over to find homes for (Running joke during the conversion), all well in that dept.
I will post the end result on EO after final testing, so keep an eye out.
Regards Colin.
FollowupID: 588517

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 18:42

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 18:42
Looking forward to it Colin
FollowupID: 588641

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 14:01

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 14:01
"twin turbo V8 Toyota diesel" - That has to be a 200 Series Landcruiser.

Have you worked out the payload and the range. From the various posts in this Forum it seems that it somewhat lacking.

Dick

AnswerID: 320983

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:45

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:45
Dick I think if you follow the posts from those who own the 200 Series they debunk those myths with the simple facts.

When do you head away on your trip?

FollowupID: 587865

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 23:05

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 23:05
Hi John

I had a serious look at the new 200 because I liked the engine. I found it was seriously lacking in payload and it was not yet clear how much you could increase the GVM to get an acceptable payload. My Troopy has a GVM of 3,700kg and it is easy to exceed that if I have 270L of Fuel and a 100L of water on board.

I need to leave this weekend if I am going on the planned trip however, I am still tied up in Jakarta so things are not looking good.

Dick

FollowupID: 587867

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 23:18

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 23:18
I was referring to this Post By Gone Bush
Who answers the issue of load capacity.

Although I agree that not may vehicles come close to the Troopy for load space volume and capacity and you have gone one step better with the load upgrade on your's.

Damn the work issues :-(( always interferes in the holidays.

FollowupID: 587868

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 14:01

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 14:01
Welcome Major , I too done exactly the same thing and it was Nissans response that put the last nail in the coffin for me too mate,theres alot you can forgive but when they get to the point of telling you, "well you bought it you wear it " leaves a bad taste aye ? by not buying thier product (and I'm only talking ZD30 here not the 4.2 or any other) is the only way they'll realise just how pi$$ed we really are with them,
good luck anyway mate, glad to have you on board,
regards,
AnswerID: 320984

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:33

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:33
Yes I had the same response from Andrew with my problems. I am surprised he still has a job! Good move Captain, Major and Dave by making a stand and spending your money elsewhere.
Hey Dave, Andrew said to me "You bought the thing mate" and that was the point when I thought "Stuff you and your company".
Great Public Relations! Val Davis was good and has to put up with Andrew who works beneath her, probably undermines her and they (Nissan) would probably sack him if they could but he would squeal like a pig and take them for unfair dismissal as he is such a self opiniated scum bag.
AnswerID: 321016

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:46

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:46
I think AJB and myself have very similar opinions of NIssan back up service. I have just been fortunate enough to have bought a 4.2 when they were really pushing a ZD30 time bomb onto me back in 2000.

I hope you never have to look back Major, I believe it is the best move you can make.

Try being told the 4.2 is not designed to tow 3 tonne regularly. It is supposed to be used for the occasional horse float tow, to pony rides on a sunday. Pity they didn't tell me this at the dealership pre-purchase, when I said I would be towing 3 tonne all day every day (deciding factor in buying the 4.2 over the 3.0).

Cheers to all.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 587832

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:05

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:05
Trevor, Funny thing is I don't hate the car just the car company because of their attitude towards their customers. I reckon you'd be the same. Still have the GU and you probably remember all the crap I have gone through with it but now there appears nothing wrong with it as almost everything has been repaired or replaced well before its use by date. Actually trust it more now than ever. Took it up the High Country (Vic) today and did a little snow and mud touring with all the confidence in the world with it. It never missed a beat and no obsticle was a drama for it. Having said that the new engine has only done about 30,000 in two and a half years as I kind of voted with my wallet and bought another manufacturers product when Andrew shafted me! Best thing I did. I kept the GU as it is worth nothing and if it lets me down in a remote area, well at least I'll have a big camp fire!
FollowupID: 587859

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:38

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:38
Yeah same AJB, products seems OK but service is CR@P in bold letters.

I pick up another 4.2 GU at end of month so I obviously don't mind the product but I am well aware of it's flaws now and prepared to fix them myself. This was factored in when I bought this car though (ie: it was cheap enough). That's 2 x 4.2 GU and an older 4.2 GQ but the old one will be sold to make room for the new one.

I hope yours keeps running sweet for many years to come. If not invite me to the "bonfire" hehehe.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 587877

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:41

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:41
Good onya Major.......looking forward to your arrival. Make sure you bring your WHOLE extended family....the more the merrier!!! hahahaha (Don't tell anybody, but I wanna have a drive of the 200 when you get here!!!!)

AnswerID: 321030

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:34

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:34
Always an alterior motive with you isn't there? LOL!!!

Just Kidding of course.
FollowupID: 587876

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 00:13

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 00:13
Hi Major,

Welcome to the club!!! You will not be disappointed with the 200 series, it is one awesome beast. And I understand exactly what you mean about Nissan. I still reckon the GU series III+ 3.0TD's are a great vehicle, its just a pity Nissan Australia don't know how to look after their customers.

While the 200 has more power than you ever really need, I don't think it will match the legendary reliability of the 1HZ or Nissan 4.2. Simply too many electronics and low tolerance mechanicals like fuel pump. But the difference will hopefully be Toyotas backup service!

Note that already that Toyota have taken their Steel roo bar off the market (check out the website - its no longer listed!). While no info is given, apparently an owner was asked if he had taken his on many corrugations! Reading between the lines, it may have been too heavy for the mounting system used (the ARB bar strengthens the chassis and is on reason why the bar weighs in at a porky 90+kgs).

My 200 series build-up continues. I started with a 10" Alpine roofmount DVD (gotta look after the kids!) and replaced the radio with a Polaris radio/bluetooth/Ipod/DVD/reverse-camera/GPS (added Oziexplorer - its great to have Ozi on a 6" screen and still have the dask look very factory like).

Also added a GME 3420 UHF and ARB winch bar, but this has lowered the already low front end by 10mm. Will wait till I get a lift kit before I install my old winch.

Its actually not always that easy getting accessories for the 200. Took 2 months for the ARB bar and while most magazines advertise suspension kits, not actually available when you ring up.

About to install a rear draw system, but not sure what to do about a cargo barrier. The Toyota one has "straps" that run to the floor from the top as you cannot mount it to the roof due to the curtain airbags. These straps get right in the way and make it an impractical item.

Anyway, doing the buildup is half the fun. But getting the scratches down the side certainly brings a tear to your eye - but you get over that pretty quick.

The LCOOL site is an absolute wealth of info for the 200 series. A lot of guys there willing to share how to fit accessories, problems with vehicles etc... and is a "must join" site for a 200 owner. Reckon you take a look, will help plan what you might want to add and how to fit it.

Anyway, be careful giving Roachie a drive. May make him think about joining the dark side too. And with his chevissan missing in action, the hit of raw V8 diesel power may be too much for his system to take – not really fair in his current weaken state!!!

AnswerID: 321065

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 12:39

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 12:39
Captain Said
"About to install a rear draw system, but not sure what to do about a cargo barrier. The Toyota one has "straps" that run to the floor from the top as you cannot mount it to the roof due to the curtain airbags. These straps get right in the way and make it an impractical item."

FYI Captain, and apologies for OT, I just got a rear drawer made up to my spec by 4x4 storage components in Narrie Warren outside Melb. Great Job. It came with a Cargo Barrier that is normal ( ie not narrow and stupidly mounted like the Toyota one ) from Tradesman engineeering, also made up to suit the barrier. Airbag compatible.
FollowupID: 588391

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 23:36

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 23:36
Hi Boobook2,

Any chance of a few pics? My email address is listed under My Profile below.

FollowupID: 588690