Whats been your most cost efficient vehicle??.

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 15:21
ThreadID: 60830 Views:3835 Replies:21 FollowUps:36
Looking back, mine was a 1967 mod valiant dodge ute. Paid $1200.00 for it when it was three yr old, sold it for $ 600.00 12yrs later. The motor was never touched, gearbox and brakes were the only things that wore out overall. I have not even gone close to that since, seems to be a two grand a year depreciation thing is just normal these days!.

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 15:57

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 15:57
I've had a few real reliable ones. 76 Toyota Corona, 70 Hemi Pacer, GQ Patrol 4.2D & my 54 Dodge to name a few.
AnswerID: 320994

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:48

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:48
The Hemi pacer was a great car!, although a lot of people thought otherwise in its day...lol.

Axle.
FollowupID: 587794

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:28

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:28
My best car was a LH SLR, paid $3800.00 for it covered 80000 trouble free ks and sold it for $4200.00 six years later.
Only 4bys I have not lost heaps on depreciation was an lj80 suz which I paid $1800.00 for and sold for $3000.00 three years later(but spent heaps on it) and my fj40 which I lost $1500.00 on over three years, but the only repair was valve stem seals on the 2f. Mind you it was costing me a $100.00 a week for fuel in 1990 and when someone came along and wanted to buy it I was glad to sell it, but it was awsome off road.
My currant Jack has been super reliable and trouble free but the depreciation, O DEAR.
AnswerID: 320996

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:52

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:52
Depreciation has been a ever increasing concern with any vehicle over the last few years, Toyota yet again seem to win in this regard..lol

cheers Axle.
FollowupID: 587795

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:30

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:30
Axle not if you buy the same vehicle as the fleets.
FollowupID: 587800

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:33

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:33
Hi Axle,
most cost efficient one would be our mighty little 1981 Ford Laser with the massive 1.3 motor. It took us (2 adults and two very young kids) from Perth to Sydney return twice and fully laden from Perth to Tassie in 1989. (Even bottomed out getting onto the Tasmanian ferry). All up did nearly 200,000 kms. Insurance, rego, tyres and occasional services plus fuel were the only costs. Never cost a cent otherwise but front end was gasping a bit when we traded it in finally. Remember we did one return Perth/Sydney trip loaded to the roof almost and still averaged out at a milliwhisker over 4l/100km. Can't whinge about that.

Rgds
AnswerID: 320997

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:55

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:55
" Bloody Marvelous"

FollowupID: 587796

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:34

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 16:34
Cost effective......My immaculate one owner decesed estate 1977 Corolla. Bought for $600 sold 8 months later for $2500

Least cost effective.....both Falcons I owned lost value quicker than you paid them off!!!!!

Most expensive to run......the 4bys BUT by far the most fun so worth it!!!!

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 320998

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:01

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:01
Hi Stefan, FORDS!!! Know what you mean, went from ford to subaru, at least i don't have to tow a trailer anymore to pick up the BITS!! falling off....lol. But in saying that the suby has cost me in depreciation, Just have to keep it another ten years i guess..lol.

cheers Axle.
FollowupID: 587797

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:28

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:28
I heard yesterday at work a 12 month old calais lost 50% in 12 months, thats over $25000.00 Sorry this is what itr brought at auction.
Some private sellers are asking more then dealers at the moment as they are not watching the market.
FollowupID: 587799

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:35

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 17:35
If you own a large late model car at the moment and have not got a urgent need to sell, you would have to keep it as you can buy alot of fuel for the money you will loose on it
FollowupID: 587802

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:08

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:08
Hi Pete, we bought our VX S'pack new in 01 sold it in 06 for less then half with only 70 thou on it and was like brand new not a scratch,carpark dent nothing. Mate from work his son bought it from us and was $2000 from been ridden off 2 weeks later got ploughed up the rear. And to think the way we looked after it. The wifes Toyota we bought new just under two years ago is named Elvis its been hit that many bloody times,up the rear, the front a month ago, dents in the guards and one in the door all from car parks. Dont worry about it anymore given up. Told her just drve it where ever, park it where ever, no one else gives a sh#t so Im not. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 587811

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:19

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:19
Its weird Steve, some of our cars at work have done 60000ks with out barely a chip, yet others are wrecks at 20000ks. Maybe cars have karma. lol
Swmbos lovely old Paj(still only has 90000ks) barely had a stone chip, till a moron opened a door hard against it in her work carpark. then a short time later we where going away on holidays and I hit a roo on a highway doing 100ks with the boat on.Of cause it was my fault, still has not forgiven me.
Got the spade out of the boat and managed to prise the guard off the tyre and continued on our trip luckily. Hoping for a another dent and claim on insurance. At lest now we can go 4wding and not worry about scratches. The paint is starting to go off anyway.
Gee that Commodore would have been a good buy, sort of vehicle I always look out for when buying.
We are selling very low k Fairlanes 12 months old for $20000.00 off new price at the moment.
FollowupID: 587823

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:01

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:01
The best vehicle that has ever given me trouble free and very cheap motoring was my 91 model two door holden barina 1.3L. I bought it just before we bought our house as I used the money from my old vp commodore, boat,bike, and valiant wagon (had all at one time) to add to my deposit. I put a towbar on the barina and it was flogged to death bringing virtually everything we own plus all the gardening stuff,rocks,soils, plants etc into our house. Went to Noosa for our honeymoon in it. All I ever did to that was oil, filters,plugs. Sold it for $6000 2 years later bought it for $5000. I have had 48 vehicles altogether including 3 boats and 2 bikes. Could have paid my house off before I bought it if I had listened to my mum but my old man was a boat lover,bikes and was into rally cars so my mum didnt have much of a chance convincing me and I only paid $30 board a week. MMMMMMMMMM those were the days. Now like everybody else its mortgage, bills etc. Wife has put a stop on me buying another vehicle, unless we win lotto better start playing it I suppose lol. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 321011

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:18

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:18
LOL steve you made my day mate.
(sold it for $6000.00, then 2 years later brought it for $5000.00) Is that right?
FollowupID: 587813

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:22

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:22
48 Vehicles!!!! Think i've had Ten,.....lol Two of them carted me around for 26yrs,

FollowupID: 587814

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:42

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:42
Sorry Pete, should have put a full stop in there. Bought if for 5 then sold it for 6 two years later. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 587816

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:50

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:50
Yeah axle 48 all up. Worst thing working for a caryard back then. Car I kept the shortest was a XF fairmont ghia, great car but the electronic dash would go really bright at night nearly blind you then drop back to a dimmer shade. I took it to a dodgy auto elec who told me the dash was stuffed would need a new one ($1300) thought stuff that get rid of it. After selling it, I later found out it was a common problem for the dash to play up but was caused by a simple $30 dimmer switch. The one I had the longest was the VX commodore. I think the prado's looking like a stayer unless some one offers me a stupid price or I win lotto. Wife said thats it for a while mmm we'll see. Cousin will be selling his 08 rodeo T/D maybe next year. ssssshh dont let the wife know LOL. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 587819

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:38

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:38
I knew what you ment Steve, just having a little chuckle.
Interesting about the xf, we had a similar problem,temp gauge going beserk, got a quote for a new dash. After we sold it found out it was a very simple repair. Uncle was a Ford service manager.
That xf is still running arround today, now with 180000ks after 23 years.
ED was the best Ford we ever owned, only replaced rear shocks in 50000ks.
FollowupID: 587829

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:13

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:13
48 Steve, blxxdy hell makes me feel inadquate lol. I have only owned 12 in nearly 40 years of driving, not counting wifes cars.
Axle visiter to this site Ken S is only on his third vehicle now that he is in his late 40s, and he still has his 2nd one . LOL. Cant bear to part with the old dear.
FollowupID: 587840

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:25

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:25
We have had 12 between us in the last 9 years. Told the wife I get bored with them quickly so she had better be careful or I'll trade her in LOL You can imagine what she said to me. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 587845

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:01

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:01
You are much braver them me Steve, bet you slept on the lounge that night.LOL
FollowupID: 587858

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:34

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:34
My wife's 8 years younger then me so I told her when I go through my mid life crises I wont be looking for any one younger just a better looking car LOL. She put me in my spot let me tell you. LOL Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 587864

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:44

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:44
In 1992 we bought a 1986 VL turbo 5 speed manual Red station wagon with 110000 k's on the clock. Paid $14000.00 for her.
We still have it today, she has over 310000 k's on her now although the odometer stopped about three years ago. Speedo still works
Replaced 3 crankangle sensors.
2 Timing belts,
1 battery, Tail gate struts, Injectors, 1 windscreen, oil and every 5000k's. Air filters, fuel filters every 10000k's, every 50000k's gear box and LSD oil. Two sets of brake pads. Haven't replaced the clutch yet(knock, knock touch wood) then again it doesn't slip or chatter.
It stills goes like the wind, and if you don't let it have it's own way and be gentle on the go peddle it will still get about 12 k/l.
Best bit is, if you get a young hoon in their Storm ute or some sports car, it will leave'm for dead. To their horror. It will pull 175 out of third gear :))
Paints getting a little raty these days and it's copped scratches from the parking lots. A neighbour's had one with 890000k's on it and it still sounded and drove like new.
Don't think we'll ever sell her. She's been fantastic, rock solid. She part of the family.
AnswerID: 321018

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:30

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:30
Jon is that 890000ks on the orinigal motor?
FollowupID: 587825

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:50

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:50
Yeah it was Pete,
It was a 88 Calais Turbo auto with the maroon velvet interior, Electric Head lights covers, it had all the fruit on it, a bloody nice car.
Bob was very fussy with it. it looked like it had just come of a showroom floor. He was very proud it, He traded it for a Forrester so he could pull his little camper into the National parks and State Forest camping grounds. Didn't want wreak it driving down dirt roads.
FollowupID: 587835

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:18

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:18
That would be close to a record for a petrol motor and a turbo at that, makes me regret not owning a vl, but got the 4wd bug about this time anyway.
FollowupID: 587842

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:45

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:45
Pete,
about 15 years ago My father and myself owned two taxis in Maclean, One was a VB 202 4 speed SL, the other was an VK SL
The VB had 1 150 000 K's on her clock when the RTA made us update, so we got an EA Falcon. Nothing wrong with the Dunny Door, they just did not want a car that had that many K's on it. Twice a year it passed it's inspections with out fail. I remember one inspection the inspector grabbed the window winder and as hard as he could up and down until the cable snapped, couldn't use the car until it was fixed. Bastard of a job, and so was he.
It was on its second motor, gearbox and diff. Still drove real good.
The EA was a heap of crap. It just fell to bits. with less than 100000 on the clock.
FollowupID: 587854

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:45

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:45
I bought a Holden kingswood for $500 from a lady She said it was her sons and he was over seas all it needed was a battery,
I had that thing for a bout 4 years and run it into the ground.
Sold It for $500.

Also had vw beetle bought it for $450 and sold it to the wreckers for $150 done about 100.00 k in it.

Bought a Land rover MKII from the auctions can't remember the $ value but had it for a few years and all I remember was sold it for exactly the same amount I bought it for.

Also bought a fj45 from auctions had it for a few years made about a grand out it.

My Current 4x4 is a 1985 Toyota 60 series bought it 5 years ago for 18k with 95k on it with turbo. Yes thats 1500 more than new.
Its now got 300k on it done the cape 20 times and many other trips.

There are a few more vans and things but the above are the most memerable.

AnswerID: 321019

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:45

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:45
A Mazda 626 (about 1982) , 4cyl and 5 speed manual box, with an LPG conversion. Bought it in 1984. Sold it in 1998. Almost nothing mechanical ever went wrong with it . On gas, cost zip to run. Sold it to a friend who had it for 6 years and reckoned it was the best car he ever owned. Then it was pinched and written off when they crashed it. Think both I and the bloke who had bought it from me both cried.
AnswerID: 321020

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:55

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 18:55
A Ford falcon XG ute, would be the worst as it became a joke at work as to what I had to fix that week ! and they were not far wrong !The best I would say was my second car a HK Holden wagon with three on the tree racing shift and no syncro to first !
I now own a GU Patrol for 8 months and it has not started on a good foot !

Giffo
AnswerID: 321021

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:18

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:18
What do you think FORD stands for? Fix Or Repair Daily!!!!

FollowupID: 587821

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Project TONI) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:36

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:36
Wow Ian and I thought it was First On Race Day.
FollowupID: 587827

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:36

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 19:36
That's enough of that kinda talk Ian, ;-)
I'm a ford man through and though, but I give credit were credit is due and Holden had a winner with the VL and it's heart transplant of a Nissan Motor.
On the other hand My previous car to my Cruiser was a VS Accliam wagon auto and it gave me nothing but grief for the three years I owned it.
Cost me buck loads of cash and my sanity, it was the most unreliable car I have ever owned. A mate that is a spanner swinger was glad to hear that we sold it for the Cruiser.
FollowupID: 587828

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:15

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:15
Hey Guys!

i'm just passing on the info.

I've had 12 cars over the past 38 years including 3 FORDS, 2 Holden Monaro GTS's, a VW, a Citroen, Valiant, Mini Moke, Opel, Sigma, and now a Nissan. None of them I would class as unreliable. All have had their faults but the best would have to be my first Monaro (186S Brand new 1970) the Ford EA, and the Nissan. The worst would be the VW Combi (weak engine) and the Mini Moke (weak engine and gearbox) Been interesting over the years changing vehicles as family requirements dictated.

FollowupID: 587841

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:11

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:11
G'day Axle

Sunday Trivia, eh

None of my 106 vehicles over 45 years was cost effiecient.

Some I might have made a modest profit on but overall they ALL cost MONEY ! I'd hate to work out just how much!!....LOL

AnswerID: 321033

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:27

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:27
Hi Willem.

Must have all been landrovers!! to go thru that many !hahahaha.

FollowupID: 587883

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:43

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:43
Congraulations Axle,
finally a thread all us old farts can get our teeth(gums) into. Well done , forum has been a bit slow lately
AnswerID: 321042

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:49

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:49
Hey Pete, ease up on the old farts thing.
Your only as old as the woman you feel.
And I'm only 39.

FollowupID: 587855

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 21:14
Funny thing Jon when I was 39 I thought I was getting old, but by gee I would like to be 39 now. Mind you have a mate thats nearly 70 and he was saying he would love to be my age again.
Interesting about your vb, a lot of people thought they hung together the best of the first series.
Soon as I get to 200000ks, I get jittery(like major) and sell my vehicles. Then I see them still driving arround years later.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 587861

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:18

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 07:18
That Line about, you're only as old as the woman you feel, Back fired one day. I use to work in hardware and I said it to an older gentleman, he was having a whinge about how old he felt.
Well the look he gave me. :(
Then he said " Great, she's ten years older than me, I feel real good now".
Not happy Jan.
Pete, I'm actually 42, Some times I get to feel 39 ;) I never want to grow up. Then again my kids wont let me. :))
Anyway, Cars are like women, Don't Rev em when their cold, and Look after them and they'll look after you.
I've Hijacked this thread long enough now.

Have a great day Guys.
FollowupID: 587875

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:20

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:20
HAhahahaha!, You guys are like a big spring thats been wound up for years, and then someones let her go....lol.

FollowupID: 587880

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:48
Im a youngen compared to most of you guys so I can only say that there has only been 1.....no...make that 2....

First car was a 1987 bitsashi7y colt, dad bought it for me for $1000 with 34, 000km on it....one owner...but the kms were a little sus....so we now think......

It cost $22 to almost fill the thing and it would run on an oily rag...literally..I knew that if the light came on I had a good 4 days of driving before running out! (remember Im in yrs 12 so my income is a measly $100 a week...most from teaching piano and most spent on skating....its 1999 by the way)
I owned it for 15 months and sold it back to mum and dad for $1000 which they then gave it to my sister for her first car....It never had a service while I owned it...but why hange the oil I thought...everytime I filled it up with fuel I got the guys to fill it with a lt of oil while they were at it!

My 2nd cost effective car would be the 1992 soozie that I bought for $2500 with 303,000km on it in 2002.....bashed the tripe out of it all over the tracks at yalwal, took it shooting, to bns's, nearly rolled it off a few cliffs.....$40 would get me a good week of driving....I pretty much lived 30km outta town so everywhere was a challange with the red light on for fuel.....even though there was fuel at the farm, I could never remember which tanks had ulp or diesel so never touched them, and never thought of asking, again.

I blew a tyres, cost me $250 to replace.....I sold it for $2500 with 310,000km 5 months later with dings and scratches and a borken windsheild on the drivers side.....

The old girl is being used on the farm 5km up from where I lived but havent seen it for 8 months....its now unregistered (no dar! that was obviously gunna happen!)

They were both well loved cars, well flogged and cleaned rarely! The colt is still around, still with the banged in door from my 18th birthday when a govt dude reversed into me and its only had P plate owners ever since! I even saw it get some "air time" over a speed hump out at culburra one day! (P platers!)

The worse car....the navara we just got rid of....after buying the blastart thing, setting it up etc and then having to trade her in....reckon we lost $12k in 9 months! bugger!
AnswerID: 321043

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:51

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:51
can I just make it clear that I did NOT pay the $1000 for the colt....dad did and he GAVE the car to me.....therefore when selling....Im ahead the $1000 because I never forked the money out in the first place!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 587856

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:52

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:52
G'day Axle

I would have to say the Magna that we currently have would have to be one of the most cost efficient vehicles we have had, have had it for 4 yrs now and apart from the usual tyres rego fuel and services which i do myself , we haven't had to spend a cent on it, got it as part of a deal when i sold one of my other cars , and it owes me exactly $0.00....Since i started driving in 1977 i have had over 65 cars, ranging from SLR 5000 Toranas to 69 Chev Comaros , buggered if i can remember how many Monaro's (wish i still had the bloody things now ) Numerous 4wd's , i would have to say my most favourite was the 69 Chev Comaro...

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 321047

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 09:06

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 09:06
Hindsight eh Borgy? You would have done well to hang on to the SLR 5000 as well. If only we had all bought a Ph III HO and hung on to it. Some approaching the $1m mark now.

FollowupID: 587886

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:02

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:02
G'day Axle,

Most cost efficient? I've had quite a few cars now and winner has to be the 84 VH commodore (253 and M21). Bought for $2800 as a run about with 140k on it.

Had it for nearly 5 years, drove it all over WA. Pretty much only cost rego and insurance, spent nothing else on it (never bothered to service it) except a starter motor and swapped wheels for second hand set of pursuits when original hot-wires/tyres were too tired to keep using. Never had a problem with it. Sold it for $2200 with nearly 320k on it.

Still see it around the northern suburbs. Pretty good for a beat up old dunnydore.

Ross.
AnswerID: 321056

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 17:36

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 17:36
253s where the pick of the v8s, short stroke, low piston speed same as 302s.
FollowupID: 587952

Reply By: greybeard - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:49

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 22:49
the trick is to buy the cheapest car your ego can afford ;)
AnswerID: 321061

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:01

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:01
My grandfather had an old XY (the V8 fairmont thing.....) from brand new...I think they came out for $6k or something...anyway....it got written off twice by my dad but he was a panel beater (apprentice) and fixed it up himself...other than that he only put tyres on it...service it when needed - which was very rarely.......

anyway...after it being 30 odd yrs old it only had about 110,000 MILES on it.....sold it for $6500 just a couple of yrs ago
AnswerID: 321073

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:35

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:35
Well there you go Kiwi, Hang on to that patrol for thirty years and think what it will be worth!....lol.

My neighbour sold a XW falcon two wks ago, had it from new, it had done 200.000 miles and fetched $5,500.

FollowupID: 587885

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 09:11

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 09:11
Well mine was a Mazda B1500 ute I bought of a work mate who was going over seas for $50.00 and I used barrel bolts to keep the doors shut had some in floor air conditioning. The paint job was brush (not air brush lol) all I did with this vehicle was fuel and service the motor, tyres over 3 years put two doors on (wreckers). The motor and running gear was spot on.

If I stalled at a set of lights the girlfriend had to get out and put a G clamp on the battery terminal so I could start her up again LOL (she never got the funny side to that exspecially in the rain).

Hand brake was thanks to boral bricks one for girlfriend and one for me.

I can remember going across hornibrook bridge one day with my mate pouring rain (belting down)and the wipers just shot off over the side of the bridge we had to put our heads out to see where we were going as we could not stop.

Sold it 3 years later for $1500.00. two years later father in law bought it for $2000.00 and it had a new motor and all new paint job.

As for cost to run no idea fuel was hmmmmmmmm CHEAP.

Had heaps of fun in this vehicle.

AnswerID: 321080

Reply By: HGMonaro - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:07

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:07
Don't know what my Monaro is worth (just what someone will pay!) but I'm pretty sure it will be more than what I paid 15 years ago! They get advertised for silly amounts, even non std ones like mine.

I had a Camira as a stop-gap measure for awhile. Did 60-65K and don't think I changed the oil once... I was always thinking I was going to get rid of it 'soon' Just added fuel and water (to the wipers) when required. It used to get great fuel economy too. Bought it for $6500 and traded it for about $4000 on a new Pulsar Vector SSS. The Pulsar managed 240K over 15yrs, with it's only real mechanical woe being Nissan had to rebuild the motor (at 20K) after they fitted an incorrect oil filter at a service. It dumped the oil on the road and promptly seized the top end. It did have 2 clutches replaced, mainly because I used to tow an enclosed 2 kart trailer which was quite heavy. Can't remember what they cost but do recall they were surprisingly cheap. Both were 'good value' motoring. If we hang on to our VS HSV Clubsport long enough (bought new in '97), I might be able to say that too... Unfortunately (for us) every model after the VT has had big power upgrades which has devalued the older model big time.

Nige.
AnswerID: 321090

Reply By: Nic I (NSW) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:09

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:09
Mine was an EH ('64) manual sedan, bought from the next-door neighbour for $75. Spent nothing on it other than petrol. No oil changes, filters, tyres, batteries, plugs - nothing.

Got about 500km per dollar I spent on it, ie travelled about 40,000km in 2 years, 100% reliable, never failed to start.

I then sold it for $350.
AnswerID: 321091

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:51

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:51
Without a doubt my wife's Ford Anglia. She bought it before we were married for next to nothing and we drove it everywhere and sold it for more than she paid for it.

It did many weekend camping trips up to Noosa...before they ripped up the caravan park at the end of Hasting Street.....

Geez...that brings back some memories ;)
AnswerID: 321100

Reply By: Baldrick - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:25
1971 Series IIA Land Rover with a 173 Holden red motor.

Hardly spent a cent on it, bought it for $1700 and sold it 5 years later for $2800.
AnswerID: 321116

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:53

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:53
Had 2 of them at different times , both had 186 holden motors in them , bloody great go anywhere vehicle , one was a swb ute , the other a lwb panel van, had lots of fun in both of them...

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 587939