Pigeon Behaviour Observed

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:40
ThreadID: 60839 Views:2583 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Always had a soft spot for my chooks ; friendly , interesting and of course , providers of wonderful fresh eggs . However , while free ranging near the house their toilet habits were unmannerly . Geese are worse . In fact I had grown used to an assumption that all birds had no concern about where they made a mess . Pigeons are famous for their irreverent treatment of statues and reviled for fouling buildings so I had presumed that they were like all other birds . Did a tour of Europe , the UK , and Canada recently and saw a lot of pigeons foraging in cities and it suddenly occured to me that not one pigeon was adding to the mess on the pavement . Pigeons may consider any roosting area as a toilet but the pavement is the dinner table and is treated as such ! Please correct me if I am wrong .

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 20:48
Rotord

A bit like humans, then......hahahaha

Did you know that Pigeons are the closest relatives to Parrots?

AnswerID: 321044

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T NT - Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 23:40

Sunday, Aug 17, 2008 at 23:40
Aint heard no bloody pigeons talkin' yet.....? ? ?.

FollowupID: 587869

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 09:14

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 09:14
Stool-pigeons talk!!!!
FollowupID: 587887

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:31

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:31
G/Day
Willem & Doug

Talking Pigeons hey, that would be a Coo,lol.
FollowupID: 587904

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T NT - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:29

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:29
Here Pigiee, here Pigiee Pigiee Pigiee....

Come here Pigieee

FollowupID: 587912

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 19:53

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 19:53
DAZA

Pretty rig you have there.

Couldn't see the training wheels though.....lol

FollowupID: 587985

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:16

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:16
Willem when we have been around the Block, I reckon we will have earned the right to take them off lol, we are just itching to get a bit
of red dust on them, had plenty of beach sand on them.

The count down has begun, just takeing short trips away, teaching
the Cook how to tow it just in case I break a leg or some thing.

Daza
FollowupID: 588007

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:12

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 08:12
Yep go out into the bush and you'll find heaps of evidence for the existence of crossbred human/pigeons. They bleep all over the place, are probably infested with vermin and generally gather in large numbers close proximity to campers, generally making a total nusiance of themselves. Absolutely feral. Must be Collingwood supporters !!
AnswerID: 321074

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:47

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:47
Perhaps a call to Bill Lawry is in order LOL

AnswerID: 321099