How do they work out Tolls?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 10:57
ThreadID: 60853 Views:2975 Replies:7 FollowUps:25
Just got my Etoll statement and read with interest how one trip on the M7 in Sydney cost $6.39 WTF? How did they work that one out?

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:05

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:05
Think I just answered my own question. I'm used to the tolls in Brizvegas being in multiples of 10c as we still (till mid next year) have manual toll booths. I guess that as the M7 is fully automatic they can set the toll at whatever takes their fancy. ;-(
AnswerID: 321089

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:24

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:24
Hi John

What was the traffic flow like going through the Toll Booths,?
was it like the Brisbane Gateway Arterial traffic jam we all have to grind through.
FollowupID: 587902

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:29

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:29
There are NO toll booths. It's fully automatic so traffic flow was excellent. We went along it at midday and no holdups whatsoever.
The toll booths on the Gateway are being removed next year so traffic flow should improve tremendously.
FollowupID: 587903

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:46

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 11:46
I broke a Windscreen in my work vehicle a few weeks back, and
when Windscreens O- Brine replaced it they left the Etoll Transponder in the glove box, I didnt give it a second thought until
I got a letter from Etoll with a $28-00 account for the paperwork
re sending us a please explain for not stopping at the Toll Way,
and the mention of a Penalty, I phoned them and sorted it out
they were very good about it, and also sent us a new wind screen
Trandsponder Bracket.
FollowupID: 587905

Reply By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:14

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:14
Working on the toll booths I get as much frustration as you guys driving on it and cop so much chite because people honestly think it is us toll collectors that cause all the accidents and increase the toll prices!!!! I will say I am one of the few nice toll collectors, most of them are miserable arsholes!!!!!
Logan motorway toll booth end has had roadworks what seems like forever, I work on the Kuraby plaza (one before Stapylton heading towards Ipswich). But you will now start to see roadworks and the gantrys going up, and relocation of on ramps work start to begin as they start to implement the changes to get rid of us and make it free flow.
AnswerID: 321103

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:15

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 12:15
PS if you need new windscreen brackets, car or truck, we have them in the booths.
FollowupID: 587911

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:25

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:25
Jo, I have travelled that route quite a bit, and have found that the toll booth attendants are usually quite cheerful. A couple of them stand out as being exceptionally so, and I'd guess one of them could be you.
Not a job that I'd like at all, especially in the early hours of the morning.
FollowupID: 587915

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:30

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:30
Yeh I would be one of them! I am always on the look out for EO stickers and wheel covers, but none! ok except for Cinta (Andrews's wife, can't say I have seen Andrew around here lately though)....
FollowupID: 587916

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:37

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:37
Jo, I'm easy to spot. I'm the "grumpy" looking old guy in the white 80 series with a HF aerial and an EO sticker on the back.
Having a cheerful soul at the tollbooth can often make the trip much less stressful I suspect. I'll keep an eye out for the most cheerful of the cheerful :))
FollowupID: 587919

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:41

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:41
That doesn't help me Footy!!!!!
You know how many bloody vehicles I serve in one day!!!!!
FollowupID: 587921

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:47

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:47
Yep, all those vehicles that I follow along tht road !
I looked in your profile and guess what? I think I remember you. I'll ask next time I'm up there. So you'll probably get told "hey there was a old guy asking after you" . Don't be alarmed LOL
FollowupID: 587922

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:51

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 13:51
At least I'll know that you are a legit asking after customer!! unlike many of the other shonkers!
FollowupID: 587923

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:02

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:02
Shonky eh ? Sounds like it's all happening on the toll booths LOL
I have no idea about shonky types there...and come to think of it I don't think I want to know LOL
FollowupID: 587924

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:28

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:28
Shonky doesn't describe the half of it!
Mate if you guys on the road could spend one shift inside the booth you will get everything from, good pick up lines, corny pick up lines, really bad pick up lines, abuse, niceties, roses, chocolates, presents, phone numbers, spat at, visuals of everything from the cross dressers, the mistresses (one regular who really is a lovely girl), the flashers and the wankers... (literally!!)
FollowupID: 587927

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:41

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:41
Jo, thanks for that. I am in stitches here. Going through a toll booth will never be the same.
No wonder you don't remember me, as I don't fit into any of those categories LOL
Dammit, I don't even have a mistress...but I do know a tranny, nice bloke/woman actually...now there's a person who's hard to forget. I've seen staff at the truckstop go out the back, rolling with laughter at the sight. These days he/she knos better than to arrive to have tea with me with a dress and makeup on.
Sounds like you've met many of the same users, losers and abusers that I have had the misfortune to also meet.
FollowupID: 587929

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:55

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:55
Oh no that is just the list of EO members I have seen, there is one of the general public in that!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 587930

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:56

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 14:56
There is None (typo) of the general public in that!
FollowupID: 587931

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:05

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:05
Oops...suddenly realized that my writing could be construed that way...even if I didn't mean it. I was referring to the great unwashed. Particularly those who are headliners at times. Which seems to be around 90% of the population of the Coast !
FollowupID: 587933

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:13

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:13
I shall be true, that is all of the general public, including EO members!!!!!!!! (It's ok Lucy and Des.. I won't mention your names!)
FollowupID: 587934

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:00

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:00
Probably using this table for pre-June travel ===> http://www.westlinkm7.com.au/Documents/TollPrices/WLtolladvert_Apr08.pdf

AnswerID: 321122

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 11:00

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 11:00
For a dynamic calculator go to the home page http://www.westlinkm7.com.au/ nd click on the "Toll & Trip Calculator" tab in the top LH corner of the page. It displays a map and you can see the exits & entrances - handy if you dont know the names of the roads.

FollowupID: 588074

Reply By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:11

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 15:11
We are told that the yearly increase is in accordance with the Consumer Price Index. And that is it, not told anymore than that, so when it comes to you all asking us questions we honestly don't know any more than you do!!!
AnswerID: 321123

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:55

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 18:55
Its like petrol just charge what you want then make up heaps of excuses on why you do it.

AnswerID: 321163

Reply By: Member - Bob of KAOS - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 19:51

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 19:51
C'mon you guys.

The people that set toll fees have to make sure that the revenue generated is sufficient to pay a cast of dozens incomes of a few 100 grand a year, and leave enough to pay the politicians who they are in league with the necessary bribes, and then there are the toll collectors- they must get paid at least $12 and hour.

So you see the exorbitant amounts that you complain about are quite justifiable. Next time you pay the toll just think of the honest hardworking people its going to.
AnswerID: 321175

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 20:37

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 20:37
That would never happen

FollowupID: 588000

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:42

Monday, Aug 18, 2008 at 21:42
Do you think I would put up with the bad crap and chite for $12 bucks an hour!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 588017

Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 05:56

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 05:56
Do you work on the toll boths.

FollowupID: 588046

Follow Up By: Jo and Mark (Qld) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 10:23

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 10:23
Yep. Read my above posts.
FollowupID: 588070

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 10:37

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 10:37
How the heck do those in the East put up with that ? paying to drive down the road is just ridiculous. Maybe QLD as they charge no state tax on fuel could justify it but theres no way the others should be standing for that its just criminal.
At least Adelaide is safe - theres no way anyone would pay to drive on that lack of a road system
AnswerID: 321264

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 23:34

Tuesday, Aug 19, 2008 at 23:34
Davoe,
I used to have the same attitude as you about tolls but now have been turned around as to thier advantages.
As the M7 road (and I presume the others in oz) is owned by others, not the government (Yet) and was not funded by the government the owners need to recoup thier costs as well as a very healthy profit.
So tolls are put on the roads so as to make it fair to the rest of the population who do not use the road.
The Tolls will be removed once the contract is over but until then it is only the people who use the road pays for the road.
Seems pretty fair to me to pay tolls. I don't really think it is fair that a road that would need to be fedrally funded (M7 cost at least 1.5 billion) be paid for by people who would not ever use it, example people in NT, WA or Tas.
I am glad my taxes are not paying for melbournes, brisbanes or sydneys roads.
FollowupID: 588200

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 06:26

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 06:26
theres plenty of roads around the country/state I dont use as well as railways and the list gos on, My taxes go towards their building and maintenance etc. I just cant get my head around getting billed so much just to use the freeway
FollowupID: 588209

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 09:49

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 09:49
Yes I agree there are plenty of government funded roads in Australia that do not have tolls... and we all do not use.
The M7 is not owned by the government, it and the others in Sydney are owned by a chinese company I think.
Yes some tolls in Sydney I do not agree with but they are there and I can not do anything about them except avoid them.
The M7 is charged out at a per km rate and I am happy to pay the toll as the alternative is 43 sets of traffic lights and a minimum of an extra 25 mins traveling time.
FollowupID: 588227