Engel fridge freezer

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:02
ThreadID: 60925 Views:6128 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Evening all,
Have just listed the 32 ltr Engel for sale in the trader section and I am looking for any specials for a 40 ltr ( Need to stay in the bush longer) in the Sydney to Newcastle area.

Very happy with Engel and I will stay with that brand.

I know about the rivalry with other brands, I just like the Engel.

Reply By: Muddie - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:40

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:40
Rays here in Melbourne have a sale on and for a change there is a reduction on Engel. You could use this reduced price to leverage the beat any price by 10% offered by Anaconda if they have stores in NSW.

regards David
AnswerID: 321434

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:59

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:59
Ta Muddie

I will take a dekko.

FollowupID: 588277

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:58

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 18:58
Why don't you buy a Twozone which which will fit on top of the 32 litre and increases the capacity to 55 litre. I have this set-up and it works well.

AnswerID: 321437

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:01

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:01
Nah Mate,
Too hard to get to the paddle pops.

We have a larger need with the kids and need to freeze more tucker.

FollowupID: 588279

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:14

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:14
That is wthe whole idea of the Twozone. You run the Engel as a Freezer and the second 'zone' becomes your fridge. The Twozone has its own basket and latch and you can lift it to get to the frozen stuff and it is removable. THis gives youy 32 litre space for freezing and 23 litres of fridge space.

Go have a look at them here

FollowupID: 588281

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:26

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:26
55 litres will not be enough.

I have a 17 years son who eats more than I do let alone princess, hence we need more food .

We already run a 40 ltr as a fridge and I am going to buy another 40 ltr as a freezer.

80 ltrs may just get us by.

FollowupID: 588287

Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:34

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:34
Not getting into a brand war, but a question arises, will a 40 Lt fridge give you enough storage space with both fridge and freezer compartments, with "kids" as you will loose some fridge space

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 588290

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:37

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:37
40 ltr fridge & 40 ltr freezer both engel.

This combination should do the 4 of us.

FollowupID: 588291

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:45

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:45
Ah blue one....you didn't quite say that in the beginning....lol

Yerr...17yo's can be hungry!!!!

FollowupID: 588293

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:17

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:17
Willem,
That is why I am going to buy a 40 ltr freezer, see the original question.

And mind you at dinner time keep your arms away from the fire.

The little one are feral.

FollowupID: 588316

Reply By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:57

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 19:57
we have the engel 75ltr fridge freezer just got it to replace my 40lt engle it works a treat had to build a new drawer system for it but after our simpson trip this year i am very happy with it. there are 4 of us and it keeps us all full up on food and drinks no dramas. i got mine from anaconda at the wandin 4x4 show got a bag fridge and slide for $1900 hope this helps

justin
AnswerID: 321444

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:23

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:23
Thanks guys,
Just a little expensive as I already have a 40ltr fridge.

If push comes to shove I will keep the 32 ltr and look at other food sources.

FollowupID: 588320

Follow Up By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 07:43

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 07:43
if u sell the 40lt you would have half the money. any way good hunting
FollowupID: 588359

Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:23

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 20:23
Blue One

Repco have a range of Engels on sale at the moment as part of their Father's Day specials. Were all in their most recent catalogue that was in the mailbox a few days back.
AnswerID: 321445

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:06

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:06
The engels at Repco are, I believe, rack standard price, the "special" is you get the engel winter pack of 8L cooler/warmer, cap, stickers, etc, worth "$300", well if they'd just take $300 off the price of each model damn it I'd buy one straight away ...
FollowupID: 588311

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:33

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:33
Confirm that

FollowupID: 588326

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:40

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:40
...or if they'd throw in the transit bag instead of the $300 worth of el-crapola.
FollowupID: 588330

Follow Up By: Heefers - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 22:01
Got the MT-45 (40L) with Transit Cover and freebie winter pack from BCF Darwin for $1199 about 6 odd weeks ago. Worth a crack at wheeling and dealing for the same bargain again, especially if you're a BCF member.
FollowupID: 588342

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 23:37

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 23:37
Just purchased another MT - 45 (40l) here in WA for $1100 inc transit bag.....told them to keep the promotional junk (supposodly $300 worth)

I am sure that price could be found looking around

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 588351

Reply By: blue one - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008 at 21:24
Thanks all.

I will follow up the leads.

AnswerID: 321460

Reply By: madcow - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:13

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:13
I'd be willing to swap my 40 litre for the 32 litre.

email is dave.charlton@ap.effem.com
AnswerID: 321497

Reply By: Ron173 - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:14

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 09:14
Blue one,

G'day, as a fellow 40ltr Engel user, trying to get my head round your requirements.

Your selling a 32, you have a 40, you want another 40 for more food. You currently run one as fridge one as freezer.

so is an extra 8ltrs really going to make a difference?

Ever thought on a decent esky to back it up, run your 2 engels as freezers, deposit daily food in esky, keeps cold as defrosting.

I run my 40ltr as freezer, take good esky as fridge, can stay out for about 5 days. 4 of us.

I would have thought your 40 as a freezer, full, and your 32 as fridge would keep 4 going, how long you staying out for?

Rgds

Ron
AnswerID: 321498

Reply By: Member - Christian P (WA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 13:32

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 13:32
I just bought one of the new 'plastic' Engels the MR40F, very happy with it, and it only cost me $899, has the same internals with a polycarboate shell.

Maybe these could be worth a look?

AnswerID: 321518