OT Firewood prices

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 17:52
ThreadID: 60953 Views:6861 Replies:15 FollowUps:20
I just want to satisfy my curiosity, what do people pay for dry or green firewood (per metre) on the mainland? Just wanting to compare to Tas.

Thanks.

Reply By: jomah - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:04

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:04
I just got a quote at strathalbyn in SA - $180 for a ton of split ex telephone poles. Not cheap eh!
AnswerID: 321555

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:44

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:44
We get our Fire Wood of our sons property, old timber fences,
just get the chain saw out, spend a few hours cutting it,
I reckon buying fire wood is like burning money.
FollowupID: 588453

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:43

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:43
No different to buying diesel Dazza, All burning money.
FollowupID: 588466

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 07:18

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 07:18
Hi Krakka

Yes you are right, but cutting our own Fire Wood, leaves us more
money to buy Diesel, and if I could learn how to make Diesel,I would
do that to, I'm a real Tight Arse lol.
FollowupID: 588519

Reply By: Nutta - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:10

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:10
I usually pay 80 bucks a cube, but trying to get it lately has been hard with prices averaging around 130 to 150.
Managed to get the last for 80 but dont like my chances next time.
Also grabbed the chainsaw and went out to get some of my own, much older and burnt real well.

Watch those telly poles jomah they could have poison in them from being treated.

Cheers, Wayne
AnswerID: 321557

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:10

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:10
The trailer load that I took to Innamincka for the Gathering only cost me the fuel for the Chainsaw :))

It is handy having contacts that have an abundance of dead fall trees needing clearing.

AnswerID: 321558

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:31

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:31
G'day there young Kev. Yeah, but you had to give up a heap of time, run your vehicle to gather it, work your gut's out to do it. We used to have a slow combustion wood heater & I used to cut my own wood from a property that didn't charge me, but I reckon when I weighed it all up, for an ongoing basis, then it was expensive. So started to buy it, still expensive!! So went to LPG & still on it, but also expensive! We supplement our heating with air con. which is also expensive!
Then I moved to Newcastle, NSW. Perfect climate. 28 Degrees all year around & perfect one day, sunshine the next. Nature provides at no cost in this part of the world. Simple! LOL & cheers.
FollowupID: 588420

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:06

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:06
Barry,

The firewood I took to Innamincka was just a portion of the firewood that we cut that weekend. All up we cut enough firewood to fill my trailer about 10 times, as well as a couple of standard 6'x4' box trailers.
To syphon off a few sticks of firewood for the National Gathering was easy.
Whenever I visit St George we usually cut a heap of firewood to keep Mum happy. I had the BIL to help me cut it so why not.
The Gathering in St George next year will require no-one to bring firewood cause there will be a bigger pile of firewood than what I took to Innamincka :))

and Newcastle is still a cold hole in cockroach country LOL

FollowupID: 588432

Reply By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:11

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:11
$80.00 to $100 per cubic metre , split blocks of Grey Box or Red Gum in Bendigo Vic.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 321559

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:15

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:15
Well what are you currently paying per tonne in Tasmania?
AnswerID: 321560

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:34

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:34
Firewood prices vary from north to south. Near Devonport, expect around $40/metre, Launceston $70/m and Hobart around $100/m. Luckily I have a generous neighbour with 2,500 ac and he lets me take as much wood as I want (either forestry timber waste or dry trees).
FollowupID: 588438

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:47

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:47
Mudripper, so how much is that per tonne? I am paying 24.5c per kilo around Adelaide.
Cheers Krakka
FollowupID: 588471

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 19:57
One metre is roughly half a tonne.
FollowupID: 588652

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:19

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:19
$90 for one tonne in Nanango NW of Brissy, that just reminded me to order some more.
ps they ate saying that Aug here in SE Qld has been colder than Melbourne and Tassie.

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 321562

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:37

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:37
Yeah, we haven't gone through as much wood as we did around 3-4 years ago, when back then it was a lot colder. We usually go through 22 metres per winter and this year it's been half that. But winter's not over yet.
FollowupID: 588440

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:20

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:20
Here in Perth up to $200 a ton, and thats the last straw, now bought reverse cycle air con its bloody cheaper,
regards,
AnswerID: 321564

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:24

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:24
I pay $65 per ton. Use about 10 ton a year.

Rgds

AnswerID: 321566

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:49

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 18:49
Goodday Nev,
I normally collect my own wood, but at that price why bother.
FollowupID: 588426

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:42

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:42
Bloody hell that's cheap. The first year we spent in Tas (didn't have a chainsaw yet) we paid $180 for three tonnes delivered by some locals and that was 6 years ago, considering that everything's quadrupled in price since then.
FollowupID: 588442

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:48

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 19:48
Started off buying 14 tons a year at $50 and this year we got the 10 for $650. Mind you I have bought a min of 10 ton every year from him for 12 years now. He uses the back of my block to store his wood from time to time and I look after his PC so it works out well for us both.

Rgds
FollowupID: 588445

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:25

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:25
About $70 odd a 6x4 box trailer delivered around here, so all the signs say. Not that I have to stoke up a fire. Couple years ago I bought one of them reverse cycle thingys
2.5 hp, in winter it's toasty warm and in summer it's Coooooooool.
Used right the power bill hasn't been two bad.
Although Fysh wants a fire place installed. Hmm think she might be getting all romantic on me.
Sorry I Just snapped out of it, She would not want one for that reason. ;)
AnswerID: 321583

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:40

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 20:40
I reckon it is like sex, i wont pay for it.
The closest i will go is paying for a permit to get it.

I reckon if you have to pay for it, reverse cycle air is cheaper.

I am luck i usually always have a few trees or there is some on close by propertys. Last week end i got a trailer load of jarrah and another of wandoo for free.

AnswerID: 321588

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:33
You need a permit for sex?

FollowupID: 588463

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:46

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:46
You won't pay for Sex!!!!!!!!!
To early for the the friday funny's.
You will allways pay for it some where.
And a lot more than fire wood.LOL
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 588469

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:50

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:50
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA, well said Rob, Exactly.
FollowupID: 588473

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 22:08

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 22:08
But my wife reckons if i paid her for sex i would get it all the time.

But a firewood collection permit is cheaper.

FollowupID: 588483

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:35

Thursday, Aug 21, 2008 at 21:35
I pay anything from $30 to $80 a cubic metre, dried split red gum last year local was $65 a cubic metre. This year I was lucky eniough to cut and clean up a few trees around here and got it all for zilch

AnswerID: 321606

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 13:00

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 13:00
About 1/2 a tank of diesel - and 1 litre of 2 stroke fuel .......

Boc
AnswerID: 321720

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 15:41

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 15:41
$19.95 for 20Kg of Hotrox Woodlogs at Bunnings!!

OT
AnswerID: 321743

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:27

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:27
Works out about a 1000 a ton, ouch!
FollowupID: 588623

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:35

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 17:35
Yep, but a ton of firewood ain't no match for a ton of woodlogs!
FollowupID: 588625

Reply By: RosscoH - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 16:20

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 16:20
$10.00 for a box trailer load of sawn hardwood offcuts at the local sawmill, beats cutting it yourself.
AnswerID: 321752

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:01

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 20:01
Yeah, my mate got a ute load of off cuts for free from the popular timber company GUNNS. They had a huge pile of it in their yard, great kindling wood.
FollowupID: 588654

Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 18:37

Friday, Aug 22, 2008 at 18:37
Damn...Curse...Swear and Blaspheme..
The retail price between Stirling and Lobethal in the Adelaide hills is now $235.00 per tonne. for split Red gum or Plantation Blue Gum. and you have to load it yourself by hand.
mmmmm...me thinks I just might have to put my cold feet onto the other side of the bed..He He..

AnswerID: 321767

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 11:35

Saturday, Aug 23, 2008 at 11:35
Yeh split redgum in the mid north of SA, Balaklava $265, and Clare is about the same.
It has become much harder to find cheap or for free, can get all we need around western NSW, but 700k trip each way, but by next year a few days camping with truck and trailer should be able to bring home 6-7 ton so that should get me nearly through winter.
Your reverse cycle and gas type heatings just dont cut it for comfort like a wood fire!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 588732