4x4 Tracks on the Fleurieu Peninsula

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 17:28
ThreadID: 61106 Views:15188 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
I was just wondering if there where any good 4x4 tracks on the Fleurieu Peninsula OR Kangaroo Island.

Im just driving behind Pt Elliot and goolwa on the clay road when wet. The bog hole u can do in 2wd sometimes

please help I get Bord!!

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:01

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:01
Sounds Like you need to do Coles Crossing ;-)
AnswerID: 322317

Follow Up By: unko - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:27

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:27
they have now closed coles crossing!!! Too meny dicks on it read ThreadID: 61107
FollowupID: 589411

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:22

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:22
I suggest you have a good read of thread 61107 Link and think seriously just where you take your 4wd and resulting road damage that can occur. It might seem like fun to churn through a bog-hole however if it's on a road or track consider the inconnvenience that you might be causing to nearby property owners and the expense imposed on the Council and rate payers to perform repairs.
AnswerID: 322320

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:41

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 18:41
Ill explain the joke. Yes read thread 61107. It is about 4x4 ripping up road. Then read thread 61106. Same person asking for 4x4 tracks cause they are bored. Sorry maybee that was only funny to me. PS My job is to fix roads, I know the results.

Consider this though. Many years ago in Pert northern suburbs we used to 4x4 in the sandhills north of Marmion Beach. Lots of fun and had agreat time. Complainers etc got the tracks closed down for us. We saw no reason why they should have. Just went back for a holiday it is now wall to wall houses. I wonder and ponder what those complainers think about that.
Always many points to consider. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 589314

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 21:23
Sorry Tony, I don't get the joke. Isn't owning a 4Wd about experiencing our environment? I didn't read anywhere where unko said he was ripping up the road. Don't know if you know much about Adelaide but there aren't many decent places to go 4wd'ing near Adelaide as far as I'm aware, without travelling for the best part of a day. Where do you guys go 4wd'ing, Hmmm?

Louie
FollowupID: 589371

Follow Up By: unko - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:29

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:29
Thank You for sticking up for me Luie the fly
FollowupID: 589412

Follow Up By: unko - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:47

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:47
BTW I POSTED THAT LOL WHEN I WAS LOOKING FOR TRAX ON THE NET !!!!!!
FollowupID: 589415

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:21

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 18:21
Apparently then you have no sense of humor, obviously it was funnny. Sounds like you need to move if you want to 4x4. We have heaps of tracks where you can enjoy the environment. Cities compound the problem. More people wanting to go offroad and fewer tracks, of course they will get ripped up. You all add to the problem as well with your 4x4s as do I. Thing is I may be the only person on a track in a week up here. The only solution is to close the roads before the damage is done, like Lakfield National Park. Then you have to police the rednecks that will not take notice of the Closed Signs.
There are people that need 4x4 driving to be full on, some will only drive on a dirt track. It takes all types you know. I like it to be as hard as my car can take and at the same time doing as little damage as possible.
How about you post a solution to the problem stated by thread 61107. Best of luck. Cheers Tony.
FollowupID: 589542

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:23

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:23
I assume your reply is directed at me Tony. If you knew me you wouldn't assume no sense of humour (28 years as a sit down comedian, coz I'm too f*$king lazy to stand up!).

Seriously though, I don't think your argument is very well structured. As I said, we own 4WD's so we can get out and experience our environment. If I wanted to drive down the shops and go to town every day I'd drive a regular car. As for having lots of tracks in Qld, consider yourself lucky. One day they may all be closed as well.

I offer no solution other than if you REALLY value your environment, and you are there for the right reasons, you WILL preserve it any way you can. You can educate your kids, and influence them to do the right things for the future, but you cant educate di*kheads. & it's them who stuff it up all the time. BTW, hope you took the other road to Cape Flattery. LOL

Cheers, Louie
FollowupID: 589564

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:40

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 19:40
Unko, I know where you are coming from. I live in the Adelaide Hills and we have lots of dirt roads but 4wd areas are basically non-existent. In fact there's not much anywhere close to Adelaide AFAIK (someone correct me). Where's the bog hole you mention? Can you still drive down to the mouth from Goolwa?

Last 4x4 trek I went on on the Fleurieu was in Deep Creek. It was steep and a bit rough but only took 5 mins.
AnswerID: 322335

Follow Up By: unko - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:42

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:42
Yes goolwa beachis open. Not that fun as u cant go up to the dunes (u can see where some of the 4x4 have been plowing over the signs to get the the dunes) its not that interesting for me as im not a fishing person. all u can do is go up and down the beach and for me thats not that intersesting. the bog holek is just out of Middleton. there is a gate (the farmer uses it as a raceway) its got road signs on the corners so its a public road. theres some easy tracks around the Goolwa airport some track leed to the runway so be carefull!! I wise that u could go on the fire tracks at deep Creek. ill have to ask my friend if I can go to his quarry well his old man.
FollowupID: 589414

Follow Up By: unko - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:53

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:53
i wish that i could spell
FollowupID: 589419

Reply By: chardthechippy - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:04

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:04
I think the "bog hole" is ment to be the "blowhole" at deep creek which is easily done in a fourby, my brother does it in his combi.
A little track is just behind the victory pub up the old south road but not sure if it is private land. There are no fences or gates but it is off to the sde of the road. Very short but some fun just after rain. The coast road at deep creek is hardly ever opened. Might be able to get on the beach at tungkillo beach??? Otherwise it is Aldinga beach or Goolwa beach.
AnswerID: 322387

Follow Up By: unko - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:48

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 at 23:48
negtive
FollowupID: 589416

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:15

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:15
Yes you can get on the beach at tunkallila with a 4by .........................
if you know the wacker in the property that considers it to be his private beach and tries desperatly to stop people reaching it.
Otherwise you park at the carpark above and try some cliffhanger climbing to get to it.
(BTW my info is about 15 years old it may have changed)
FollowupID: 589465

Follow Up By: Krakka - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 20:33
The "wacker" owns the land that you need to cross to reach that beach. So I guess the beach is his. I have seen some very impressive mulloway come off that beach. A mate of mine knows him very well. Though my mate is a local down thay way, Parawa.
Krakka
FollowupID: 589579

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 00:40

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 00:40
No.
Go north to the southern flinders ranges.
AnswerID: 322391

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:58

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 09:58
The Flinders Ranges is 4 hours (min) from home. By the time you get there its time to come home. But the Flinders is a fantastic place for a minimum 3 - 4 days I reckon.
FollowupID: 589480

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 01:32

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 01:32
Yes I know Louie. I was trying to say that the Flinders are the nearest 4wd tracks to Adelaide.
FollowupID: 589621

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:19

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 20:19
Ah, I gets ya. We are heading up there during the school holidays, prolly for 4 nights or so. I love the place!!
FollowupID: 589745

Reply By: unko - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:31

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 11:31
I was thinking of day/weekend trips with friends
AnswerID: 322449

Reply By: Dean - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:48

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 16:48
prospect hill 4x4 park and saunders gorge might give you thrill and within an hour of town.
Dean
AnswerID: 322485

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:05

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 19:05
Is that (Prospect Hill 4x4 park) out the back of Kuitpo Forest? Didn't know there was such a place in that area. We drive past the turnoff to Saunders Gorge every time we go up the river. And its only 30 minutes from home. I have heard mixed reports about it, good, bad & otherwise. Plan to go there at some stage though.
FollowupID: 589554

Follow Up By: unko - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:19

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2008 at 23:19
thankyou Dean
FollowupID: 589614

Follow Up By: chardthechippy - Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:32

Thursday, Aug 28, 2008 at 21:32
Hello Louie,
Saunders Gorge is not bad for a quick fix but only beginner type of tracks. We do all of our driver training up there and have taken all types of fourbys around the track without too many troubles. Costs $40 to go round. He has some pretty good accommodation there if you wanted to stay overnight.
Cheers Chard.
FollowupID: 589780