Prices of trailers!!!!
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:32
Member - Christopher P (NSW)
Rang a mate who is a trailer maker, and got a quote for a standard 6x4 trailer got quoted $750 for a standard trailer, he was only $450 two years ago!!!
According to him steel prices have jummped up 15% so 15%is like only $112.50!! or am i missing something???
Might be cheaper to make my own as i have
the springs, and the welder, just need everything else!!!!
and steels not that expensive if you buy it on special, good australian steel!!!
Reply By: TD100 - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:55
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:55
if you can do it yourself then i say do it! i had a 6x4 high side custom built for me 3 or so years ago and mind you it was not painted and it cost me a grand and that was quite cheap!! a few months ago i bought a cheap 7x4 aussie made trailer which was poorly made but with some TLC and an extra 4 odd kilos of MIG wire it is now a superb trailer in which i made a camper out of. i personally think the steel prices are not to bad, aluminium is also still not too bad either.price hikes in materials plus a bit chucked in for the manufacturer = higher prices. cheers Paul
Reply By: Geoff43 - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:55
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:55
christopher
I bought 2.3mts of 50x50mm x3mm thick (square tube) rhs yesterday cost me $71.00 #@^&*%.
Geoff43
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 09:16
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 09:16
Geoff, that shs is about 15 bucks a metre at most
places, cut to length in
Sydney. Michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 09:19
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 09:19
I actualy i just bought 2.3 mtrs of 100x100 x 5 and the same length in 86x86 x 5 wall and it was $165 total and includes GST ,. Michael
Follow Up By: Geoff43 - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 07:37
Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 07:37
Michael
You are just making me feel worse,i had it cut into 4 pieces,how much a cut did they charge me i wonder??
Geoff43.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:57
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 19:57
Mate, I think he meant 150%. Price of steel has skyrocketed over the past couple of years due to demand from China, India etc.
That's how guys working in the mines are earning $150,000 and more a year at the moment.
Increase from $450 to $750 sounds OK to me under the circumstances. I'm a bit surprised it is not more. Yep it is expensive and way outstips our income increase, but that's life.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:13
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:13
To say that you can build a better trailer over a couple of weekends is ridiculous. Norm, you are quite correct. The factory man has to rent (or buy) his premises, pay staff, insurance, not cheap, most likely and being greedy, would like some "take home' for the Mrs, & children.
Everybody seems to think they should be highly paid but the primary producer should work for free.
This is the sad story of today. Bugger you Jack - I'm OK.
I am
well and truly retired so I am not personably invlved is such matters. I do know my son (aged 48) works from 7 in the am to 6 in the pm to make a living for himself and his staff.
Get a grip.
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 15:38
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 15:38
speaking of mines-- here is an incentive -- guys i worked with have applied for jobs in the mines in W.A pending a 2 hour physical - they should have the job( maintenance fitters also ) -- they were flown business class to WA for the physical -- if they get the jobs they will start at $150K a year - This includes Accommodation - and all moving expenses inc up to 2 cars - now you have a choice of where you want to live -- Inland near the
mine - or on the coast -- if you choose the coast i think you have to work 5 day on 4 off - they fly you from the coast and back free of charge --- if you live close to the site - you work 3 on 4 off 4 on 3 off -- or something like that ... Your pay increases each year according to your skill level .....
so why are we still in
Sydney ???
Boc
Reply By: Camoco - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:02
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:02
In the last two years steel has risen around 70% depending on your discount schedules. This year alone we had 15% in Feb, 28% in March, 12% in May, 15% in July. That isn't definitive but for structural steel mainly and averaged a bit as it hasn't been lineal.
Coil steel (to make thin sheet) is going up yet again by end of month. It last went up 22% 3 months ago.
So it is quite reasonable to assume most of the increase is material but as raw materials, transport and in some cases wages have skyrocketed in the last two years, $750 is very good value.
I paid $950 3.5 years ago for a 7x4 box trailer. I thought then it was a rip off and I still do, but I doubt I could find a comparable trailer cheaper now. Unfortunately I needed it right then and couldn't wait to make one.
Also if you as a domestic consumer try to buy steel from a mass steel merchant, you pay retail. We as commercial get between 20% and 60% discount depending on availability and type of steel. Even at that rate it still hurts. Average rate for commercial steel is roughly $2000/tonne. Scrap is going for around $500/t if offcut unused.
Give your mate a go and both will benefit unless you really have good steel just laying about.
Cheers Cam
Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:18
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:18
If you have the skills then why not have a go!
I would, Im waiting to make a dual purpose box and motorbike trailer.
Try this website
Trailer Parts
for even the body panels...but remember the dangers of welding Gal.
Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:26
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:26
Mate, he probably meant 15% last month. we have had near on 60% cumulative increases since about start of April. Merchant bar went up 11% yesterday. RHS will be going up around 15% early next month.
"and steels not that expensive if you buy it on special, good australian steel!!!"
Don't know where you got that idea... I buy tons every month (about 4 ton of variety). Our galv 3mm coils have jumped from $1500/ton to $1920/ton. A 50x8 flat bar is now around $40 a length. And the customers think WE are ripping them off when prices go up.
Louie
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:35
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:35
Perhaps the good old fashioned wooden trailer will make a comeback?
Light and doesn't rust.
No, I don't build them.
Follow Up By: deserter - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 16:52
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 16:52
I have just passed a wooden trailer on to the sister in law. I got it from the father in law in 1980. He built it in 1965. It is 7x4 with high sides. I used it
camping and also carried three motor bikes in it on shooting trips. It has a canvas canopy - removable of course. Completely
water proof and warm as toast to sleep in. Its always been stored under cover and is still in as good nick as when built in 1965. There is a lot to be said for a good marine ply trailer.
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:44
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:44
Not quite sure who we blame for this. The Chinese have been complaining that they are being ripped off by the cost of iron from Australia. It is the main reason they oppose the amalgamation of Rio Tinto and BHP and the reason that they are very keen to get a sizeable stake in Rio to try to block any merger.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:16
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:16
I think we as a country are partly to blame. We always seem to be quick to sell our resource materials instead of value adding to what we do. You know, like selling smelted ingots instead of processed ore. We do it with some, but not all. Like any good business we should be constantly asking "do you want fries with that?". But we don't seem to do it. We were discussing this today at our operations meeting - what can we do to add more value to what we do? Ah, I know, offer fries... LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:34
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:34
Louie, I an only agree, although I recently saw some figures that amazed me re the amount of manufactured stuff we actually do send to China. Much, much higher than I would have guessed. Sorry I can't remember details of the figures, but it was the kind of products and brands that was the interesting bit. Top shelf stuff like our best fashion labels and wines. Apparently Oz quality stuff has a high rep there and there are a lot of wealthy citizens buying. Our architects made a fortune designing those Olympic venues.
Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:45
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:45
There is a train of thought within some Australian industry sector groups that a large part of the "boom" in China over the last 5 years was due to the Olympics and it's associated
infrastructure development, and now that it is over (apart from the Paralympics) there will be some stabilisation of growth. However, now that they have the real taste for being an eastern 'westernised civilisation' it will likely continue to grow at a lesser pace, if you know what I mean.
Yes you are right, we do export some premium products there including food and beverage products such as dairy, fresh, grocery and dry products, as
well as wine, beer, dairy and meat, and of course wool.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 11:50
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 11:50
Therein lays the dilemma of resource rich countries. As the value of our exports increase in a ‘terms of trade’ sense, so does the value of our currency. The higher currency eventually kills manufacturing industries because it is cheaper to import the finished product than it is to produce it here.
Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:38
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:38
Landy
I have been trying to reach you via MM re the bike race. Can't seem to make it work. Could you contact me via mm or email
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:55
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 20:55
$750 for a standard trailer sounds quite reasonable to me, Recently brought a 6x4 box trailer (slightly higher sides than standard) from a
well known
Perth maker and was a smidge over $1100.
Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:48
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:48
Cheers for the reply guys, doing my maths for the axle and wheel and hubs i'm looking at roughly $200 thats without tyres, the uni-joing hitch i want is about $200 to buy, then the lights, hinges, locking mechanisms, wire harness etc and rego as i have 4by springs to go under it!
Will see how much it will cost me when i do the costing before i do any buying/ manufacturing of my own, including any steel folding( maybe) and what not, will post up on this site.
I also signed up on a web site that is a wood working site and some members have made there own trailers!!!
Will post the site! also to may post my CAD design if i get a chance. busy doing tafe and work and being a husband!!!
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:54
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 21:54
Well the steelie I have been getting my steel from said steel was going up this month by 15% and will be going up in November 12% it has already gone up by 70% (not including the recent rise) since January.
I wish my pay would climb like that.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 22:40
Tuesday, Sep 02, 2008 at 22:40
You want to complain about steel prices
well don't buy 4130 Chrome/Moly tubing that we use for the motorsport industry, some of the sections are over $150 per metre price.
Magnesium Tig welding rods about $130 per half kilo.
Titanium Tig welding rods $130-$170 per half kilo.
Regards Andrew.
Reply By: Jeelan - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 00:18
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 00:18
your price seems great!!
I've been trying to ring around for a 7x4 offroad trailer - trailer only, NOT a camper trailer - and i got details of 3
Perth based manufacturers from here - read reviews etc and got in touch with them
the cheapest quote i've had is $6500. The only requirement that i had different to a standard trailer was an extended draw bar so i can open the door of my Pajero fully whist the trailer was attached.
I was flabbergasted.
Now i'm looking at purchasing a undercarriage kit from Martins Trailer Parts and putting the whole thing together myself.
Couldnt believe the price - and these are 3 companies who got goos mentions on these forums. 2 of them sell camper trailers as
well and basically said the trailer only option would be whatever their base camper trailer sells for minus the cost of the camper top unit and the 3rd company is a trailer manufacturer.
wish i knew how to weld!!
Jeelan
Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 07:38
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 07:38
$750 for a 6x4 trailer what a bargain, I paid $780 for the same thing 15 years ago.
lets break it down.
Wheels $40 each $80
Springs $150 $150
Axle $100 $100
Coupling $50 $50
Wiring $50 $50
Wages $40 per hour $320 based on a 8 hour day + 9%
These prices are based on of the shelf prices in
Darwin.
Even if you half the wages hourly rate that doesn't leave much for the steel you need to build it, this didn't include workers comp insurance, public liability Insurance, general insurance, shed rent, tools, book keeping and so on.
So do you think your mate is ripping you off now.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 07:43
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 07:43
The second lot of figures I had down the middle of the page as a running total, but it obviously didn't like that idea.
Steve.
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 08:57
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 08:57
Yeah we had a look at some 6x4's, the $1000 one didn't really impress me with the quality (thin sheetmetal) and welding (small spot welds) and I'm a female! Funny the retailer said they're the best quality you'll get. Like most of you for a basic garden type trailer I'd guess at around $750.
We came across another mob and ended up driving away with a 6x4 galvanised, heavy duty (good welds and strong build) that had LED lights and also higher than normal sides, paid $1600. Yeah it's up there in price, but not so bad as we may end up using it to cart our gear for
camping as
well as around the property, since we sold our camper trailer.
Lol, you should try pricing custom trays to suit a cruiser ute! Talking around $6000! And no I don't think we'll be paying anywhere near that - he can keep what he's got!
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 09:14
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 09:14
In 1984 I made a tandem-axle 8'x5' box trailer which I still have today, & in good (
well used) condition....
Cost of material (steel, springs, axles, coupling, etc) was around the $600 mark.. this did not include wheels & tyres, which I scrounged from various sources....
Given the _HUGE_ increase in steel prices since 1984, I'd suggest that your mate is doing you a big favour, and it would appear that he is a better mate to you than you are to him!!
Regards, Ed C
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:04
Wednesday, Sep 03, 2008 at 18:04
Ummm Ed. C. i support my mates and don't question anything they say, especially my mechanic mate, who i took out for his 50th birthday, cost $250 for 4 people, he offered to pay his share and i told him no and to drink his beer! That's just my mechanic, mind you 12 years helping him run his wrecking yard and the knowledge i got from it! My auto electrician mate, I'd do anything for his family and vice versa??? I had to go and pick him and his family up and drive them home. They offered me money, I told him to stick it in his pocket? My best mate who worked with me, i help him with anything, if i only had $5 dollars in my wallet i would give him that!!!
i know it sounds bad by my winge but do you see where i am coming from????
this trailer guy is a mate of my mechanic!!! he has a few people who are hangers on!!! i don't ask for discount from my mates and always pay them what they as for!!!
WITHOUT COMPLAINT!!!
I don't like getting on my soap box!