Help I need an air con fitter in Perth

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:43
ThreadID: 61391 Views:2130 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Hi All, just bought a fujitsu split air con and been qouted $600.00 to fit (its an hours work) and now they've just upped this to nearly $1000.00 because it cant go where I want it , cut a long story any one know a fitter ? I'm in Rockingham and need more quotes,
thanks in advance,

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:48

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:48
Hi Dave, $600 sounds about right. It is about 3 hrs work to fit a split a/c, plus materials, copper pipes etc.
AnswerID: 323815

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:58

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 18:58
Geez George these guys have a license to print money ? they want another $350 on top of that just to put it where I want it PLUS $12 a metre for cable !!! mate they need a good stuffing, theres guys in prison for less, I'm a brickie and I wouldn't have the neck to charge that kinda money but thats me I suppose,
unreal.............
FollowupID: 590882

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:12

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:12
Dave, don't feel too bad. Not long ago a bricklayer charged me $130/1000 for a straight run of brickwork. That is $1.30 a brick. LOL
Chers
FollowupID: 590890

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:14

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:14
Sorry Dave, that was a typo error, he charged $1300/1000
FollowupID: 590891

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:36

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 19:36
At the risk of sounding bias I bet he didn't average $600.00 for an hour and a halfs work though aye george, but your right the going rates now less than a dollar a brick so he did take advantage a bit, that I can handle but a grand for THREE hours is a bit of a p##s off there is a limit to the budget mate and he's just passed that by a tad LOL
FollowupID: 590900

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 23:00

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 23:00
Dave Thomson,

I am an air con fitter in SE Qld, and have fitted many many Fujitsu splits over my 30+ year career....... I am yet to see one fitted in an hour! Of ANY brand!
The price of materials has sky rocketed, the cost of tools to do the job has sky rocketed and the associated licensing involved in being a fridgie is getting out of control. Add to that exhorbitant Public Liability Insurance premiums and it costs a small fortune to run a business fitting splits.

Perhaps you annoyed your "quoter" by insulting him about his "license-toprint-money"??? Sounds like your price increase came about 'cos he doesn't want to work for you.....

FollowupID: 590956

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:11

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:11
Mate I am a fridgy and live in Safety Bay, $600 bucks isnt too bad. Dont fit them anymore my self but have done it the past. It all adds up, brakets to hold the outside unit, copper pair coil, plastic cladding to cover pair outside to oudoor unit, fitting the unit, electrical. Mate just the isolation swith is 30-50 dollars. Wall to wall would take 2-3 hours including wireing for a good quality job. If your not happy with the quote try a few other guys. IC aircon, Secret harbour AC, they will all be about the same if not more!
Matt

AnswerID: 323833

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:32

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 20:32
Thanks for the info Mat its appreciated, it just seems crazy that the units about $1600 and the fittings a grand, cant get my head round that one but I take your honest opinion on board and thank you for it, BTW what kind of profit would they make on that ?
regards,
FollowupID: 590910

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:19

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 21:19
Dave,
The sparky work alone will cost $150-$200. Thats just to get a sparky in to hook it up. Thats if there not licenced A grade sparkys(fridgy with a A grade = rare). So maybe making $100-$200 depending on the amount time it takes them. They can be a real pain sometimes. Drilling through double brick with a masonry hole saw is never fun.
If you have any dramas email me.
matthew.brook@three.com.au
Matt

AnswerID: 323862

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 23:02

Thursday, Sep 04, 2008 at 23:02
Same old story...... buy a good quality unit and try to get the cheapest install!

Pay Peanuts and you get Monkeys!

AnswerID: 323883

Reply By: Dolphin38 - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 02:07

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 02:07
Dave,
Try Cool Dudes in Port Kennedy.
We've just had a split system installed with the outside compressor unit put on the roof. Excellent work and cleaned up after themselves.
Guy
AnswerID: 323891

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 18:26

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 18:26
Thanks for that Guy its appreciated, Mat I wont forget you and thanks for being more understanding than some, as usual the "majority" of input has been great ,
Thank you again for educating an old codger,
FollowupID: 591057

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:09

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 20:09
"because it cant go where I want it "

That's part of the cost you pay for using high quality licenced tradies. He knows it can't go where you want it through years of training and experience, all of which comes at a cost. The bloke with the cheaper quote would probably just stick it where you want it and ignore all the compliance issues, possibly voiding warranties and causing expensive work to re-install the unit correctly.

"(its an hours work)" I was told that yesterday with the installation of a rainwater tank. It took two men five hours to relocate all the various underground pipes after lifting pavers, altering plumbing, digging and re-instating, preparing a stable base etc.

I hope i don't sound like I'm defending the tradies in this case, as they may well be ripping you off, WA has a shortage of tradies due to the mining boom and prices have sky rocketed as a result. sometimes an expensive sounding quote may well be justified if the job is done right first time, to the correct standard using quality materials.
AnswerID: 324033

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Sep 05, 2008 at 21:07
The average price in Sydney now is around the $600/$750 thats usually back to back, meaning indoor unit and outdoor unit are usually on either side of the same wall, indoor unit up high, outdoor unit either sitting on slab or hanging off the wall. Cost me $450 8 years ago. I had already mounted the indoor and outdoor unit, they just had to run the power and the pipe over the garage roof to the lounge room wall. He gave me $50 off as his young apprentice was at teck that day and I was helping him out. Have never had any problems with it in 8 years and handles up to minus 3 which we have had a few of and +46 under our awning never missed a beat. No rattles/vibrations. $1000 sounds a bit rich but depending on where your asking him to mount everything all takes time and possibly extra piping (copper which is bloody expensive). I think for memory the fujitsu's are pregassed for up to 15metres of piping, ours was 10. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 324043