20 months on the road

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:19
ThreadID: 61436 Views:3577 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
Just noticed the thread about distance around OZ. We have been on the road now for 20 months and have just clocked up 40,000 km. Started in Vic, went to Tassie for 3 months Clocked up 7000 km. Then to Bermagui, across southern half of n.s.w. down into Adelaide, up to Roxby Downs. Back down to Eyre peninsula and across Nullarbor. Israelite bay, Esperance, Albany, Freemantle, Perth. Then up west coast, Geraldton, Coral bay, Karratha thru to Broome ( and everywhere in between). Just finished the Gibb river rd. What a great spot. Road was in perfect condition. Plan is to go to Darwin and back down the centre. Back across to Tassie for summer then up the east coast to Cape York. Across Kakadu down the canning, back thru central W.a across the Simpson ( hopefully before they ban camper trailers) and then back home where ever that ends up being. Could clock up 100,00 by the time we finish and recon will only have seen a small part still, but have been blessed to see what we have. We are Kidsandall so if you see us on the road feel free to come and say "hi". Love the site, well done guys.

From Josh

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:38

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:38
Wow, Josh, that sounds fantastic. Enjoy the rest of your travels while I turn green with envy LOL

AnswerID: 324094

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:48

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:48
Josh,

Good on ya ! Very, very jealous hahahahaha

AnswerID: 324096

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:38

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:38
One way to get over the jealousy is to pack up and meet us on the road lol. Seriously if you get the chance grab it with both hands cause it is the best thing you can do. We have a 5 + 7 yr old and they just love it.
FollowupID: 591148

Reply By: toyocrusa - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:58

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 09:58
Josh.Unbelievable mate,just like gramps,I'm envious. Just had a look at your profile,are the "old's" doing the trip as well? Have you worked along the way?If so how hard was it to find? I think I need to get out and just do it but the cost prohibits it at the moment. Bob.
AnswerID: 324099

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:35

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:35
Olds did about 10 months with us. They are currently working on a sheep station 70 km's north of Esperance. Have been working. Ranged for doing stocktakes to renovation work and managed a landscaping buissiness in Roxby. I probably shouldn't tell you what I do now though as you are already envious. I work for a company as a sales rep so I now have work lined up for me in advance. On the east coast work was harder to find but over west work is everywhere, just cost of living is dearer. Working in mines is not as easy to get into as they make it sound. If you are willing to do anything there is work around. If it keeps you on the road then it's worth doing.
FollowupID: 591146

Follow Up By: toyocrusa - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 11:02

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 11:02
Thanks Josh,all the best to you and the family.Hope there are many more Klms left for you. If you travel up the east coast make sure you stop at Lake Conjola,(Conjola Lakeside CP)just north of Ulladulla/Milton on the NSW south coast. Just try not to coincide with holiday times as it gets really packed out then,other times it's perfect. There are many more beautiful places as you travel up the coast,all get packed out in peak but are great outside of those times.Bob.
FollowupID: 591150

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 11:04

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 11:04
We talk to alot of people who are interested in doing the big trip but not sure how to actually get on the road. If anyone is interested in having a chat about how we did we are more than happy to offer our thoughts. Not that we have got it all right. If the girls are unsure about travelling my wife is willing to let you know her thoughts( good and bad) Yes some days are bad.
FollowupID: 591151

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:42

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:42
Josh
I notice your plans are for Tassie for summer....it amazes me why people stay away from the Top End of the Territory in your summer, you miss the best of it during the wet season when we get fantastic storms and lightning shows , mother Nature at it's best, and it's green everywhere,
They come up here in the dry season and see dry grass, then they go South to see more dry grass..That's just one of the reasons I moved up here, the Climate.

AnswerID: 324103

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:50

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 10:50
My wife struggles with the humidity. I do plan to do a wet season up north as I agree with you it is the best time for up north and I want to see that amazing storm and lightning show. Just because it's dry doesn't mean it's not beautiful either, depends on what you are looking for.
FollowupID: 591149

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 13:47

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 13:47
Josh - just looking at your profile pics and especially the campsite at Arkaroola. Like you, we have a soft floor camper and have found it almost impossible to drive pegs into some sites. Was wondering if you are using 'special' pegs - say high tensile steel or the like and if so where did you get them.

2 years and 11 months before we go on the road for anywhere between 2 and 10 years.

Pete
AnswerID: 324113

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 19:43

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 19:43
Have had trouble in some places but generally seem to get them in.I carry spares so when I stuff one I throw it out. If I bend 3 in the one hole I move site lol. Only our annexe and Kids room needs pegs, the main part is rope and peg free.

Josh
FollowupID: 591192

Follow Up By: wendys - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 20:13

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 20:13
carry some six inch masonry nails for places like arkaroola. Available from places like Bunnings.
FollowupID: 591205

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 20:14

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 20:14
In our tenting days I used to carry a cordless drill with a long masonry bit.

If the ground was a bit hard, out came the drill first, then the tent peg.

Most times that solved the problem.

Now I'm an old fart and use a caravan..... just like you Doug !!

FollowupID: 591206

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:36

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:36
Thanks guys some good tips there.
FollowupID: 591261

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:47

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 09:47
To be honest guys I have found caravan parks the worst for hard ground. They level the site and spread gravel around then charge you $45 a night to wreck you pegs.
FollowupID: 591275

Reply By: Member - Ann D (WA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 16:17

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 16:17

Have to agree with Doug to many dont see the best of the top end. Have lived in the Kimberley and Darwin during Green season and enjoyed it,
Just enjoy your trip,and keep posting as thoses of us stuck at work can be Green

Ann
AnswerID: 324124

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 17:59

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 17:59
Good on you Josh. We have been travelling for 5 or 6 months a year in out CT.
Having just got back from 5 months 'up North', we have decided to bite the bullet. Have sold the CT and in the process of getting an off road Caravan.
Come January, we plan to rent the house and hit the road. We have 6 years to be back in the house, or sell it, if we want to avoid capital gains tax. I'm planning on using every bit of that time. Ultimately we might even say ' lifestyle is more important than worryinig about tax' and just keep going, even if we have to sell the house to fund the continuing travels (but we hope not).

We plan on heading North again initially. We love the fishing up in the Gulf country / NT, but have only fished it in the dry season. Thought we'd give the wet season run off a try for a change.

We have come across several families doing long term travel with young kids. What a great way for the kids to learn about our country and what life is really about.

Well done to you and your family.

Norm C
AnswerID: 324134

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 19:49

Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 19:49
A little while ago my wife said "I feel like the 'holiday' is over and the trip has begun". You were right, it is a lifestyle and it is amazing. We are closer now as a family and the girls are learning so much. We have friends all over Oz that we met on the road. In fact we are camped with friends in Kununurra at the moment that we met in a camp ground in N.S.W. 12 months ago. Some days aren't easy but they make the good ones even better.

Josh
FollowupID: 591194

Reply By: Dan - Yal - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:11

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 08:11
Sounds like an awesome trip Josh. You're right in saying there is a whole lot to see.
Norm C - with regards to capital gains tax, if you travel for 6 years then come home and live in your house for a while, the 6 year period begins again when you rent the house out for the second time. If you haven't already, see your accountant about this. I'll be stoked to travel for 6 months straight, you'll have a ball in 6 years of travel.
Have fun
Dan
AnswerID: 324197

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:03

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:03
We sold our house. didn't want to make around with tenants and not sure we will go back to vic to live after seeing what we have seen. ^ months or 6 years it is worth doing. Anyone thinking of doing it, stop thinking and start doing. Make the decision to go and from that point on aim for the trip. You won't regret it.
FollowupID: 591278

Reply By: WanderGC - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:36

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 10:36
How are you handling the schooling for the kids? We have a seven and nine year old. I know they will learn heaps on the road but the dept of Ed might think differently.

When you stop to work how long do you stay in a location for?

Glen
AnswerID: 324231

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 15:29

Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 15:29
Maybe my wife should answer as she is now our teacher. We are home schooling. Some states require you to still be registered and send work in each week. we are lucky, vic doesn't. We have a curriculum that we follow(sort of ) lol. Some weeks school is regular other weeks its more nature study, outdoor ed etc. If you take out all the time wasted at school ( getting settled, naughty kids, answering 10 questions at once etc ) schooling can be done fairly quickly one on one. They learn far more on the road than in a class room cause it is real life. Maths can be done on the beach with shells or at the shop with change. English can be on a jetty reading the regs for fishing. Geography - well, need I say anything.
We spent 8 months in Roxby working, 6 weeks in Murrayville plus other places. As I said early I work for a company as a sales rep now, so I line up my work in advance. We are currently booked through to December. We spend a week in each town I am booked in for but I can also take time off in between when I need to eg. just did 2 weeks on the gibb river rd. Please don't hate me but for someone travelling around oz it doesn't get much better. East coast we found harder to find work. W.A. heaps of work but accom can be hard or expensive. S.A. pretty good. Best advise, forget employment agents. They are useless. Have a resume and go into places to look for work. Go back or ring them. Show them you want the job. Be prepare to do whatever. If stacking shelves in Woolies pays for you to get to the next place who cares.
FollowupID: 591306

Reply By: SheridanM - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 22:08

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 22:08
Hi Josh what a great trip mate, you are living our dreams but my wife and i hope to be on the road in 8 to 10 weeks. Main Roads is resuming our house so we are going to buy an off road van and probably a toyota landcruiser troopie. We are heading to Cairns first to be with the kids and grandkids for about 6 mths and use there as a base while we explore the top end . We have no time limit to be on the road we want to see and do as much as we can while we are able .Never know we may see one another in our travels one day and hopefully we are still enjoying our travels as much as you after a couple of years. Geoff
AnswerID: 324599

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 08:40

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008 at 08:40
Thanks geoff,
it is an amazing time spent on the road. Unfortunately to many people leave it to late to do it. It took us 8 years from when we first discussed it to actually getting on the road. We got good jobs, had kids bought a house etc.. Then we realised we weren't doing what we really wanted to do so we packed up and headed off. If you enjoy it half as much as us you should still have a great time. You mentioned we may see each other on the road. We met my cousin at Manning George on the Gibb river rd. We knew they were up that way but had been unable to contact them. They pulled into the amp ground 1 hr after we did, so we spent 3 days with them at one of the best gorges. So you never know what might happen. Happy and safe travels for you guys.

Josh
FollowupID: 591723