Submitted: Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:20
On Patrol & TONI
Here are some pics of the end product.
I had a slight issue with tail shaft vibration which we fixed by rotating the rear axle by 4deg and fixed it. They are very particular about flange angles.
I'm real happy with the end product.
Colin.
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:34
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 18:34
Sir Kev is lurking and I am sure he will be here soon with something not to
bright to say :):):)
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 20:32
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 20:32
Colin,
good job,
well done.
Tell us what the drive is like.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:06
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:06
The motor is a willing performer, it revs freely under city driving conditions, suggesting that it's a petrol engine not a diesel.
Er Indoors says that traffic light
derby's are no longer a challenge.
I was hoping to get out this W/E to use it in anger, but the weather here in
Sydney and surrounds is WET WET WET. While we are still sorting it out I dolt want to do any real mud driving, cos we may have to get under her again and don't want to have to clean everything to do it.
Colin.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:01
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:01
Colin,
That is looking really good. Can't wait to hear how it goes.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:11
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:11
G'day Peter
see my reply to Gone Bush above re performance.
Your invited for a day out when I am sorted, which should be soon.
A job this size must have a few issues to address but so far we only seem to be adjusting tailshaft flange angles, and even those seem to be history now.
Jason Dymock is a magician with a 4by.
Cheers, Colin.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:04
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:04
Nice one I bet you end up on the front cover of 4x4 Magazine with Roachie :-)
Looks great,
well done Colin.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:15
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:15
G'day John,
Overlander is wanting to do a story on it and have contacted us.
Anyway I don't want to steal any thunder from Roachie, he's got his own problems right now.
Cheers, Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:31
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:31
Yeh, thanks for reminding me Colin..... (as if I needed reminding!!!).... hahahaha
I reckon all yours needs now is a bit of work with an angle grinder; bring it to my place and I will happily cut the back of it off for you....free of charge.... hahahaha
Seriously, it's an excellent looking job; you'd swear it was a factory unit.....
I hope you get many years of faithful service from Toni....
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:27
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 21:27
Looks great Colin, love the branding too its great.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:17
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:17
G'day Bonz,
the branding is my little way of giving Nissan a big "raspberry", that may be even more effective if Overlander do a story about TONI.
Cheers, Colin.
Reply By: Member - Porl - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:25
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:25
Register Toni and the symbol as a business and trademark, float a business and employ yr mechanic on twice his salary to run the conversion business and make us all happy with converting those blown 3L Nissans to something alternative and better to buy ... and cheaper than they can buy a yota 4.2TD IFS.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:32
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:32
Sounds like damn good advice to me!!!!!!
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:55
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:55
Porl
A franchise in Queensland!!!! now thats a good idea, OK I'll sell you one, $25000.00 and it's yours. LOL
Colin.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:56
Saturday, Sep 06, 2008 at 22:56
G'day Roachie, how's your patient doing???
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 18:07
Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 18:07
G'day mate,
Hopefully she'll be back on her feet (eerrr....
wheels) this coming week and I can take a trip to
Adelaide to collect her.....9fingers crossed)...hahahah
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 19:43
Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 19:43
Hope all goes
well with her and that they get it right with no more troubles.
Good luck mate.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 07:19
Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 07:19
Incredible work Colin
WoW what can I say, and the best thing is that you have all
the Art Work, to go with the package !
Once again Congrats,,, and I will get around to seeing it in person, eventually
Cheers Mate
Reply By: fester2au - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:12
Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 20:12
Now that is a nice job. Makes me wish I still had my Nissan. Had to sell my 4.8 series 3, couldn't justify the lease after loosing the job that went with it.
Went backwards to an 80 series but it did already have the FTE conversion in it which was why I bought it.
I'm interested to know what plumbing was left in the crossover pipework after you removed most fo the factory stuff. It appears you still have the shut off butterfly assembly which is now bolted directly to the manifold but how much and what vacuum/sensor connectiosn etc are still in the new pipework. I've been wanting to simplify that for a while now so I can work on intercooling but not sure what I need to retain and where. I've already removed the heater core but left the housing in place and have blocked the ERG ports but also left the assembly in place.
Any help would be appreciated as I want to remove the factory piping to make more room for intercooler piping etc.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 07:39
Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 07:39
fester2au
If you are in
Sydney talk to this guy, he was the mechanical brains of the outfit.
Jason Dymock, totalcare4wd@exemail.com.au
My input into the project was, the testicular fortitude to want to attempt the unknown job, some labour and supplying the car and money.
A good guy to deal with, my mechanical knowledge stopped with carbys, distributors & VW beetles.
Cheers Colin.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:57
Sunday, Sep 07, 2008 at 21:57
Hi Colin,
Looks like a great job, engine bay seems very tidy. Real nice touch that logo. Would love to come take a look, but just a tad too far :(
Reply By: NUTS! - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 11:46
Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 11:46
Nice work TONI.
Where did you get that barrel intercooler? is it the Denco unit?
NUTS!
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 16:07
Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 16:07
NUTS!
TO yota NI ssan, TONI is the car. Yes it's the Denco cooler.
Cheers Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 16:09
Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 16:09
Nuts
PWR make them, out of Brissy...i have one just like that one if you are interested. I went air to air and laboured with pipework instead.
Follow Up By: NUTS! - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:50
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:50
Thanks for the offer, I'de love to buy one now, but looks like I'm about to buy a house :-\ looks like I'll even have to sell the GSXR1000 :-(
I'd be interested to hear what price your after though...I know the denco kits are around $1600 for the kit.....my email below.
NUTS
cruisernut@gmail.com