Interesting Diesel/Petrol comparison

Submitted: Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:27
ThreadID: 61490 Views:3144 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Gday all

with all the talk of fuel prices lately, I thought some people might find this of Interest.

Have totaled the fuel bills from our most recent trip from Sydney across the Simpson back down through the Hay river and home again 75% dirt roads.

The trip total was 6500kms start to finish

Mine a 4.8 petrol Patrol $2500 in fuel
Mates TD100 cruiser $2100 in diesel

The patrol carrys 225km under the belly so range was not a problem what so ever, in fact better range than the standard TD100 fuel tanks.

IMO for the extra horses the patrol has, Id rather pay that little extra at the pump.

Reply By: ingo57 - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:53

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:53
sorry supposed to be "the patrol carries 225 LITRES under the belly"
AnswerID: 324367

Reply By: Krakka - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:58

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:58
Should have better range, carrying about 80lt more fuel than Cruiser! Not familiar with power of 4.8 Nissan, do you have some figures please?
Cheers Krakka
AnswerID: 324369

Follow Up By: Krakka - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:59

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 12:59
Forgot to say, $400.00, not a lot of difference over that distance.
FollowupID: 591430

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:22

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:22
Krakka

The 4.8 Patrol has a 185 killer wasps....Gidyup!!!!

Your right thou mate, bang for buck not a lot of difference $$ over the distance.
However quite a difference in litres used but If you can carry it, who cares?

FollowupID: 591431

Follow Up By: unko - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:01

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:01
$400 is a lot of money for some plp tho
FollowupID: 591439

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:12

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:12
Absolutely unko, not meaning to say its not a lot of money just pointing out difference in price/distance for a hell of a lot more power.

Although when you break $400.00 down of the total of weeks to do the 6500 kms it doesn't look so bad. I also have a very heavy right foot, so sure it could have been a bit better.

Not saying petrol is better than diesel just showing honest and interesting stats.
FollowupID: 591442

Follow Up By: Krakka - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 22:03

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 22:03
As above unko, wasn't saying that 400 bucks isnt much money, just that in the scheme of this situation not much difference with everything considered.
Cheers Krakka
FollowupID: 591548

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:43

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:43
Similar to what my 4800 did on a similar trip Ingo, while
you can use a lot of fuel in 4800 if you go with care
they do things fairly easily and use only about 25% more
than similar diesels.

You have to go for a different type car e.g. Prado to
get a real lower cost of running.

In latest 4wd action I noticed a reader writing in and
stating that if buying a new 200 series then you have to drive
200-300,000 km before the diesel break seven with the petrol V8 version.
AnswerID: 324373

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:58

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 13:58
Hi Robin,

I reckon thats quite true - if you only looked at the $10K difference in purchase price. But factor in the difference in resale and you would get virtually all that $10K back (check out 100 4.2TD vs V8 2nd hand prices). So the "real" cost is the interest on the $10K you have outlaid up front (perhaps $500/yr, less if you can claim on tax).

Diesel still does it for me, but can certainly see why petrol is a viable alternative cost wise these days (ignoring petrol vs diesel preferences).

FollowupID: 591438

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:12

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:12
Hi Captain

With the fuel cost differential being less these days , something for the diesel buyers to be aware of is that the resale car price differential should drop in future as well.
FollowupID: 591441

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:14

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:14
If I was choosing a vehicle I think I might still go the diesel over petrol.

Comparing our Hilux D4D over a Hilux V6 are as follows.

Around town standard weight.
D4D 10.5 Lt/100k
V6 13.7 Lt/100k

Country standard weight traveling at 100 kph.
D4D 9.3 Lt/100k
V6 11.2 Lt/100k

Country standard weight traveling at 115 kph.
D4D 10.2 Lt/100k
V6 14.5 Lt/100k

Country max weight with camper trailer (3900Kg) traveling at 100 kph.
D4D 10.5 to 12.7 Lt/100k
V6 13.9 to 17.6 Lt/100k

Country max weight with camper trailer (3900Kg) traveling at 115 kph.
D4D 13.4 Lt/100k
V6 18.7 Lt/100k

Hard going 4wd low
D4D 19.7 Lt/100k
V6 26.2 Lt/100k

AnswerID: 324382

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:31

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:31
Olcoolone

No doubt diesels have better range and my 4.8 probably has the worst consumption of most 4bys.

My point is if you have the ability to carry a lot more petrol which in my case 225litres, at the pump the diesel took less litres but $$ was reasonably close due to the Inflated price of diesel.

To me I want the power and performance which these days is more affordable than ever, it never used to be.

FollowupID: 591446

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:40

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 14:40
And of course if you have the big fella on LPG it will be way cheaper to run.

My Old Man's got a 4.8 on LPG. Sensational tow vehicle.

Disclaimer: LPG may be more expensive and/or have limited availability in remote areas.

AnswerID: 324387

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:03

Monday, Sep 08, 2008 at 20:03
Love the disclaimer Jim. You've obviously been toasted on that subject before ;-)
Cheers Craig.....
FollowupID: 591517

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:30

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2008 at 07:30
Yeah, I copped a right royal bollocking a while back.

Now I get in first LOL.

FollowupID: 591561

Reply By: Nutta - Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 22:48

Thursday, Sep 11, 2008 at 22:48
After getting hit by a wave on fraser in my old mq petrol (high tide not much beach) and stalling (scared the hell outta me, escaped though) i swore id never have another petrol again, diesels for me 4ever now!
AnswerID: 324872