Sunday's History Photo

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 00:50
ThreadID: 61645 Views:3885 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
This postcard was given to me by my Grandmother many years ago,I know one Ex South Aussie that will find this interesting.

The electrification of tramways came to the district in December 1909 with a double track line to Thebarton from Adelaide and a single track to Henley Beach; the latter section was completed first so four cars were transported from the Hackney Depot to Thebarton and a passenger service inaugurated on 23 December 1909 with horse cars carrying out the former until 9 March 1910.
To give passengers better access the former horse tram route was altered and a new one built along Parker, Albert and Holland Streets to take passengers into Hindmarsh via a reinforced concrete bridge built across the river at the end of Holland Street and then along Manton Street.
This was to change in January 1923 when a new line opened which went down the south side of the Port Road and down George Street to connect with the former line at Albert Street. The return route crossed the river on a new bridge built from Manton Street to Cawthorne Street (since demolished) and on into Light Terrace, Port Road (then Shierlaw Terrace) and the north side of the Port Road.
Electric trams served the community for nearly fifty years when, in 1954, following a decision which is still the subject of concern today, they were replaced by buses, the proponents of which contended that they were more mobile and that routes could be changed or extended at less cost; matters such as air pollution did not enter into the debate! Gangs of men commenced removing the tram lines in Light Terrace in September 1954 and the Henley Beach service was terminated in 1957. With the one exception of the Glenelg line the complete suburban network had been dismantled by the close of 1958.

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 06:45

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 06:45
Gday Doug
We, here in Melbourne, have those very same trams in full service.
Murray

AnswerID: 325174

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:22

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:22
yes mate those very "same trams " lolololol

FollowupID: 592339

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:25

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 07:25
Doug

Keep up the good work.

I find your historical photos very interesting.

AnswerID: 325182

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:05

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:05
Ditto Repeato

FollowupID: 592321

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:15

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:15
Hi Doug

Great Photo, loved the Trams, the Boofheads stuffed up Brisbane by
scrapping the Trams, now they have the Stinking Buses,

The Horses and Wagon carrying the Palm Trees, looks good also.

Thank You Doug

Daza
AnswerID: 325189

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:19

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:19
Daza
Yeh...that has 4 wheels, probably a stage coach, what about the poles for the Telegraph lines .

FollowupID: 592302

Reply By: Cape York Connections - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:18

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:18
What has the horse and cart got on board are they palm leaves.

Great pic as per usuall doug and dusty.

AnswerID: 325191

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:32

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:32
Another good one Doug.
Keep 'em coming - it is a weekly highlight.

BTW, Mike Rann & his mates just spent $30 m extending the remaining (Glenelg) service a small kilometre from Victoria Square to North Tce - to just under the Morphett St bridge. That original line was ripped up in the mid 1960's - how we have progressed !!!!

AnswerID: 325193

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:36

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:36
Doug,

have you got any good pics of the North Australian Railway, or the Overland Telegraph Line while you have been at Adelaide River?

Where are you now? - I am gunna be travelling Darwin to K'rine on Wednesday & might stop & say G'day.

Rick
AnswerID: 325194

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:46

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 08:46
Show Grounds Caravan Park Rick. look for EO wheel cover as you come to the gate .

FollowupID: 592308

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:13

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:13
The picture looks like it was taken from towards the Thebarton Police barracks looking back towards the Newmarket Hotel (formerly owned by Footy legend Noel Teasdale). Is that sound right?

From what I recall of what my mum told me years ago, the tram also went to Enfield. Not sure as it's all before my time. However, I did work in the Angus Street tram barn for a while in the mid 80's. Lots of history connected to the old trams; now sadly gone.

Incidentally, we used to use the littlel bridge over the Torrens at the back of the brewery to get away from the cops when we were kids. But they always beat us home. That's another story.
AnswerID: 325198

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:39

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:39
Louie the Fly,

Maybe that's a "mob" name ???!!! lol

Sounds like you've got a few stories to keep us entertained as well.

FollowupID: 592317

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:54

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 09:54
Misspent youth my man. I've got some crackers; I could write a book. But I won't hijack Doug's thread with them.
FollowupID: 592319

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 17:59

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 17:59
The answer of where the pic was taken....

Car No 1 on the test run, 30 November 1908, North Terrace, near Botanic Gardens. Later that evening, the Governor, Sir George Le Hunte, was treated to a demonstration trip.
Photo: The Tramways of Adelaide, Adelaide: The Critic, 1909, p. 3.

Grrr!!!

This has been 1 very interesting thread - thanx Doug...
FollowupID: 592373

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 08:36

Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 08:36
coming back from Payneham Rd.......the Photographer is looking towards Payneham Rd
pic taken from the Botanic Pub on the sw corner of intresection of North Terrace and East Terrace is my bet
FollowupID: 592455

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:07

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:07
Well done Doug,

Yup I grew up in Glenelg and remember all that stuff about the trams BUT did you know trains were also using that line as well as another down part of the Anzac Highway..

See link below...

Trains at Glenelg

The trains used to stop in Colley Terrace outside what used to be in my days the first 10 pin bowling alley in Australia. It caused quite a stir that an American game was going to have a home at the "Bay".

I used to be a pin boy there and remember it well.

On busy days at Morphetville Race Course both trains and trams were used and the extra trams and trains that were brought into service for the races used to both park on Colley Terrace..so as to keep Mosley Square at Glenelg reasonably free for the public.

Ah the memories...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 325212

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:11

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:11
Link works outside of the post so I will try again here..

http:/Glenelg trains/www.slsa.sa.gov.au/manning/pn/g/glenelg3.htm
FollowupID: 592323

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:12

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:12
Bugger - try this one..

Bay TRAINS
FollowupID: 592324

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 11:06

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 11:06
Craaazy Dog
Thankyou for the link, very interesting ideed , that's a huge amount of information on that website ,
Ummm 3 attemps at the link is unaccepatable , 3 strikes and ya out ....lol

FollowupID: 592330

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:52

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:52
Doug I woz havvin a blonde moment - read "bald" moment...

Grrr!!!!
FollowupID: 592341

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 13:31

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 13:31
Mateeee
You need one one of these...I can share if you like.

FollowupID: 592343

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 14:29

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 14:29
I think not ol' fella!!!

More like this I think!!!

Thanx mate - Just wot I needed...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 592348

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:17

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 10:17
Gday Doug,
Interesting as usual.....

One bit of detail you failed to point out though.
If you look at the horse drawn cart in front of the tram ( with the palm frongs in it).
Look who's in it....
Kim, Footlose, Gramps with Willem holding the reigns!

Hairy
AnswerID: 325213

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:25

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 12:25
Old geeezers aint they ?....:))))
FollowupID: 592340

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 16:47

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 16:47
Good One Doug,

As usual you have come up with a pearler of a photo. I reckon the two front trams are early "Toast Racks". Wiki has a good site with a lot of detail Adelaide Trams
I agree with Louie. It looks like the shot was taken in the West Parklands near the Thebarton Barracks, probably from up a light pole on the railway bridge.
We often used the tram bridge when riding our bikes to the city from Findon in the 1960's. I can just recall the trams, but have fond memories of the Trolley Buses that came into general use on the Port Road.

Kingo
AnswerID: 325257

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:31

Sunday, Sep 14, 2008 at 21:31
Kingo
Thanks for your link
Got some great photo's in it .

FollowupID: 592418