Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 13:51
Member - Doug T (NT)
Our governments have a long way to go to improving our national Highway
Rest Area's, and the Aussie traveller has even further in showing respect for what little we do have , check these 2 links and see what Nebraska has , and their rules and regulations as per under the photo need applying here too, also note the sizes of the
parking area's. check the Co-Ords on Google.
N 41° 05.066 W 096° 16.535 for the one below.
Melie Hill Rest Area - Melie, NebraskaOther Locations
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:02
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:02
Heres one on the Hume Hwy just South of Sutton Forest nth bound,Taken about 20 years ago & not much has changed since then. Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:12
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:12
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:28
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:28
Damn it....posted the wrong photo.
both were on the desktop.
this truck bay has nothing, no
toilet or shade .
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 15:38
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 15:38
It has a big truck though :-)
Follow Up By: Member - GREENDOG - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 20:08
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 20:08
Ex Tanimi Rig
hay
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:29
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:29
G'day Doug,
Too true but I noticed that they are not allowed to overnight and can't stay longer than 8 hours. I agree that the facilities are great but it would be much nicer to be able to overnight as
well. What do you reckon?
Theo
Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 21:53
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 21:53
Yeah but it's a load of bullchit - there's no way that they can move you along if you need a sleep and too fatigued to drive. I would think that this is a rule (law??) to prevent those that abuse or outstay the stop.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 10:43
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 10:43
I agree with you up to a point. It would be pretty annoying to have some overzealous
ranger knocking on your van at 2 in the morning to discuss the matter.
Like most people in power there is always someone out there to point out the error and then take the high road on complying with the law!
You're right - just BULLCHIT!
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:36
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:36
Is it any wonder that our tax funded politicians choose to fly over the top of them ?
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:46
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:46
Have to agree to the majority of the rest stops I have stopped at
bins overflowing or the crows have had a party.
At one location someone has just discarded a number of damaged tyres and tossed them in the grass area.
I will say I have stopped at a few that were very
well presented but nothing like Nebraska. One has to wonder if some of them are not manned by someone.
I now just look for a nice location to have a rest and cuppa.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 15:02
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 15:02
Yeh. without bloody disposable fly blown nappies laying about 10 foot from a bin.
The
rest area's that I stopped at across Iowa and Nebraska were unattended, had xmas carols playing and were heated .
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:56
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 14:56
Doug. Our rest areas signs usually show a bench
seat and a tree, you usually get one or the other!!! Michael
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 15:58
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 15:58
Agree completely Doug.
After enjoying the good rest areas in the NT, we used this one just outside
Rockhampton for a quick stop.
Yes, it had the standard blue
sign with tree and
seat, but none to be seen. Just loo paper in the long grass.
The trucks passing at 100k just about took the drivers door off. Getting in was was some fun. I could see a few trucks right behind me so decided to stop to let them through. Was just enough braking distance to pull up behind the stopped caravan without slowing too much in the main lane.
We didn't stay long :o)Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:26
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 16:26
Yeh, most of Queenslands Rest Areas, are called Service Stations,
or Truck Stops, N S W, has some reasonable ones, makes you wonder where Fuel and Rego Taxes go.
Reply By: Old Dave - Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 21:36
Monday, Sep 15, 2008 at 21:36
We have just come over the top from WA and we had some acceptable rest stops, even with loos!! NT seems to be sadly lacking in that respect.
Would have been nice to have caught up with you in
Adelaide River we passed thru there Sunday.
Now in
Tennant Creek heading for
Alice Springs.
Follow Up By: Alan H - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 12:29
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 12:29
Quite a few in WA have now got decent
toilets plus a dump for waste from chemical
toilets.
Sometimes there's campers who've obviously set up with every intention of staying more than just overnight but mostly they're way back off the road and not annoying anyone, except caravan
park owners!
Alan.
Reply By: Member - Bob V (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 12:30
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 12:30
One of the major problems we have though are the grubs in our society who litter where ever they are coz their too lazy or are of low intelligence and do not understand that facilities will not be provided for them to abuse, if everybody made sure to take their rubbish with them, then local councils would not have that extra burden of providing labour to clean up the sites. I suppose I can dream on!!
Bob V
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 13:57
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 13:57
The cause is the Judges who are afraid to give a damn good stiff sentence or fine because some bloody Do-Gooder pushes the idea these scum have rights, so what do they get..... a few lousy hours community work that's a bloody laugh .
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:43
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 16:43
If the powers that be, had half a brain .... the community service would involve cleaning up rest areas.
Too many rest areas is another issue .... how many spots are "really" nescessary on an 8hr ( for example ) journey ....
Each new
rest area is money that could have been spent upgrading the one, 40min back down the road. Not too mention the stupidity of rest areas on the outskirts of a town .... whats wrong with town facilities ????