The Geriatric Gypsies
goodday all
well we have made safely to
broken hill having come up along the east coast from
yarram to eden along to nowra where we met
laura and nathan and the kids ,on to forster tuncurry and on to port macquarie where we me cruiser (a morning cuppa turned into several hours of chatting)across to
tamworth and on to
lightning ridge where we met garth (nsw) and dedabato across thru burke and
cobar to
broken hill where we meet up with dave b and nora for breakfast after that we head for pt broughton
we have found that by lifting the foot we save a minute amount of fuel and an extra hour on the road so we will stick to our 90/95ks ph while travelling
travelling from
bourke to
cobar was pretty extreme with all the high winds and in the distance somebodies farm being transferred by air (dust storm)
hopefully we get the fishing rods out at pt broughton
will see who we meet up with in the next 10 days
Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:34
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 22:34
ps
it has been an absolute pleasure to meet all these members along the way and will be great to catch up again as we travel around
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:48
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:48
Gday Steve
So when are you poping in for a cuppa in Dandenong?
Murray
Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:20
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:20
goodday murray
we will be back in
melbourne about the 1-10-08 will send a mm when we are in melb and try and catch up
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC)(MURRAY) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:30
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:30
gDAY
No problems
Murray
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 08:55
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 08:55
G'day mate, good to see you are having fun. When you say Garth (NSW) do you mean my friend Garth J (NSW) in the Karavan? We travelled from
Roma to Gemtree with his dulcet tones over the UHF
Follow Up By: Member - Garth (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:03
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:03
Hi John,
He means me.
Garth
Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:22
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:22
goodday guys
i am glad you answered garth because garth is garth so i wasnt sure which answer to give
Reply By: wendys - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:23
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 10:23
while in
Broken Hill area, make sure you visit
Silverton.
Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:25
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:25
thank you wendy
we are regular visitors to
broken hill and stay at pembroke
park also
we reckon its a great place to stay and visit but thank you
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 12:32
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 12:32
Hi Steve,
Does your route take you through
Jamestown??
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:09
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:09
Waste of time calling in to see you mate, I called for a "free cuppa" the other day at lunch time and a very lovely lady who I suspect is in your employ told me that you had buggered off home for a "nanny nap" !!!
"Someone told" me that these nanny naps are essential to old farts like us, so I didnt dare come around and disturb you !!! Hahahaha
Steve, If you are up to a picnic on Sunday with the YP 4WD club, we will be at the Rocks Reserve near
Balaklava, on the Wakefield River, you could follow the Roach Bomb from Kadina. It would be a bit over 100k to get there from Broughton.
Will be at least 5 EO members there if you are trying for numbers Hahaha
My mobile number is in my profile.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:45
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 21:45
goodday micheal
we came through there about 5pm today after a late start from
broken hill after being delayed in
broken hill by a lovely breakfast with dave and nora and a long chat and i am just cathing up with my mail so i have missed calling in
whiting are supposed to be on the bite at broughton so will fishing tomorrow at the jetty
pesty
will see what happens as we will staying with dennies rellies until monday when we start the return trip to melb with a few relly stops along the way
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:30
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:30
G'day Pesty,
"buggered off home for a "nanny nap" !!!"
It was a POWER NAP, I keep telling 'em what to say but makes no difference...lol lol
Nah, was home doing BAS..next time, if I am home, get Gill to give me a ring (just to make sure I'm awake) and come around for your cuppa..
Steve,
No probs, If you come back this way send me an mm.
If no fish at PB, give
Port Hughes a go..last reports have been
very good.........aaahhh fresh whiting for lunch, and dinner..
Michael
Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:20
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:20
goodday micheal
will try here and pt hughes is next stop wifes uncle is a pro fisherman(
well in name so he can hold his licence)if weather is good we will go out if not i will drop the amount in his freezer
his son has a cray boat so i am hoping he may have a bit of spare stock yuuuummmmy