LPG availability in remote OZ
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:03
nicki
Hi all, we are about to purchase a secondhand ford falcon to tow the second had goldstream camper trailer we have just purchased and have an interest in a vehicle which is dedicated LPG. Would this be a problem when traveling in the more remote parts of Oz?
Appreciate any replies of fellow travelers re LPG. Thanks, Nicki
Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:23
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:23
Hi Nicki,
Personally, i would stay away from a dedicated LPG vehicle, as when we went away last year with a couple who had a vehicle on LPG/Petrol had some trouble getting LPG at some towns (this was along the Stuart Hwy.)... Not something you want to come across when you have no other means of fuel.
Also, this isn't so much remote travelling related, but the work ute i drive for work is dedicated LPG & some tanks got contaminated, so we had to fill up whenever we could...
Just my 2c worth.
Cheers, Brad
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:45
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:45
Yep i agree with you Brads, He was a pain in the arse especially when we had forwarned him of the possibility of not being able to get gas everywhere, and then it was the rest of the worlds fault when his vehicle didn't want to run on petrol...what a bloody pain, he is definetly one fella that i wont be including in any of my trips in the future...
Cheers.....Borgy
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:53
Tuesday, Sep 16, 2008 at 23:53
...You mean they won't be coming up the Cape with us next year? BUGGER!!! LOL
Oh, BTW... Whats this i hear about u looking at a new Cruiser ute?? LOL
Cheers, Brad
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 08:13
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 08:13
Come on Borgy, fess up! What's going on?
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:15
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 23:15
G'day Matt
I'll tell ya whats really going on mate...Littleborgy is looking at swapping his Patrol for an old FJ40...hahaha.....
Cheers.....Borgy
Reply By: swampy66 - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 00:04
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 00:04
from my experience - there are only 2 situations where a petrol/lpg car needs to run on petrol.
1. when its poorly tuned and wont run on gas.
2. when youve planned your trip poorly and run out of gas.
im sure you should manage with a dedicated lpg vehicle. the main downside being - if you run out of gas - youll probably need a tow to the next roadhouse.
good luck
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 00:13
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 00:13
"2. when youve planned your trip poorly and run out of gas"
How can you plan for the garage running out of gas??? Or when you pull up at the next garage and there is a
sign on the pump saying "OUT OF ORDER"....Believe me it happens...seen it with my own eyes on the Stuart Highway last year
Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 17:40
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 17:40
Borgy your not wrong it happend to me on the Stuart HWY
Lpg Pump out of order.No problem as i have dual fuel
and was prepaired for such events.
I wouldnt leave the big smoke on a dedicated lpg vehicle.
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 07:18
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 08:13
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 08:13
From personal experience you'll need petrol.
Mine's dual fuel and last trip I ran on petrol for 1000ks cause no gas available.
Follow Up By: Tippa - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:51
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:51
My 80 series is on dual fuel with std 95L main
tank and 90L gas
tank. I would carry a few jerry cans, but how do you get 1000kms? I would really like to hit the outback but dont think i have the range anymore since the conversion.
Thanks!
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:47
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 07:47
Not on one
tank (I wish...) Ran from
Leigh Creek to
Cameron Corner, Innaminka etc and back to
Cunnamulla before I could get LPG again. Kept the gas
tank full and used it as my reserve. Not many
places on the main tracks that can't be done on a standard fuel
tank.
All up with both tanks full I have a road range of about 850Ks.
Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:40
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:40
Oh ok so you still have 2 petrol tanks which give you 850kms range? Or 1000 kms range? Or is it one petrol
tank and your gas
tank which give you 850kms?
The previous owner of
mine nearly ran out quite a few times around Oz when she was just petrol, with the 95L main
tank, plus 55L sub
tank, plus 3 jerry cans! He had to divert and buy fuel off a farmer once.
Now that i have lost 55L after the sub
tank was removed, i cant see how i could get anywhere near 1000kms on petrol unless she was filled with 20 jerry cans ha ha. As for gas, 90L
tank= 80L gives 350kms. But i wish i could get 1000kms on petrol like yours and add 350kms range from the "reserve" gas
tank!
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:38
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 10:38
Nah Nah Nah, you've got it all wrong....
I have 1 standard petrol
tank which gives me a range of around 500Ks. I also have 1 LPG
tank which gives me a range of about 350Ks.
Combined range is about 850Ks.
The 1000K I talked about was actually 3 fills of the petrol
tank,
Cameron Corner, full
tank, Innaminka, three quarters,
Thargomindah half.
Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 12:58
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:19
Wednesday, Sep 17, 2008 at 19:19
I agree with most others...It would be a pain in the Ar$e at the least.
Reply By: nicki- Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:38
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 20:38
Thanks all for your time to respond. It has firmed up our decision to get a duel fuel rather than a dedicated LPG. Can't be hassled with the drama of planning around the availability LPG and finding that .. the best laid plans of mice and men..etc!
Nicki
Reply By: Sir_Gibbo - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 00:38
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 00:38
Definitely get a dual fuel, on a recent trip the "back way" from
Adelaide to
Townsville we found out that there ain't none of the smelly stuff (LPG) that is, in some of the outback towns.
Cunnamulla is one....according to the local servo they did have but nobody bought any so they took it out, and others only have a supply available during daylight hours Monday to Friday from the local fuel distributor. In our case my RAV only has a small LP tank 46lt ( yeh I know why would you convert a RAV, but it was done before I got it and it makes it VVERRY cheap motoring ) so we only get 350 to 370 k's per tank, so on the
Bourke to Charlieville leg we would have had to have pushed it the last 60 or so k's.