O/T- family tree template??
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:32
Member -Signman
Can anyone one point me in the direction of where to find a Family Tree 'template' on the net??
I've got heaps of info and would like to put it together in a usable format.
I've traced back to my kin- him a convict on the ship Barwell, arrived
Sydney Cove 1798- and her also a convict arrived 1804 on the "Experiment' ...
Reply By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:44
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:44
Have a look at www.ancestry.com.au
Follow Up By: briggzee (WA) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:44
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:44
i noticed after exploring the ancestry website we got heaps of spam -be prepared! maybe try one of the other suggestions
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:47
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 09:47
Buy a program called "Family Tree Maker, not expensive. Automatically creates trees in several formats & relates individuals.
Harvey Norman should have it........oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 10:26
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 10:26
I have "Family Tree Maker" cost about $60. it is the best I have found as you can crossreference as much as you want. Also add in photos & scanned dcouments
Vince
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 10:08
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 10:08
Signman,
Have a look at Personal Ancesteral File put out by the Morman Church.
It is a freebie and can be downloaded from
Here
Cruiser
Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 11:50
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 11:50
Relatives in the UK have used
Genes Reunited
This will help with locating UK relatives.
Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 12:54
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 12:54
do you want paper ones?
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:13
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:13
I'm guessing I would want to fill in the gaps that I have- do some research to get more as I go then print it out..I think !!
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:13
Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:13
did the package arrive?
just a point
i have been running that on a comp with XP sp2 and it all works ok and still does
have just loaded it onto a new machne and i notice it wouldnt display charts or blank forms (error message : not enough room on disc?...find that hard to beliueve as i have 2 hd at 750gigs...each!)
any way i switched to running it in windows 98 compatabilty and it all works ok?
checked the old machine and it is definitely not running in a compatabilty mode.... beats me what is going on
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:26
Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:26
Thanks mate
Parcel arrived all good...Thanks
I'll be loading it onto a puter with XP
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:20
Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 17:20
just be aware you might have to run it win98 mode....
my new machine uses an 8800 graphics card and it wont even run cad 2007...had to upgrade to cad 2008 for cad to run
...maybe its just a graphics card as i also notice that i cant run all tests in "didiag" on graphics card (comp freezes)...a crook one maybe?
have up dated drivers fro motherbard and card to no avail?
some thing is amiss, but as i have cad 2008 running ok (havnt checked it fully as yet tho) in xp mode and that programme running in win98 mode i will most likely not get around to doing anything about it...yeah slack i know
anyhow that programme uses "gedcom" files which is international standard for family tree stuff...meaning you should be able to import the data into anyother good programme down the track..eg The Master Genealogist and other GOOD more recent programes
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:30
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:30
problem solvered
graphics card acceleration set too high.....
works fine in xp mode now
but google earth still wont start in direct X mode...okay in GL mode but
Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:07
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:07
I thought your relatives would have left the trees by now !
Willie .
Reply By: cityslicker - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:29
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 13:29
I've found this site to be very good (and free) -
http://www.geni.com
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:35
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:35
Signman,
I've been using Legacy which I believe also has connections to the Mormon Church but suits me. Standard edition is free.
Legacy Link
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:47
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 16:47
Another freebie ( a bit dated ) is
Brother's Keeper
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:02
Thursday, Sep 18, 2008 at 19:02
I used the Ancestry site to store all the Jacka info we have dating back to Cornwall pre-1600s census. Some of my family have purchased early BDM records etc and its quite a maze when you simply want to know where you fit into it all. I found that on the Ancestry site that there's so much you can do using the free options. I didn't get any spam from them either. I have got my whole family involved in this and it manages it quite
well I thought and best of all its a method of sharing and managing update easily. I haven't tried any of the other suggestions though.
MM
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 07:08
Friday, Sep 19, 2008 at 07:08
G'day Signman,
What ya doing? trying to find out who you dad is eh. LOL
Sorry mate, that was uncalled for, despite what people say about you.
My sister MAY be able to help you, contact her at
Nomadic Life
Since her ex passed away (Nick VineHall) she is now the owner of his old web site, if you don't know who he was, he was one time president of Aust, genealogical soc. and an ABC radio presenter for genealogists.
Cheers Colin.
PS still have not put TONI into 4 low, will try this weekend.