dual wheels in sand or 4wd generally

Submitted: Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 10:38
ThreadID: 61909 Views:12698 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
Does anyone have any experience with dual wheels in 4wd. I am thinking specifically of vehicles like the Mitsubishi Canter.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:15

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:15
A damn good choice I reackon, it does have a rear diff lock so that would help. get an Auto locker added to the front too.
But you can't have one unless you look like this

AnswerID: 326523

Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:35

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 11:35
As a further thought, I would consider the vehicle track, front and rear and look at how that compares to most FWD vehicles and the type of terrain you intend to cover.

You might find the Canter too wide, in either vehicle or track width to be comfortable/suitable in some situations.

Front track may be too wide and rear track may be too narrow for the bulk of FWD tracks and I guess this would apply even more so in sand.

Hope this is of interest.

Rob.
RobnJane

AnswerID: 326527

Follow Up By: samton - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:54

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:54
Thanks for the thoughts. I looked at this a bit - and "in theory" here's what I found.

The front track of the Canter is only about 30-40mm wider than a 1/200 series cruiser. Given the width of the tyres you are likely to see on a 1/200 cruiser v those on a canter - there's probably no difference.

The rear track of a canter - centre-to-centre - is almost identical to a hi-lux - just over 1500mm. Granted the duals as an assembly are about 400-450mm wide, which is a bit wider than the tyres you'd find on a hi-lux. But again, its probably only a matter of 100-150mm or so overall width difference between the canter and the 1/200 cruiser size vehicle.

I have not checked out the minimum inside track dimension.
FollowupID: 594142

Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:16

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:16
Hello - when I was operating as exploration geologist we used canters as support vehicles for the drill rigs. Surprising where they went (around the south west WA) though don't get them bogged in mud. Anyway we got rid of the duals and just ran singles. Pain in the butt letting tyres down/pumping up for sand and also when fixing flats. They also had a habit of picking up rocks and sticks between tyres.

With reduced tyre pressure they went where ever we wanted to go - e.g. Yeagerup Dunes/Warren Beach.

AnswerID: 326536

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:45

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:45
One of the tout drivers we were with on Fraser Island was telling me that they replace the duals on the vehicles used over there with wider singles. Much less problems, particularly with picking up things between the tyres as Greg said.

FollowupID: 593667

Reply By: wallabyjack5 - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:25
We ran a tour company for many years.We brought a Canter had duals on them, did our 1st trip with a lot of sand work, was not happy soon as I got home,put on super singles did not have another problem.
Not cheap to set up but worth it in the long run.
AnswerID: 326552

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 16:10

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 16:10
Dunno the answer....but last time I was at Dalhousie Springs (on a trip up from Oodnadatta along the old Ghan to Chambers Pillar etc), there was a bloke pulled up who was about to tackle the Simpson from west to east.
He had this F350 with duals on the back. I asked him how he thought he'd go on the dunes.
He responded by pointing at the 2 spares he had on the back of the rig and said that he has made some alterations so that he can fit his 2 spares onto the front end so he'll have duals on the front as well as the back.
I'd love to know how he went ..... hahahaha....would've been a sight to behold. hahahaha

AnswerID: 326564

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 16:43

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 16:43
G'day Bill

Last year we met some travellers near Peoppel Corner doing west/east. Dad was in his GQ and 17yo daughter was driving a Datsun 1400 2wd ute on L plates. He told me that only five dunes had stopped the youngster in her Datto by the halfway mark. A quick snatch was all that was needed.

Sounds like the fella with the F350 was a tad over the top....LOL

PS. Is your old bus back on the road again?
FollowupID: 593697

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:09

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:09
G'day Willie,
Yes mate, all back together and going like a train again. Just gotta try and see if I can get a smaller LPG tank to fit in somewhere under the tray/box now....... But she goes well on straight diesel anyway......

Cheers mate and cya later

FollowupID: 593799

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:07

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:07
The late Bill Bartlem of Darwin built this beast in the 1980's

Holden Wagon with LC running gear, auto box and Chev V8 with 8 wheels fitted.

He still got it bogged!!!!

I went for a drive in it once but it was a dog to handle with those wheels...lol

AnswerID: 326568

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 18:09

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 18:09
this one sent the memory back a long way. once upon a time a few boys who weren't old enough to drive got hold of an Austin A40 (anyone remember them?) and took the body off and threw everything away and then fitted dual wheels to the rear and took it all over the bush tracks near where they lived. fine on the tracks but when it hit the sand all was not good. along came a person far older and wiser who told us that the build up of sand between the dual wheels will eventually stop them - simple answer so we threw them away and put on old DC3 tyres on rims we welded together. and it was all great fun a good learning experience for later in life - never use dual wheels in sand......and sometimes older people do have wisdom. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 326580

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:37

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:37
Jeez Mav, you're bringin' back old memories now ! Early 60s, just 11 years old, did the same thing with an old A40 ute the ole man accidently burnt. 2 seats, tray on back, BIG roo bar, no brakes; did we give the roos and emus hell! Had tractor tread cover tyres on the back and used to tow an old truck bonnet loaded with kids around the sandy paddocks and tracks on the farm west of Kimba. All was fine till we hit a big mallee stump. No serious injuries tho'. The old A40 could not be killed. Used a bit of oil so we used to top it up with the old oil dad drained from the tractor. Was still going when I left home !!

FollowupID: 593791

Reply By: Justin & Tracey (VIC) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 19:42

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 19:42
i drive a 4x4 man truck for a living spreading fertilizer we run duals on the rear in dryer months so we can carry our 8 tone payloads. i spread on sand quite a bit on ovals , golf courses and sandy soils they definitely do not go well on those surfaces much better when we run the big sand,mud tyres but our trucks run the tyre inflation systems so we can let tyre pressures down when we want and this helps immensely. in my opinion i wouldn't run duals for sand if u can get a single that still caries the weight u want go with that. and don't bother with diff locks for sand u will just dig yourself a bigger hole my truck has front and rear ones and i never use them on sand. hope this helps
justin
AnswerID: 326595

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:18

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:18
I don't know much about how good they are in the desert, as to say that they make it through sandy parts in Kakadu as tour buses, but those sandy bits are not the desert either.

I was looking at setting up a 4wd tour bus using the Canter, I was told to use the Issuzu instead apparently they are a better truck for many different reasons, I ended up with an OKA so I didn't research them much further perhaps you should have a look at that option.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 326631

Reply By: rapid80 - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 03:02

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 03:02
I drove Canter,Isuzu and Okas on tours through the sand dunes at Lancelin near Perth and found the dual wheeled Canters were surprisingly good. About 40psi in front and 25 at rear.1st gear high range is very short so they just lugged along but kept going.The front and rear wheels aren't in the same line but at 25psi the back are almost touching each other.We also had a Canter with super singles but they are taller so it was a tad harder to get it moving.The biggest problem is the suspension.Its too bumpy to maintain a decent speed and momentum. The Oka was good in that regard but a taller 1st gear and ceramic clutch was hard to get it moving in the soft stuff.Whichever you choose you still have to pick your path carefully cause when they are stuck its a lot of digging.
AnswerID: 326641

Reply By: samton - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:40

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 12:40
Thanks to everyione for the comments - Yeah I am the guy who orignally asked the questions. I didnt say more with the intiaiol question because I wanted some feedback on the duals, not the vehicle type. So why am I looking at a Canter.

we are looking for a veicle that can tow a van, go a bit off road (not towing the van) and provide us with a sleeping base when we donlt ahve the van in tow. If you know the Bungle Bungles - leave the van at Turkey creek, drive in and have a camp and a look for a dway or two. - That's the sort of thing we want.

I looked at twin cabs - tray not long enough to sleep on. So stretch It - load carry capacity not good enough to take what i want to take (4 people, their luggage, some spare fuel, water, food, tools and spares, boat on the roof rack and tow ball load). So I looked at cutting and stretching a cruiser/patrol - again load capacity probably suspect. A dual cab F250 would do it - but $$$. Then I saw a Canter - well that set me to wonder. hence my question.

Any 4wd I get has to be capacble of Fraser Island - hence the sand question. Apart from that, the major tracks like - Strezlecki, Oodnadatta, Tanami, PLenty Hwy, Docker River Road, Duncan Road, Cape York, maybe the Simspon one day.

To the suggestions of the "super single" modification - where do Ifound out more about that. Any idea of the $$$

AnswerID: 326689

Follow Up By: samton - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:58

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:58
An after thought. One of the things that made me look twice at the Canter was when I found out how much they weighed - about 2.7 t apparently. Thats not a lot heavier than the new 200 series are coming out apparently. You would not think it to look at the two vehicles though.
FollowupID: 594144

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:12

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:12
Been checking out crew cab 4wd Canters and drove one for a week up North Qld in some sandy areas (along the banks of the Herbert R), and they are great in 4 low down hills.

It did bog down with the front wheels making steering difficult when in very soft sand, however i hadnt played with the air pressures at all (they had no compressor/guages with us).

The biggest problem will be the vehicle length in tight bush, as it is a MR truck (though it can be downrated to run on a car license - to 4495kg GVM). The troopies were much easier to negotiate these tight areas than the Canter....something to consider.

FollowupID: 594147

Reply By: wallabyjack5 - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:03

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:03
If you would like to call me on 0417096742 can fill you in on the super singles.There are some traps so would be easeier to explain over the phone
Glyn
AnswerID: 326918

Reply By: Overseas One - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 00:50

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 00:50

I have had two canter´s (4wd motorhome) over the last 12 years. The first one I bought had the standard duels. In the first 3 months I had 3 punctures all in the rear and of course (sod´s law) the inside tyres. If you have ever changed rear duels on soft sand or gravel.................I´ll say no more. That was enough for me, I got rid of the duels, turned one of the rims around and put on singles. I personally found the singles slightly better off road and slightly worse on road (stability).

4 years ago I had motorhome built for me on a 4WD canter chasis and had Michelin Super Singles fitted from new.
The performance off road was even better than the normal singles on my previous canter as well as "on road" use. The only draw-backs, they are expensive, around $500 each and they tend to wear out quicker, my last set only lasted me around 45,000km (approx 65% off road use).

Taking everthing into account, my personal opinion is that the super singles are well worth the money!

Kind regards, Neil
AnswerID: 327192

Follow Up By: samton - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:19

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:19
Thanks for this one. I am happy to hear from someone who has used them for a simialr puprose to what I am thinking of.

If you look this post back up - do you mind answering two quesitons for me
1. where did you get your super single onversion done. So far I only have only heard of one place that does them - in WA, and I'm in QLD !
2. once you change to the singles - is it a done deal? or can you swap back and forth between the the duals and the singles ?
FollowupID: 594473

Follow Up By: Overseas One - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:44

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:44
Hi samton

The answers to your questions:

1. Unfortunatly, yes I had them fitted in Perth WA.

2. I had them (super singles) fitted from new and put the original single and duel tyres and rims in part exchange. But to answer your question, there is actually no pysical conversion done to the Canter, the original single and duel rims and tyres are simply taken off and the new (larger) rims and super singles fitted. The original fittings on the axil are left intact, so yes you can swap back and forth between the two!

Just remember if you do go for it, due to the larger tyres and rims the speedo is approx 12% out of sync, i.e if the speedo registers at 100km you are actually doing about 112km!!!!!!!

Oh yes I forget to mention before, one of the biggest advantages of the super singles and larger rims is that it increases the ground clearence quite considerably (approx 27cm).

If you have or can get hold of a back copy of the "Caravan & Motorhome" Issue 59, April 2004 they did a review of my motorhome (pages 49 to 55) with some good photo´s of the super singles and rims!

Kind regards, Neil
FollowupID: 594485