Landcruiser 100 AT Tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 18:45
ThreadID: 6192 Views:2354 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Hi Guys

Have just finished rotating my tyres and am not so happy (although I expected it) as my OE tyres (Grandtheft oops GrandTrek) with only 24,000 Ks have only about 10,000ks left in them. ( I am not hard on tyres)

I am going to opt for an AT replacement tyre on my around town rims and MTs on my trips rims.

Can anyone give me some idea what AT tyres they use and some idea of the Klms they have been getting.

Thanks in advance.

PT

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 20:04

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 20:04
gday paul.
im a tyre sales man/ fitter and yes we do sell cooper.
every day we see people coming in for tyre replacement.
we finding patrols with duellers getting between 22000 and 40000ks
grandtrek getting about the same.
the only reason im goint to recomend a 265/75/16 cooper s/t is you will only need one set of tyres no need to change when your going off road and although a little noisier on road(most people dont notice)they handle the black top very good.
my wife in our gq has had 2 people pull out in front of her 1 in the wet and the coopers stopped better than most car tyres we fit.
thats enough for me.also been of road a fair bit with them and done everything i could want.most important thing is tyre presures when going off road.
theres been a few complaints about the s/t ripping lugs of but any tyre will rip lugs off wheel spinning with 35psi upa rock face.so dont pay to much attention to complaints about that.we have sold 100s of s/t never seen a lug ripped .
but mind you this is only my opinion and im sure your going to get plenty more.new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
AnswerID: 26035

Follow Up By: donc - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 21:19

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 21:19
Diamond,

I'm interested in the Coopers when my BFG's are up for replacement, but there doesn't seem to be the size I'm running. Can you let me know if there is, currently running LT235/85R16 on 16x6 factory RX rims on a GQ Patrol.

Thanks Don C
FollowupID: 17690

Follow Up By: Member - Paul T- Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 08:54

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 08:54
Thanks Diamond

I will go and have a look at Coopers toady.

I will still stick with the second set of rims and will look at Cooper H/ts or A/Ts for eveyday use.

Thanks for your reply.

CheersPT
FollowupID: 17708

Follow Up By: Member - Paul T- Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 08:55

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 08:55
I meant today ( not toady)

Keyboards and my fingers do not mix well.
PT
FollowupID: 17709

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 10:36

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 10:36
gday donc.
cooper have h/t a/t and s/t in 235/85/16 to suit your patrol.
have a look at www.coopertires.com.au.new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
FollowupID: 17716

Follow Up By: Member - Ruben - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 18:49

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 18:49
Hi all,don't know a great deal about tires,but i can pass on some experience from friends that have bought cooper tyres,results?all 3 friends(experienced 4 wheelers) all complained about side wall ruptures on the cooper a/t's,one did not even make it to the dirt before 2 of his cooper's gave up the ghost with less than 500klm on the tyre(go figure)
FollowupID: 17874

Reply By: Hedonist - Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 22:37

Saturday, Jul 26, 2003 at 22:37
Paul,

I got about 45,000 ks from new on the Grandtreks on my 100 series - The worst wear was on the shoulders on the front tyres - I used the (new) spare + bought one more GT to replace the front tyres and have stretched the back ones to 65,000 ks now.

I also have a complete set of Coopers STs on a separate set of rims. Diamond's assessment of their grip is spot on - much better than the Grandtreks on the road, but not as capable in soft sand.

The STs are too noisy for my liking around town - I'm considering Coopers ATs or even HTs to replace the Grandtreks. Be interested to hear what you choose...

Pete
AnswerID: 26053

Follow Up By: Member - Paul T- Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 08:49

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 08:49
Pete

My grandteks are also wearing at the shoulder front end only, rear end wear is even (but bloody quick).

I took the 100 to a local (Newcastle NSW) truck alignment specialist and he tells me the 100 Series (an maybe others) are landed in OZ with the front aligned to suit Rt hand side driving, not left hand so the cambers are out of whack.

The left front on my vehicle was 1degree out from what it should have been to suite our conditions.

It has only just been realigned so too early to see what effect, but it feels better and seems to track better.

I think I saw a thread on this site re this issue a while ago.

I will have a look at the Coopers S/T and H/T and let you know how I go.

Definitely Coopers for the long trips on the second set of rims.

Cheers and thanks for your response.

PS do you know of anyone with black widow _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and Milford half height Cargo Barrier in a 100 series (GXL) as I would like to speak with them about the barrier.
PT
FollowupID: 17707

Follow Up By: Hedonist - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:26

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:26
p.s. - Sorry, No.
FollowupID: 17713

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 02:10

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 02:10
I haven't got a 100 series but a mate has...

He's got Cooper A/t's. Done 35,000km and not half worn.

The Coopers seem to be a good honest reliable tyre from what I see and hear.

I have the OE Bridgestones on my GU and wouldn't spit on them as far as longevity goes (30,000k's and they'll be stuffed) although no punctures, to be fair.
AnswerID: 26064

Follow Up By: Member - Paul T- Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:00

Sunday, Jul 27, 2003 at 09:00

I was thinking about BFGs but from what I've read on the various threads re this issue it looks like the current batch of BFGs are not worth the money.

Haven't heard much re Bridgestones but from what you say probably good to steer way from.

Yep: I think the Copers might be the way to go.

Thanks for your reply.PT
FollowupID: 17710

Reply By: Avro(Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 18:28

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 18:28
Gents

I dont know how you manage to wear out the Grand Treks so quickly. I got 65000 out of the first set I had on a 100 series, and now have 50,000 on a set on my second 100 series and look like they will go another 15,000. The main problem I find is that they dont wear out quick enough so that I can get something with an AT type tread. Both vehicles have been leased so they wont replace the tires until they are worn out.

Most of my K's are country runs so perhaps that has something to do with it, but I dont spare the gas (ave 20 litres per 100 petrol auto).

The grand treks are a great road tire, and do alright offroad as long as its not wet. Very quickly struggle with wet conditions tho, not that we have had too much of that of late (central Vic)

Regards Avro
AnswerID: 26175

Reply By: JimB - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 08:13

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 08:13
G'day Paul,

I have a 100 series diesel, ARB suspension etc. I put 285/75 BFG A/t's on it in June 2000, went and did 13,500 k's through the Strezlecki, Gibson, Great Sandy, Tanami and top of Simpson desert from Sydney to Broome/ Pilbara and back to Sydney. 'bout 8,000 of that was dirt. Then Cape York last year. Have now done over 70,000 k's and reckon I would have about another 10,000 left on the rear tyres (maybe 20,00 on the front). Do a lot of 4WDing weekends etc, towing a heaslip camper and am really happy with the tyres. I had 2 punctures on the desert trip in WA, spinifex through the sidewall and just plugged them straight away. Drove back to Sydney with the plugs in with no troubles (I just plod along). That tyre's been repaired and is now the spare.

Good tyre and a great vehicle mate.

Jim
AnswerID: 26224

Reply By: Member - Brad - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 21:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 21:19
Hello Readers,
I have a 100series with GrandTreks. I have done 53000kms and they would be lucky to be half worn. I always check the tyre pressures and run them at 32psi.
I had the suspension upgraded with rancho 9000 adjustable shocks with king springs. I must say that once i had the changes done i then drove from Perth to Ningaloo station and back. Once home i noticed the shoulders on the front tyres had started to wear. I had the 'Toe' checked and adjusted. I then drove from Perth to Broome, went up and back the Gibb River road twice, then had the toe checked in Broome, which they said was within spec so i swapped the fronts for the backs and drove back to Perth, with no sign of wear. I have probably done 5000kms on dirt and the rest on bituman, and have not had a flat tyre (touch wood)
Safe driving to all
Brad
AnswerID: 26388