Why do you go to the outback?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:08
ThreadID: 61973 Views:4104 Replies:22 FollowUps:4
G’day all, just wondering why such a lot of people enjoy going to the outback for their holidays.
There are lots of attractions and scenery along the coast, but so many people can’t wait to head to the outback.
I think it’s just such a relaxing time in the outback where there isn’t any traffic congestion, the clock doesn’t exist, the scenery has many subtle changes and there is a chance to get some spectacular photos.
And sitting around a campfire swapping yarns and cooking some tucker, characters you meet, learning the history of the places you visit while trying to picture life in the pioneering days.
Trouble is, there is so much outback to see and enjoy.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:33

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2008 at 23:33
G'day Dave, I go for the same reasons that you state and few people, no fences and sometimes a bit of a challange as well.
Each trip is just a recce for the next one LOL
AnswerID: 326846

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 00:51

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 00:51
Dave,

The remoteness, the silence, the countryside and the things in it, the opportunity to travel across country that possibly no one else has travelled before (non-indigenous that is), the privilege of travelling that country and finding amazing things from rock holes to pinnacles, a perfect sunset every night, the evening fire and a braised steak and onion jaffle for breakfast! It's always a cathartic experience.

Mick

AnswerID: 326855

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:02

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:02
For the contrast to regular life.

For the adventure.

To follow the explorers' routes & marvel at the pioneers' guts, skills & determination.

For the chance to understand where our identity has come from.

For the opportunity to appreciate an outdoor life.

To share with others the delights of such a life/trip.

As others have said, & will likely say, for the visual splendours.

The planning & research of a trip leads to a deeper understanding & awareness of the environment - natural & man made - as you travel along.

But mostly because it's such fun, such a fantastic experience.

AnswerID: 326863

Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:28

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:28
Rick, that's one aspect that really gets me interested in travelling to the outback -- the planning and research.

When doing a bit of research, you come across all manner of interesting things.
Maybe unique plants in an area,or an old hut built half underground to combat the heat, or fascinating rock art.
Lots of things that people do for necessity because they are in a remote area away from the normal services, and they have to improvise.
I have forgotten who has the rig pick of the repair on the suspension with a piece of Mulga.
This is the sort of thing that I like coming across unexpectedly.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 594004

Reply By: Member- Tony C - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:04

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 07:04
Dave,
To visit places that where significant enough for for our pioneers and explorers to leave evidence of their stay by such things as a blazed tree or leaving their mark on a rock is special to me.To get to these places especially after reading the history and reflecting on their experiances is very rewarding.
The peace, solitude,beautiful ever changing landscape,the varying flora and fauna,campfire cooking and challange of getting there are all things i love about outback travel.
Tony
AnswerID: 326864

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:22

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 08:22

The same question applies to the desert!

Q. Why do people go to the desert?

A. Because of the sandwiches there!!!

Hahahahahahahahahaha...............

AnswerID: 326871

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:15

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:15
Our main reason is because of the challenge.

This means getting the vehicle and all the extra's including people
up to scratch.

As a result we tend to look for harder tracks and shy away from parks etc that are to organized.

This carries over to the events and gatherings we might attend , if its a talk feast or game playing we don't take a lot of interest but if it means driving a new track well .....

AnswerID: 326879

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:25

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:25
Why go to the outback, well let's see.

No stressful drive like the Pacific Hwy

More oppostunities to free camp.

No overpriced caravan parks that remind you of a theme park.

Your not packed in like sardines.

The people are friendlier as they haven't become jadded by the hundreds of short stayers that decend on their peaceful seaside town every holidays upsetting their retirement dream.

And all the other reasons in previous messages.

The only coastline that allows you the same space, serenity and freedom is the West Coast.
AnswerID: 326880

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:26

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:26
Dave, I was driving back from Melbourne one evening last week and a fellow who was a passenger asked me "what is out there?"

He was sitting over sand, rail spikes from the Old Ghan line, twigs from plants we wanted to identify, stones we had picked up. I thought it may have been obvious.

There are so many places around Australia that are of interest, through their natural beauty or the history they contain.Lawn Hill, where we haven't been to Lark Quarry which is mind blowing in the information that was discovered there, to the latest under-sea reef discovery in the Flinders.

While others have said that there is a scarecity of people, the people you actually associate with can leave a lot of issues aside. I enjoy the company of a lot of the people we have met with EO but also the Kimberley Karavan Owners Group -- KKOG.

The last lot of travel we did across Queensland and NT to Gemtree was the most fun filled in a long time. The company was absolutely first class. Four Karavans in convoy, so much fun that participants didn't want it to end. We did of course have more fun after with Gemtree and travelling with our friends afterwards til we split up at Chambers Pillar. Lovely people. Phone calls to all since x several times.

Jim & Sandy, Garth, Michael & Debra, then Ian and Kay for travelling after too for some of the time. In KKamp Pete and Krys, Barry & Heather, Trevor & Jan, Colin & Ann, David & Lyn, Frank & Robyn, Mike & Joan, Martin & Val and last but by no means least, Steve & Jenny. IT was like an EO event but there was another interest.

There were so many friends though that we need to consider and catch up with in so many places around Australia, that we have to keep travelling to keep seeing them. A place like Sydney will take ages to drive through and see everyone. A place like the Gold Coast too, now has other committments to friends - several of them.

Just like times in your BH Dave, we will have to take more time travelling and stopping.
AnswerID: 326881

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:31

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:31
Because the mobile phone doesn't work..............
AnswerID: 326882

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:17

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:17
I don't know what the attraction is. But I do wish they'd stay at home :))))))
AnswerID: 326913

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:05

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:05
Hahahaha, Ya beat me to it.
Yeah all the peace and quite, and open spaces disapper when they turn up!

FollowupID: 594045

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:14

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:14
I guess I was being selfish. Tourism is big bikkies in terms of outback towns and settlements. Tour operators are another big ticket item.
But yep, I liked the outback when it wasn't just "out the back".
Grumpy old bugger that I am :))
FollowupID: 594049

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:22

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:22
Coast, Great Dividing Range, Outback. Love the lot. Each has its own special allure. Australia's such a diverse and wonderful place.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 326921

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:26

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:26
We dont,....We go to the coast.
AnswerID: 326922

Reply By: Member - Redfive - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:10

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:10
Hi Dave

The reason i go the into "The Outback" is

cause i can lol

Glenn
AnswerID: 326974

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:46

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 18:46
For me "The Outback" is many places from the Victorian High Country to the deserts to the NT tropical zone.

Why do I go there?

For the sunrise when it’s as if this were the first day of life on earth.

For the cold, crisp mornings when one could hear a pin drop 100 miles distant.

For the evenings when the forest is bedding down to sleep and every creature, it seems, is making their last call of the day.

For the nights when the sky shows a thousand million stars and they are so close I can almost touch them.

But, most of all, for the peace I find in my soul when I’m out there.

AnswerID: 326977

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:49
Well said Mike

Kerry W
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

FollowupID: 594160

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:02

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:02
As has been said. Love the red dirt.
Leaving for Bourke tomorrow and ultimately Pt Augusta and return. :)
AnswerID: 326978

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:32

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:32
All the above dude,Mike you hit it on the head it's just a pleasure that we can go out there and enjoy it,cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 326984

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:06

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:06
One of the only things a Nissan and Cruiser owner can enjoy and not disagree with is the love for the awesome experience we get from the bush. Sitting around the camp fire is unreal. I get itchy feet when a 4x4 goes past loaded with swags and a orange triangle hanging off the tall aerial we know that means they are heading toward the Simpson.
AnswerID: 326992

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:29

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 20:29
dont pictures tell the stories?Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 326997

Reply By: x - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 22:12

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 22:12
Image Could Not Be FoundI dunno. Must be crazy.
AnswerID: 327014

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 22:26

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 22:26
The bigger question is WHY NOT.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 327016

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:57

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 10:57
For the lack of fences holding most of us back when we live and work in the big smoke. For the lack of people, for the company of "nice" people when there is any. The clear night skies with trillions of shiny things we don't get to see in the big smoke (have to find out what they are on one of these trips I reckon). To appreciate and get an understanding of life in a region very different to our home region. For the uncertainty of what is about to come around the next corner or what you might see. 2 travelers can see very different things in the same place with only weeks between each others visit.

AND FOR THE BEST DAMN TAX DEDUCTION AVAILABLE TO ME!!!!! (so I must go out there to work.........honest I do hehehe)

Cape York was another good business trip but the red dirt country does call very loudly to me.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 327064

Reply By: Member - Damien L (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 16:05

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 16:05
Dave,
I love the bush, like all others here. Two months ago I went up to Maytown,(for the sixth time) and for the 4 days I was there I did not see another car or person, That was great.
I usualy go with a mate but this time I had 5 days off so I decided to go on my own to relax. I go there often because of the history of the area. This time I went around and took movies of the machinery that is still there. I took it in away that I could explain to others how the Batteries etc worked.
Outside the cities you just can't beat the rest of Australia, doesn't matter where in Au you are.
Love the bush

AnswerID: 327113