Taxi Drivers

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:13
ThreadID: 61976 Views:2436 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
I saw on the news last night of another taxi driver being beaten up!!!!!!!
This is not an isolated incident and will continue until purpose built vehicles are used as taxis as in London and New York.
I am not too certain about New York but I London the taxi driver is isolated from the passengers and the driver has the ability to lock the passengers in the taxi if trouble occurs. This also discourages fair evaders if they think that they will be driven to the nearest police station.
It is about time that the taxi control board upgraded the standard of vehicle used as taxis to give the drivers and passengers greater protection.
I live in a country area where we do not have a bus service but I did have cause to travel on one of Transperth's vehicles and was shocked to see that the driver was enclosed in a cage.

Reply By: donks1 - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:58

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 09:58
Hi Ray

Not sure where you live but here in Syd, the taxi council and RTA introduced measures to stop attacks against drivers...,. The drivers fought the plan and eventually the security screens were removed. If they don't want to help themselves, what more can be done ???

Donks
AnswerID: 326888

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:14

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:14
Needs zero tolerance .... about every thing. all they get is a good behaviour bond or community service, The pi$$ weak judges need a good swift kick in the ass.
Cairns is a classic example , the city has little mongrels (kids) roaming the streets all night bashing, robbing, and causing damage to people and property.

AnswerID: 326894

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:22

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:22
Doug, I totally agree with you.
Somebody has to be made an example of.
I really don't give a rats who it is or how old they are, what colour they are or what religion they are. A line has to be drawn in the sand, and If you cross it, well Sunshine this is what you get. No ifs, no buts. Cause the rest of us do the right thing are feed up with your behavior.
Fysh & myself drove cabs in a small NSW country town for a few years. We had a great re pour with our customers Both black and white. They knew if they crossed that line there were consequences.
Not once in those years did we have an incident were we needed to call the police.
A chill goes up my spine every time I hear of a Cabbie being murdered or attacked.
Someone going about their job is murdered for a few bucks, well that piece of crap needs to rot in a cell for a very long time.
I could go on about this for a very long time, so I stop right now.
FollowupID: 594026

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:32

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:32
The zero tolerance for everything should also extend to speeding. Anyone cought driving over the speed limit should lose their licence for life.
FollowupID: 594028

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:58

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:58
robak,
"Anyone caught driving over the speed limit should lose their licence for life. "

Yeah... and failing to indicate results in having your balls cut off!

There is a thing called an accident.........
And assult isnt one of them.
FollowupID: 594043

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:03

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 13:03
... but what do you do with women who don't indicate?
FollowupID: 594044

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 19:59
Hi there,
'INDICATE' what the hell is that here in Tasmania. If you want to see a state that has no idea of what the little flashing lights are for come to Tassie. The only thing that is still perfect in Tassie cars are the indicators, never used. Got passed by a cop tonight, no indicators at all AND crossed a solid white line to boot. No flashing police lights and didn't take off chasing anything after he passed.
Having driven all around the world, using indicators is one thing deeply entrenched into my driving habits. Even some of my work colleagues wonder why I indicate all the time. They consider it an option.

OK I've calmed down and got off the soapbox. Time for a relapse and an ale.

FollowupID: 594166

Reply By: Alan H - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:22

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:22
Hi Ray.
I agree they need much better protection and it's not just at night they need it.
I owned and drove a cab in Perth for years before giving up 14 years ago and the behaviour of some of those daytime riders leaves a lot to be desired as well.
Forget the local rags rhetoric about those warm hearted West Australians, when they've got to pay out to yet another person and he's on his own, they very brave, even some Mums who've been shopping and want the driver to put it in the fridge for them, can get very abusive when he won't!
I won't mention the behaviour of their rotten spoilt kids.
Bus drivers also need that protection (I've driven buses as well) as some of the scum around don't need booze to make them brave, as they are probably not in a secure asylum only because of the lack of places.
Afternoon/evening shift buses always had driver protection and they need it often.
I've been spat at, had rocks thrown at me and the protective shield has saved me from wild swings from agitated loonies who quite often have been the holders of Health Care Cards or other Welfare Benefit Cards but who certainly haven't looked sick or hard done by to me.
And strangely enough they all seem to smoke, drink and have mobile phones.
Just dare to point out that their card is out of date, or the ticket they bought a month ago can't be used, but before you do make sure the shield is in place!
What it's like to be an African or Asian driver I can't bear to think about, but in saying that I know taxi users get very upset by the sight of yet another obvious foreigner who quite often can't speak the language, doesn't know the area and whose driving is frightening sometimes to say the least.
Thank dawg I no longer deal with the taxi or bus riding public.
Alan.

AnswerID: 326897

Follow Up By: a convict - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:17

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 11:17
ALL of the above would has to be true, ..& plus some!!

I can't beat '14 years' behind the wheel, but, I did a stint of 14 months on the streets of Sydney, .. at night. Funny thing, though, I actually enjoyed the job, mainly because I drove 'freestyle' and tried to humour the 'guests' from the moment they got in.

What many passengers NEVER realize , 'I've' got both the 'BRAKE' and the 'Accelerator' pedals, plus the 'steering wheel'. If they do not have theirs seat belts on, they've only got the windshield.

The screen directly behind the driver is the most important bit of kit.

FollowupID: 594025

Follow Up By: Ray - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:13

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:13
Hi I have not seen a screen behind the driver in taxis in Perth??? I may be wrong????
I don't know if it applies now but taxi drivers were supposed to wear a jacket & tie????????
FollowupID: 594035

Follow Up By: Alan H - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:18

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:18
"The screen directly behind the driver is the most important bit of kit".
Very important bit of kit alright Convict, I used to ask single riders to sit with me rather than behind me after a bloke tried to get me from behind one night.
I too enjoyed the job for years and mostly always drove at night as I considered bleep pots, prostitutes and poofters less harmful than Mums with shopping trolleys and kids in tow!
The thugs at night could mostly be avoided as I reckoned if you didn't let them in, you didn't have to get them out.
But gradually I lost my sense of humour and enthusiasm for the job and eventually sold out as there are far easier less dangerous ways of making a living.
Alan.

FollowupID: 594036

Reply By: pjd - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:43

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:43
not only do they need a protective screen [most in melbourne]
need to speak english [or australian] no where they are going
have clean clothes, wash them selfs & be polite to there
employee me who is paying there wage
AnswerID: 326899

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:51

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 10:51
...and don't forget good spelling and grammar ;))

FollowupID: 594021

Follow Up By: pjd - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:52

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:52
if u meen me soryy knot mutch luk
FollowupID: 594040

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:14

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:14
One of the more disgusting trends in community violence has been in the number of serious assaults on medical personnel. Visit any emergency department of any public hospital and you'll see what I mean.
Apart from mental and drug cases, some parts of our society seems to have undergone a radical transformation. Some people seem to think that it's their RIGHT to assault those who are there to help them, whether it's the doctor, policeman, teacher,taxi or bus driver, or just an innocent bystander. A few drinks, and who cares, the Law won't do much.
Try and defend yourself against a home invasion and see whose side the law is on.
Legalized theft by the corporate giants is fine, but try forgetting to pay for your fuel (or breakfast...how did that guy go I wonder?)
Crazy.

AnswerID: 326912

Follow Up By: Alan H - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:35

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 12:35
The softly softly approach and grand talk of rehabilitating crims by the social do gooders in society now has done it.
But our pollies won't listen to what the voters are saying as to "lock 'em up and chuck away the key" wouldn't look good to the rest of the world or the UN!
Alan.
FollowupID: 594038

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 03:14

Thursday, Sep 25, 2008 at 03:14
Footy,
I could not believe over here, Fireys and Ambos attending call-outs are often subject to being attacked. Fireys especially.
Hope Australia doesn't follow the same trend.

FollowupID: 594194

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:13

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2008 at 14:13
it sucks that people out there ruin the lives of taxi drivers but maybe there will be no end to the violence that is caused.

9yrs ago (almost to the day) a local was killed and then burned in his taxi (and a family friend too) all because the guy didnt want to pay his bill

maybe they should do a prepay and set payment thing....but that would have to have the car set up with a digital map with kms etc (which isnt hard these days really)
AnswerID: 326930

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 07:15

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 07:15
Err,in SA it is the other way around! Taxi drivers attacking their customers. I wouldn't want to put my daughter in one! If i had one that is.LOL
We try to avoid catching them as the driving is SOOO BAD, i would be safer driving bleep .
We have had it all, no english,stink,rude, fell asleep at the wheel TWICE, driving at 100km/hr in a 60k zone in the pooring rain etc etc!
We try to catch buses now.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 327348