donk
We are leaving
Ceduna on monday & wonder if anyone has and thoughts on
places to stop along the way
Have settled on a couple of nights at Nullabor Roadhouse (what are peoples thoughts on this ) to spend some time at the Head of Bight but no firm plans otherwise
We are going to have a look at Penong/
Cactus Beach area before we leave
Ceduna with the van (time to kill)
Also we have a 23 foot on road van so any space/access problems at the lookouts/attractions along the way
Also looking at the brochure the road to & from
Fowlers Bay from the highway looks to be dirt ?
Has anyone recently been on this & what sort of condition is it in & is
Fowlers Bay worth a look at
Any recomended
free camping areas along the way would be appreciated as
well
All replys would be appreciated
Regards Don
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:48
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 07:48
There are lots of "bush" camps along the way and the
lookout areas are no problem for a van.
It would be easy to find a
camp other than Nullabor Roadhouse.
When we went through there about 18 months ago, the actual head of the bight was not on as the locals had restricted access.(
locked gate)
Not sure if this is still the case.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:05
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:05
When we went past last week it was locked but that was about 4.30pm so thought that it may be time of day, we were going to go in there to see the whales but of course couldn't.
D
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:34
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:34
If you're looking to kill time around
Ceduna, then head west to Davenport
Creek (only about 40k from memory). Short drive along
the beach, then up over a bit of a dune, to reveal a magical spot.
Nullabor Roadhouse is just a roadhouse/motel/
park. Head of the Bight will only take a few hours, and the whales are becoming less common by now. To make it intereesting, head 10k north to Murrawinjie Caves for a bit of a look. And if you've got some navigation, then follow one of the many unsignposted tracks west towards Kudna Rockhole and
Knowles Cave. You'll need the Auslig 250k maps, but maybe the people at Nullabor will help guide you around.
I travelled on the
Fowlers Bay road 2 weeks ago, and yes its mostly dirt, but in excellent condition.
Fowlers bay is a pretty spot with a lot of history. Its what you make of it. Theres a small pokey caravan
park but a good jetty and a
shop and you might see some whales.
Free Camps - we usually stop at the roadside stop about 2km west of the
Fowlers Bay turnoff - can get
well off the road there. Further west there's plenty of reasonable roadside stops. I recollect the roadside stop that is 27k east of Madura as being pretty good.
Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:41
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 08:41
Head of the Bight is an absolute must at this time of year, when the whales in very close. Many
places to pull off the road for the night, including some excellent "formal" free ones like this one -
Enjoy!
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 09:48
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 09:48
Gday John,
October is the end of the season. We've been there twice in October and barely seen a whale. Other times we've visited have been June/July/August and there have been heaps. But its such a great picturesque spot that even with no whales, its a great place to visit. And its open all year round.
And we like your "formal" camps! Its a pity that most of them are filling up with trash and
toilet paper. One spot we cleaned up last year, and burnt all the rubbish - used the same spot this year and it was full of rubbish again. Only solution I see if for travellers to cart out other people's rubbish.
Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 09:47
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 09:47
Hi. I'd also consider the
Eyre Bird Observatory for a great experience. You would have to leave the van at Cocklebiddy. See
Eyre Bird Observatory The current caretakers, John & Beverly, are wonderful hosts.
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 10:55
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 10:55
Don
We did it the other way and took 3 weeks (had to hurry due to
water supply) with a similar size van. We just stopped at every spot.
There are some wonderful natural
water holes.
You can find a free map on all the rest areas.
Neil
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:01
Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 18:01
Of all of them we liked the Fraser sheep farm the best,beautiful little spot good friendly people, and the Nullabor Roadhouse was (for us) the worst with bad service and a bad attitude to boot,
hope this helps, BTW, this was 3 years ago,
regards,