I hope this post is of interest to you

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 21:56
ThreadID: 62164 Views:3742 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
I've given a bit of thought to this before posting, but decided to do it.

For a number of years I've been interested in our history, and this has inevitably led to more questions than answers.

Leading on from that, I read numerous books historical documents and travelled the country to get a sense of my own upbringing in the bush (particularly the during the 50's).

This inevitably led to the historic treatment of Aboriginals, and later to the reported massacres during the period leading up to 1929 in the bush.

To name a few, these included:

1.Myall creek
2.Waterloo creek
3.Coniston
4.Gunai
5.Forrest Creek
6.Wiradjuri
7.Burrow Creek

The extent of it staggered me. However, after giving some thought to modern historical reporting I started to think.

This led to another journey, which questions the veracity of academic integrity.

What came out of that was a considerable distrust of the so called merchants of history.

I have no doubt these atrocities occurred on both sides in one form or the another, but I would now question the reported accuracy of our history.

I hope this encourages you to take a bit of interest in our bush history, and take a balanced view when reading historical reports.

Kim

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:42

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:42
Hear hear!

There's always another side to the story, but unfortunately often the only records that exist are from one perspective, or worse, one source. And history being just that, events in the past, it's kinda hard to get a view from a differing perspective. Dead people don't publish much......!

One of the duties, IMHO, of those interested in history is to prevent myth from being being regarded as fact. But what if we have, as Kim alludes to, only 'the reported accuracy of our history'. In other words, an attempt at establishing or defending the truth may in reality be an exercise in establishing/defending a distorted accuracy?

Case in point - I recently had second hand of evidence of aboriginal skeletal remains in a place not so remote that many of us will have never heard of its inland location - a region in Kim's alleged massacre list. But is that second hand report a fact ? What responsibilities do people with these sort of perspectives have?

Having been in the past a stickler for accuracy, I now accept the role of historical novels - perhaps they are not so far from the real deal?

Anyhow, food for thought, eh?

AnswerID: 327881

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:59

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 22:59
G'day Kim,

Yes, history is certainly an interesting topic. However, history is inevitably always written by the victors in lieu of the vanquished and will always be embellished to put the writers in good light.

I have studied world history many years ago and can only come to the conclusion that the British Empire for one was built on cruelty and death. Whilst atrocities occured on both sides (Aborigines and British settlers) you don't need to second guess who came out in front on the killing stakes. Good thing they didn't have the human rights tribunal around in the early 1800's yeah.

Nevertheless, history serves one main purpose today........don't repeat the mistakes of the past. Hopefully we can all strive to live together regardless of colour or creed in this country and not experience the events that have ocurred in other overseas countries.

AnswerID: 327882

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:01

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:01
Gday Kim,

There is one thing for sure!
We can change the future,.........But never the past.

If we are going to talk about blackfellas we need to look forward, not backwards.

Hairy
AnswerID: 327883

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:24

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:24
Gidday Hairy

Good reply. However the past needs to be considered, valued and used to understand where our future will be in all manner of things. Your right, the past can't be changed, but the lessons learnt are important.

Kim
FollowupID: 595208

Follow Up By: al - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 11:21

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 11:21
hi haiiry
the problem with our black brother is he keeps looking to the past.
that will not help them in todays world most people not interested in what happened yesterday let alone 200 years ago. I have worked with a lot of aboriginals over the years and all but one still blames the coming of the white man for all their problems. the odd one said sh#t happens and gets on with life.
have a nice day
al
FollowupID: 595237

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 19:50

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 19:50
Gday al,

"all but one still blames the coming of the white man for all their problems"

Geez...thats not good odds mate.
Ive seen a few more than one, but I know what you mean.
FollowupID: 595328

Reply By: Kroozer - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:42

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:42
I agree that you have to look forward, but looking back at the same time to make sure none of it happens again. We all know that our history isnt pretty, but at the same time its not as bad as what other countries are doing to this day. Thats no excuse though, we want to move forward in order to make Australia an even better place to live for future generations. I havent read any of these books, but have been told many stories from people who were around other places and experienced similar events.

All i know is that i hope Australia never repeats its past.
AnswerID: 327891

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 00:19

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 00:19
G'Day Kim, I'm surprised that it's taken you so long to come to that conclusion.
But there is one word missing, and that word is "context."
Have you ever tried tio nail down a historical "fact"? Slippery little buggers you know. The reports are written in the all the contexts (ie social, economic etc.. ) of the time.
I'm pretty sure that if I were asked to write the history of a politicians legacies, it might be accurate to some, but not to others. What I see as a self evident truth, you might see as a load of bull.
I can remember interviewing two men from the same platoon that fought in the same battle. Put the two remembrances together and you'd swear that neither of them were anywhere near what happened. And yet they both had medals from that particular action.
It can become even more murky if you look at our indigenous people's history which was largely passed by word of mouth. One story about the killing of some white people was claimed by many groups as their own. AFAIK. (Reported during the search for Leichart around the Lake Eyre north region, and as far as Qld...can't quote the book at the moment sorry).
I doubt if historians mean to lie, but it can all be a bit confusing especially if you're unaware of all the competing factors within the job. A good history student will attempt to distil or "tease out" what might have actually happened. The problem is when they then turn around and write the definitive book on the subject.
And so it goes on.
Who was it that said that history is bunk ?
AnswerID: 327893

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 18:38

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 18:38
Gidday Footy

There’s no doubt about what you say.

It’s also interesting to read the peer reviews of many publications that are deemed to be a ‘definitive work’.

I’ve come to the conclusion that caution should be exercised in forming a personal opinion as to true detail of historical events. The following is a case in point:

http://www.sydneyline.com/Massacres%20Part%20One.htm

Kim
FollowupID: 595313

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 19:21

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 19:21
Yep. Did you see the historical context of the authors viewpoints ?
!967, Editor of Honi Soi ? Blasted leftist ratbag !!
But an interesting perspective, some of which seems to press some buttons here :)))
FollowupID: 595320

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 04:41

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 04:41
Good post, Kim.
Who knows the story behind the mound next to the old Dederang Homestead? (Left hand side heading towards Mt Beauty)
How did 'Poisoned Waterholes Creek' just out of Narrandera get it's name?
Sadly we know more about American history than our own.
Why doesn't Ernest Giles mention any encounters with Aborigines,
yet he travelled into the Petermann Ranges where the locals were known to be very fierce? Still are, if you cross them, no joke!
Same with Lasseter, Iddriess and the bloke that found Lasseter's grave, all compelling and eye opening accounts of what life was like back then. Shame all my books are back home.
We do need to move on but the minute we forget to look back....

AnswerID: 327896

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 22:22

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 22:22
Dennis,

"Why doesn't Ernest Giles mention any encounters with Aborigines"

Unless we know two different EGs there are plenty of references to encounters in Giles' documents. Have I misunderstood your meaning in the above?

FollowupID: 595356

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 03:03

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 03:03
Sorry Al,
Meant to put in hostile.

FollowupID: 595367

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:48

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 08:48
Ullaring?

FollowupID: 595378

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 17:37

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 17:37
Dennis,

Giles had quite a few 'hostile' encounters with Aborigines. I am just reading 'Australia Twice Traversed' and there are several incidents at Musgrave Range, Fort Mueller, Sladen Water, Furthest East and Ularring.

FollowupID: 595461

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 17:39

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 17:39
Dennis,

All that haggis and cold weather must be affecting your memory :)))

FollowupID: 595462

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 17:53

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 17:53
Bugger, must have been thinking of someone else, sorry bout that.

About the cold weather, snow is forecast for the Highlands today.
Got caught in heavy rain and sleet coming home last night.

FollowupID: 595463

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:04

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:04
You're fine mate. I've found haggis goes well as a dip with Jatz. Upsets the kilt wearers though. They get rather huffy about it hahahahaha

FollowupID: 595466

Reply By: Dusty & Bumpy - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:19

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:19
Good post.

But beware of judging history by todays societies values - the future will most likely judge us as barbaric!

History is written by historians. Best to read journals and put your mind in the place and time.

Regards, David
AnswerID: 327903

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:53

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:53
History is generally written by the victors and that history is going to reflect the glorious achievements of the victors, not recount events that actually took place.

Toolman
AnswerID: 327906

Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 10:07

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 10:07
"poisoned waterholes?"
Maybe because some European found dead fish all over the place. I was just in NT and the locals explained how its done. Do not assume that it is the result of some European aggression.

For every massacre, there was also a lot of benevolence. Go to Braidwood and have a read of the local governor's diary. The aboriginals showed the Macquarie pass to the Europeans , and the governor's log notes how extra blankets were issued to aboriginals because it was a cold winter. Also there was some discussion on the efficiency of aboriginal workers. This was in the 1820-30s.

The incidences of good relationships between whites and aboriginals are generally not publicised .

I am afraid I got a little tired of hearing how the aboriginals lived in harmony with the land in Kakadu/Arnhem Land on my recent visit, and the whites knew nothing etc. There were only ever a few (<5000?)there!!! if they couldn't live off millions of ducks/geese/crocs/barra there would have been something wrong.
I received about 6 lectures on "skin names" and who could marry who. I asked "What about when they kidnapped women. did they just give them a convenient skin name?" No answer to that one.
Just remember it was not only Europeans that warred with aboriginals, they constantly fought each other.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 327918

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 10:24

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 10:24
Hi Kim,
I always maintain in any discussion or dispute there is more than one truth.

What person A said, what person B said and what really happened.

When your talking about tribes and lets face it both sides of this one are just tribes the number of "Truths" grow exponentially until what really happened is buried in the flood of stories.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 327921

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 11:39

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 11:39
Hi Kim,

Thanks for your post and thanks to to previous replies for thoughtful and varied responses no matter what your opinions are.

I too have tried to get to the truth about Aboriginal history from 'the beginning' up to the present (including the massacres and their context) and have found it difficult.

The most helpful book for me has been 'The Original Australians' by Josephine Flood, Allen & Unwin, 2006.

Flood is an prominent archaeologist and clearly has a respect for Aboriginal people but this has not prevented her from writing a balanced account, sometimes very surprising, and answering questions put to her from ordinary people who wanted to understand. The book is supported by copious notes and photographs which are testament to thorough research.

Some of the questions she tries to answer are:
: where did Aborigines came from,
: did they cause the extinction of the megafauna,
: was traditional life idyllic,
: why did Capt. Cook consider Australia to be ownerless,
: who introduced smallpox,
: was conflict or new disease was the main factor in Aboriginal depopulation,
: did the colonists attempted genocide,
: were Aboriginal children stolen and if so why and what are the results,
: what are the problems in modern Aboriginal communities, etc.

Getting to the truth about anything can be exhausting but it's worth the trouble to try and to keep asking questions even when you think you know the answers.
AnswerID: 327930

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 11:48

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 11:48
I'm reading a book of Floods at the moment, "Archaeology of the Dreamtime".

Great bedtime reading - very complicated though for the amatuer.

FollowupID: 595242

Follow Up By: Member - Min (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:36

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:36
Equinox,
I agree, 'Archaeology of the Dreamtime' is hard going but good as a reference book. 'The Original Australians' is very easy to read.
Min
FollowupID: 595347