Hilux or Navara

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:25
ThreadID: 62178 Views:4655 Replies:13 FollowUps:6
Some mates and I are wanting to 4wd through NT (Kakadu) and WA (Kimberley) next year during the dry season. We are in the hunt for a vehicle. Given the amount of gear we have to take, we have narrowed it down to a ute rather than a Cruiser or Patrol.
Our decision is whether to go with a Hilux or Navara. We have chosen these two due to the track record and reliability of Toyota and Nissan.

We have done as much research on the two vehicles but can someone please provide feedback - good or bad on which is the better vehicle to buy for our trip next year.

Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:33

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:33
You might want to be a bit more specific as you can buy a clapped out Hilux for $2,000 or a current TRD for $50k or so. Ditto with the Navarra's.

So what's your budget to get to the point and you talkin new or second hand? Petrol or diesel?

Me I'd always take a hilux but that's cause I'm on my 3rd toyota and my current vehicle is a hilux though I've never been through Kadadu or WA other than on a motorbike so don't feel qualified to answer you.
AnswerID: 327951

Follow Up By: Rodwan - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:41

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:41
Sorry mate, budget is circa $30k and looking for a turbo diesel. So i guess the options are a newish Navara or 06/07 Hilux.
FollowupID: 595267

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:42

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 14:42
Geez, too kind, no need to apologise, was just trying to short circuit you to the best advice.
FollowupID: 595269

Reply By: Kroozer - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 15:09

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 15:09
Both would do the job it probably comes down to which has the most room and ground clearance. Also what tyres it comes with is a big one, make sure its wearing decent tyres and some good suspension. What sort of places in the Kimberley are you looking at visiting? I myself would go for the Hilux as there very common up here, compared to Navara which you would hardly see out in the bush. Good tyres, good suspension, plenty of room and enough fuel range to get you at least 900kms would be what i would look for.
AnswerID: 327955

Follow Up By: Rodwan - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 16:03

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 16:03
We are heading to Gibb, Drysdale, Mitchell and Kununurra. The tyres and suspension haven't even been considered yet, we are still just looking for a vehicle first. Any suggestions or recommendations re tyres and suspension?
FollowupID: 595280

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 18:21

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 18:21
I would go the Hilux myself, i have lived in the Kimberleys my whole life and they are a great car to have up here. I personally own a Cruiser trayback though, bit tougher the the old Lux. But i would probably just narrow the decision down to a vehicle that has the best service history, lowest k's, and in top all round condition. Both vehicles are more then adequate for your trip, i would probably test drive both models and see which car feels the best to drive and which has the most space.

As for suspension and tyres, im a Bridgestone Dueler 693LT man but any tyre that is Light Truck construction will be fine as long as your pressures suit the road conditions. On the Gibb and other graded roads i have mine at 34psi all round, and drop them down to around 30psi for rocky country, but also your speed needs to suit aswell. As for suspension, i have Ironman and am very happy with it, very nice ride and cheaper then all the rest. But again any of the big brand 4wd suspension kits will make a big difference in the ride and handling of the car over standard. Try get one with a 2'' lift. Also consider that you might wanna take 2 spare tyres, or gear to repair a tyre if you have to. But if tyres are fairly new and you adjust pressures and speed to suit conditions then you could be right with one, but i always carry an extra. Though i have never had to use my 1st spare never mine the 2nd. It is a huge debate on here which tyre and suspension brand is the best so its really just personal favourites. For tyres my top 3 would be BF Goodrich A/T, Bridgestone Dueler A/T and Dick Cepek FC 11 i think they are. For suspension top 3 would be Old Man Emu, Tough Dog and because they are cheap and work well Ironman. Dont let the price fool you, i ahve done the Gibb twice this year and also the Cape Leveque road and various tracks in the East Kimberley and they have proved themselves over and over agian.
FollowupID: 595312

Follow Up By: Rodwan - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:18

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:18
Thanks Kroozer, much appreciated
FollowupID: 595343

Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 15:22

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 15:22
I'd be lookin at something like this:

2004 TOYOTA HILUX KZN165R MY04 SR5 WHITE 4dr Utility Manual 4cyl 3.0L ; 122,000kms

ECHUCA
VIC

$28,950
QUICK SALE-Reduced ,1 OWNER, 18mth 28,000km (Extended Toyota Factory Warranty-May 2010-Private buyers) Exc In &Out, CANOPY, TUB LINER, BULLBAR, D/ LIGHTS, IT'S GOT THE LOT.

It was on carsales.com.au

Tantalizing, but I've already got my lux.

Note I believe it was the 2004 hilux that went back to the 8" diff from the oft broken 7.5" diff brought in about '99 or thereabouts. I have the 7.5 dammit, but I've taken measures to look after it.
AnswerID: 327957

Reply By: snow - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 16:53

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 16:53
Hi Rod,

I had a 3 litre manual TD Nav dual cab which I was quite happy with performance and economy and largely happy with off road ability (for what I used it for) which was nothing as extreme as rock hopping or submersing into 3 feet of water but did involve bush tracks, the myriad of stream crossings, beach work & of course black top.

I wasn't particularly happy with the torsion bar suspension up front nor the extreme lack of back seat room. Mine was a pov pack model and the duco marked easily.

We have an 06 3 litre TD Hilux at work which I have driven around the Queensland scrub...my opinion was that it did not perform on-road as well as my Nav, and the clutch has given us ongoing problems...but that said, would go the Hilux without hesitation.

I bought a TD triton last year and was very happy with that both on and off-road.
AnswerID: 327966

Follow Up By: peter egan - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:08

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:08
Have just returned to Cairns from a trip to the Kimberly area and N.T. and MacDonnell Ranges in my Nissen Navara D22 diesel. No trouble on 4WD roads or highways. Gibb River road no problem. Diesel around $2 a litre over there. The Nav tended to chew the fuel up a bit over 100K's/p/h but on the roads in the N.T. (speed limit 130 k/p/h) hard to keep to 100k/p/h. I had fitted before I went - heavy duty torsion bars- heavy duty shocks and rear air springs which gave me an extra 3 inches of clearance. Also have Cooper ATR tyres on the Nav and though they were o k on the bitumen they were hopeless on the dirt with great chunks of rubber falling off the treads and cracking in between the treads. I used correct tyre pressure on the dirt; 32 psi.
FollowupID: 595849

Reply By: neilbis - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:54

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:54
One thing to note though is ive read in different 4by mags and also have mates with new navara's which have had issues with underbody protection or lack of resulting in cracked sumps or transfer cases. (this is easily fixed with after market guarding, but a point to note)

When we travelled the GRR (~july last year, 05 patrol and '00 lux) i was quite surprised with the good condition of the track. Appart from drysdale north to mitchell which was rougher the rest of the track was great. Only thing id change is id fit a snorkel next time. Both cars had stock suspension but we were only on a 2 week trip so packed relatively light
AnswerID: 328027

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 23:45

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 23:45
I have an 06 Nav. It is a very capable 4wd......... Unfortuanetly the chassis is cracked in 7 places, Radiator support is cracked, am on my 4th Bullbar and about to get a new one. They have all cracked. Had a new seat. Just had the gearbox overhauled, the layshaft bearing gone and the list goes on.
As I said it is very comfortable and is a good ute....... Is just not reliable.
Go the hilux mate.....
AnswerID: 328039

Reply By: young_codger - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 00:23

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 00:23
Hi matey

I did Kakadu and the Kimberley in a Hilux a couple of years ago with no worries, so get the Navara and let us know how you go with it.

AnswerID: 328044

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC)(MURRAY) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 07:45

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 07:45
I did a similar trip in 1965 with an old Holden .You don't need $30000.00 vehicles to do these trips, just a bit of nouse and care will suffice.Of course you must prepare for any problems.
Murray

AnswerID: 328064

Reply By: greg8049 - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 12:34

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 12:34
I am thinking about selling my 2002 rodeo d/cab 3l t/d with all the good fruit on it
canopy with roof rack, winch, l/range tank,e/rust protect,
c/4 t/bar,uhf, duel batt
If you r interested...$20k
menwel@tpg.com.au
AnswerID: 328116

Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 12:36

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 12:36
Agree with others that either vehicle will do but 'lux is the vehicle of choice for the locals.
As long as the vehicle is reliable, tyres become most import - need to be new or near new for the dirt up there.
If you're considering the nav, be aware the d22 has terrible rear seat room.
AnswerID: 328117

Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:16

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:16
Rodwan,

I have to agree with Extfilm. My father has the STR3.0 2004 and is a good car on road, efficent and powerful. Very light and not made for any long periods off road.
I have the D40 Navara and will not buy Nissan again. I have not had major problems 'yet' but they have a number of weak points. The clutch is good for a scooter but not a 2.8T car with 3T towing capacity. They are heavy on fuel and a number of people have had chasis problems (bending) beheind the cab.
In my oponion is they are not designed for Australian conditions.

BUY TOYOTA

Marco
AnswerID: 328156

Reply By: Rodwan - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 13:23

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 13:23
Thanks for all the replies, you have all confirmed what i was thinking i.e. the Hilux is the way to go, just wanted expert opinions.
Now just have to find myself one....
AnswerID: 328263

Reply By: regt1008 - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:10

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:10
My standard Navara (Snorkle and LR tank )has done the CSR twice Perth to Cape York Via GRR & Darwin and Plenty Hway Alice & Great Central on return 20,000km of dirt and 5600 on the Black stuf.
No trouble apart from a few flats and good on fuel 10km to the lt.
Navara is cheaper to buy and a good strong little 4wd.
Dont get the STX Made in Spain and too low to the ground.
Goes over CSR sandhill easy.
Goes through water up to the door handles.
Does not leak in dust.
No rattles.
No oil leaks
What more do you want.
What some people spend on Accessories for their L/C or Patrol you can buy a standard Navara that will do the job and do it well.
AnswerID: 328366