Potable Water

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:41
ThreadID: 62234 Views:3834 Replies:9 FollowUps:26
If travelling through a remote town, but not staying overnight, How would I go about getting my fresh potable water topped up?
Would I have to buy bottled water from the local shop, or would there be water on tap available somewhere in the town available to travellers?
Probably a pretty obvious answer to this question, but I don't know what it is.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:46

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:46
Naa... your right mate....
Most towns have delegated idiots who sit out of the front of their houses waiting for tourists who might need something.
AnswerID: 328212

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 03:14

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 03:14
Hi Hairy
That sounds pretty good to me. Just the thing I might need, and a chance to meet the locals.
A good ice breaker as well. "Hi! Got any water?" :o)
Not that I'd intend to run dry, but a Top Up might come in handy now and again.
FollowupID: 595519

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:57

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:57
Hairy

Just dropped me guts! Your've got a fancy way with words young fella....HaHahaHa

Kim
FollowupID: 595598

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:50

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:50
Gday Kim,
Just had the old Fart ( and Judith ) around for a couple.

Hairy
FollowupID: 595605

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 18:18

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 18:18
Gidday Hairy

Bloody old fart tourist

I suppose he wanted a top up as well.....?

Kim
FollowupID: 595685

Reply By: Mick (RSA) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:47

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:47
Just a thought, but have you considered getting a water purifier?
That way, you don't need to cart tons of water around with you (recommended 20l pp-pd), but rather purify what you find at your overnight places.
AnswerID: 328213

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 03:29

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 03:29
Hi Mick!
No, I hadn't considered that. I'll probably be travelling alone, and the extra cost, just for one might not be worth it. I'll be hiring a vehicle, or several, over a period of months and wouldn't want too much Top Hamper unless it was essential.
I went on a 4x4 trip, as a passenger a few months ago, and the leader topped up the water into jerry cans as we went. I don't know if he paid for it though, as it was usually done while we visited places and used amenities in the towns. William Creek and Coober Pedy are examples of this.
FollowupID: 595520

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 07:30

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 07:30
Dickyboy ,

I usually buy fuel and ask them if I can pay a few bucks for some drinking water . They usually oblige for free , or tell me it's not for drinking .

I have a Steripen for getting rid of harmful bacteria and also a water filter which I pump water through with my shower pump .

I must say though , that when I go into the desert , that I carry 3x25 litre water containers and don't shower unless it's the first of the month .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 328225

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 08:41

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 08:41
Remind me not to bump into you to say hello unless it is the 2nd of the month, or else stand upwind. :o)
FollowupID: 595531

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 14:32

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 14:32
Hi Grey Nomad
That's a good point, a place that sells fuel is hardly likely not to have some sort of water available is it? Even if it comes in the form of ice for the Esky? Eskie?
FollowupID: 595556

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 08:24

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 08:24
We always ask someone - it is true that while tasting and looking ok, water from some bores can be quite suss. We recently filled up at Karajini from a bore with a warning note re "boiling first" but a local nat park staff member told us he and his crew had been drinking it straight from the tank for years and it was fine. Local knowledge is the key. We don't expect remote dwellers to give us rainwater, but if their tanks are chokka, they sometimes do. And ..... we always fill up everything, when the water is good - you never know when the next decent supply will emerge. BTW - we use one of those cartridge type filter jugs too -and change the filter every month.
AnswerID: 328231

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 14:57

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 14:57
Hi Darian
I never realised that obtaining potable water could be such a risky affair. For a start, it appears that much of the water that is available might not be drinkable in the first instance anyway. Boiling twice sounds good, the second boiling for a cuppa of course :o)
It's hardly fair to ask people for water if they are short themselves is it, and I guess that a refusal might offend.
I wouldn't envisage ever being more than a couple of days from a town, but I reckon that even for that sort of timespan I'd need at least a weeks supply in case things went wrong, and a weeks supply of water might be hard to find. So frequent top ups would be essential. Having said that I wouldn't want to just go from place to place looking for the next supply of water. I'm sure there's more to see and do in the Outback than just look for water. :o)
FollowupID: 595557

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 08:45

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 08:45
A lot of places have a sign on the bore water, boil water before drinking. Cloncurry went that way last month.
So boil twice what you need and top up the drinking water container when the left overs get cooler.
When we have a fire, we keep a billy boiling and top up the drinking water with that.
We have a couple of containers for washing that doesn't get boiled.
AnswerID: 328234

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 15:09

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 15:09
So basically two sets of water containers then? One for un treated bore water and the like, and another set for boiled and drinkable water. Good idea to boil twice what you need as well. I guess that if you have a fire going it might as well be used to the maximum.
FollowupID: 595558

Reply By: wheeleybin - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 11:30

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 11:30
A year ago I got a solar still and get my drinking water from it .
Ive put Bore water,dam water,sea water and towns water through it and it all comes out pure.
Its like a solar panel on a frame and it uses no power at all and portable.
It can even purify grey water.

AnswerID: 328253

Follow Up By: Member - Hayley & Demc (QLD) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:26

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:26
hey there,
Curious to know how the solar still works, and how much did it set you back.

thanks
FollowupID: 595546

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:34

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:34
Hi Ian

Hayley's questiion and -

How long does it take to get a useful quanity of water?

FollowupID: 595549

Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:54

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:54
Ditto the above, very interested

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

FollowupID: 595551

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 15:36

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 15:36
Hiya Wheelybin
Unfortunately I will be unable to do more than a few weeks or months touring. I don't live in Oz, but on my retirement I do want to spend time down there and see a bit more of your country. My vehicle/s will be hired, so any extra equipment, not supplied will have to be bought by me, then disposed of when I leave. Probably a time consuming and loss making affair. So, allthough no doubt Solar Stills are good pieces of kit, if they aren't Vital I would not envisage buying one.
I plan to spend around 3 months minimum, and 12 months Maximum in Oz, depending on health checks and bank ballance, and probably most of my touring will be on hard top, I want to circum navigate Australia, as well as explore some of the interior. Travelling alone, I think I could manage with a fairly basic set up, no vanity mirrors, no makeup compartment, no toy box, no underwear drawer, no table cloths etc etc :o)
FollowupID: 595560

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 16:30

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 16:30
Ditto here Wheelybin..........more info please
FollowupID: 595561

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 16:54

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 16:54
Just did a google searchon "solar still"....some interesting ideas out there.....but volume amounts may require large units which would take up a lot of space.

http://www.abc.net.au/science/surfingscientist/pdf/lesson_plan09.pdf

http://www.desertusa.com/mag98/dec/stories/water.html

http://www.solaqua.com/solstilbas.html

http://www.solarpurewater.com/

http://www.csiro.au/helix/sciencemail/activities/WaterPurifier.htm
FollowupID: 595562

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:45

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:45
It was on the ABC the inventors and currently sells for $595 plus freight RR.
its the same size roughly as a 60W solar panel witha feed tank and a collector tank.
Even through winter I still got 2L per day and currently am getting around 3+L.
It has been a problem getting one as they were to be sold through Rotary International but now they are sold through a firm called Sunsure Water in Victoria.
Some of my mates have seen mine and want one so Ive just bought some more for them to use.
One chap has a fifth wheeler and said its good to be able to guarantee yourself clean pure drinking water from any source and didnt buck at the cost.
FollowupID: 595585

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:47

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:47
go to the town hall, they always have a rainwater tank for those that need it
AnswerID: 328309

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:42

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:42
Hi Davoe!
That's good to know :o)
Is Rainwater drinkable without treatment, if stored correctly?
FollowupID: 595593

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:35

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:35
Hope so, it's all we've got!
FollowupID: 595611

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 02:06

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 02:06
That's good to know, I'm used to drinking chlorinated water out of a tap. Not "Real" water :o)
FollowupID: 595617

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:07

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:07
The public dunnies usually have a tap.
AnswerID: 328314

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:44

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:44
Hi Phil
That's good to know as well. Signed as suitable for consumption or not I assume?
FollowupID: 595595

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:32

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:32
Nope. Up to you to taste it.
FollowupID: 595609

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 02:09

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 02:09
Should be okay if the tap is above the level of the Dunnie then :o)
FollowupID: 595618

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 10:14

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 10:14
If its not OK, you'll know soon enough :-))

But seriously, as you enter any australian town, there will be signs telling you where the public dunnies are, and theres almost always a town water tap for washing them out. I reckon all town water is safe to drink - its just that some of it doesn't taste as good as you'd like. Most town water have improved a heap over the years - 30 years ago most tasted salty and smelt of sulphur - these days thats pretty unusual.
FollowupID: 595639

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 19:56

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 19:56
That's good to know. Just as long as I don't have to learn Aboriginal skills and dig for it. :o)
FollowupID: 595695

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:44

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:44
Wealso found that there are some fellow travellers who have 'the knowledge' . Just like the licence test for cabbies in London. There are some places you can get good quality water provided for travellers.

On the road between Winton and Boulia for instance there is a mill just off the road and a water tank that has the best bore water in the area we were told. In one of the cities before population got scarce, we heard that there was a good town tap 'near the netball courts'. We found that too topping up. Sometimes you are best paying a night in a caravan park where there is reasonable water and topping up there. We always carry a reserve supply though, just in case the tanks run dry in the Karavan 20-25 litres.
FollowupID: 595712

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:05

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:05
Dear bleep lad,
I realy hope you are trying to ask a simple question rather than getting your kicks by waisting peoples time.
If you are legitimate...I appoligise.
If your not...F@#K off!!!!

Too many people frequenting this site are doing just that!!!!

Like I said...Im sorry if I jumped the gun, but if not??????
AnswerID: 328365

Follow Up By: Dickyboy - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 02:24

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 02:24
Hi Hairy.
Yeah, I'm genuine and I've now got the information and advice that I requested so I'll leave the thread.
I'd like to thank you for your valuable input into this thread.
Cheers!
Dickyboy
FollowupID: 595619