QUEENSLAND. Beatiful One Day, Pretty Good the Next
Submitted: Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 09:03
Gone Bush (WA)
Mrs Bush and I, WestAussians to the core, are half way through a week in sunny Queensland. We got a week in an apartment on
the beach in
Mooloolaba for $105 a night thru “Need It Now”. Got some good internet deals on airfares and a hire car too.
I love Queensland, it’s like visiting a foreign country.
They try to use every letter in the alphabet, at least three times, in their place names. We drove thru a town called Didillibah !!!
They are the only State in Australia that has a hinterland. I’m jealous. We don’t have a hinterland in WA. I must start using that word back home. Maybe we can get a hinterland too.
In QLD you go to
the beach wearing your togs, not bathers.
You carry your port to work, not your briefcase.
The letter H, is haitch, not aitch. They “arks” a question, not ask.
Let's not mention that the entire East Coast is taking on a New Zealand accent.
All jokes aside, I do love QLD. It’s the only other place, apart from WA, where I could easily take up residence. They’ve got it over the rest of Oz for tourism too. The beachfront at
Mooloolaba is just outstanding. We went up to Montville, I could easily live there too.
We are back home on Thursday. Now I’ve just got to sneak our house on to the market without Mrs Bush realizing. Should be easy.
Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:06
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:06
You must be yet to come across a true Queenslander "ay"
Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:16
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:16
Or the real far Northerner, "but"
Reply By: qubert - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:08
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:08
YOU NEED TO TRAVEL MORE.
AND NOT USE 'UP' AT THE END OF EVERY TOWN NAME.....
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:23
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:23
==and not use "UP" at the end of every town name==
ROFLMAO, touché. :-)
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:43
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:43
I'll be the first to admit WA has some funny place names too:
who wouild like to live UpperSwan or Innaloo ??
Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:35
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:35
who in there right mind calls a suburb DOG SWAMP !
Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:24
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:24
What's this "arks" a question BS.
It is taught in Primary School as "arx" a question.
Glad you like the place, and don't forget to take a few toads back with you. It would save the little buggers from having to hop all the way there.
Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:40
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:40
QLD comes a close second for me too!
My oldies are retired in Currumbin, joy spot! We've been there many times! 5 min up the road to the surf, 1/2 hr out the back and your in the rain
forrest. RSL and surf club close by for cheap grog and feeds and a friendly chat with just about anyone who is in talking distance. If the place was any more relaxed, ya heart would stop!
But deep down I just can't find that home feeling when I'm there!
I live in the SW and the call of uncrowded waves,desolate stretches of beach, pristien forrests and river systems all within a hr of my front door step I just can't give up!
So ya have to sit around the fire from time to time, but the pilgrimage north to the Pilbra and Kimberly is like visiting another world and can be compaired to nowhere else in book!
So dust off that Sand Groper pride Gone Bush, and get MRS Bush to slap some sense into ya. Cause I'll put money on it, if you left this fine state of ours, you'll bloody miss it!
besides, the Liberals got in, things can only get better can't they ??????? LOL !
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:01
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:01
How strange. I've had that home feeling in Currumbin for the last 25 years LOL
Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:13
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:13
Footy,
25 yrs, there is something wrong if you don't feel at home by now! as I said the place is a joy spot, and thats a 25 yr holiday in my book!
you must of seen a few changes around the place in that time!
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:21
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:21
Evren, not wrong ! We live around the bend, up the
creek and halfway up a
hill. We used to be out in the bush, but not now. You could have fired a shotgun on
Creek Road and not hit anyone at 8am. Now you'd get run over.
Poor drivers are some of the biggest changes. We used to be such a layback lot, without the southern road rage. Not now.
I knew things had changed when I was at an ATM one night. Two female backpackers started to talk to me. Instead of chatting my head off as I used to do, my initial thought was "what do they want?"
Sad.
Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:35
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:35
cheer up mate! pop into the RSL, youv'e still got the cheapest scooners in town!
the place gave my parents a new lease on life. the old boy plays 5 rounds of golf a week with his mates at Tweed, and mum has become quite the dragon boat paddler, travingling the world competing! youv'e probably seen em practicing on the river!
they are constantly on the town with thier mates and have become quite the socialites.
they have been trying to get me over for the last 2 years, but thats only cause they want to be near thier grandson! personally, a few thousand k's betwwen us ain't a bad thing sometimes if ya know what I mean!
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:45
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 12:45
Ahh, growing old disgracefully eh ? Great idea.
Don't get me wrong, I wouldnt swap where we are for anywhere else I've seen in Oz.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:46
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:46
You're right about the Libs evren1.
I've spoken to a few locals and Mrs Bligh is definitely on the nose over here.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:41
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:41
Geeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzz Gone Bush you where that close you could have swung around for a beer or three.
Glad you enjoyed the place
Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 19:58
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 19:58
Funny you say that - I felt exactly the same. I spent some time living in north QLD (after a year in
Sydney) and it was the only place I really felt content in my whole experience on the east coast. The Southern Highlands of NSW is just as spectacular, but the vibe is much better in QLD.
As a matter of fact, my brother and his girlfriend liked QLD so much they packed up
shop and moved there a few months ago. They love it.
Perth's going to the dogs - it just aint what it used to be (ie: a big country town).
Don't forget to go for a swim in the pooooooool eh! And neck a few at the rissole too.
Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:44
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:44
Get real big man, you love WA, your just peaved cause your stuck at home looking after a new born!
she'll be out campin with us in no time!
Lee can can keep her company, and we can do the things that men do!
say G'day to the girls for me!
Ev
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 06:13
Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 06:13
Will do.
Must catch up for an ale or two Ev.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 09:20
Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 09:20
Nah, you won't like Qld.
You get frosts at Montville.
You get sandflies on
the beach, you didn't sleep there often enough.
We have hills they call mountains.
Currumbin has gone to the dogs since the police stopped me from
camping on the
creek just over the
hill from
the beach. That was a year or so after they stopped me sleeping on
the beach at Tugun/Kirra. Kirra caravan
park is gone.
The roads are rough, even bitumen, so rough you wish for a good dirt road.
A good night's sport is reckoned by how many cane toads you have killed.
I was dragged here by my parents over 50 years ago, and I am still not a 'local'.
The 6 storey limit in
Brisbane was taken away in 1967, so it is no longer a country town.
I keep getting told Qld for Qldr's. :o)