IHZ Turbo or Extractors

I Have a 1999 1HZ LandCruiser (250,000 K"s) which I use for around town transport plus pulling a 19ft caravan (2 ton). I have found the old girl is lacking power when it comes to head winds or climbing even moderate rises.
I have considered fitting a Turbo ($4600) inclusive of a 3" exhaust but was woundering as to the effectivness of fitting extractors for ($1500) The motor is quite sound and dosnt burn any oil between changes.
Your advice would be greatly appreciated.
Terry

Reply By: stevesub - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:25

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:25
I have a 1Hz Troopy and have considered a turbo but have not done it. In my experience over the years of modifying engines, every time I have modified an engine, that is where you start. The gearbox is the next thing that has to cope with the extra power, etc.

Putting a larger exhaust and or extractors on a 1Hz or any other engine will not make a lot of power difference unless something else is done eg a turbo. It may sound gruntier and more powerful because the noise has changed but put a stop watch on it and you will find only a very small gain for a lot of $$.

If I were in your position and wanted the extra power, I would trade my vehicle in an one that had a turbo from new, then you know the engine, gearbox, etc are all up to the extra power. The 1Hz never had a turbo from new, Toyota used a different engine plus gearbox so they must of had a reason.

I just enjoy the view at a slower speed and do not expect the Troopy to have the same performance as my Rangie or car, even when towing heavy loads incl a 2 1/2 ton Bushtracker caravan we used to have access to until the owner sold it - b****r.

I know that you will find may forum members who have successfully turbo'ed their 1Hz engines with no problems and love the extra power so the decision is yours.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 328649

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:00

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:00
It is actually quite a moot point. Toyota apart of other things considers cost. Perhaps this is even their main point of consideration. Plenty of people turboed their 1HZ and I have not heard much of horrible stories – on the contrary vast majority of folks (including myself) believe that it is best things what they did to rig. If follow your logic then any aftermarket modification (suspension, tyres, winches – name it) does not any sense because “Toyota did it for reason”. As to ditch my old LC80 and get new LC70 with lovely factory-turboed V8 – I love it, would you like to be my sponsor?

Serg
FollowupID: 595930

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:47

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:47
Even moderate turbo without upgrading exhaust will beat extractors to the death. I would not even bother myself with extractors for 1HZ – require quite a bit of money without that much gain in return. Also after installing 3” pipe from turbo to tail I believe that 2.5” is adequate. It is much more important to “straightening” it rather then increase diameter.

Serg
AnswerID: 328652

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:52

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:52
Dont watse your time with extractors ,save your money and fit a turbo,The price seems a bit steep and yes 2.5" is just fine for what you want.

What state you in.

MAtt
AnswerID: 328654

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:07

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:07
Yep, I agree completely. I fitted a turbo to our 97 80 series with 170,000 kms on the clock and wished I had done it 100,000 kms earlier. The old girl just keeps pulling at around 2200 rpm and won't say die.
Forget the extractors!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 595946

Follow Up By: nuboy - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 18:37

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 18:37
All Very intresting, Thanks for all the comments and I live in WA
FollowupID: 595977

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 23:56

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 23:56
G'day,

Agree with above, did the extractors and 2.5" mandrel system and found only mild improvement (kind of expected). Have turboed two 1HZ 100 series now, and consider it to be the best way to go.

Ross.
FollowupID: 596163

Reply By: Ruffstuff. - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:43

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 15:43
Terry
As others have said before me, Forget the extractors & go for the Turbo.
I fitted extractors to my 95 1HZ and it was a small improvement but nothing like the improvement achieved when I Fitted the turbo. 100,000 km later and no problems with gearbox or any other part of the or engine. (the turbo was fitted with just over 200,000km on the clock)
Just make sure it is set up correctly and don't get carried away with too much boost.
I fitted the Turbo after the same experiences as yourself whilst towing boats & two ton trailers North from Perth all of the time. It now does this with ease.
I also recommend fitting an EGT gauge if you go down this path , For me it provides just a little extra peace of mind.
AnswerID: 328662

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:21

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:21
nuboy

I have a turbo fitted to my 1995 troopy. Worth the monney.

However, make sure they can supply a certificate to say it complies with emission standards. Turbo glide did not and I had a bit of a problem getting the car re-registered in NSW after being out of the state for 16 months.

I also found there was no difference in full consumption unless you use the extra power all the time, ie the right foot needs to tread lightly.

Regards Bob

AnswerID: 328668

Reply By: burnsy - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 17:37

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 17:37
I too have had a turbo on a 1HZ for about 400000 km The engine is starting to use oil now & the transfer case & gearbox is due for it's 2nd rebuild. I used to tow about 2ton with it 6 to 7 day a week. so it was working pretty hard all the time. Interesting enough I will use 5th gear if I can & the gearbox still has the oniginal gear.
I don't think that you can go wrong with a turbo as long as you are not looking for heaps of power out of the old girl.
AnswerID: 328678

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 19:08

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 19:08
As others have said, dont bother with extractors, go for the turbo.
I fitted a DTS turbo and I/C to our 1HZ cruiser two weeks ago and boy what a differance.Before that I had extractors and 2 1/2 exhaust and could barely notice any differance over std.Now it has the turbo, it is a plessure to drive, hills that were a struggle in 2nd, fly over in 3rd ready for 4th.
Before installing though, check valve clearances, have the pump and injectors checked.Good idea to fit a H/D clutch and a 2 1/2" exhaust.Have it tuned not to exceed 550deg c (post turbo) and install a Exhaust Gas Temp gauge(EGT or Pyrometer) to moniter temps so you can back off if temps start to get too high.
Mine is set up at 10psi and only on steep hills do I see temps climb into the high 400's.Normal driving see temps of 280-300deg c.
Go for it, it just so much better over std.
AnswerID: 328692

Follow Up By: nuboy - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:30

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:30
Thanks Nick,
Reading the above threads the over whelming opion seems to be conclusive in support of fitting the Turbo. As I mentioned I have been quoted $4600, how dose that sound to you?
FollowupID: 595998

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:44

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:44
Well I got mine off ebay.The turbo had lost boost and I got the complete DTS kit plus inlet manifold and airbox and custom made BIG Inter Cooler for $1200.It cost a further $500 for full turbo rebuild.
Is $4600 a fitted and tuned price.For turbo alone it sound dear.I think originally I got quoted $3600 for a DTS kit plus fitting.
FollowupID: 596002

Follow Up By: nuboy - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:34

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:34
The $4600 I was quoted included a Dyno before, fit 3" straightened exhaust, fit turbo, adjust pump timing and final check on dyno.
FollowupID: 596010

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:43

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:43
Sounds ok for all that.
FollowupID: 596012

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:48

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:48
Price is a little steep,possibly around $4200 if you wanted a 3" system or we can do it for $4000 drive in drive out with 2.5"

Matt
FollowupID: 596032

Reply By: Member - Redfive - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:30

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:30
Gentleman

My troopy was standard when i got it had headers and a 2 1/2 inch system fitted made no different so im putting on a turbo and a intercooler that should fix my problem

"it is tooooooooooooo slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww going up hills"

Glenn
AnswerID: 328705

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:45
Howdy all - we did the Turbo fit to 1HZ 80 series at about 235000/240000k. ATX turbo fitted by Alltrac in Adelaide and have not looked back. Have 19' Bushtracker in tow (3500Kg for van and 6850GVM as 80 series GVM has been legally upgraded to 3350) and achieved 11% better fuel economy and 1-1.5 gear improvement up hills (tested by driving loaded rig up hills on same route before and after turbo fit). Made our 11000k kimberly trip in 2007 a pleasure to drive. Pressure setting was modest 7PSI (1/2 Atmosphere). Rarely use 5th gear! Just keep the revs up for best burn of fuel = more power. Hope this helps.
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 328713

Reply By: Aussie.Nomad - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:23

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:23
My '93 80 Series was fitted with an aftermarket turbo by her first owner, 200,000kms ago and she is a beast. No smoke, heaps of grunt. we just did a big trip, 7500kms in 4 weeks including the Simpson Desert and no prob's. Average fuel on ther trip was 13.5litres/100kms.

I would recommend you have the diesel pump re-tuned if you have a turbo fitte. Had mine done just before we went bush, evidently it was still set to factory. It achieved a 30% power increase and the fuel consumption went down. I'm into 3rd and 4th gear, when before I had to stay in 2nd, feels like a new truck.
AnswerID: 328758

Reply By: hotfishez - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:59

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:59
I have a 94 80 series, DTS Turbo went on at 200 000km, 3" beadesert exhaust and desert cooler radiator, It hauls like a train, I tow the 6.5m boat 5 hours to the ocean but can only sit on 90kph. If you push it too hard, she gets hot, not only towing but even putting your foot down for too long, off road steep hill climbs the temp goes up. It does take a bit but I hate the fact that it will get hot at some stage. With all the mods and things I have done, it would have been cheaper for me to change to a factory turbo. To be completley honest with you, as good as the dts and other aftermarket turbos are, consider a factory 1HDT engine. They are available as an import cutout or even from 4x4 wreckers. You will be looking at 7 - 10 grand for good engine but You will be amazed what you will be able to sell your 1HZ for with 250 000 on the clock, plus the $4600 you will save on the turbo kit, plus $1500 for the exhaust, plus $1100 for the upgraded radiator, plus if you go for an intercooler.
You get my drift. I am still considering the engine change, I only wish I had done it straight away.
AnswerID: 328770

Reply By: oiler1 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:03

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:03
Here's the other side of the argument for a turbo. I fitted a DTS turbo to my 93 80 series at 220 000k and just sold the car at 360 000k. It went a lot better with the turbo but also ran a lot hotter. On occasion I had to slow right down to cool off whilst towing up a hill. I also had a lot of extra little problems that others don't mention. All the extra hoses vibrate, extra strain on the cooling system, extra heat in the engine bay causes plastic parts to perish faster, clutch needed replacing, the odd oil leak.

I now have a 2004 HZJ105R and won't be fitting a turbo. I put up with the slow up hill travel and enjoy the extra reliability and the cool running. If I needed to tow a lot up hill I would look at a completely different engine/car combination. Just my opinion.
AnswerID: 328776

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:38

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:38
80 series do suffer from heat exchange issues when turboed,75 & 100 series are not as susceptable to heating issues as the 80. Dont cast a shadow over all aftermarket turboed vehicles as some/most respond very well to it.

Matt
FollowupID: 596095

Follow Up By: oiler1 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:50

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:50
You may be right Matthew but I was only offering my opinion. There are ten others saying how good they are and I thought it only right to balance the argument with someone who saw the other side of the situation. The 1hz is legendary for reliability and I won't be tainting my new one with a turbo. I get there a little bit later and go a bit slower (when towing) but the off-road ability is excellent and I don't think you can put a price on cooler running.

The other issue I didn't touch on is I have yet to see a really good aftermarket turbo and IC setup. DTS use horrible looking orange hoses, Safari are expensive and have overheating problems and the others don't exactly look OEM.

I think there is a good market out there for someone who wants to do a proper job of it.
FollowupID: 596099

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:25

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:25
Yes i totally agree in listening to both sides of the story.

We can change the colour of the hoses on the DTS kits if you want,will that change your mind.???

Matt
FollowupID: 596102

Follow Up By: oiler1 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:32

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:32
Funny you should say that as I had to change the bottom hose anyway as it had been rubbing on the air filter box. The new hoses I fitted were blue silicon (on advice from Enzed) and the first one didn't handle the heat and oil very well and expanded and went all floppy. Got some more, moved the turbo to a more upright position and all was well.

I would like to see a fitting that looked more OEM if possible.

I didn't mean to put down anyones product or business, this is just my experience and the conclusion I have reached.

FollowupID: 596105

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 18:25

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 18:25
Oiler1,

But, mate, how it is possible to make turbo “as OEM” when it not been design for turbo at the beginning? If I would buy brand-new car it will be turbo from the factory no question asked. Thankfully Toyota does only turbo now, so in 5-10 years surely there will be a car for me. But with 80, factory turbo was quite steep in price and as result they rare as hens teeth and thus fetching astronomical prices. This is the reason why so many been converted. Not saying it is better then factory turbo, but in some instances it is only option. Also starting from certain point with 100 series (if memory serves me right) Toyota decided to bundle turbo with IFS. As for me I would rather have after-market turbo with orange pipes then IFS. I am merely trying to point that issue not that straightforward.

BTW funny enough rubbing house against air filter is common issue with DTS. I finished with removing bug-catcher altogether (after replacing 2 houses). Yes, it *IS* annoying and frustrating, but I still will convert each and every 1HZ in 80 into turbo, simply because IMHO proc far overweighs conc. Also I have not got any overheating issues with my DTS. May be because I have moderate boost and because I am not tow anything regularly. As for 4WD ability – IMHO normally aspirated diesel suks and more so in alpine where air thinner. Now I can easy do job in 2-nd or even 3-rd when without turbo I been nailed to 1-st.

Serg
FollowupID: 596113