KiwiAngler
Hi Guys (and Guyesses)
I want to 'do'
Cape York next year but due to a whole heap of reasons I only have 2 weeks available
I was having a beer with a mate in the Wagga RSL on Saturday watching the Supercar shootout and we came up with this plan.
A plan so cunning you could pin a tail to it and call it a donkey :-)
We drive to
Sydney form Wagga Wagga, put the 4x4's onto a ship which would take them to
Weipa - without me.
We fly up from Wagga, meet the ship and take off from
Weipa to go to the cape.
To return to Wagga we repeat the excercise in reverse (not reverse as in driving:-)).
My question is :
Can such a plan be carried out
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 09:59
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 09:59
You probably could but the cost may kill you, I am not sure if the boat will allow a fully loaded 4by to travel.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:23
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:23
Cost isnt an issue
What would the concerns be with a fully loaded 4by travelling on a boat?
Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:01
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:01
Depends on if you can get a ship to
Weipa and you would be willing to
fork out the $. The barge goes from
Cairns and it will carry cars, not so good when it is windy as car gets covered in salt spray. May be cheaper to hire a car out of
Cooktown or
Cairns and do the trip. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:24
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:24
Definitely want to do it in my own 4by
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:42
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:42
Well if you can not get it to
weipa get it to
Cairns. Two weeks is enough for a drive of the Cape from
Cairns and Back and see a few sights. Also if you can get it to
Cairns and not
Weipa there is freight from
Cairns to
Bamaga right at
the tip. If you want to do more at the Cape Get it dropped at
Bamaga and drive back to
Cairns to pick up freight back again. Link to Freight company is
http://www.seaswift.com.au/ Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:32
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:32
Now ya talkin :-)))))
Thats the sort of thing I am looking for -
well done
I will check the site out now
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:22
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:22
Yeah , This is the best plan .
Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:16
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:16
Being pressed for time is one of the main causes of serious accidents up there AFAIK.
If it's your first Cape trip, why not just sit back and relax ? Fly to
Cairns and pick up a 10 day tour ?
Then you can come back when you have more time and explore the bits the tourists don't see much of.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:50
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:50
Footy. I spent a lot of time up there working and was always in a hurry. Never had an accident. Saying that I would have to agree with you, though there are a lot more factors than just being in a hurry that causes an accident up there. It is better to see the Cape when you have heaps of time, but not all have that time. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:12
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:12
Tony, whilst I respect your experience there, I've yet to be convinced that most fatals on the Cape are caused by anything but lack of time ie going too fast.
Yes there are many contributing factors (speed, drunk, lack of experience, wrong place wrong time etc), but lack of time appears common.
I know that condions on the tracks have improved (at least during the dry season) but my impressions are based on what I saw and heard over a number of trips, often at the local police compound, or while pulling people from rollovers on bends etc.
Cape York is no place to have a real or perceived lack of time. After all, it's a holiday, isn't it ?
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:23
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:23
Footy. Im not thinking it is lack of time though. Speed I will agree on. You can drive slower and still see a lot on a short trip timeframe. Its just that everyone seems to drive this fast now even when the road conditions warrant it or not. The power of todays cars and their ride ability gives people a false sense of security. You can sit on 100k and still have people popping out of the dust to pass you. So speed I can agree with but time is not an excuse, they need to plan the trip to see a few and not all sights if they do not have time. PS. My last trip up there was a week only, its all we had to we did Iron Range and Chilli Beach. Road was good sat on 100k. There are many sections that will catch you out if you do not know them. Two weeks to see the Cape on a drive is ok if it is all you have. You will spend a lot of time in the car and only
overnight camp, but you will see most of it and while driving to the conditions. Cheers Tony
Reply By: Oztravellers - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:52
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:52
We did
Cape York in 2005 the easy way, without wrecking our vehicle on the 1100km corrugated road. Flight to
Cairns, 14day 4WD tour with OZtours in a 16
seat Mitsubishi Canter vehicle, then return from Siesia via the MV Trinity Bay. If you want any details I have a trip log with pics I can send to you. Sparky
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:42
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:42
Sparky
'Thanks for the reply
I really want to use my own 4by for this - it is, after all why I bought it :-) just dont have the time to drive Wagga -
Cairns - wagga
Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:55
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 10:55
You are unlikely to get a ship from
Sydney to
Weipa let alone even direct to
Cairns. There is the barge that goes from
Cairns to
Weipa. Why not truck/train the cars to
Cairns - transfer the cars to the barge and offlaod the cars at either TI or
Bamaga and then use the short time you have for a more relaxed drive back from the cape.
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ will be a big issue.
Garry
Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:12
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:12
Hi Kiwi
2 weeks is a fair bit of time its only 1100 up and 1100 back from
Cairns .
We saw pretty most of it in 9 days
Cairns to
Cairns , and our friends who didn't have time for the 4 days drive up to
Cairns from Melb just trucked their car to
Cairns, and flew up.
Worked out pretty
well actually.
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:38
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 11:38
Robin
Trucking up from Wagga ( trucking hub of NSW) is definitley an option
I will start to make enquiries re this option on Monday
Tnx for heads up
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 13:57
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 13:57
Kiwi,
Most truck companies won't take a loaded 4X4
Cheers Dave..
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:05
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:05
I tried to barge my vehicle up this year but they were booked out about a year in advance. I think it is the
grey nomad brigade taking all the cabin space.
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:37
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:37
KK
Then I should be ok - "US"
grey nomads are everywhere :-))))
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:59
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 14:59
KA :-)) Yeah, you are right there.
Just a warning though that bookings are VERY tight.
Also be aware that there are a lot of kamakazi drivers on those roads, they broke my right headlight and side light / indicator throwing rocks at me **##!!. Being a Troopy though the new headlight was only $12 and the side light lense $9. Smarta** drivers trying to break the sound barrier & boasting that they can (and do) go from
Bamaga to
Lakeland in one day !
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:42
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 12:42
Get someone else to drive it to
Cairns or wherever for you and fly them home after delivery??
Then reverse the process after you have finished??
The airfares etc would be probably cheaper than the ship option??
Reply By: Von Helga - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:27
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 21:27
Google Seaswift foir sea travel from
Cairns to
the tip .
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:20
Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:20
If money isnt a problem then why not take another week off work to cover the trip up and back.
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 10:56
Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 10:56
$$$$$$$$$$$ and time are not the same
I have plenty of $$$$$$$$ but no time
Reply By: raylen - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:07
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:07
Just drove back from
Weipa on Monday the 06/10/2008, the road condtions are very good overall,heaps of road works slow you down but can be done in 16 hours with an
overnight stop.
Regards Ray
Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:42
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:42
Here's what I often do a few weeks before I have a fri & mon off leave Thursday night drive up having a good sleep each night (it's about 30hrs of driving time from Jervis Bay NSW to
Cairns Qld going inland a bit) I arrive have a bit of a rest & a look about, I leave the 4wd & fly
home then fly up with family & do the trip & fly
home a few weeks later I do the return trip, its the only way I can do some of the trips as I find it hard to get many weeks of together. You will also find it hard to ship your car/4wd by land or sea unless its empty as they are usually left open/unlocked during transport unless it a Ute/canopy that you can put all items in & lock the back up. The barge up the coast your car gets a wash with salt & its hard to organize the dates that it might get there as other freight may take priority
good luck & if you need somewhere to leave it in
Cairns or
Cooktown give me MM
good luck regards Vince
Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:53
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:53
Vince
Definitely a possibility
I will put it on the short list of options
thanks for the reply