Heading to Karajini from Perth(Camp stops required Please)

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 23:52
ThreadID: 62559 Views:4971 Replies:6 FollowUps:17
Ok we are heading to Karajini for a week in two weeks time just to get away and have a bit of a road trip,now we will want to stop overnight on the way up,anybody got any good overnight camping spots about half way etc,maybe around meekatharra or somewhere that is about half the travel distance.

Any ideas would be great.

MAtt

Reply By: wallabyjack5 - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:42

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:42
Hi Mathew,About 20 ks north of Cue on the RH side is a lake, sorry can't remember the name but is a great place to stay.Drive around the back of it away from Highway for some peace and quiet.If you have time also Walga Rock which is west of Cue is another good spot.
Enjoy Karijini,I use to take tours up there for about 10 years never got sick of it.

Glyn
AnswerID: 329960

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:50

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:50
Lake Nallan
FollowupID: 597406

Follow Up By: wallabyjack5 - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:44

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:44
Hi Mathew,another spot worth checking out{not to camp as to far for 1 day drive}is Wanna Manna,its about 75ks north of Newman.Its an Aboriginal art site.An amazing amount of rock carvings I believe between 10 and 20 thousand years old.You would have to call into Newman v/c to get directions.Its only about 5ks off the highway. Well worth the stop.
Glyn
FollowupID: 597449

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:49

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:49
G'day Glyn

I can't help but ask this question of you, regarding the Wunna Munna Petroglyph site, north of Newman.

You quote that the rock carvings are between 10 and 20 thousand years old. How do you base your time frame for the rock art?

Glyn, I'm not criticizing you, I'm just very curious as to where you gleaned your information from.

The geology of Wunna Munna is in the tens of millions of years, the Pilbara region is geologically dated at up to 4.2+ billion years, being some of the very first land formation in the earths ceration.

The closest time frame of human occupancy recorded in the region close to Newman, is in small cave in Ethel Gorge, which is east of Newman, the carbon date map of this occupation site is set at 26300 ( twenty six thousand three hundred years ).

The desert region occupancy has been estimated at around 5000 years ( doccumented), I know all these time lines sound impressive but in a geological sense they are just small.

Regards: Joe

FollowupID: 597457

Follow Up By: wallabyjack5 - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:45

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:45
Hi Joe,
Yea good question,I spent some time looking through records at the Indigenous Library in Perth there it stated the age but was only an estimation as there hadn't been a full study done on them at that time.This was back in 1997 I think.Not sure when the study at Ethel Gorge was done.If those where dated at 26300 years old sounds to reason that Wanna Munna could be similar.
Besides all that it is still a fantastic place to visit and easy to get at.
I have taken many people from all over the world to see this spot and it just blows them away.
FollowupID: 597476

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 17:17

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 17:17
Image Could Not Be FoundG'day Glyn

Thanks for the quick come back, I seem to have hijacked the original forum question posted by Mathew about camping spots.

I apologize to Mathew regarding that subject, but there are many camping spots just off the main drag, all you need is time to explore them. Main roads gravel dumps are ideal for a firm based overnight camp spot, but ensure you do not leave any crap behind as even these convenient places are being fenced off.

I can't agree with you more on the facination attatched to visiting and of course showing and being shown these very special places, be it a waterhole, rock art or painting(s) site.

I'm trying to get my head around the Hickman Crater being un-descovered or disturbed since the impact happened, and it's ( in a straight line ) only 35 or so Kilometres from home ( Newman ).

I've been out and into the Crater, twice, wandering around with a metal detector, but I've not found any trace of the early visitor.

Yes it's another facinating part of the Pilbara.

Regards : Joe
FollowupID: 597500

Follow Up By: Member - Bentaxle - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:48

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:48
Walga rock is an aboriginal site and I believe that camping there is also a NO NO. Worked at BIg Bell Mine until it closed in 2003 and used to spend many a day off there
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

FollowupID: 597569

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:12

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:12
Joe F

As you are a newman resident can you answer me this.

I worked at HI YAndi on and off for a few years and would pick up a 4WD in newman and drive to yandi,on my return i would come back through a track that cut across weeli wolli creek and joined up with a gravel road that comes out at the old Rhodes Ridge exploration site.

Is Weeli Wolli creek still accessableto the public ??????

MAtt
FollowupID: 597621

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 02:33

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 02:33
G'day Mathew

The Hope Downs iron ore mine ( Rio Tinto/ Hancock mining ) are in the process of up grading the Rhodes Ridge road, to make it usable for larger volumes of mining traffic. I don't think they could ever up grade it to all weather status because of the many significant crossings of the Weelli Wolli creek system.

The powers to be actually don't like anyone, not in their mining operations using the road, but being polite with them at the time, usually get you into the area of the water course.

Sadly there are restrictions in place regarding camping, but it is still a brilliant place to spend the day.

Regards : JoeImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 597813

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 11:55

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 11:55
Joe

Oh mate brings back memories,i have a few photos like that myself.

I will post a few up when i get home i reckon.

I thought that the Hope Downs project would take precedence over the road use.Do you think i would be able to sneak in there to show my family.Have you been out there lately and is there still water.

MAtt
FollowupID: 597866

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:00

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:00
Just a couple for ya JoeImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 598004

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:58

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:58
Hey that looks great.

Keep em coming.

Wifes a bit worried about staying to close to meekatharra so yeah that seems good.

Matt
AnswerID: 329961

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 01:05

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 01:05
Meeka is OK, a lot of the mines have closed down around town, so most of the troble have left town and returned to Perth.

was there 2 weeks ago first time for around 10 year, there done alot for the town, it looking good, hace a look in places there are some places north around the river crossings..

FollowupID: 597407

Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:35

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:35
if your going to stay around lake nallan.take the/midges spray.....there thick this time of year

Bundy
FollowupID: 597414

Reply By: Member - Paul C (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 01:59

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 01:59
Try stopping at Sandstone. Great little town only an hour or so south of Meeka.
AnswerID: 329965

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:45

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:45
Hmmm Paul 190kmh? Or so....to Sandstone from Meeka....LOL

Lovely place Sandstone with lots of good things to see closeby.

FollowupID: 597421

Follow Up By: Member - Paul C (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:19

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:19
190kmh would certainly get me to Meeka in an hour or so! ....LOL

Forgive me, I'm new to the West

It was an enjoyable stop and explore on our trip

FollowupID: 597573

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:21

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:21
Lake Nallan is pretty good.

Drive around to the eastern side. The western side is too close to the highway.

We were there about 3 weeks ago. They are some of my photos on the "Places" site on EO.

Mozzies and midgies weren't too bad at all. Maybe their levels fluctuate. We were able to get our vans right onto the water's edge. You will want to stay there for more than one night.

AnswerID: 329993

Follow Up By: Member - Bentaxle - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:46

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:46
Gone Bush
Camping at lake Nallan is a NO NO and has been for about 12/18mths according to my info
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

FollowupID: 597567

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:32

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:32
Well, Bentaxle,

let me say, in the nicest possible way, that you are dead wrong.

There were many people there and there is even one chap set up in a permanent way.

After all, it is a man made lake for the rail line that used to run past it. Not as if it's some ancient geoligical rarity.

FollowupID: 597575

Follow Up By: Member - Bentaxle - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:59

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:59
My info rgards no camping came from Shire of Cue, they banned camping because the place was becoming an open sewer. People were squatting behind bushes to to their business - couldn't be bothered to dig a deep hole and bury it. Iwas back there in 2001.2002, 2003 and it was starting to get like that then.

PS Hope you had a fantastic time.

FollowupID: 598625

Reply By: Member - Phil S (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:56

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:56
hey Matt just travelled that way 3 wks ago, north of meeka i think about 150 k nth there is the gascoyne river crossing ,top spot for a free nite or two i went swimming there plenty of firewood.Expect to find other campers lots of room off the road.Further north ther is kumarina roadhouse there is paid camping there out t back by the riverbed.South of meeka u could always pay for a nite at the caravan park at Cue as it is a great place to check out if u like old buildings.Regards Phil
AnswerID: 329997

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:06

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:06
Didn't see if you have been there before - was up there about 6/7 weeks back - excellent spot - gotta love the red / iron dust though ! - we are still scrubbing it off our hardware ..... the end of the bitumen as we drove into the Dales Campgound tells the tale..........
AnswerID: 329998