OT. Indian Myna birds

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:57
ThreadID: 62676 Views:7029 Replies:19 FollowUps:27
Over the past 6 months these mongrel birds have driven out the native birds from our trees.Even the beloved dog is now being attacked by them.

Has anyone found out an easy way to get rid of these pests.

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:02

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:02
Vince

There used to be a product about, waaay back in the 60's and 70's called Shoo-Bird. Don't know if it still available. Try Google

In essence it is a paste that gives off a burning effect though not damaging skin tissue when doing so. You would smear some on the branches where the birds gather. They soon got the message

Alternatively...borrow an air rifle.

AnswerID: 330659

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:09

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:09
Hi Willem.
I read a report on google concerning a new trap being developed to trap the birds. Sounded a bit involved.
I like your suggestion however with my crook eyes I might end up shooting the dog LOL.

Vince
FollowupID: 598268

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 08:53

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 08:53
Vince MM me
I have a trap that you can have a lend of if you want.
Winter is the best time to trap them or late summer.

Vince
FollowupID: 598681

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:05

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:05
Vince

this guy hates them too

AnswerID: 330661

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:10

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:10
Sorry I cannot help much but returning from Sydney I had lunch at the Cockfighters pub and was reading a local community newsletter and they had a group advising farmers and local people how to trap and dispose of this pest bird, apparantly rather effective. The Cockfighters pub is in Bulga sort of south west of Singleton.

Maybe worth a call :)

AnswerID: 330665

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:46

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:46
Thanks Brian.
I am heading to the Hunter Valley next weekend for a wedding.
Will try & get to Bulga.
Vince
FollowupID: 598288

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:21

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:21
G'day Vince,

I didn't think these birds lived anywhere else other than in the trees over my driveway and they crap all over the drive.

A mouse trap with something either red or blue in them can be rather effective also. Just set the trap near their roost.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 330668

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:55

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:55
Hi Paul.
The only trouble is they live in a council reserve at the bottom of our street.Even the bush turkeys have been driven away LOL.
Vince
FollowupID: 598291

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:26

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:26
A bloke in Canberra developed a trap for them.

It consisted of a Box Trailer with high open mesh sides. Over the top he put slats with a gap big enough for the birds to land on the top and hop down through to get at the food he put in the cage. Of course to get out they have to fly and with their wings spread they cant get out.

I hear he was planning to build more of them and hire em out in Canberra, but it wouldn't be that hard to knock one up.
AnswerID: 330669

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:50
Notso & SPRING-GTO.
I saw this trailer on tv last week.
Have to make a few enquiries around the GoldCoast.
Thanks.
Vince
FollowupID: 598290

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 13:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 13:50
Hi Notso,

I might try making a metre by metre version. Can you please describe the holes / slats again in a bit more detail.

I wonder if they will go in it after they see one of their mates caught. It might only be a "one bird" trap!

Willie.
FollowupID: 598340

Follow Up By: SPRINT-GTO - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:58

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:58
Willie
Definitely not a one bird trap --once you get one in its easy as he/she calls his mates in !! I have seen it work.
FollowupID: 598360

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:30

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:30
Yeah the indian mynah trap works really well and we cleaned up the area around our home in Sydney very effectively!!
We got together with a couple of neighbours and hired a trap from the Indian Mynah guy but I cant recall how much it cost us --very cheap though. When you dispose of the trapped birds you place the birds into a a heavy duty garbage bag and attach to the exhaust pipe of a car and birds euthanased quickly and painlessly---worked for us!!
Goodluck
Gary
AnswerID: 330670

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:17
This works for ferral cats too - takes about 5 seconds and they stop screeching - worth mentioning that diesel exhaust wont do the job, must be an unleaded engine...
FollowupID: 598384

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:43

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:43
They are a major pest and will become more so - taking over the nests of natives and driving them out. In some suburbs of Melbourne the only birds I see are Indian Mynahs!

I would like to see low power air rifles taken off the firearms list (as is the case in UK) this would enable people to shoot the damn things in their back yards.

I hear little from our urban Green friends who seem to constantly be wanting to "save" forests they never visit in regard to this pest - perhaps I'm not listening in the right places?

AnswerID: 330671

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:57

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:57
How very true Mike.
Vince
FollowupID: 598292

Reply By: Member - Porl - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:31

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:31
I have an Indian minor trap downstairs, it works, we don't have them anymore, I'm happy to pass on the details of the guy that makes them, or I could lend it to you but I'll think they'll come back one day so I'd rather get it back so prefer not to sell it.

As above, the guy who made it said only indian minors drop in, and he was right.

Disposal ? I put it in a chook bag and tie it with string to the exhaust and put on some music for a couple minutes, CO is truly deadly stuff, 3 minutes and they're out. I also figure if people top themselves that way voluntarily it can't be that cruel.

PM me if you're interested in a loan. Or if you're handy I can take detailed pics and email them to you.
AnswerID: 330686

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 11:16

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 11:16
Thanks Porl.
MM sent.
Vince
FollowupID: 598313

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:31
Can u please send details to mates69@three.com.au. Cheers Brew
FollowupID: 598634

Follow Up By: daisygirl - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:18

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:18
Any chance I can borrow the trap as funds wont allow me to buy one at the moment. I saw one of those pesky birds just this morning in the backyard and want to get him/her before it invites all the mates over as well!!

Can email me on coxmcs@bigond.net.au
FollowupID: 599049

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:49

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:49
Hi daisygirl

I have been trying to email you all day but it keeps coming back as "undeliverable".

porl
FollowupID: 599211

Follow Up By: daisygirl - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:26

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:26
Oops just realised mistyping.

That should be coxmcs@bigpond.net.au. That what happens when I dont wear my glasses!!
FollowupID: 599258

Reply By: nomadoz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:54

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:54
This is an easy way, get them drunk, no! I’m serious, birds get drunk very easily, and soak some grain in any cheap holcohol and you see them falling down drunk, as some one suggested, put them in a plastic bag, and your car exhaust, but only if it is petrol, does not work with diesel

Joe blogg

AnswerID: 330694

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:14

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:14
Thanks for that tip, I've done it previously heaps with my prado petrol but now I've got a diesel, haven't done it since so next time it'll go on back of our passengar car.

The get them drunk sounds a great idea, except for my chickens and duck ...
FollowupID: 598335

Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 13:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 13:50
A garden planted exclusively with native plants and particularly dense shrubs mixed in will attract native birds and they will exclude the introduced pest birds . I dont mean just grevilleas either . Check this link rainforestmagic
AnswerID: 330719

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:21

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:21
I have a garden full of native shrubs and trees and I still have a mynah problem - they are nesting in my garage, the bastards come through the cat door into the garage...
FollowupID: 598387

Reply By: nomadoz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 14:39

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 14:39
Porl,

that’s easy just put it on a table

AnswerID: 330727

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 14:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 14:50
I don't think we have these birds in WA (I'll stand corrected).

I googled these sites:

http://www.mynamagnet.com.au/Default.asp?c=194432

Site Link

http://www.indianmynaaction.org.au/

http://www.duralstockfeeds.com.au/prod50.htm

http://www.mynah.nelsonbay.com/

Site Link

Indian Myna Handbook in pdf

AnswerID: 330730

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:00

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:00
>I don't think we have these birds in WA

Just give it time... flying cane toads....

FollowupID: 598346

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:04

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:04
Best thing about WA not many introduced birds.
only ones i see a pidgons, rainbow lorakeets (only round perth) and kookaburras (only in the SW)

very refreshing not having a backyard full if sparrows and starlings
AnswerID: 330734

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:22

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:22
Don't forget the white cockatoos that infest the place these days.

They are not native to WA. Import from over east.

FollowupID: 598349

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:29

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:29
Dont get me started on Cockies!!! Turds have chewed my fences and verandahs to bits!!!!! aaaaarrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhhh
FollowupID: 598389

Reply By: Angler - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 16:01

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 16:01
Plans for the traps are available here

http://www.indianmynaaction.org.au/

Just give them a ring and plans will be sent via email.

Pooley
AnswerID: 330741

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 17:16

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 17:16
Well we dont have them here...yet.I know of a few times they have hitched a ride on the ferry but were quickly disposed of by the Parks and Wildlife with air rifles around at the Bluff.
AnswerID: 330747

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:14

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:14
G'day Vince,

if you have the room, and the inclination, try some Isa Brown chooks. Worked for us. Have not seen an Inidan Mynah for 2 yrs.
AnswerID: 330789

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:22

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:22
I know I'm going to regret asking but what are "Isa Brown chooks"

FollowupID: 598519

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:30

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:30
nothing sinister....

cross breed of hen/chicken
FollowupID: 598595

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:03

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:03
Bushfix,

"cross breed of hen/chicken"

Very sinister. Hen lays eggs, eggs hatch as chickens, some chickens become hens. Now very confusing. Please explain :)))

FollowupID: 598629

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:38

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:38
it's a bloody chook!

cross between a Rhode Island Red and a Rhode Island White.

well, not that bloody, they can get that way though, when nice and plump.......come hither.....

very nice googy eggs too.

that's all you need to know Gramps :)
FollowupID: 598851

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 21:06

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 21:06
Jeremy,

LOL we knew it was a bloody chook. "cross between a Rhode Island Red and a Rhode Island White" is just a tad more descriptive than "cross breed of hen/chicken".

FollowupID: 598869

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:05

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:05
Hi Vince,
My brother and I share a MiniMyna from Myna Magnet, works a treat.

My brother has made some nesting boxes for a couple of pairs of Eastern Rosella's that frequent his yard.

In the last 3 to 4 years neither of those pairs of Rosella's has successfully raised a single chick. Very dutiful these Rosella's, both pairs visit and maintain their nests twice a day 365 days a year!

Every year without fail those stinking Indian Myna birds either destroy the eggs or kill the hatchlings of the Rosella's.

There are certainly far less Myna birds around both his place and mine than there where but even one is too many for our liking.

Down side is there are still 2 pairs of Eastern Rosella we know about that aren't even getting the chance to replace the parents in the wild stock let alone increase the population.

There's a screwball ex Sri Lankan doctor from the local hospital here who's campaigning (rather un-successfully) to have the Myna's protected under some such "God's creature" religious scheme and a perverted belief that the native wildlife will "get used" to the Myna's!

AnswerID: 330891

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:24

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:24
Thanks Geoff.
Have added their site to my favorites.
Vince
FollowupID: 598562

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:52

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:52
i remember a time years back when everyone used to own a slug gun ... and potting pest birds in your backyard was standard practice ..... now with Incredibly restrictive gun laws you cant even buy a SPUD gun without a license....

who was it that once said --- "Every action has an equal and opposite reaction ??" ;)

Boc

AnswerID: 330952

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:56

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:56
I did exactly that until my dad 12 months ago asked for my air rifle back, "why?" i said, he said " because I'm handing in my gun licence and that rifle is on the licence" and i said "but I bought it with my pocket money when i was 14!" he replied "sorry son, can't do anything about it". Bugger.

And my collection of BB guns? none rebuildable, damn americans. Anyone want some BB shot, I guess they'll fit into a sling shot ok.
FollowupID: 599159

Reply By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 11:03

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 11:03
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

and the operating instructions with more detail:

AnswerID: 331012

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 11:05

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 11:05
The instructions are a PDF and I can't get them here, sorry, email me or leave a post asking for it with yr email and I will send.
FollowupID: 598717