Sydney -
Adelaide -
Perth -
Coral Bay -
Broome -
Darwin - Alice -
Adelaide -
Sydney
Will be sticking to the main highways and bitumen roads.
A few questions:
1. My Subaru
Liberty has a range of about 550kms fully loaded. Am I likely to be stuck for fuel anywhere along the way? I will not have any room for jerry cans.
2. I'll be carrying a fair amount of stuff on an open roof rack basket. Is the security of these items going to be an issue in the NT and northern WA?
3. Is access to the beaches going to be an issue without a 4x4?
Reply By: new boy - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:15
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:15
My opinion
1. I think the max distance between fuel on Highway 1 is 430/450 k's Price then plays a part
2.Being in some remote towns in Middle of the night might pose a probelm but overall you shouldn't have a probelm bearing in mind a secure house in city centre can be robbed
3. Most place you will travel too won't need 4X4
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:39
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:39
12,000 Km in 10 weeks is a lot of driving. But quite do-able if you enjoy driving.
1. I cant think of any where you will have fuel troubles, but I dont know the top of WA so wait and hear what others say.
2.Lock you gear up in Alice or make sure you can see it. Although even if you can see it, be prepared to fight for it cause they'll take stuff in front of people and smash it if they cant get it off.
3. Access to
the beach wont usaully be an issue ( depending what ones) but I wouldnt drive on them with out a 4x4 or WA licence plates. LOL
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:12
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:12
"but I wouldnt drive on them with out a 4x4 or WA licence plates. LOL"
Hi Hairy
Your comment has me asking WHY 4x4 of WA plates.
I konw I can be thick at times, but this one has flown straight to the keeper.
Vince
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:34
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:34
Gday Vince,
Driving your car into the Indian Ocean seems to be a sandgropers favorite past time.
See ThreadID: 62682
While over there on holidays we pulled a few cars out of the drink and off beaches....and they all had WA plates?
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:37
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:37
I read that post !!!. As I said "I can be thick at times"
Catch you later
Vince
Follow Up By: garbage - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 14:58
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 14:58
Thanks for the reply. When in Alice, does that mean there's a decent chance of something getting flogged when you leave your
campsite for a day of sightseeing?
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:14
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:14
When in Alice recently, we stayed a couple of weeks at a little old CP out of town. Very safe, and in a scenic and quiet location. Pet friendly, and mostly people working in Alice so a community atmosphere. Amenities a bit run down, but priced to match (around half the price of the crammed in parks in the town). Large grassed sites. Let me know if you would like details.
Follow Up By: garbage - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:21
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:21
Thanks Motherhen! You probably don't remember, but you sent me your Tassie notes last year. We did that trip earlier this year and had a great time.
As for this WA/NT trip, I'll get in touch with you when it's a bit more set in stone. Still a few things up in the air like which route to take, is my car big enough, etc etc.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:27
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:27
It all depends where you are?
If you were to leave your car loaded with gear (especially on the roof) in town for any length of time, yes...good chance you'll loose stuff.
But out of town sightseeing in National parks etc., you would be fairly safe.
BUT...in saying that a mate was telling me there is a lot of reports of gear getting stolen from campsites????
just keep an eye on it in town these days.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 16:28
Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 16:28
Hi garbage, and yes i
well remember our communications re Tasmania - how could i forget with a name like yours? Tasmania is wonderful, but WA is HUGE. This year we spent 9 weeks just in the fabulous
Kimberley.
Mh